View Full Version : Lara on 34 hundreds 1 behind Sachin
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 10:18 AM
Lara moves to 34 tons level with Sunny and one behind the great Sachin.
Lets hope Sachin smashes a few tons in SA and opens the gap up.
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 10:35 AM
Now he goes to 150 :wtg:
Smashing the paks everywhere :hail:
He now has most 150's in tests as well 19! Overtaking Bradman
Gambit
11-21-2006, 10:56 AM
This is turning out to be a humdinger. SRT on 35. BCL on 34 and RTP on 31. Who's going to win? :help: SRT you better make some tons in RSA.
Rahul
11-21-2006, 11:45 AM
abs killer knock from lara.
that 26 off kaneria over was marvelous.
take it easy,
R
Gambit
11-21-2006, 12:49 PM
Take a look at this. SRT,BCL and RTP after their respective 100th tests.
SRT - [code:b6ec242367]100 160 15 8405 217 57.96 30 34[/code:1:b6ec242367]
BCL - [code:1:b6ec242367]100 176 5 8916 375 52.14 23 42[/code:1:b6ec242367]
RTP - [code:1:b6ec242367]100 166 23 8253 257 57.71 28 32[/code:1:b6ec242367]
SRT had 2 more tons than RTP in 6 less innings and 7 more tons in 16 less innings than BCL. Now RTP has 4 less tons in 36 less innings and BCL has 1 less ton in 19 more innings.
SRT should have retired after this 100th test. :help:
Kya hoga? Who will win? :help: :help:
Predator_05
11-21-2006, 12:59 PM
I hate to admit it, but I seriously think that both Lara and Ponting will leave Tendulkar in the shade.
Legend
11-21-2006, 01:48 PM
a pending 2000 awaits the multan dawn..
Predator_05
11-21-2006, 01:52 PM
a pending 2000 awaits the multan dawn..
A pending 2000 ? :huh:
wotsz dat ?
beetle
11-21-2006, 02:32 PM
Agree with predator ....they will overtake sachin .....and deservedly so.....
I would rather sachin get ducks in every match but take 3-4 wickets...
India always has a better chance of winning when he performs with the ball rather than the bat.....and i always lose hope when he scores a century...sad but true.... :cry:
Anakin
11-21-2006, 02:38 PM
Agree with predator ....they will overtake sachin .....and deservedly so.....
I would rather sachin get ducks in every match but take 3-4 wickets...
India always has a better chance of winning when he performs with the ball rather than the bat.....and i always lose hope when he scores a century...sad but true.... :cry:
Typical of someone not following cricket long enough :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
I suppose 8/33 and 11/35 totally missed your eyes.
I forgot to ask why deservedly so? And how better batsmen they are than SRT? Should be fun to know.
Ponting got something like 20/21 in the last 4 years. Beating up the weak bowling seems to be one thing he's gotten very good at along with few others.
beetle
11-21-2006, 02:47 PM
Well if they can score more than him...how are they anylesser than him? ....and I don't Care too much for that pompous lara but that ass ponting is more consistant than sachin and if he manages to score more no of centuries than he deserves to be called more deserving.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 02:52 PM
Well if they can score more than him...how are they anylesser than him? ....and I don't Care too much for that pompous lara but that ass ponting is more consistant than sachin and if he manages to score more no of centuries than he deserves to be called more deserving.
Again you probably were not watching when Ponting struggled against most bowling attacks when the overall quality wasn't so mediocre. Around 21 100s in the last few years highlights the point.
Lara may be pompous, but at least played well against much better bowling.
And to your question, they are lesser because right now they've been beating up weak bowling more consistently. When the bowling was better they were nowhere to be seen.
shwetabh
11-21-2006, 02:58 PM
An absolute masterclass from Lara. Cant wait to watch the highlights.
It all depends on the answer to the question- is Tendulkar's recent decline temporary or permanent.
