If not Modi, then who?

Malcolm Merlyn

Modi is fine, its not that others would have changed whole of India by now.

Modi, whether you like him or not, is doing whatever he can in his control and trying to build relationships with different countries. You can like some of his moves within India or not like demonetization etc, but he is trying his best to fix the mess in the country. You can criticize him for being not spot on about certain things, but that's part of this game, when you are given leadership to run the country, you can't always make moves which will make everyone happy. Some moves will also backfire and will be wrong, but eventually they all are always in it to do it for the country, and that is what Modi is doing.

He is not going on vacations, he is actually travelling all over the world, and that too in different countries for a day or two and has a busy schedule everywhere and all he is doing is to build relationships with many be it France or the Dutch.

Few days ago he landed at my workplace and in 2 hours had a meeting with Trump and some of his officials. The dude took off the next day to Netherlands. He keeps coming back and forth to various places only put "India" in front and put our agenda ahead.

Give him time and most importantly the RESPECT.

1 hour ago, BeautifulGame said:

Yes no far no alternative for now.Doesnt make him above criticism.

Will see in 2019 .Two years is a long time in politics though he should win 2019.So we are looking for good alternatives in 2024.

That's a fair game..

6 hours ago, mishra said:

Right now Modi, but Yogiji in future if he sweeps next UP state elections

Yogiji is amazing...I haven't seen a Neta with such Hindi speaking skills...When you listen to him, you automatically feel good and start to admire him...The only thing is he is quite short (in height) and even shorter compared to other countries' leaders... Though height is not a criterion.

The other attractive thing is the Bhagwa attire...All other country leaders will probably stand up in respect if Yogi meets them as Indian PM lol.

Edited by randomGuy

The thing is, with whatever criticism on the economy his critics make, there is no other option on the economy front. Basically all the other Indian parties are Socialist, except TDP,  so the economy will be executed KGB style if they come to power. 

The other National parties:

INC and Communists consider Socialism to be Scientific :rofl:

BSP is a lootera party which thinks reservations and SOPs are all one needs for economic policy. 

Modi shouldn't have made ridiculous boasts about making 100 million jobs and whatnot, but one shouldn't forget that it was the previous government that killed job growth in India. Modi has to first stop the economic hemorrhaging before the economy can go on the right track. 

2 numbers to consider

1) From the last decade, under the UPA, job elasticity fell all the way down to .01%. That translates to effectively near-zero job growth towards the end of the UPA government. 

2) During the Vajpayee PM'ship, between 1999-2004, 60 million jobs were created in India. By comparison the UPA only created only 14.6 million jobs between 2004 and 2011.  

The thing is, with whatever criticism on the economy his critics make, there is no other option on the economy front. Basically all the other Indian parties are Socialist, except TDP,  so the economy will be executed KGB style if they come to power. 

The other National parties:

INC and Communists consider Socialism to be Scientific :rofl:

BSP is a lootera party which thinks reservations and SOPs are all one needs for economic policy. 

Modi shouldn't have made ridiculous boasts about making 100 million jobs and whatnot, but one shouldn't forget that it was the previous government that killed job growth in India. Modi has to first stop the economic hemorrhaging before the economy can go on the right track. 

2 numbers to consider

1) From the last decade, under the UPA, job elasticity fell all the way down to .01%. That translates to effectively near-zero job growth towards the end of the UPA government. 

2) During the Vajpayee PM'ship, between 1999-2004, 60 million jobs were created in India. By comparison the UPA only created only 14.6 million jobs between 2004 and 2011.  

Remember 1997 dream Budget when Tax rates were massively slashed.It was UF Govt supported by congress .None of Modi's Budget come even close to that so don't tell that BJP will implement great capitalism while others will implment socialism

Arun Jaitley only do lip service saying that we will make tax so low that people will willingly give tax but that is hardly seen in reality

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

14 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

Remember 1997 dream Budget when Tax rates were massively slashed.It was UF Govt supported by congress .None of Modi's Budget come even close to that so don't tell that BJP will implement great capitalism while others will implment socialism

Arun Jaitley only do lip service saying that we will make tax so low that people will willingly give tax but that is hardly seen in reality

Clearly thats not what they are trying . Indians willingly paying tax is a joke , be it a millionare or some one who earns 10K we are all the same . infact we a lot of us believe if your not rich ( relatively ) its ok to evade tax . So good luck making anyone pay taxes happily .

Thats the reason they are working overtime to ensure most of them cant evade in future . 

1 hour ago, randomGuy said:

Yogiji is amazing...I haven't seen a Neta with such Hindi speaking skills...When you listen to him, you automatically feel good and start to admire him...The only thing is he is quite short (in height) and even shorter compared to other countries' leaders... Though height is not a criterion.

The other attractive thing is the Bhagwa attire...All other country leaders will probably stand up in respect if Yogi meets them as Indian PM lol.

Fair to say you are BJP supporter and support the use of Hindi big time and for your it is a must and everyone should learn Hindi, evident by your post in the other thread?

