View Full Version : Insecurity and the cheap tactics of the old forums
We have noticed one Mr.RameshG (who that is is anyone's guess) has spammed the forums with private messages to a lot of our users with his pleading request to get back to the old forums, here is the text :
"'Please visit the Original xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx This is the parent forum/website of indiancricketfans.com. Some members broke away\r\nfrom the original xxxxxxx and formed this site just a month or so ago. xxxxxxxxxxxxx has been in existence for the last 5 years and is regarded as the unofficial home for Indian cricket on the Internet. Once again I urge you to visit and join us there. Thanks.; "
Such cheap tactics will not go unnoticed here. BTW to those smartsters that try such tricks, although this forums look unmoderated most of the new ones will go through a filter. RameshG was the sender and he sent it to 127 members on this board that didn't reach a single one. All your effort from the old forums to draw people over there are futile and waste of time.
Rajeev
11-21-2006, 10:15 PM
oh my god!
Height of Desperation
moron or is it moroni? :chin:
Now they are starting to learn the lesson humility pays and posters are the ones that make the Message board not vice versa. I guess it's a bit too late for a pleading request. :shrug:
Rajeev
11-21-2006, 10:28 PM
It has to be desperation, old forum is just dying
Number of users at one time: in 2 digits
Top 10 sites: It's vanished from the rating completely
Max no. of posts is a "Pak v.s WI" thread
7-8 posters discussing the same ole thing
No spice, nothing
Bumper
11-21-2006, 10:30 PM
What a farce! Ravi can u PM me the IP of this joker.
So Hitler has finally realized running a fiefdom is not the formula for success, eh ?
Whats the use of all this begging now ? Its not like we have locked up all posters here. They very well know the existence of both boards & they are old enuff to make their choice.
Dhondy
11-21-2006, 10:30 PM
Goodness, Ravi! It's good to know how insecure we have made some people!
Here, we exist for our posters, and not vice versa. Without them, we are nothing.
How sad that some people didn't learn this lesson until it was too late.
Well done for catching the perpetrator! :hail:
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 10:35 PM
Good Catch R .. Well Done .... Dinner on me when I am in Kiwi land .. :wtg:
Whats the use of all this begging now ? Its not like we have locked up all posters here. They very well know the existence of both boards & they are old enuff to make their choice.
Very aptly put Bumper and guess what if our users visit there even by chance they will be back in a jiff. Not only will they be back but will also bring back some along with them :wtg:
Here, we exist for our posters, and not vice versa. Without them, we are nothing.
Therein lies the lesson, people make up communities not vice versa. The mods there used to abuse users at times and expecting the new ones to go there to get abused is the last thing those guys need to publicize.
talksport
11-21-2006, 10:57 PM
Well Done Ravi
Bumper
11-21-2006, 11:06 PM
Ravi has some role to play in the next Bond movie. Fantastic detective work. :wtg:
Bumper
11-21-2006, 11:25 PM
Pathetic work from SR RameshG, following his master's orders yet again!
kabira
11-21-2006, 11:26 PM
any idea who was he??
Bumper
11-21-2006, 11:31 PM
RameshG=max1
talksport
11-21-2006, 11:31 PM
My guess is max1...If IP is from India...then it is him.
If IP is from UK it could be shiva :wink:
kabira
11-21-2006, 11:34 PM
I think Max1 is nice guy and he genuinely felt site was going down and egoistic Abe was still being dictator, so he though he could probably bring back few posters.
But thing is max1, if you read this, we all liked the site. We had great times, but enough was enough. You got to respect your posters.
talksport
11-21-2006, 11:38 PM
max1 is an Indian Cricket Fan....but he got carried away a bit with the trolls of anu and abe.
DravidDaBest
11-21-2006, 11:39 PM
:hail: :hail: :hail: :hail:
Dhondy
11-21-2006, 11:46 PM
Well, there's this story about Max1.
When Bumps invited him to join this place, he thought he was being asked to be a moderator here!! (Horror, horror, you don't ask the neighbour's poodle to be the head of your house, do you?).
So he wrote back to Bumps, literally bursting with importance, as to how he had "too many things on his hands", and couldn't accept the offer.
Bumps nearly died laughing, of course, but had to draft a couple of lines, tears streaming down his face, back to Max as to how he had no intention whatsoever of letting servile little poodles from the neighbourhood take up important duties here!
Gambit
11-21-2006, 11:46 PM
This pathetic attempt says it all. Great work Ravi!
And max1, did it really have to come to this? :shrug: Poor guy.
Aditi
11-21-2006, 11:49 PM
It was Max1?? :huh:
Gambit
11-21-2006, 11:53 PM
Yeah Aditi. Surprising isn't it? :roll:
BTW some masala for radhika when she sees this later. :wink:
BossBhai
11-21-2006, 11:53 PM
heheheheeeee .... man you are good :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Rajeev
11-21-2006, 11:56 PM
Max1 might be Indian Cricket fan but the "blind" editing rubbed on him as well.