Contrary to many who feel Tendulkar's decline is mental, I think a lot of it is technique. If you look at his innings from the 90s you'll notice how he was predominantly a backfoot player. These days he tends to lunge forward more in the subcontinental mode of batting and plays very little horizontal bat shots compared to his heydays. One reason could be that with the lighter bat he uses he is more comfortable getting on to the front foot but its not working well. He gets caught at the crease far too often compared to his peak. It was a rare sight seeing Tendulkar get caught at the crease a few years back.
South Africa would be the ideal place for him to rediscover his backfoot game and come back strongly but if he continues with the lunge which is a subcontinental trademark he will find things very tough there.
beetle
11-21-2006, 02:59 PM
I have seen sachin struggle against mediocre attack in recent times...everyone has a bad phase .....
It is just that i am not a sachin worshipper and from what i have seen in the recent bast ...i don't share the same kind of undying loyalty that you have.
You may be right that you have probably seen more of him in his best form.....i haven't ..so my opinion is formed from what i have seen.
If bowlers is the criteria than gavaskar who battled against the westindians and the australians at there fastest and mightiest should be considered a better batsman than sachin.....
beetle
11-21-2006, 03:02 PM
>>>Around 21 100s in the last few years highlights the point.
why should that be held against him......(not that i think he is better...just that if he manages to outscore him ....he deserves the crown)
shwetabh
11-21-2006, 03:07 PM
If bowlers is the criteria than gavaskar who battled against the westindians and the australians at there fastest and mightiest should be considered a better batsman than sachin.....
And he is by many though the attacks Tendulkar faced with the likes of Ambrose, Walsh, McGrath, Waqar, Wasim, Gillespie, Warne, Saqlain, Murali, Donald, Pollock etc. were in no way less than what Gavaskar faced. Remember Gavaskar and all batsmen of his era never really faced the top quality spin of Murali, Warne, Kumble, Saqlain, and Harbhajan except for a brief while in the 70s with the Indian spin quatret.
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 03:12 PM
Laura is a maha FTB and will remain so ...
Can I still bump my How much Laura mek thread .... :flux:
lol @ the Audio on the highlights .. :lmao:
beetle
11-21-2006, 03:18 PM
My point is....
If someone scores 36 or sachin's +1centuries....why won't they be deserving of the honour....
No one can score that many centuries playing only minnows over such a long period of time....
We are not talking of 5-6 centuries...we are talking 30 + centuries.Anyone who scores than many over a long period of time deserves credit and should be beyond excuses.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 03:22 PM
I have seen sachin struggle against mediocre attack in recent times...everyone has a bad phase .....
It is just that i am not a sachin worshipper and from what i have seen in the recent bast ...i don't share the same kind of undying loyalty that you have.
You may be right that you have probably seen more of him in his best form.....i haven't ..so my opinion is formed from what i have seen.
Yes, injuries do take their toll after playing so long.
You may call me whatever, but I'm also talking from what I've seen.
And as you can see SRT played against quite good bowling. Gavaskar was a much better batsman than Lara or Ponting and may be SRT too. But I haven't seen much of his, so I'll go with SRT personally. But yes he also faced quality bowling and did quite well, just like SRT. In fact SRT has done better statistically, but you have the problem of comparing different eras which you don't with the current batsmen.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 03:24 PM
My point is....
If someone scores 36 or sachin's +1centuries....why won't they be deserving of the honour....
No one can score that many centuries playing only minnows over such a long period of time....
We are not talking of 5-6 centuries...we are talking 30 + centuries.Anyone who scores than many over a long period of time deserves credit and should be beyond excuses.
Bowling quality!
It's not the minnow, rather the lack of quality bowlers around for the last few years, from which some benefited a lot.
Great innings from Lara. I couldn't help but think how Sachin would have batted under the exact same conditions.
But Lara was quite careless as well. He was lucky that one of his early pull shots landed just short of the fielder and the fielder did not make enough effort to go for the catch.
Also, just before his 100, he tried another risky pull shot which top edged and landed in no man's land.
beetle
11-21-2006, 03:37 PM
sachin and ponting are the same generation players...
Anakin
11-21-2006, 03:44 PM
sachin and ponting are the same generation players...
