Tendulkar convinces shastri to apply

MUMBAI: Former India batting legend Sachin Tendulkar stepped in this week to finally resolve the matter surrounding appointment of India's new coach in place of Anil Kumble, following which cricketer-turned-commentator Ravi Shastri finally agreed to send in his application for the role. 

Shastri, who is holidaying in London, had been categorical so far that he "wouldn't stand in the queue" for the job, underlining the fact that he had been deliberately ignored last year despite doing a commendable job. Speculation had been rife over whether the ex-India all-rounder would once again come to the table with his CV and a presentation. 

READ ALSO: Ravi Shastri joins five others for coach's job 
TOI has learned that it is Tendulkar, who too is holidaying in London with his family, spoke with Shastri to consider his stand once again. As member of the three-man Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), Tendulkar took into account the fact that India skipper Virat Kohli too wanted Shastri on board and therefore acted in time to save BCCI - which has been coping criticism in its handling of the matter - the blushes.

http://m.timesofindia.com/sports/cricket/news/tendulkar-steps-in-convinces-shastri-to-apply-for-team-india-coachs-post/articleshow/59353962.cms

True God of cricket :no:

Edited by gattaca
Just now, gattaca said:

C. Shekhar Luthra @shekharluthra·18m

Isn't CAC member Sachin @sachin_rt convincing Ravi @RaviShastriOfc to apply for Team India coach post amounts to 'Conflict of Interest'?

I am not a Shastri fan, but how is this a conflict of interest?

I have no issues with Shastri taking over again as a 'caretaker' for the short-term.  But don't want him there beyond 2017.   

This team needs a change in tactical thinking and planning.  And the change has to be in place at least a year ahead of the world cup, so that the team gets opportunities to get proficient at executing the updated approach.   

We are preparing to fail for the WC by failing to prepare.  

2 minutes ago, sandeep said:

I have no issues with Shastri taking over again as a 'caretaker' for the short-term.  But don't want him there beyond 2017.   

This team needs a change in tactical thinking and planning.  And the change has to be in place at least a year ahead of the world cup, so that the team gets opportunities to get proficient at executing the updated approach.   

We are preparing to fail for the WC by failing to prepare.  

Ravi Shastri doesn't fail. If the team fails under him, that will be Anil Kumble's fault. If the team succeeds, credit goes to Shastri.

11 minutes ago, beetle said:

Bloody mazaak bana rakha hai!

Ganguly convinced Kumble to apply last time and now Tendulkar convinces Shastri to apply.

Next time Laxman can have his way.

Why the hell do professional coaches even send the resumes to these unprofessional people .

So disappointed with the unprofessional behaviour of these ex cricketers. They have been given a responsibility considering their status as legends in the game and they go around plays dost dost.

No wonder the bcci babus and politicians can have such a tight hold over cricket in India.

If the news is true ...then it is time these three unprofessional maharathis are relieved of their responsibilities.

Beetle ji.  You forgot that VVS has already voted for Tom Moody - his IPL colleague.    After all, personal relationships ko maintain karnaa padtaa hai.   

But a question for you - if you want to relieve these maharathis of their responsibilities, who would you rather have in their place and trust them with the choice?  Diana Eduljee and old man Guha?   Or the likes of Sharad Pawar, Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur etc?   

3 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Beetle ji.  You forgot that VVS has already voted for Tom Moody - his IPL colleague.    After all, personal relationships ko maintain karnaa padtaa hai.   

But a question for you - if you want to relieve these maharathis of their responsibilities, who would you rather have in their place and trust them with the choice?  Diana Eduljee and old man Guha?   Or the likes of Sharad Pawar, Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur etc?   

To be honest bigger cricketer doesn't always equate to bigger acumen.

You need a stronger personality...Ganguly is the only guy in the CAC who looks like he can stick to his guns.