Anil edited MOD posts ( imagine that ) so obviously max1 had to do it on the posters
I quit ICF a while ago just for that reason, you cannot just re-write anyone's post just because it doesn't suit your agenda
But this what happens when zero pretends to be hero
Let me try to be the devil's advocate here, in the literal sense.
We advertised this site there as we had no choice. We knew that many there wanted to be rescued and had to get the word out. It was against the mods' wishes there, but heck we did it anyways. Bumper FAOd me via gator there, Predator saw my sig which was suggested by KS and in turn Predator has roped in god knows how many more here. If there was a PM feature available, I am sure we would have PM'd the shyte out of that place.
Now max1 is returning the favor.
Why are we all upset? :hic:
Gambit
11-22-2006, 12:00 AM
Name and shame yoda :wink:
Rajeev
11-22-2006, 12:02 AM
Yoda, coz when we advertised it..it was promoting a new site
Not complaining abt the wrongdoings etc, here..it's more of a complaint and begging to come back
there is a difference here my friend
of course there is a difference.
the difference is it was easy to get folks over here. all we needed to do was to get the word out. they know they have a shyte house there and hence have to resort to cheap lies.
i believe it is a tit-for-tat for us advertising over there and won't be an ongoing issue.
the problem i have with max1 is that he asked that people not promote other sites there, but he has resorted to cheaper tactic of bombarding people with PMs promting his site here.
Aptly put Rajeev. We don't mind someone coming and advertising here as long as they let us advertise there. Rajeev's Blog is an excellent example. We have people from both our sites visit each other which is excellent. We are happy to do that with anyone as long as they reciprocate. We have the recommended links in the front page for this reason.
Bumper
11-22-2006, 12:10 AM
Let me try to be the devil's advocate here, in the literal sense.
We advertised this site there as we had no choice. We knew that many there wanted to be rescued and had to get the word out. It was against the mods' wishes there, but heck we did it anyways. Bumper FAOd me via gator there, Predator saw my sig which was suggested by KS and in turn Predator has roped in god knows how many more here. If there was a PM feature available, I am sure we would have PM'd the shyte out of that place.
Now max1 is returning the favor.
Why are we all upset? :hic:
Good qns Yoda. But u are comparing apples & oranges. That place is an existing board, everyone here, knows its existence. This place is a new one, people need to be made aware of it. They are up in arms when we advertise our site there, why should we welcome them, do the same here ?
The point is we dont go there & ask people to quit that place & come here.
We merely went there & told posters there is an alternative. Till date we have not asked a single poster to not go there. Its by their CHOICE, they are here. They can tell the cream from the crap.
Now that u bring it up, i prefer a more open approach. Let them advertise here, let us advertise there. Lets see where the respective boards end up. :hic:
Bumper
11-22-2006, 12:19 AM
When Bumps invited him to join this place, he thought he was being asked to be a moderator here!! (Horror, horror, you don't ask the neighbour's poodle to be the head of your house, do you?).
So he wrote back to Bumps, literally bursting with importance, as to how he had "too many things on his hands", and couldn't accept the offer.
Bumps nearly died laughing, of course, but had to draft a couple of lines, tears streaming down his face, back to Max as to how he had no intention whatsoever of letting servile little poodles from the neighbourhood take up important duties here!
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: , expect Dhondy to deliver the sucker punch every single time, the opponent gets up, hoping for an escape.
Now that u bring it up, i prefer a more open approach. Let them advertise here, let us advertise there. Lets see where the respective boards end up. :hic:
c'mon bumper. we aren't that cruel. :lol:
gator
11-22-2006, 07:03 AM
ROFL dhonds.... u should substitute poodle for puppy, what say ;)
RameshG
11-22-2006, 07:33 AM
Firstly don't assume without any proof that I am X, Y, Z poster at some other forum. Secondly, what's the point of having a Private Messaging
system if the mods/admins can read the messages? Thirdly, if the PM's I sent did not reach
the members, and it passes through filter, as claimed by Mr.Ravi, then why has the PM
facility been disabled now? Fourthly, yoda is right - this was a tit-fot-tat response to the
cheap tactics used by many of you guys, including the mods here, in order to advertise your
site on ICF. Inspite of requests not to advertise by the ICF mods, You guys linked the site
in your sigs, started threads calling posters to join, and even created an ID called
"indiancricketfans.com" in the ICF Super Selector (now that is what is true desperation!).
Yet now when given a small taste of your own medicine, the same people start crying and make a big issue out of it.
