Would the UPA govt. have allowed China to build road till Sikkim-Bhutan-Tibet tri-junction?

randomGuy

I am just wondering about the possible difference in responses between NDA and UPA.

"The current stand-off centres on the Doklam plateau, Bhutanese territory that's claimed by China. China is trying to build a road from Doklam to Doka La — the tri-junction of India, Bhutan and China."

Source http://m.timesofindia.com/world/china/china-invokes-62-war-tells-india-to-learn-from-history/articleshow/59377708.cms

The road if allowed can be a point of weakness for India in the event of a war.

China is too strong India the governments won't matter. We trying to reach them always. Their foreign reserves is crazy they are going to flex their muscles they will not stop. South China Sea and now this. But you have to this is kind of india's fault we were slow in dealing with China.

7 minutes ago, gattaca said:

China is too strong India the governments won't matter. We trying to reach them always. Their foreign reserves is crazy they are going to flex their muscles they will not stop. South China Sea and now this. But you have to this is kind of india's fault we were slow in dealing with China.

lolwut?! look at the trade deficit. That is enough of an incentive for Cheens to not dick around. 

5 minutes ago, surajmal said:

lolwut?! look at the trade deficit. That is enough of an incentive for Cheens to not dick around. 

Are they even listening ?  They didn't allow India to get NSG memebrship and block hafeez saed blacklist as well. They did destroy our bunkers as well.

China always wants the heights. Shakasgam k2 etc were heights they took from Pak, they took the heights in Askai Chin as well, they want the heights in uttaranchal, they have them in nepal but in easter sector India has the heights in Sikkim. They want to reverse this and get road big enough to carry armored divisions, for this they need strategic breath and so want the Bhutan valley which India army is not allowing. China is frustrated since its Bhutan but still it has to face Indian army there.  Its a tactical theater you can expect a bloody war there but India will win. But the problem could be elsewhere in Tawang and in Uttaranchal and in Ladhak. Is India prepared to sit tight there. Besides Indian mountain strike corp is an offensive troop based on this Sikkim Bhutan dominant position so IA will stand their ground. China can not win this particular war, they know it.

Here we go.Another dhoti shivering.Someone being strong doesnt mean you are weak.Their muscle flexing will get appropriate response.India is not a small country.China has been trying to grab territory of all its neighbours and everyone except Pakistani have retaliated.

Initially there were reports suggesting Chinese having intruded into Indian side of the LAC and it was attributed to the 'perception' problem between the two countries.

It is only now that the full picture has emerged. The territory that is being eyed by China belongs to Bhutan and not India, although it's located at a place where India, China and Bhutan share the border. Two reasons why Indian army moved in and stopped the PLA supervised construction work - 1) Bhutan is sort of an Indian protectorate and 2) China's occupation of this territory would make the so-called chicken's neck vulnerable.

The Chinese media has been very shrill about it with daily briefings by their foreign and defence ministries. This suggests to me that the Chinese are treating it as a sufficiently grave provocation. News is also in that thousands of troops have been mobilized by each sides. Given how finicky the Chinese are about 'loss of face' it would be interesting to see how this pans out.

China will do a lot of sabre rattling but thats about it.

Are they even listening ?  They didn't allow India to get NSG memebrship and block hafeez saed blacklist as well. They did destroy our bunkers as well.

China blocking NSG membership has had no effect on the ground.All countries are doing nuclear trade with India.As and when the Thorium Cycle reactor comes online not even China can stop India from full membership.

Secondly Hafeez Saeed is already on the UN list.Has it made any difference?None.So adding Masood.Azhar to that same list will not make much difference either.Most countries have already put him on the ban list.

China may have a UN veto and perceived financial power but its geo political reach is very limited and limited to rogue nations like Pakistan and NoKo.

Their BRI has hit a road block with EU not being part of it and India also refusing it.Almost all major economies have refused to be part of BRI and with India being out of it they any land route to join Pakistan with the likes of BD.This is the reason that chinese are being belligerent to some how get India into the BRI.

The sea route passing through Indian ocean is in the strangle hold of India.

5 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

Here we go.Another dhoti shivering.Someone being strong doesnt mean you are weak.Their muscle flexing will get appropriate response.India is not a small country.China has been trying to grab territory of all its neighbours and everyone except Pakistani have retaliated.

What dhoti shivering ? They annexed Tibet India was a spectator, south China we were a spectator. The reality is India is weak compared to China. 63 was lost as well. India is waking up from deep sleep now as they are doing it to us. They circling us they are building roads in to Pakistan through pok we couldn't do much. Don't know why they couldn't file a case in international court.

Edited by gattaca

What dhoti shivering ? They annexed Tibet India was a spectator, south China we were a spectator. The reality is India is weak compared to China. 63 was lost as well. India is waking up from deep sleep now as they are doing it to us. They circling us they are building roads in to Pakistan through pok we couldn't do much. Don't know why they couldn't file a case in international court.