Yes, hence no comparison of different era is needed like for Sunny and Sachin
beetle
11-21-2006, 03:45 PM
hence...if same achievement ....then same credit ...no?????? :chin:
shwetabh
11-21-2006, 03:54 PM
Radhika, Anakin's point is that even within the same era when the bowling attacks were stronger ie. in the 90s Tendulkar was by far the better batsman.
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 04:00 PM
Radhika jee ... did you read any of my "Batting is Easy In India Threads" over "there" ?
beetle
11-21-2006, 04:07 PM
Radhika, Anakin's point is that even within the same era when the bowling attacks were stronger ie. in the 90s Tendulkar was by far the better batsman.
If he could achieve so much against a better attack...why mediocre against a mediocre attack?
And ponting is probably better now...and the final achievements will be a mean of all times...
Sorry bheem bhai...i guess i was too busy gossiping ... :hic: .
Will try to go back some day and read them..... :duh:
waisay ...do they support my case or anakins...? :chin:
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 04:09 PM
Superb. Everyone writing of Sachin again :wtg:
Perfect, just like for over a decade we all know what happens when fools start dissing the great one :spin:
beetle
11-21-2006, 04:13 PM
No one is dissing sachin dsr....just wondering why others are not given due credit....?
It is just that i can't ever get into the heads of sachin and amitabh worshippers...I find them overemotional and quite illogical.... :hic:
shwetabh
11-21-2006, 04:15 PM
If he could achieve so much against a better attack...why mediocre against a mediocre attack?
Injuries, loss of form etc.
The likes of Kambli, Ajay Sharma etc. all have better FC averages(mediocre attacks) than Tendulkar, Lara, Ponting etc. Doesn't make them better batsmen.
No one is denying that Ponting is a modern great but the quality of the bowling attacks need to be considered as well.
beetle
11-21-2006, 04:19 PM
Who are these shi**y bowlers ponting has been scoring off???? :duh: :duh:
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 04:27 PM
No one is dissing sachin dsr....just wondering why others are not given due credit....?
It is just that i can't ever get into the heads of sachin and amitabh worshippers...I find them overemotional and quite illogical.... :hic:
What the hell has amitabh got to do with it. He is an actor thats all, anyone can be an actor. He is not better actor then others just has image and PR which makes us all like him.
The celebrity world is diff then sporting world. As in sporting world it is all about how good you are, not who you know and wether you are good looking or not.
Sachin is a genius. He has shown that by the performances and overwhelming stats which he will improve beyond anyone.
2 out of last 3 wc's top run scorer. Most hundreds in tests and odi's. Most odi runs and many many more.
Apart form the stats there is the unquantifiable magic of his batting and technique. When in fool flow he is an MCC coaching master class like no other can do.
He is a genius so worthy of worship. Especially those who have seen him in his pomp and glory in 90's. I grew up with Sachin as similar age. He has given me some of my happiest moments. What a player.
beetle
11-21-2006, 04:30 PM
>>>What the hell has amitabh got to do with it. He is an actor thats all, anyone can be an actor. He is not better actor then others just has image and PR which makes us all like him
No need to be rude....what did I write?...?
All i wrote was i don't understand... you do?...good for you !
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 04:33 PM
Sorry bheem bhai...i guess i was too busy gossiping
lol :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
Will try to go back some day and read them..
Here are the threads ...
http://www.sportnetwork.net/boards/read/s119.php?f=118&i=517855&t=517848&sid=119#reply_517855
http://www.sportnetwork.net/boards/read/s119.php?f=118&i=527363&t=527051&sid=119#reply_527363
http://www.sportnetwork.net/boards/read/s119.php?f=118&i=516471&t=516181&sid=119#reply_516471
waisay ...do they support my case or anakins...?
Errmmmm ... No !
we just ran from one fanatic site. let's not make this another one.
sachin is a great player. he is no god. he has failed more often than not recently, which makes him a lesser player overall.
you don't look at the certain period in the 90s and call a player's career.
and, we are talking tests here.
the number of centuries don't mean much. you keep playing, the centuries will pile up. i will go by average. and as far as I am concerned a 100 and a 30 is worse than a 70 and a 60.
beetle
11-21-2006, 04:39 PM
Reading those stats is like studying for exams....neend aati hai... :cry: :cry:
Anakin
11-21-2006, 04:44 PM
This is not another fanatic site just FYI.
