Change in Dhoni's stance, affecting his attacking game

Ankit_sharma03

Something i was also noticing for sometime , Saba n lee have rightly point out

I also see this as a mental issue, as he looks to be ultra cautious. It very easy to point out from his stance if he is going to attack of defend

17807446_1431374760247321_12591341418043

17760822_1431375803580550_72504099829616

IF we go n see his earlier years stance , his backlift was a lot higher n stance balanced

Video- http://www.hotstar.com/sports/cricket/vivo-ipl-2017/m183386/match-clips/change-of-stance-not-working-for-msd/2002001320

It is actually called "Age".  When you get older, you don't play the same way like you used to, especially the kind of batsman MS is, who is not textbook player but an unorthodox player. Same will happen to Smith with time and age. 

MS will sill show flashes of brilliance but won't be as great hitter likr we know him. He will do fine in 50 overs as that format gives him time to adjust. 

21 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Something i was also noticing for sometime , Saba n lee have rightly point out

I also see this as a mental issue, as he looks to be ultra cautious. It very easy to point out from his stance if he is going to attack of defend

17807446_1431374760247321_12591341418043

17760822_1431375803580550_72504099829616

IF we go n see his earlier years stance , his backlift was a lot higher n stance balanced

Video- http://www.hotstar.com/sports/cricket/vivo-ipl-2017/m183386/match-clips/change-of-stance-not-working-for-msd/2002001320

Funny thing is that both the delivers shown the picture above didn't yield a single run and were played onto the pitch, not sure why the change in stance matters as the end result was same in both cases :giggle:

2 hours ago, kira said:

Funny thing is that both the delivers shown the picture above didn't yield a single run and were played onto the pitch, not sure why the change in stance matters as the end result was same in both cases :giggle:

:facepalm:that was a manjrekar level statement 

1 hour ago, speedheat said:

He always had poor technique, but now with no power and poor technique he is a complete recipe of disaster.

it was not poor but his own technique, its not about loosing power. No one looses power, ppl said the same about yuvraj yet he hit so many sixes recently. Its the change in technique that affects the shot making. 

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

:facepalm:that was a manjrekar level statement 

No it was not, it was a completely valid statement, if you are going to compare techniques they you should show clips where the results were different, clearly in the above clip the end result was same irrespective of the technique, they should have done better by finding a clip where he actually scores using his earlier technique 

it was not poor but his own technique, its not about loosing power. No one looses power, ppl said the same about yuvraj yet he hit so many sixes recently. Its the change in technique that affects the shot making. 

No one looses power?? Kya baat kar raha hai bhai?? we are humans not ancient aliens!!! youraj did hit it big recently but rewind it 2 years back he was struggling to even hold a bat, but he came back by some brutal strength training hence sustained, in dhonis case he is clearly struggling due to lack of power and strength there may be other reasons too but surely age n power are one of them

3 hours ago, CG said:

I don't see much diff ,The comparison images are all at diff intervals of batlift.Dhoni is a limited batsman cutshot or cover drive are not his preferred shots so he does start slowly against pace.

Exactly, minor changes will be seen but 2020 isn't the game to judge someone's backlift or anything as players are trying different things in a short amount of time due to the nature of the game. 

Recently against England, he looked like similar to what he was earlier if not the same. 

Also, another thing is that whenever a player is short on runs, many commies start over analyzing things. This is the case here too. 

12 minutes ago, speedheat said:

No one looses power?? Kya baat kar raha hai bhai?? we are humans not ancient aliens!!! youraj did hit it big recently but rewind it 2 years back he was struggling to even hold a bat, but he came back by some brutal strength training hence sustained, in dhonis case he is clearly struggling due to lack of power and strength there may be other reasons too but surely age n power are one of them

he was struggling coz he changed his stance n backlift that affected his balance

Go back 2013 ind-aus series were he played a brutual knock against aus in t20 then forgot to bat in odi, doesnt mean he lost his power. Its just that his poor technique got tested in bigger format 

same happ in 2014 t20 when he made runs against aus but struggled against lanka. 

It wasnt the power but it was their current technique that was exploited by opp and add to that their reflxes which slowed down. 

Dhoni isnt getting that timing due to change in techniuqe and yes power behind shots to. But we cant compare him to past as he isnt using same technique  

he was struggling coz he changed his stance n backlift that affected his balance

Go back 2013 ind-aus series were he played a brutual knock against aus in t20 then forgot to bat in odi, doesnt mean he lost his power. Its just that his poor technique got tested in bigger format 

same happ in 2014 t20 when he made runs against aus but struggled against lanka. 

It wasnt the power but it was their current technique that was exploited by opp and add to that their reflxes which slowed down. 

Dhoni isnt getting that timing due to change in techniuqe and yes power behind shots to. But we cant compare him to past as he isnt using same technique  

Yes, but you can't denied the fact that there is a dip in dhonis power.