Aditi
11-22-2006, 07:42 AM
so who are you on ICF?
kabira
11-22-2006, 07:50 AM
why dont you just start a thread directly inviting ppl..
gator
11-22-2006, 07:58 AM
First of all I'm not max. Secondly what's the point of having a Private Messaging
system if the mods/admins can read the messages? Thirdly, if the PM's I sent did not reach
the members, and it passes through filter, as claimed by Mr.Ravi, then why has the PM
facility been disabled now? Fourthly, yoda is right - this was a tit-fot-tat response to the
cheap tactics used by many of you guys, including the mods here, in order to advertise your
site on ICF. Inspite of requests not to advertise by the ICF mods, You guys linked the site
in your sigs, started threads calling posters to join, and even created an ID called
"indiancricketfans.com" in the ICF Super Selector (now that is what is true desperation!).
Yet now when given a small taste of your own medicine, the same people start crying and make a big issue out of it.
there he comes out, wriggling out of his rat hole.... ladies and gentlemen, i present the immature kid cum moderator from the other board, Abe to u...
First of all I'm not max. Secondly what's the point of having a Private Messaging
There is absolutely no crying. We still kept your username going by the way. If we didn't want you to respond here we could have banned your user ID. Why is that you only choose very few users to send your PM to? Rather you could have sent it to all including us right. Let's get this right, you were trying to sneak through thinking people won't really track the PMs. Anyways your job was futile and don't try to be the old forums mouth piece. If they let us advertise we will let you guys advertise.
Requests from the mod???? Do they know to request at all?
Secondly what's the point of having a Private Messaging
facility been disabled now?
You think we did not anticipate your moves??? Don't think we are dumb enough to let the PMs without moderation from someone that has registered a day before and try to spam by sending 127 PMs. The spam filter caught you the very minute you sent over 5 PMs with no posts to your credit.
The reason it has been disabled is to further enhance the security to make sure guys like you don't end up abusing the system and also save us fellas some moderation time.
Predator_05
11-22-2006, 08:22 AM
Ravi, just ban this d*ckhead and get it over with. :stone:
Doesn't matter he will eventually see the reason for this new website and may end up joining. He spammed by using the PM but has not really abused anyone or has tried to post abuses about the website ala Anu_D so we will keep him active. I'm sure he will either disappear from here by himself or will become a permanent member here :hic:
I'm sure if he deserves a ban the rest of the mods here will aptly ban him. BTW nice smiley :wtg:
gator
11-22-2006, 08:40 AM
ravi.... man, hats off to u.... u have an infinitely cool head.... like predator said, save urself the trouble of predicting his moves and kick his sorry azz bak to tht hole...
RameshG
11-22-2006, 09:23 AM
Ravi wrote:
There is absolutely no crying.
No crying? Is that why you saw it fit to start 2 threads on this subject?
Why is that you only choose very few users to send your PM to? Rather you could have sent it to all including us right. Let's get this right, you were trying to sneak through thinking people won't really track the PMs. Anyways your job was futile and don't try to be the old forums mouth piece.
Well out of 400+ registered users on your site, only about 80 have actually posted or contributed something. The very fact that I sent the PM's to only those with 0 posts should make it obvious that I was not really serious about marketing. These people probably may not even log in again to this site. Like I said, it was only a tit-fot-tat response, nothing more or less.
The reason it has been disabled is to further enhance the security to make sure guys like you don't end up abusing the system and also save us fellas some moderation time.
Thanks for clarifying. But if you call what I did abuse, then the same should apply to what many of you guys (including the mods/admins here) did at ICFever.
I have to say RameshG had an agend even before he registered. Firstly he used a different ID, registered himself, looked around and then created RameshG. Then using the other ID sent a private message to RameshG to test run the PM. After he realised he can send the PM, he sent to our user base. The mistake he made was non stop PM sending and that triggered off flood control.
ReameshG is not as holy as he claims but I won't worry about him or his previous ID.
beetle
11-22-2006, 09:35 AM
I don't think this guy is max1....or gaurang
But even if it is one of them....it's ok...
Spent some good times with them and yeh chalta hai...koi baat nahi..
RameshG
11-22-2006, 09:37 AM
I have a feeling there are many posters with multiple ID's registered on this site. What else could explain close to 450 registered users and just 80 actual posters :shrug:
Ravi wrote:
There is absolutely no crying.
No crying? Is that why you saw it fit to start 2 threads on this subject?
Why is that you only choose very few users to send your PM to? Rather you could have sent it to all including us right. Let's get this right, you were trying to sneak through thinking people won't really track the PMs. Anyways your job was futile and don't try to be the old forums mouth piece.
Well out of 400+ registered users on your site, only about 80 have actually posted or contributed something. The very fact that I sent the PM's to only those with 0 posts should make it obvious that I was not really serious about marketing. These people probably may not even log in again to this site. Like I said, it was only a tit-fot-tat response, nothing more or less.
Thanks for clarifying. But if you call what I did abuse, then the same should apply to what many of you guys (including the mods/admins here) did at ICFever.
Stop pretending here RameshG. You aren't as cool as you write. As I wrote above you plotted it nicely but in the end it didn't help. After having a quick look I'm convinced you used another nick for a while and then you tried this trick.
