Would Kohli make it to the test team if he wasn't the captain?

New guy

44 minutes ago, nevada said:

This series has just started. He has plenty of time to get some big scores before it is over. He had a poor series against Australia but it can happen to any good batsman. No one can score big every series.

Am not talking about this series. Is Kohli better than Rohit in tests? What about DK? Why can't we have Rahul, Murali and Dhawan all in the team?

Edited by New guy

17 minutes ago, New guy said:

Am not talking about this series. Is Kohli better than Rohit in tests? What about DK? Why can't we have Rahul, Murali and Dhawan all in the team?

Kya yaar..

This isn't accepted from a long time fan like you :facepalm:

It's like a newbie speaking.

VK has an average of just under 50 in close to 100 innings. 16 centuries. 4 double century.

What are you even talking about? Rohit? Seriously?

Obviously he will walk into any test team in the world atm, he is brilliant. Only issue for me is his glaring inconsistency in his short career so far. When he enters a bad patch he struggles to come out of it, eg Eng 2014 and this year. When he is in good nick he is truly majestic like prime Ponting but somehow every now and then he has a horrendous run. Clearly below KW and Root in that regard and miles behind Smith. Among the new fab 4 he is the weakest batsman in the longer format. Time is running out for him as he is chasing the towering standards set by the likes of SRT, Sunny, Dravid in batsmanship in the ultimate format, a huge task for any man. 

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Obviously he will walk into any test team in the world atm, he is brilliant. Only issue for me is his glaring inconsistency in his short career so far. When he enters a bad patch he struggles to come out of it, eg Eng 2014 and this year. When he is in good nick he is truly majestic like prime Ponting but somehow every now and then he has a horrendous run. Clearly below KW and Root in that regard and miles behind Smith. Among the new fab 4 he is the weakest batsman in the longer format. Time is running out for him as he is chasing the towering standards set by the likes of SRT, Sunny, Dravid in batsmanship in the ultimate format, a huge task for any man. 

Time is running out? Hell no. He walks into the team even if he has a similar on-off kind of year.

The fact that he is the only Indian in the fab 4 clearly shows that he is the best we have.

Good thread @New guy.

Kohli has technical issues. He hasn't done bad enough to get dropped but he isn't the best batsman in test team. He is also significantly below Smith at the moment. And KW and Root also look to be ahead. The reason is sound technique for rest of the batsmen from fab 4.  Only as a test batsman Amla, Dekock and Abdeviliers are also better than kohli. But this is current standings. Kohli has a long  and bright career and ample of time to be at the top.

13 minutes ago, sourab10forever said:

Time is running out? Hell no. He walks into the team even if he has a similar on-off kind of year.

The fact that he is the only Indian in the fab 4 clearly shows that he is the best we have.

I meant time is running out for him to enter the SRT-Gavaskar-Dravid league as a test batsman. We are not Pakistan, we have great batsmen as benchmarks, can't afford to settle for anything less. 

2 hours ago, New guy said:

He is a gun LOI player but IMO, like Bhuvi, he would be branded an LOI specialist and be dropped from tests

1 hour ago, New guy said:

U have got to be kidding me ....

A guy who almost avg 50 , has runs in SA, AUS, NZ, home is being questioned