Should there be more international players in the IPL

Binga

I have been noticing that the Aussie players and South Africans have been dominating the IPL. Each team seems to only have a a handful of these players however and I think the competition would rise to another level if they capped the number of India park crickets to 2-3 on each side with the rest international.

At the moment the BBL and Caribbean Premier League seem to be higher standard and more exciting contests and with Pakistan and England launching their new comps this year it is important for BBL to stay relevant

I don't like an overseas player limit at all. I would prefer the IPL to be like the NBA or MLB, where you can sign players from anywhere. I understand the need to maintain the Indianness of the tournament, so it would be better to require that teams must buy at least half their team from the Indian talent pool, but they shouldn't be forced to play 7 Indian players if their best 11 doesn't require 7 Indians.

It would do much more to spur competition among the Indian youngsters if they had to both earn their places in the playing XI vs overseas players/overseas youngsters, and maintain their performance when selected.

As long as there is a limit on how much each team can spend, no team will monopolize all the foreign talent and have them waste away on the bench. Currently, based on OCC rankings,  in the IPL, the #8 T20 batsman Guptill, the #3 T20 batsman Williamson, #6 T20 batsman du Plessis,  the #7 T20 bowler Faulkner, the #5 ODI bowler Rabada, all can't get games fro their sides because of the pointless 4 overseas limit.  

Competition is a good thing, not a bad thing, IMO.

Of course, I'm for more IPL teams as well... How absurd is it that there is only a temporary team in Guj and Pune, and that we will have had 2 seasons of the IPL without a team in TN and 10 seasons without 1 in Haryana and only 1 team in the entire East... I'm sure there is a city in the east that can handle a team, maybe Patna since they have a Kabbadi team. 

23 minutes ago, Binga said:

I have been noticing that the Aussie players and South Africans have been dominating the IPL. Each team seems to only have a a handful of these players however and I think the competition would rise to another level if they capped the number of India park crickets to 2-3 on each side with the rest international.

At the moment the BBL and Caribbean Premier League seem to be higher standard and more exciting contests and with Pakistan and England launching their new comps this year it is important for BBL to stay relevant

Yes, there definitely should be. The IPL will forever be the poor man's PSL. Players like Misbah, Lala, Amir and Yasir deserve to play in the IPL however they don't because the corrupt BCCI is afraid to expose to the world how inferior Indian cricket is compared to Pakistan 

7 minutes ago, Tibarn said:

I don't like an overseas player limit at all. I would prefer the IPL to be like the NBA or MLB, where you can sign players from anywhere. I understand the need to maintain the Indianness of the tournament, so it would be better to require that teams must buy at least half their team from the Indian talent pool, but they shouldn't be forced to play 7 Indian players if their best 11 doesn't require 7 Indians.

It would do much more to spur competition among the Indian youngsters if they had to both earn their places in the playing XI vs overseas players/overseas youngsters, and maintain their performance when selected.

As long as there is a limit on how much each team can spend, no team will monopolize all the foreign talent and have them waste away on the bench. Currently, based on OCC rankings,  in the IPL, the #8 T20 batsman Guptill, the #3 T20 batsman Williamson, #6 T20 batsman du Plessis,  the #7 T20 bowler Faulkner, the #5 ODI bowler Rabada, all can't get games fro their sides because of the pointless 4 overseas limit.  

Competition is a good thing, not a bad thing, IMO.

Of course, I'm for more IPL teams as well... How absurd is it that there is only a temporary team in Guj and Pune, and that we will have had 2 seasons of the IPL without a team in TN and 10 seasons without 1 in Haryana and only 1 team in the entire East... I'm sure there is a city in the east that can handle a team, maybe Patna since they have a Kabbadi team. 

The thing is if you do that, you run the risk of becoming like EPL and England, i.e. the richest league but a poor national team. Any league has to prioritize development of its youngsters in a sport where national team exists. MLB is a different case as there are no intl baseball games for the most part and nobody cares about the national team. Cricket is different. If India doesn't do well, IPL will lose its charm and that's why you have to impose these constraints to ensure the upcoming players benefit from the league.

10 minutes ago, Binga said:

Sandeep I can assure you I am not trolling. Serious discussion only please

Well - on a serious note - 3 out of the top 5 batsmen are Indians.  Top 2 bowlers at the moment are Indian and Afghan.  So reality actually doesn't match up against your lame fishing attempt.  And a serious discussion wouldn't start with "capping" Indian players participation regardless of skill for an Indian league.  

Reality is, that all these Aussie players are earning good money from their Indian paymasters.  And as a result, have started wagging their kangaroo tails in their presence.  Just wait until the IPL expands to about 16 teams - that's when the penny will drop for the likes of you.  

Besides BBL is a low-rent, low quality league where any school boy spinner - the likes of Ish Sodhi etc - can take bunch of wickets since overwhelming majority of the BBL players stain their pants faster than Renshaw at Pune at the thought of a ball that might spin.     

18 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Well - on a serious note - 3 out of the top 5 batsmen are Indians.  Top 2 bowlers at the moment are Indian and Afghan.  So reality actually doesn't match up against your lame fishing attempt.  And a serious discussion wouldn't start with "capping" Indian players participation regardless of skill for an Indian league.  

Reality is, that all these Aussie players are earning good money from their Indian paymasters.  And as a result, have started wagging their kangaroo tails in their presence.  Just wait until the IPL expands to about 16 teams - that's when the penny will drop for the likes of you.  

Besides BBL is a low-rent, low quality league where any school boy spinner - the likes of Ish Sodhi etc - can take bunch of wickets since overwhelming majority of the BBL players stain their pants faster than Renshaw at Pune at the thought of a ball that might spin.     

Can you blame the Aussie players for taking good money to dominate a second tier league?

BBL and South African sides routinely spanked their Indian counterparts in the old champions league.

there is a reason why there are no Indian players playing in the BBL and it is because they struggle big time away from the doctored home pitches. Some of the duds getting games in the IPL wouldn't get a gig in district cricket in Australia.

Yet when Aussies go to IPL they dominate 

48 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Arrey bhai kyon is phuddu ke mun lag raha hai?

4 hours ago, Binga said:

Can you blame the Aussie players for taking good money to dominate a second tier league?

BBL and South African sides routinely spanked their Indian counterparts in the old champions league.

there is a reason why there are no Indian players playing in the BBL and it is because they struggle big time away from the doctored home pitches. Some of the duds getting games in the IPL wouldn't get a gig in district cricket in Australia.

Yet when Aussies go to IPL they dominate 

You can trust Pakistanis to pull out facts from their @$$

Out of the 6 Champions Trophy tournaments held, 4 were won by IPL teams (2 each by CSK and MI).

1 hour ago, Texan said:

You can trust Pakistanis to pull out facts from their @$$

Out of the 6 Champions Trophy tournaments held, 4 were won by IPL teams (2 each by CSK and MI).

He is not going to comeback from that Lol