If it was just a tit-for-tat response why did you have to register with a seperate ID first then test the PM and then start sending the PMs to the rest.
BTW if you have no connections with the old forums then why do you worry? I can't quite understand why should you be hurt some of our users publicized this website over there.
I have a feeling there are many posters with multiple ID's registered on this site. What else could explain close to 450 registered users and just 80 actual posters :shrug:
Is that your problem? Definitely not. We are not asking for your suggestions on how to get those users active. Do you agree you created two IDs and if you did are you happy to let us know why? We need to decide which one to delete you see.
Finally I can't believe all you guys from the old forums that aren't happy to see this website or do not hold this website in high regard visit us every day. If you guys don't like what you see here then why bother coming here and waste our time as well as yours?
beetle
11-22-2006, 09:44 AM
anu or shiva? :chin:
Do you care Rads? Believe me this will be never ending but am sure some of these guys will settle down here permanently.
ravi.... man, hats off to u.... u have an infinitely cool head.... like predator said, save urself the trouble of predicting his moves and kick his sorry azz bak to tht hole...
We will have plenty of such ones Gator, we kind of expected this anyways.
Now that is getting desperate.
Why the **** do you care how many are registered here and how many are posting?
Shouldn't you be worried that your site is a shyte hole after driving out a vast number of regular posters from there?
beetle
11-22-2006, 10:10 AM
[quote="Ravi"]Do you care Rads? quote]
are you asking me ? or is this just like .....do we care? :duh:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 10:10 AM
Ravi, can you answer my question first and then I'll reply to yours? Why did you mods start two threads on this issue, if you had no intention of "crying" about what I did with the PM's? Why all this chest thumping, if you really were onto me as you say, it should not have been such a big deal...you could have easily dealt with it quietly. Would have saved everyone (including me and you) a lot of time :lol:
Now I'm unable to focus on my work...and there's plenty to do :mad:
So, max1, it was you. Nice sneeky editing there.
Welcome to the new ICF. Bookmark the site and start posting your rants about Chappell. :lol:
beetle
11-22-2006, 10:14 AM
yeh kya bachpana hai ramesh G......just tell us who you are ......and why not just post like normal people .
Predator_05
11-22-2006, 10:18 AM
Yep, lots of work...those customers at Nirulas still haven't gotten their dosas yet. Get the ***** out of here, maxine.
Ravi, can you answer my question first and then I'll reply to yours? Why did you mods start two threads on this issue, if you had no intention of "crying" about what I did with the PM's? Why all this chest thumping, if you really were onto me as you say, it should not have been such a big deal...you could have easily dealt with it quietly. Would have saved everyone (including me and you) a lot of time :lol:
The reason for creating two threads is very paltry and unintentional. What happened was I had installed a new module "Global Announcement" which is supposed to create a sticky announcement in all the forums I mark. In the end that one didn't work out very well. Instead of mirroring the same thread and having all the comments show in one single thread it created two topics in two different forums hence the two 2 threads. I wouldn't waste the server space by creating two thread will I?
If I knew at first you had another ID created and had read those posts first I would have reacted differently than exposing the PMs :hic: Someone with a nick "RameshG" comes here, posts 127 PMs and you reckon I should have talked to RameshG, told him that isn't good is it? It's all good to hear mate but it won't work like that, does it?
After I dug up a bit more I realised you had another ID created quite a while before. TBH I don't really care about it right now. Who cares you had two IDs but I think you should forgo one of them.
[quote="Ravi"]Do you care Rads? quote]
are you asking me ? or is this just like .....do we care? :duh:
Just saying should we care if it's shiva or anu I meant. :spin:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 10:57 AM
Ravi, forget the stress on the "2 threads". Guess I should have worded it differently...my question is if it was not such a big deal as you claim...why did you choose to make this issue public at all? Also, I am not so naive to think you guys wouldn't get onto to me sooner or later, sending all those PM's in such a short period of time. Like I said, what I attempted to do was just giving you guys a taste of your own medicine, whether you believe it or not.
I think you should forgo one of them.
Ok, please delete this ID (the name sucks anyways). I'll use the other one in future if and when I post. Thanks.
RameshG
11-22-2006, 11:10 AM
radhika, does it really matter who I am? Anyways bumper got it right the first time.
Why the **** do you care how many are registered here and how many are posting?
Couldn't help noticing it when I checked the members list. Sorry if this info disappoints you.
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 11:12 AM
Guess I should have worded it differently...my question is if it was not such a big deal as you claim...why did you choose to make this issue public at all?
Let me answer that. Because unlike the moderators on the other forum(maybe you are one, didn't get the time to access the forums and just came across the thread) we believe posters make up the message board and believe in sharing attempts to destroy their message board and asking for their opinions. Sounds like a pretty alien concept to you, right?