That was 1960s this is 2017.

Read Cho La and Nathu La incidents and somdorungchu valley incident.

We took Sikkim and Arunachal.What could China do?

That CPEC and BRI is going to be heavy cost if India doesnt join and Chinese cant use it to access the Indian market.The refusal of India to join BRI has led to these frustrations of China.

5 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

China will do a lot of sabre rattling but thats about it.

Chinese never do sabre rattling. Look ar SCS, Tibet, Taiwan, Mongolia. If they are doing it then that means they are clearly not prepared to go further.

USA Japan and all most whole of envy G8 is waiting for Chinese to fire one mortar so that they can nullify all deficit causing economic treaties

9 minutes ago, mishra said:

Chinese never do sabre rattling. Look ar SCS, Tibet, Taiwan, Mongolia. If they are doing it then that means they are clearly not prepared to go further.

USA Japan and all most whole of envy G8 is waiting for Chinese to fire one mortar so that they can nullify all deficit causing economic treaties

China is testing the waters.   

Call me alarmist, but I've been thinking about this for over a year now.  China is in a place where its economic growth is stalling, and it may very well decide that a short war/conflict will serve well in terms of preventing the masses from getting too agitated.  Nothing stops a discontented population's angst with its government as an "external enemy".  Whether its the "south china sea" or the Indian borders - China is looking to start some low-level conflict and flex its muscles.  

Its more likely that it will do something in those islands, since none of the opponents are nuclear, or pose any significant challenge militarily.  But if it calculates that the naval theater may pose risk of greater World and US involvement, they might try to do something on its western borders.   

And to the OP, as much as I can't stand Congress and its dynastic BS, to take this issue and look at it through a political lens is foolish.   Indian government has been neglecting its military requirements in the north-east for decades, due to "austerity" measures.  We are still a few years from being properly prepared on that front, in spite of the bumped up spending in the last few years.  

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

China is testing the waters.   

Call me alarmist, but I've been thinking about this for over a year now.  China is in a place where its economic growth is stalling, and it may very well decide that a short war/conflict will serve well in terms of preventing the masses from getting too agitated.  Nothing stops a discontented population's angst with its government as an "external enemy".  Whether its the "south china sea" or the Indian borders - China is looking to start some low-level conflict and flex its muscles.  

Its more likely that it will do something in those islands, since none of the opponents are nuclear, or pose any significant challenge militarily.  But if it calculates that the naval theater may pose risk of greater World and US involvement, they might try to do something on its western borders.   

And to the OP, as much as I can't stand Congress and its dynastic BS, to take this issue and look at it through a political lens is foolish.   Indian government has been neglecting its military requirements in the north-east for decades, due to "austerity" measures.  We are still a few years from being properly prepared on that front, in spite of the bumped up spending in the last few years.  

I think you misunderstood. Congress could well have taken similar stance as the current govt.

I am just asking peoples' opinion. Instead of giving your opinion you are thinking as if I have already made up my mind.

@sandeepAlso, note that chinese life is more precious than an Indian life (in minds of Chinese) , everyone owns a car in China for ex. level of prosperity is higher in China than in India, a strong, resolute, right wing nationalist indian PM who means business.

and So, India is more the fearless daredevil in their minds, much better prepared and would feel inspired to avenge 1962 in case a war breaks out.

Edited by randomGuy

10 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

@sandeepAlso, note that chinese life is more precious than an Indian life (in minds of Chinese) , everyone owns a car in China for ex. level of prosperity is higher in China than in India, a strong, resolute, right wing nationalist indian PM who means business.

and So, India is more the fearless daredevil in their minds, much better prepared and would feel inspired to avenge 1962 in case a war breaks out.

WTH is this nonsense? Everyone in China owns a car?   India is "much better prepared"?   Keep smoking that weed.

9 minutes ago, sandeep said:

WTH is this nonsense? Everyone in China owns a car?   India is "much better prepared"?   Keep smoking that weed.

Thoda apni thinking Ko challenge karna seekho, kuch rigid ho gayi hai. Jo jyada prosperous countries Hoti hain, wo comparable enemy se direct war nahi karti. They value their Citizens' lives and war takes lives, and doesn't win anything big (in this case).

And yes, India is better prepared than 1962, ofcourse.

Edited by randomGuy

4 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Thoda apni thinking Ko challenge karna seekho, kuch rigid ho gayi hai. Jo jyada prosperous countries Hoti hain, wo comparable enemy se direct war nahi karti. They value their Citizens' lives and war takes lives, and doesn't win anything big (in this case).

And yes, India is better prepared than 1962, ofcourse.

Better prepared?   Sure a midget who is 3 ft tall is relatively taller than a 2 ft 10 inches one, but still a midget.    You are free to cling to your "everyone in china owns a car" nonsense, and your pre-conceptions about what "prosperous countries" do.