BCCI Acts on Kohli's Idea, Plans Special Pay For 'Only' Test Players !!!

velu

1 hour ago, mishra said:

Problem is no one watches them toil. Thats where problem lies. Howevever principally I agree with the view that if a player can make to Indian test team, He should be financially rewarded, atleast enough to class him richer than most IPL stars

If you are only judging value by the number of people watching, then porn should rule the academy awards and film festivals.  

1 hour ago, goose said:

when you say young players i assume you mean uncapped players. why is it outrageous? in order to promote tests you have to suppress the T20 monster.

No.  You don't have to "suppress" the monster.  You can milk it.   This is the haraami BCCI babus being stingy, wanting to pay for the extra salaries by taking it from other players.  BCCI has deep coffers.  Its sitting on billions.  You barely need a chunk of its interest income from money that is just sitting in banks, to pay for this.  Why take it from players?  

If you want to institute salary caps, thats fine.  But you know that teams are going to find creative ways to attract the top talent in the presence of salary caps.  They are hard to enforce.   

This is idiotic.Why take away from other players? Is it the fault of someone like Stoke that he is good enough for 3 formats.What happens if the Indian uncapped player becomes capped after few weeks?

Pujara not able to play T20 is his limitation and not his strength. Cant be paying players for their weaknesses.

Why are they taking it away from players, if that happens which player would want to come.What are these communistic theories, they have enough money from TV deals they should be using it if they are so interested in doing something for test players.

While I understand what they are trying to do, how they are trying to solve it is totally wrong.

Edited by putrevus
2 hours ago, sandeep said:

If you are only judging value by the number of people watching, then porn should rule the academy awards and film festivals.  

Thats a bit harsh comparison as some may call that other way round.  Porn industry do not subsidise mainstream cinema. Main stream cinema sustains itself.

And acting Talent aspiring to be part of mainstream on failure may ends up in porn industry. 

Finally, who are you to decide that ur preferrence is not Porn but others ones should be called Porn

fully back kohli.

somebody like Surya kumar yadav earns more than Che pujara. How is that right?

Cant say for Ranji players, but would like to see test specialists get a flat rate of 5 crore a year. Will encourage people like Rahane to fully concentrate on one format he excels in rather than trying to cement his place in the ODIs side (or even up on the bench). Same with Vijay or even somebody like a Saha. Might even encourage somebody like Ashwin to concentrate on being India's test premier.

Rahane Vijay Ashwin Shami Saha Pujara should be test only players. Reward them accordingly. 5 crore a year is enough incentive financially to specialize in a single craft. IPL contract is a bonus.

14 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

fully back kohli.

somebody like Surya kumar yadav earns more than Che pujara. How is that right?

Cant say for Ranji players, but would like to see test specialists get a flat rate of 5 crore a year. Will encourage people like Rahane to fully concentrate on one format he excels in rather than trying to cement his place in the ODIs side (or even up on the bench). Same with Vijay or even somebody like a Saha. Might even encourage somebody like Ashwin to concentrate on being India's test premier.

Rahane Vijay Ashwin Shami Saha Pujara should be test only players. Reward them accordingly. 5 crore a year is enough incentive financially to specialize in a single craft. IPL contract is a bonus.

How does Surya Kumar Yadav earns more than Pujara?

Whether one wants to be test only or not that decision is to be his and not anyone else's.

5 hours ago, Lannister said:

Wait a minute. If suppose an uncapped player, say, Thampi gets picked up for 5 crores and he need to share his money with Pujara? 

But where will all the broadcast money in BCCI goes? Shouldn't they be channeling that money to fund Ranji players?

Wait another minute, uncapped players like Thampi will only ever be offered 5 crore (at this very junior stage in his career) because BCCI put a limit on the number of foreign players per side. Had these limitations not existed, the value of the majority of Indian IPL players would be significantly reduced. So if the BCCI conspires to give youngsters a value above their true open market value, it also make sense for them to cut into this. Also if youngster can make loads of money bolwing 4 overs per match, why would anyone in India ever want to play international and particularly test cricket?

1 hour ago, mishra said:

Thats a bit harsh comparison as some may call that other way round.  Porn industry do not subsidise mainstream cinema. Main stream cinema sustains itself.

And acting Talent aspiring to be part of mainstream on failure may ends up in porn industry. 

Finally, who are you to decide that ur preferrence is not Porn but others ones should be called Porn

Don't take it personally.  Its just a metaphor.  If you don't think test cricket has value, or its not important to have a strong Indian team for tests, then we are on different sides of this issue.  

14 minutes ago, mancalledsting said:

Also if youngster can make loads of money bolwing 4 overs per match, why would anyone in India ever want to play international and particularly test cricket?

This is the key issue.  Why would any one invest their energy and time developing a game for test cricket.  Forget about whether a Pujara or Ashwin deserves to be paid more.  We need to think about the next generation.  Why should a kid with talent bother trying to become the next Mitch Johnson, when he can just be Tymal Mills?   

This is definitely one of the better ideas I have seen of late and is much needed. Test cricket, despite all the T20 hoopla, continues to remain the premier format. A Test series win in Australia or South Africa is >>>>>>>>>... repeat 100 times >>> T20 series wins there. 

Test cricket is its own format and requires its own skills. Its high time we encourage players to continue to be Test specialists by making sure we cover sufficient of their income shortfall from T20 leagues. This can also serve as a boost for our fast bowlers who we want to preserve for Tests. Hope players like Shami and Pujara can benefit from this scheme. 

6 minutes ago, Texan said:

This is definitely one of the better ideas I have seen of late and is much needed. Test cricket, despite all the T20 hoopla, continues to remain the premier format. A Test series win in Australia or South Africa is >>>>>>>>>... repeat 100 times >>> T20 series wins there. 

Test cricket is its own format and requires its own skills. Its high time we encourage players to continue to be Test specialists by making sure we cover sufficient of their income shortfall from T20 leagues. This can also serve as a boost for our fast bowlers who we want to preserve for Tests. Hope players like Shami and Pujara can benefit from this scheme. 

Thing is no one is saying that test shouldn't be more rewarding. But to make it more rewarding, you don't need to suppress T20. Simply pay higher salaries to test salaries without bringing IPL in the picture. That should still encourage players to play tests.

For ex - say if

IPL player auctioned for 6 crores

IPL player gets 2 crores

Test players earns 1 crores

Test player gets 4 crores extra from IPL player to make total earning 5 crores.

Instead of doing this BCCI can allow IPL player to keep their 6 crores and pay 7 crores to test players separately. It will encourage players to try for tests and it will actually reward players who are good in all formats. Players will try to become better player in all formats rather than being tuk tuk one trick pony.