Moreover, if you are so keen to advertise that website here the normal way to go would be to ask the mods/admins for reciprocal advertisement which we asked and were refused and were left with no choice but to use sneaky tactics to inform the posters whom we have shared a lot of fun for the past few years about our whereabouts. The idea of caring and respecting fellow posters. Pretty alien, right?
Ravi, forget the stress on the "2 threads". Guess I should have worded it differently...my question is if it was not such a big deal as you claim...why did you choose to make this issue public at all? Also, I am not so naive to think you guys wouldn't get onto to me sooner than later, sending all those PM's in such a short period of time. Like I said, what I attempted to do was just giving you guys a taste of your own medicine, whether you believe it or not.
It was a big deal at first as I was fairly surprised the PMs were used this quickly to market. 127 PMs were quite a bit and it was a big deal then.
After I realized you had another ID on this forums and seeing your conduct as well as the PM text I felt it should be left at that. Sometimes when some of tools that we installed works it tempts you to chest thump and proclaim you see.
Ok, please delete this ID (the name sucks anyways). I'll use the other one in future if and when I post. Thanks.
You don't have to stop posting or should you feel guilty about all this. I'm clearly saying it isn't a big deal anymore and you only helped us realize the flood control is working. PM will be back but with a bit more security :hic: Also I'm not interested in publicizing your other ID. Let's just move on, we all make silly mistakes sometime. :wtg:
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 11:19 AM
BTW, great job Ravi to get tackle the situation. :wtg:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 11:26 AM
we believe posters make up the message board and believe in sharing attempts to destroy their message board and asking for their opinions.
lol @ destroy :lol: Anyways if sending a few PM's can be called an attempt to "Destroy", then I wonder what you would term the repeated attempts by many posters here, including many of the mods, to sneak in adverts to this site at ICFever.
The initial post was hardly one asking for people's opinions. It was more a chest thumping exercise IMO. Taking about sharing info with people...is that why you have a separate admin panel for the mods...not to mention the strong caution warning people of 'IP banishment' etc. Great transparency indeed (not!). Anyways why not make those issues you discuss within the admin panel public as well...instead of picking and choosing issues like this one?
lol @ destroy lol Anyways if sending a few PM's can be called an attempt to "Destroy", then I wonder what you would term the repeated attempts by many posters here, including many of the mods, to sneak in adverts to this site at ICFever.
The initial post was hardly one asking for people's opinions. It was more a chest thumping exercise IMO. Taking about sharing info with people...is that why you have a separate admin panel for the mods...not to mention the strong caution warning people of 'IP banishment' etc. Great way to share info to your members.
Now this is something we find it hard to take. You wrote about 120+ PMs which easily qualify as spamming and now you question us why did we have to open a thread about it. I already said yes it was chest thumping and I see no problem in that. A new user "RameshG" PMs about 120+ times on the day he joins and we should sort it out ourselves is it? BTW the ones that are contributing on a daily basis have absoltuely no problem with the way this website operates but you are having a problem???
Two users so far have been banned and believe me the users on this board were the first to suggest those bans not the mods. If you are still typing these posts you must have realised we have a lot of patience and don't go around banning someone just because we love to ban people. You go the same way the other two have (abuse this website, users) and no question IP ban is what you will get.
Gambit
11-22-2006, 11:37 AM
LOL! Poor max1. You wasted so much time trying to send PMs to 127 members and not a single one went through! :lmao: Anyway, have you given up on ex-ICF? It seems you're more active here than there. :wink:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 11:42 AM
You don't have to stop posting or should you feel guilty about all this. I'm clearly saying it isn't a big deal anymore and you only helped us realize the flood control is working. PM will be back but with a bit more security hic Also I'm not interested in publicizing your other ID. Let's just move on, we all make silly mistakes sometime. wtg
Trust me, I don't feel even one iota of guilt for what I did with the PM's :wtg: (reason already given)
And I wouldn't mind if you publicized my other ID here...no big deal, I just used it to discuss cricket.
Ok moving on...just one question...can we change our nicknames, like we can at ICFever? Just want to avoid registering once again as if I do post here in future, I would like to do so with my ICFever ID.
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 11:43 AM
lol @ destroy Anyways if sending a few PM's can be called an attempt to "Destroy", then I wonder what you would term the repeated attempts by many posters here, including many of the mods, to sneak in adverts to this site at ICFever.
Spam=destroy in internet vocabulary. And I did not expect better than the usual picking on one or two words rather than discussing your pathetic attempt at trolling. I've already given the reason for the sneaky adverts. If you are so confident about your site, lets make it reciprocal advertising as is the norm on the internet.
Taking about sharing info with people...is that why you have a separate admin panel for the mods...