The problem with mean/average is this, say you played brilliantly against superb bowling for a decade and then you get serious injuries which affects your form. Another guy played mediocre against good bowling but has been blasting away mediocre bowling now.
Averages will be similar, but common sense should tell you the difference.
And @Yoda, nobody is saying SRT is god. It's just an expression used quite often by many for geniuses in every field. He has failed often recently, but he was supreme against much superior bowling for over a decade. Doesn't make him any lesser batsman.
Smash_Hit
11-21-2006, 04:47 PM
the number of centuries don't mean much. you keep playing, the centuries will pile up. i will go by average. and as far as I am concerned a 100 and a 30 is worse than a 70 and a 60.
Agree.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 04:50 PM
Missing the point entirely. Ponting never played in early 90s, against probably the strongest bowling lineup in recent history. Even till early 2000 Ponting wasn't all that great.
Actually Ponting's rise could very well show the timeline of diminishing bowling strength worldwide.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 04:52 PM
Who are these shi**y bowlers ponting has been scoring off???? :duh: :duh:
Against which great bowlers did he get his runs?
Anakin
11-21-2006, 04:55 PM
And ponting is probably better now...and the final achievements will be a mean of all times...
Sorry bheem bhai...i guess i was too busy gossiping ... :hic: .
Will try to go back some day and read them..... :duh:
waisay ...do they support my case or anakins...? :chin:
There is no IF he could, he DID perform against much superior attack.
The reasons of recent mediocre performance were already mentioned by Shwetabh.
Anakin, I was referring to dsr's "he is worthy of worship" and his getting offended and calling non worshippers fools.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 04:59 PM
Sorry missed his post :wall:
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:02 PM
>>>What the hell has amitabh got to do with it. He is an actor thats all, anyone can be an actor. He is not better actor then others just has image and PR which makes us all like him
No need to be rude....what did I write?...?
All i wrote was i don't understand... you do?...good for you !
How was I rude?
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:09 PM
Anakin, I was referring to dsr's "he is worthy of worship" and his getting offended and calling non worshippers fools.
Since when has everyone got so dammn sensitive. I also never said that non worshippers were fools. I expect a retraction.
I also do think his cricketing skills are wothy of worship in a cricketing sense that is.
Bumper
11-21-2006, 05:11 PM
Shwetabh makes some great points about Sachin's technique. But i still think a major part of his decline is mental than technique. Even during his hey days, we used to see a rather subdued, watchful Sachin in BIG games, which often saw him fail.
He has somehow decided that he is ageing and to keep injuries at bay, he need to cut out some shots from his repertoire. He stopped coming down the wicket to spinners, stopped playing the pull shots vs the pacers, stopped lofting the ball over the infield when the field restrictions are on and in general cut out anything that can stress his back. I think he has simply lost some of his skills, by not playing them for a while.
Greatness of such a player will not vanish, after a few years of failures. But the world will remember players for where they finished, not for where they started. Have no shame in admitting Lara & Punter will leave Sachin well behind when they finish and deservedly so.
Personally, i dont care about individual records. If SRT can help us get to the finals/win the worldcup, i'll take that any day over his 35 centuries.
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:11 PM
radhika, the reason Amitabh fans get 'fanatical' is because some SRK fans commit the blasphemy of comparing SRK to the greatest that is AB. :hic:
Coming back to SRT-BCL debate, had SRT made a 100 today Indian fans would have pointed out that:
1. It was a flat pitch(as it is)
2. He came in when the openers had put on nearly 200
3. The attack is, at best, mediocre
4. There was no pressure
In my opinion, as of now, Lara is the greatest test batsman. Lara was better 1990-94. Then SRT was #1 from 94-2002. And Lara has been better since then. Fans have a short memory. They will largely base their opinions on how a player fared in his last years as opposed to how he did before that. And if SRT rather indifferent run of form in tests continues, Lara will be remembered as the #1 batsman of this era. SRT will be #2.