Btw, whats up with Bhagwa attire? You really thing it is importantant for the PM? I rather not see my PM wearing all that religious stuff and roam around and travel with it.

I mean I am fine if you are wearing something around neck which defines your religion or on the head say Pagdi etc or have a tikka or something on forehead but I am not a fan of wearing a bhagwa attire to show your religion when representing the country as the PM of the country or any ambassador.

14 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Btw, whats up with Bhagwa attire? You really thing it is importantant for the PM? I rather not see my PM wearing all that religious stuff and roam around and travel with it.

I mean I am fine if you are wearing something around neck which defines your religion or on the head say Pagdi etc or have a tikka or something on forehead but I am not a fan of wearing a bhagwa attire to show your religion when representing the country as the PM of the country or any ambassador.

Our former PM wore the turban. And Saudis wears their own attire. These are petty issues and should be avoided....

But seriously, why does it always matter when it's only a Hindu? A Sikh or Muslim showing their identity, is encouraged and praised.

Edited by someone

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

Tax is only 1 part of the economy. No one told INC to make ridiculously high tax rates, upwards of 90 percent in Indira's time in some brackets, in the first place, while also giving subsidy after subsidy.  That's not even mentioning that UF had a 15+ % inflation rate by the end of their government. That is historically incompetent. 

If you want all the subsidies the Indian government gives, then be prepared for high taxes and high inflation. Also be prepared for India to go bankrupt eventually, like it almost did in the 1990s. If you want taxes to be cut, start supporting the government cutting subsidies and other wasteful expenditure.   

The main measure of capitalism is how many regulations and how much government interference there is in an economy. The current government is the only one in Indian history which actually stated and is working toward a goal of making doing business easier in India. Please tell me what exactly the UF did to make doing business easier? 

Edited by Tibarn

10 hours ago, Cricketics said:

He is not going on vacations, he is actually travelling all over the world, and that too in different countries for a day or two and has a busy schedule everywhere and all he is doing is to build relationships with many be it France or the Dutch.

Few days ago he landed at my workplace and in 2 hours had a meeting with Trump and some of his officials. The dude took off the next day to Netherlands. He keeps coming back and forth to various places only put "India" in front and put our agenda ahead.

Absolutely. Even his critics will admit, he really is a hard-working person. And strong work ethics has to be a prerequisite to be PM, and I don't see any other than Modi. The entire opposition line-up is filled with dull, lazy and lethargic leaders.

On topic, there is no single leader as the alternative. There is just a collective of different states leaders. So will the coalition of leaders work better for India? No. The big danger has always been corruption. It only brings corruption and individual selfishness with such incompatible coalition in India

13 minutes ago, someone said:

Our former PM wore the turban. And Saudis wears their own attire. These are petty issues and should be avoided....

But seriously, why does it always matter when it's only a Hindu? A Sikh or Muslim showing their identity, is encouraged and praised.

I said turban(Sikh)and things like wearing religious stuff around neck(Hindus and Muslims both do) or puting something religious stuff on foreheard(Hindus do it a lot) is fine to me, but anything on top of that is just OTT.

Its nothing about Hindu or Muslim or a Sikh here, I am talking about the general look and feel the attire says a a lot of what you are representing.

8 hours ago, Cricketics said:

I said turban(Sikh)and things like wearing religious stuff around neck(Hindus and Muslims both do) or puting something religious stuff on foreheard(Hindus do it a lot) is fine to me, but anything on top of that is just OTT.

Its nothing about Hindu or Muslim or a Sikh here, I am talking about the general look and feel the attire says a a lot of what you are representing.

Yar bhagwa attire represents sacrifice and spirituality, not just in India you can see Thai monks, Tibetans monks etc. They too wear same or similar attire. This attire evokes respect in many people. Do you disagree?. What is the issue if I say this?

I never suggested hindi should be enforced. If someone doesn't wanna learn it, that's fine. And if every indian speaks basic, broken hindi, that's good enough for me....Hindi is good for national integration imo.

Edited by randomGuy

1 hour ago, randomGuy said:

Yar bhagwa attire represents sacrifice and spirituality, not just in India you can see Thai monks, Tibetans monks etc. They too wear same or similar attire. This attire evokes respect in many people. Do you disagree?. What is the issue if I say this?

I never suggested hindi should be enforced. If someone doesn't wanna learn it, that's fine. And if every indian speaks basic, broken hindi, that's good enough for me....Hindi is good for national integration imo.

Bhai I have no problem with the attire. Jo Marzi Pahno, all I am saying is wearing as a Prime Minister is also fine with me, but something we shouldn't be excited about that and think like "O that guy wears Bhagwa Attire, he should be awesome for Prime Minister position"

That was my sentiments about it.

32 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Bhai I have no problem with the attire. Jo Marzi Pahno, all I am saying is wearing as a Prime Minister is also fine with me, but something we shouldn't be excited about that and think like "O that guy wears Bhagwa Attire, he should be awesome for Prime Minister position"

That was my sentiments about it.

Got it. That wasn't meant in that way...Like height (which also I have mentioned above) , attire is also not a criterion ...