There is already a thread on the forums discussing that. The need to preserve our phone numbers and avoid getting a flood of emails is the reason for the existence of the forum. We have promised only administrative issues and personal information will be discussed there to our posters and guess what they trust us.
not to mention the strong caution warning people of 'IP banishment' etc
Whats wrong with that? If SN had given you guys those rights most of us would have met the same fate. FYI there have been 2 users banned so far, Blade for abusing the site, Rajeev, and Ravi incessantly over 100 posts and anu_D(for 14 days) for abusing the site, its moderators, and fellow posters incessantly for 120 posts. That you are still posting here will give you an idea of the moderation levels here. Can you promise me that I will not get banned for advertising our site on yours?
Anyways why not make those issues you discuss within the admin panel public as well...instead of picking and choosing issues like this one?
Read above about the requirement to preserve our privacy and avoid our email inboxes from flooding. We have discussed the IP addresses of posters we have banned there and would not have wanted to make them public even for our banned posters because of the hazards of the internet. Get it?
You don't have to stop posting or should you feel guilty about all this. I'm clearly saying it isn't a big deal anymore and you only helped us realize the flood control is working. PM will be back but with a bit more security hic Also I'm not interested in publicizing your other ID. Let's just move on, we all make silly mistakes sometime. wtg
Trust me, I don't feel even one iota of guilt for what I did with the PM's :wtg: (reason already given)
And I wouldn't mind if you publicized my other ID here...no big deal, I just used it to discuss cricket.
Ok moving on...just one question...can we change our nicknames, like we can at ICFever? Just want to avoid registering once again as if I do post here in future, I would like to do so with my ICFever ID.
No you can't change your nick but if you like to retain your old forums ID just let me know and I will change your old nick to the one you choose.
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 12:01 PM
Are you sure master Abe wont be displeased to know that you were posting here? And this is quite funny that you were posting here and discussing cricket and have constantly stopped us from informing our fellow posters at ex-ICF of our whereabouts!!!! :lmao: :lmao:
Gambit
11-22-2006, 12:28 PM
^^
:lmao:
And SS was reopened for him after he pleaded to join. :wink:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 12:40 PM
^
^
Very funny :roll: I just made a handful of posts under the other ID...and anyway it was just over the last few days...well after you guys had stopped your sneaky attempts to advert on ICFever. Anyways continue amusing yourself at the expense of ICFever. Great attitude by the mods I have to say, encouraging mocking and abuse of a site and its regulars they used to frequent for years until not too long ago. I'm sure it will stand you in good stead in the long run. Several posts of blatant personal abuse/mocking have been allowed to stand without so much as a protest from the mods. Whatever the biases of the mods at ICFever, you rarely if ever saw such cheap personal comments against any poster allowed to stand, even against those who had opposite POV's and hated the site.
Sooda
11-22-2006, 12:42 PM
Its not Max I think and apparently Bumper 'got it right the first time' wrt to who Ramesh Saab is...so Abe or Shiva possibly.
Anyways, as has already been pointed out posters here are aware of the other boards existance and are free to post there (and vice versa). I for one, post equally irregularly on both.
So the adverting will not get you anywhere
And yes ICFever isnt the same. Its just Anu, Audio and the mods going around in circles. Gabbar and the occaisional Pakster. Theyll all migrate before long :)
Gambit
11-22-2006, 12:44 PM
LOL. Don't get so defensive. No one is making fun of ex-ICF but fun of a couple of people who ran it to the ground.
If you think only some people had a problem with the moderators on ex-ICF, why do you think 60% of the top 50 posters are here?
Dhondy
11-22-2006, 12:45 PM
Ravi, if this guy doesn't post on cricket soon, just ban his ass and get him out of here. We don't need cheap publicity from these wannabes.
Gambit
11-22-2006, 12:45 PM
Sooda, it is max1! He's admitted it. Ask him. :flux:
RameshG
11-22-2006, 12:50 PM
Ravi, if this guy doesn't post on cricket soon, just ban his ass and get him out of here. We don't need cheap publicity from these wannabes.
Dhondy, control yourself dude. So much anger over what? Take it easy...I wasn't the one who started this thread.
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 12:52 PM
I just made a handful of posts under the other ID
Why not give the other posters at ex-ICF the same opportunity to make those handful posts?
Great attitude by the mods I have to say, encouraging mocking and abuse of a site they used to frequent for years until not too long ago. I'm sure it will stand you in good stead in the long run.
Better than creating multiple IDs and spamming the hell out of site whose existence is solely due the stupid ***** moderation policies being followed at ex-ICF.
Charm of a $75 computer game too much to give up for a principled stance against a website which was formed on the back of "backbiting", "politics" and a website you were eager to see the downfall of?
Predator_05
11-22-2006, 12:52 PM
Exactly !
Why do we even bother soiling our own territory with these slimey turds ?!!? Bunch of attention-*****s - the lot of them. Their own forum is a sh*thole headed towards a full-fledged collapse, and since they are all jobless *****s with ample time on their hands, they can't help but take their bullsh*t to a forum like ours.
Imagine what kind of impression a thread like this creates for new members ? We've had three of these idiots register on here in the past, and it was evident that none of them intend on talking cricket and they were all rightfully banned. Why bother giving these tools the benefit of doubt in the first place ? Just 'can their @sses.