If I was SRT and I saw Lara's knock and where he was w.r.t. 100s and what people were saying, I'd come out all guns blazing. :flame:
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:13 PM
If SRT can help us get to the finals/win the worldcup, i'll take that any day over his 35 centuries
He has already done that. :wink:
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:13 PM
You are talking like one of them played in some higher league and the other is playing in some school cricket league...
The fact is most played in the same era....against same test playing nations ...
You can't go about comparing each bowler faced ...or how some one got to playmore overs ...or someone ran out of partners...
When we are talking about a long and sucessful career ....you have to see the overall performance .
Sachin is good ...and so are ponting and Lara.....
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 05:15 PM
Reading those stats is like studying for exams....neend aati hai...
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
The works of a Die hard cricket fan Radhika
but Radhika .... In a nutshell those stats tell you how difficult it is to make runs in India and how easy it is to score runs in WI,Pak and AUS ... Iam sure you know how much your man Ponting scored in India ... ya phir woh bhi batana padega ... :lol:
Bumper
11-21-2006, 05:17 PM
In my opinion, as of now, Lara is the greatest test batsman.
I think Ponting is the greatest test bat around currently. The recent SA series, was his career defining series for me. On tricky bowling pitches, he cracked ton after ton when his team was under the mat. Besides Punter has made a habit of making his presence count in BIG games.
I have not seen Lara match Punter consistently against good attacks, in key encounters.
Bumper
11-21-2006, 05:18 PM
If SRT can help us get to the finals/win the worldcup, i'll take that any day over his 35 centuries
He has already done that. :wink:
I meant the coming world cup. :hic:
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:21 PM
>>>radhika, the reason Amitabh fans get 'fanatical' is because some SRK fans commit the blasphemy of comparing SRK to the greatest that is AB.
In my humble opinion...both are bad stereotyped overhyped actors.... :hic: :hic: only difference is I find srk goodlooking ..a goodlooking bad actor. :hic:
>>>>Coming back to SRT-BCL debate, had SRT made a 100 today Indian fans would have pointed out that:
1. It was a flat pitch(as it is)
2. He came in when the openers had put on nearly 200
3. The attack is, at best, mediocre
4. There was no pressure
I never ever do this...a century is a century and its worth is how much it helps a team.
When he does that ..i give credit ...when he doesn't ...i won't ....
I am By God superstitious about his centuries ending in bad luck... :hic: but that is just my opinion and doesn't reflect on him....
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:22 PM
I think Ponting is the greatest test bat around currently. The recent SA series, was his career defining series for me. On tricky bowling pitches, he cracked ton after ton when his team was under the mat. Besides Punter has made a habit of making his presence count in BIG games.
I have not seen Lara match Punter consistently against good attacks, in key encounters.
First of all, are you talking about tests here or ODIs?
Secondly, Punter's team was never on the mat in RSA. Sachin has fared as good or bad as these two have in the last 4 years in the so called big games. And before that, SRT was untouchable no matter what the game.
Anakin
11-21-2006, 05:24 PM
You are talking like one of them played in some higher league and the other is playing in some school cricket league...
The fact is most played in the same era....against same test playing nations ...
You can't go about comparing each bowler faced ...or how some one got to playmore overs ...or someone ran out of partners...
When we are talking about a long and sucessful career ....you have to see the overall performance .
Sachin is good ...and so are ponting and Lara.....
Again not willing to see simple logic. I don't see how it's so difficult to grasp.
Even during the same era, I'll bet Ponting did worse than SRT from mid 90s to early 2000. I don't have the stats right now in front of me, but I'll bet on it.
kabira
11-21-2006, 05:25 PM
what a innings!!
Lets give him a credit...it was against Pakistan..to sone pe suhaga...
although he was quite careless, couple of pull shots could have gone to the hand..
I think he had a plan in mind. He attacked Kaneria...only bowler to pose some threat to windies and made other batters feel comfortable..
100 more runs and Windies might win this by an innings...