RameshG
11-22-2006, 12:59 PM
Exactly !
Why do we even bother soiling our own territory with these slimey turds ?!!? Bunch of attention-*****s - the lot of them. Their own forum is a sh*thole headed towards a full-fledged collapse, and since they are all jobless *****s with ample time on their hands, they can't help but take their bullsh*t to a forum like ours.
Imagine what kind of impression a thread like this creates for new members ? We've had three of these idiots register on here in the past, and it was evident that none of them intend on talking cricket and they were all rightfully banned. Why bother giving these tools the benefit of doubt in the first place ? Just 'can their @sses.
^ this is the kind of personal abuse I was referring to in my earlier post. No way would a post such as the one above by Predator_05 be allowed to stand at ICFever...no matter who it was directed against. And I have seen several such posts full of blind irrational hatred here on this board, without a single word uttered by the mods.
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 01:00 PM
Several posts of blatant personal abuse/mocking have been allowed to stand without so much as a protest from the mods.
Point them out and if they contain personal abuse something will be done. But remember personal abuse here means slightly more than dissing Ganguly and I'll give you examples to the level personal abuse and trolling of Blade and anu_D was tolerated here. There is no official policy against "mocking" here and you should know that since you are still around despite mocking the site and its mods. Or should we just kill the mocking bird.
Whatever the biases of the mods at ICFever, you rarely if ever saw such cheap personal comments against any poster allowed to stand, even against those who had opposite POV's and hated the site.
Yeah, you want me to post ***** written by the most esteemed poster of ex-ICF, anu_D abusing other posters. Or you want me to post comment after comment by Anil. But no point giving any cheap publicity so will not do so.
Gambit
11-22-2006, 01:07 PM
max, please get off your high horse and stop pretending to be an angel. There are many instances of you chiding guyinallblue and dsr for their posts criticising Ganguly and deleted them. If the moderators here want tips, they certainly won't come to you.
Look what you have turned ex-ICF into! It's not even among the top 10 SN sites anymore! And that despite October being the ICCCT month! And it's nowhere to be seen in November either. Barely 5-6 active members there now. So tips from you? :lmao: Thanks but no thanks. :wink:
BTW if anyone had seen this "angel" on the cricket 365 forum back in 2003, you would have been appalled to see the language he is capable of. Right SM? :wink:
Dhondy
11-22-2006, 01:12 PM
Max1 has been kicked out for littering the forum with rubbish.
Goodbye!
shwetabh
11-22-2006, 01:12 PM
this is the kind of personal abuse I was referring to in my earlier post. No way would a post such as the one above by Predator_05 be allowed to stand at ICFever...no matter who it was directed against. And I have seen several such posts full of blind irrational hatred here on this board, without a single word uttered by the mods.
Predator's abuse is perfectly justified in light of your pathetic trolling and spamming attempts. I can understand why he is pi$$ed off as can most posters here. Did he abuse you when you were talking cricket from your other ID? Oh yeah and on ex-ICF Predator would have been banned and the trolls and spammers welcomed with open arms as you guys did with anu_D.
Anyhow, cutting all the crap no one here has any personal grudges against you or anyone at ex-ICF and as long as you are here to talk cricket, science, finance, anything under than sun rather than spam the hell out of our forum and abuse others you are welcome.
Predator_05
11-22-2006, 01:15 PM
Maxine, that is the kind of treatment someone like you deserves. You came here with no other motive than to annoy other posters. What kind of reaction did you expect ? Peoples' patience wears thin sooner or later. OK, so you are p1ssed at how we spammed your forum a month ago. Fine, you've made your point - you had your little tit for tat thing, and it's all done with. But now - by harping on about the many virtues of your daddy Abe's board and after relentlessly taking pot shots at the admin, you have clearly overstayed your welcome here. Now either you post something relevant in any one of our 4 forums or you get out. Simple.
talksport
11-22-2006, 01:34 PM
Max1 has been kicked out for littering the forum with rubbish.
Goodbye!
You guys had patience for 5 pages of Trolling.
beetle
11-22-2006, 02:06 PM
Is rameshG = smash_hit.??????.....
:eew:
:slap:
:stone:
:twak:
-
Legend
11-22-2006, 02:18 PM
what was/is the url of old forum though..??
beetle
11-22-2006, 02:31 PM
:shhh: kaun ho???
Lurker
11-22-2006, 03:03 PM
Personally I do not think I know much behind the cause of this thread, the background and so on, but I read something that caught my attention. I would like to share my own two cents on this.
Well out of 400+ registered users on your site, only about 80 have actually posted or contributed something.
Okay I have been in MB world for about 2 years now, Admin on a couple of websites till I got extremely caught up in my work. As the saying goes, "Upparwaala jab deta hai to chappar phaar ke deta hai..aur jab leta hai to......" khair jaane dijiye.