Gambit
In my humble opinion...both are bad stereotyped overhyped actors.... hic hic only difference is I find srk goodlooking ..a goodlooking bad actor. hic
Ok. You need to be banned for calling AB overhyped. He is a simply outstanding actor. Is pe charcha karni hai to General board pe ek naya vishay shuru kariye. :flux:
I never ever do this...a century is a century and its worth is how much it helps a team.
When he does that ..i give credit ...when he doesn't ...i won't ....
I am By God superstitious about his centuries ending in bad luck... hic but that is just my opinion and doesn't reflect on him....
Arre, I wasn't referring to you. I'm talking about some Indian fans who would froth at the mouth over a Lara knock but rubbish a similar knock from SRT.
beetle
>>>>.Iam sure you know how much your man Ponting scored in India
My man. :eew: ....i can't stand that arrogant ass...not a fan at all...but that doesn't mean he is not good....like you say...he performs when it count and more consistently than the other two....
Anakin
11-21-2006, 05:28 PM
>>>>.Iam sure you know how much your man Ponting scored in India
My man. :eew: ....i can't stand that arrogant ass...not a fan at all...but that doesn't mean he is not good....like you say...he performs when it count and more consistently than the other two....
:lmao: :lmao:
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:29 PM
>>>Even during the same era, I'll bet Ponting did worse than SRT from mid 90s to early 2000.
Ok ...so be specific and say .....SRT was greatest in mid 90s to early 2000....
not the all time greatest ever.....
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:29 PM
Last time Lara toured england he was embarasing. Kept getting his leg stumped bowled and done by short ball. Scores in single figure were norm.
Today against worst pak attack in living memory using razzaq as 3rd seamer for god sake, on the easiest of batting tracks he hets runs and everyone goes ga ga.
He is good but has serious flaws aginst pace and bounce nowdays.
I would take Sachin anyday. He will do his talking like he always does with the willow.
I predict Sachin to have a glory run for the next couple of years. He will also finish with 50 test tons which no one will break EVER.
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:31 PM
Lara's failures are easily forgotten. His non performance against England home and away in 2004(apart from one useless 400*) and in 2000. His dismal performance in Australia in 2000. His crappy exploits in RSA in the 90s. Bond handing his ass to him in NZ in 2005. His perennial non performance against India including his third class effort in the 4th test earlier this year.
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:33 PM
>>>>Ok. You need to be banned for calling AB overhyped. He is a simply outstanding actor. Is pe charcha karni hai to General board pe ek naya vishay shuru kariye.
Sacchi gambit...i can never get what people find so good about him...
Bhagwan kasam...!!except may be in that movie....jisme woh Eng prof tha ...aur botany padhata hai .... :lmao: :lmao:
Have you seen KANK....sexy sam :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: EWWWWWWWWWW!! :rocklicker:
Anakin
11-21-2006, 05:34 PM
>>>Even during the same era, I'll bet Ponting did worse than SRT from mid 90s to early 2000.
Ok ...so be specific and say .....SRT was greatest in mid 90s to early 2000....
not the all time greatest ever.....
So who would you rate better, someone doing well against Ali for over a decade or someone who has been doing even better but against me for 3/4 years :lol:
Greatest ever title was taken up by someone averaging higher by about FORTY points decades before. :hic:
Anakin
11-21-2006, 05:36 PM
Greatest ever title was taken up by someone averaging higher by about FORTY points decades before. :hic:
Someone averaged about 50 points better in recent time against amateurs too :lol: :lol:
Yea, but it wasn't test cricket, was it? :hic:
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:38 PM
not IMO. Sachin is the greatest ever.
And unlike Bradman, Ponting and Lara. Sachin is a quality bowler :spin:
He is a shorter version of Symonds with the ball in hand. Look at tommorow there is talk of Sachin bowling his seamers :hail:
Rajeev
11-21-2006, 05:39 PM
If Sachin ends up playing till 37 (which is 5 more years )..then.........
Radhika, that professor movie was chupke chupke...
but you know BIG B is hero for man.. angry, action hero..
and SRK is hero for woman.. girly man.. crying and emotional..
:lol:
SRT still got few years left in him.. he is not retired yet.. he will quit one of the versions of cricket first before hanging up his boots..
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:41 PM
So who would you rate better, someone doing well against Ali for over a decade or someone who has been doing even better but against me for 3/4 years :lol:
If that someone was only fighting Ali .......and the other someone was fighting only you(which i am sure isn't that bad... :hic: )Then the former is better...but that is not exactly the case here ...isn't it...
In international cricket everyone gets to play a mixed bag of bowlers....
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:42 PM
If Sachin ends up playing till 37 (which is 5 more years )..then.........
Then he will have as I said 50 TEST HUNDREDS. And who said he will stop at 37, he will play till 40 another 8 years and have every record possible. HE WILL HAVE 100 INTERNATIONAL TONS :wtg:
ALL HAIL KING SACHIN :hail: :hail: :hail:
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:45 PM
I hope thats true dsr....that will be good for the team...
Predator_05
11-21-2006, 05:46 PM
Defend Sachin all you want, but the fact is that he just has to start scoring runs to be rated alongside Lara and Ponting in their current vein of form. He has failed in his last two series against England and Pakistan, and take away that hundred at Delhi and he had a fairly mediocre series vs SL too. This is the lowest ebb of his career 'til date.
Personally, i think his technique has deteriorated. There can't be any other explanation. It has nothing to do with his mindset - after all, he still bats uninhibitedly in ODI cricket doesn't he ? Still charges at spinners, plays shots inside out, drives and cuts like he always has. Batsmen always go through their highs and lows, and there are times when they doubt themselves - ie; Lara was supposed to be in decline after he quit captaincy in '00. Now he is enjoying the best years of his life. Good batsmen who have faith in themselves are able to overcome any mental blocks.
Tendulkar's mindset hasn't changed at all, but his reflexes have slowed, his back has stiffened over the years and the memory of that horrific tennis elbow injury is still fresh - as a result his technique has worsened, forcing him to cut out certain shots from his game. People tend to overlook the fact that he has playing top level cricket since the age of 16. He may be 33, but he has been involved in the game for longer than anyone else. Such a prolonged career takes it's toll, in the form of wear and tear. His decline is permanent...and he just won't be the same batsman he once was.
beetle
11-21-2006, 05:46 PM
Radhika, that professor movie was chupke chupke...
but you know BIG B is hero for man.. angry, action hero..
and SRK is hero for woman.. girly man.. crying and emotional..
:lol:
Nice movie...
I guess you are right there .....:)
RAVI or any other mod, can you pull up my WAQT thread from old version of the board or is it gone??
Bumper
11-21-2006, 05:47 PM
First of all, are you talking about tests here or ODIs?
Secondly, Punter's team was never on the mat in RSA. Sachin has fared as good or bad as these two have in the last 4 years in the so called big games. And before that, SRT was untouchable no matter what the game.
Both Tests & ODIs. I should reword my post that Punter is the best batsman currently.
Recently, Punter saved a test in the Ashes, against a very good pace attack. He cracks a ton or two almost every series (and at good pace, setting up the game). In SA, i thought he scored a ton in the 3rd test (I just checked, i was wrong). But his two tons nevertheless, helped Australia win a Test, setting up the series win.
In ODIs, in key elimination/title encounters, he succeeds more often than fails.
Im not sure i can say the same about Lara. He chokes against good attacks & comes out all guns blazing, the moment, mediocre bowlers are in sight. And almost always, when the pressure is on, u can expect the queen to fail.
King Tendulkar
11-21-2006, 05:48 PM
I hope thats true dsr....that will be good for the team...
It will be I think he has looked quality since he came back apart from one knock against oz. We have been here so many times before, a few low scores and the knives are out. No other cricketer gets the level of criticism he gets after a few low scores :huh:
He will answer his critics like he has for well over a DECADE! Watch out SA
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:51 PM
Punter did well in the 3rd Ashes test but failed in the Edgbaston chase and in the 4th test(where Eng won by 3 wickets), when SKW saved Aus with the bat.He failed against us in '04,'01.
kabira
11-21-2006, 05:52 PM
Lage Raho Gambitbhai..