Let me tell you something as an Administrator. A board, any board, is lucky if it has a dozen dedicated posters. Normally you will have about 10 people who are very regular, another 10 that are fairly regular and rest infrequent. Most boards run on this core set of 20-25 users. It is the same old economics of 20% people having 80% of the wealth. So if you have 80 decidated users that is actually a fairly good number. I see a lot of posters who are very frequent and that can only be a good sign for this website.
xxx
talksport
11-22-2006, 03:10 PM
Lurker, You the nail on the head
xxx
is that kisses at the end :eek:
Bumper
11-22-2006, 03:22 PM
First, RameshG=max1, no doubts about that!
Second, if this is a tit-for-tat move to advertise here, how about a tit-for-tat ban to get u outta here ?
Ever wondered why so many people left your board, what have u done about it, before begging so many to come back ?
And stop this attention whoring & post something on other threads. Otherwise, adios! Last warning given.
max1 giving advice on moderation.
HaHaHa.
personal abuse on trollers and spammers is allowed here. personal abuse on those who don't worship the mod's player of choice is not. get the difference?
gator
11-22-2006, 05:15 PM
why u guys acting so PC.... it leaves a bitter taste on the forums.... why not jus kick his azz out the moment u identified him.... c'mon guys, i jus read throuhg the entire thread and staring at the screen in disbelief at his idiocy...... i say, ban the *****hole before he starts all preachy....
Bumper
11-22-2006, 05:35 PM
Gator, Doc Saab, has taken care of the issue. He's banned.
kabira
11-22-2006, 05:36 PM
max1, please send me an email, explaining in not less than 100 words why should I post on that forum??
Bumper
11-23-2006, 04:16 AM
Wow, just went thru the entire thread. There is enuff masala for a movie here :hic:
If you think only some people had a problem with the moderators on ex-ICF, why do you think 60% of the top 50 posters are here?
Thats easy, because the remaining 40% dont know about our site :lol:
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: Lemme get this straight. He did all this work as a tit-for-tat, sending PMs to all the posters here who never logged in, so they'll get their PM in their dreams & come running to his site ? Grrrrrrrr
vroomfondel
11-23-2006, 08:53 AM
Mods -- I appreciate that the mods decided to 'disclose' our friendly neighborhood spammer.
Dhonds -- unban yaar, no abuse, just stupidity and non-cricketness. lock this thread, let it go and lets see if he can talk cricket.
Max1/RameshG/Shiva/Abe/Whoever -- why didn't you just open a thread about the old board, man? It would have been allowed to stay. Look at this - I can say www.sportnetwork.net , and guess what, my post will never be touched by any of the mods here...can you type indiancricketfans on sn without Abe going at it with a hacksaw? I still go there for Gaurang's articles, but what good reason would I have to post there?
I don't know how blinded you need to be to think that the moderation on the old board was 'good' or 'fair' or 'unbiased' by any stretch of your already overstretched imagination, but if you actually believe that, then I don't think any of us can convince you otherwise. So we should stop. And feel free to post cricket -- I assure you that this is the best place for an honest opinion.
observer1
11-23-2006, 08:59 AM
it is probably max1.
the proof, going back to those days at Arkansas, is the fact that every second post will be edited.
even the one-liners.
Dhondy
11-23-2006, 09:02 AM
Did unban him, Vroom, pretty much the same day, as requested by Gambo & Shwetabh, who said exactly what you did.
The fella came straight back, took another swipe at us, and left.
At that point, I had no option but to delete his post, and re-ban him.
He'll be given another chance, if you guys think that's proper, but he has to serve his ban period first.
vroomfondel
11-23-2006, 09:07 AM
k thanks. understandably too much aggravation for you guys.
hope he comes back in a better mood. :twocents:
Rohan495
11-23-2006, 09:49 AM
Lets make this website grow! Lets take it to the boduu selectors
King Tendulkar
11-23-2006, 09:52 AM
How is abusing mods of old site, abuse of fellow posters. They do not post here, so are not fellow posters.
Abuse of the old site should be allowed and is allowed. It is theraputic for many of us :wtg:
As for max 1 he was an idiot as well. He was just not as big a **** as some of the others like abe or shiva but neverthless he was still a **** as shown by the posts he did on this thread.
Dhondy
11-23-2006, 11:28 PM
Wow, just went thru the entire thread. There is enuff masala for a movie here :hic:
Thats easy, because the remaining 40% dont know about our site :lol:
Bravo, Bumps!! :hail: :hail: :hail:
Legend
11-23-2006, 11:58 PM
can anyone tell me what was the odl site's name.. dont know if it still exists, but just curious
anyone??
Gambit
11-24-2006, 12:33 AM
Here: http://beam.to/icf
Legend
11-24-2006, 12:34 AM
finally someone..
thanks gambit...
american wayz == i appreciate lol.
vBulletin® v3.6.7, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.