Jarurat pade to bhula dena, ye SRT devotee hazir ho jayega..
Anakin
11-21-2006, 05:53 PM
If that someone was only fighting Ali .......and the other someone was fighting only you(which i am sure isn't that bad... :hic: )Then the former is better...but that is not exactly the case here ...isn't it...
In international cricket everyone gets to play a mixed bag of bowlers....
Not that extreme of course, just trying to make a point. But, if you compare early 90s to now, it's not that far off either.
Gambit
11-21-2006, 05:57 PM
>>>>Ok. You need to be banned for calling AB overhyped. He is a simply outstanding actor. Is pe charcha karni hai to General board pe ek naya vishay shuru kariye.
Sacchi gambit...i can never get what people find so good about him...
Bhagwan kasam...!!except may be in that movie....jisme woh Eng prof tha ...aur botany padhata hai .... :lmao: :lmao:
Have you seen KANK....sexy sam :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: :eew: EWWWWWWWWWW!! :rocklicker:
Woh botany wali film hai Chupke Chupke. Go and watch Deewar,Sharabi,Anand etc to grasp what a fine actor he is. Sexy sam was :shrug: I admit but can you think of any other 65 year old actor who could have pulled it off? :wink:
beetle
11-21-2006, 06:01 PM
Deewar,Sharabi,Anand..
Yes..agree anand was good..
Sharabi was :eew: (left it half way through)
Deewar...haven't seen it...
Ab yaad aaya...amar akbar anthony...that was good...but not a solo movie.
Sexy sam was so bad....i don't think he should have done such an abnoxious part ...i guess it must bethat pervert karan johar's idea... :eew: :eew: :hic:
Rajeev
11-21-2006, 06:05 PM
Predator, I like your straight-shooter post and you don't accept things blindly
However, Sachin has been in and out for a while and never got a chance to settle in decently for any test series
SA will be his 1st after surgery, so we cannot discount miracles from the little man
Even if he doesn't hit 100s, atleast he can get his touch back
BTW, do people still feel that lara would be scoring like this if Asif and Aktar were there?
Gambit
11-21-2006, 06:14 PM
BTW, do people still feel that lara would be scoring like this if Asif and Aktar were there?
Never know with Lara but I'm sure he would not have made tons in his last 4 tests against Pak as he has done with those two druggies.
King Tendulkar
11-22-2006, 05:59 PM
not IMO. Sachin is the greatest ever.
And unlike Bradman, Ponting and Lara. Sachin is a quality bowler :spin:
He is a shorter version of Symonds with the ball in hand. Look at tommorow there is talk of Sachin bowling his seamers :hail:
Great spell from Sachin, what did he bowl?
King Tendulkar
11-23-2006, 10:09 AM
Holy sh#t Ponting with a ton as well. He is a machine.
Sachin please get some tons in SA. They are closing every day :eek:
Yousuf slammed another 150. Ponting is going great guns and Sachin looked in fantastic touch. Couple of shots he hit yesterday were among the best I've seen. A chest high ball outside the off stump of 140 Ks Sachin flicks through the mid wicket. You need extraordinary skill to play a shot like that.
Gambit
11-23-2006, 10:29 AM
Ponting will get atleast 3 100s this Ashes. That will take him to 35. Lara will stay at 34 for now I think. SRT needs to make atleast 2 against RSA to make this race interesting. :spin:
I doubt if Ponting will carry this kind of form for too long. We have had Haydens, Inzis, Kluseners(in ODIs) and a lot others that were tipped off as Bradmanseque but two guys have been prevailing since the start Tendulkar and Lara. I don't reckon the rest will carry this kind of form for the next 5 years or so. Rahul Draivd will probably carry on his form for few years more am sure. :chin:
King Tendulkar
12-03-2006, 01:11 PM
Another ton for the machine ponting takes him to 33. Lara on 34 and King Sachin on 35.
Sachin is going to need some tons in SA. I think he will get a couple in the series
shailesh
12-03-2006, 01:13 PM
I sincerely hope he does..the rat is getting close :wall:
vBulletin® v3.6.7, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.