If dhoni is going to play 2019 W.cup, then he should bat at 4

PSB_Zone

End this no. 4 saga.. Bat Msd there and not for 2 or 3 games make him permanent there.. Even if wicket falls or not.. Time in the middle will only improve me.. Of late due ro formidble top order msd hardly gets to bat like b4... 

Play rahul at 5 or jadhav or iyer or raina but msd should be immovable at 4

Nope he shud bat at 5, 4 to high 6 to low

At 4, find a long terms solution who can play in all condition n has 6 hitting ability . Someone like yuvraj, abdv, lara KP types and rahul is the best option for now 

Dont waste rahul below 4 and even iyer , they are top order batsman and lower order isnt a easy job. Dhoni has exp.

And let dhoni improve as well, team shud change acc to dhoni .

Lets stay away from raina 

4 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

If dhoni is going to play the 2019 WC, we may as well should stay home and save us the embarrassment. 

Dhoni khele na kehle hum waise bhi wc nhin jeetne wale 

Any team whose captain cnt keep his nerves in final moments is highly unlikely to win finals , something that use to happen to ganguly and i see a lot with kohli as well. CT 2017 was the xample were sarfraz looked more composed and RCB final have been another 

Dhoni is not our biggest problem, usko nikal bhi doge koi farq nhin padega.....pant koi hussey nhin jo dusra support system ban jaye team ka 

the minute he goes this team will become more unstable post kohli if they dnt find right batsman

burden on kohli wud increase which will affect his batting

and his below avg limited over captaincy will be exposed more

27 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

the minute he goes this team will become more unstable post kohli if they dnt find right batsman

Then he ll say how Dhoni used black magic on Kohli after his retirement. Don't you worry he ll find a way to moan about it later on and you know it. Why bother explaining to that troll when you know his agenda.

8 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

Confirmed players for WC19 are 

Dhawan

Rohit

Kohli

Dhoni

Pandya

Dhoni should bat #4 or #5

2 spots still up for grabs it can be kedar/pandey/Karthik or any new players 

Dhawan is not confirmed.. And below pandya we need just one batsmen.. Second should be a fast bowling all rounder.. We need 3 out n out pacers plus pandya brothers 5th and 6th bowlers.. THEN we should play our one of our two wrist spinners even in alien conditions. 

Rohit/dhawan/kohli/dhoni/raina/pandya/krunal/bhuvi/bumrah/thampi/chahal

Raina coz with msd going up the order we need experince at no. 5 and only raina suits at that position.. Pandey, rahul, iyer might be the better batsmen but at no.  5 a fully fit raina will trump them. He will split the right handdrs in slog overs as he is a left hander.. 

Edited by PSB_Zone
7 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

So far dhoni only brings instability in batting. Sure he can save us in a low scoring game if there is collapse but let's be honest how many low scoring games do we get nowadays in ODIs and not always we will collapse even in those games. In most other games he is a liability as a batsman.

Now coming to the pOint of dhoni helping kohli in captaincy. Well we don't know what kind of advice dhoni gives to kohli and if it is really helpful. The general assumption among dhoni fans is all good decisions are by dhoni and bad decisions is by kohli. And how do you know for sure if it is not dhoni who is advising kohli to select karthik, Nehra etc.. Sure if you ask kohli or other players they will obviously say good things about dhoni. Dhoni is an ODI great and has played along with kohli and helped him and he would obviouslY have a lot of respect for dhoni. You get ridiculous statements from others like dhoni Bhai helped a lot by asking  ,"Jo bhi Dalna hai dal". Like seriously is it a great advice. More of it is bootlicking.

3 minutes ago, Pollack said:

So far dhoni only brings instability in batting. Sure he can save us in a low scoring game if there is collapse but let's be honest how many low scoring games do we get nowadays in ODIs and not always we will collapse even in those games. In most other games he is a liability as a batsman.

Now coming to the pOint of dhoni helping kohli in captaincy. Well we don't know what kind of advice dhoni gives to kohli and if it is really helpful. The general assumption among dhoni fans is all good decisions are by dhoni and bad decisions is by kohli. And how do you know for sure if it is not dhoni who is advising kohli to select karthik, Nehra etc.. Sure if you ask kohli or other players they will obviously say good things about dhoni. Dhoni is an ODI great and has played along with kohli and helped him and he would obviouslY have a lot of respect for dhoni. You get ridiculous statements from others like dhoni Bhai helped a lot by asking  ,"Jo bhi Dalna hai dal". Like seriously is it a great advice. More of it is bootlicking.

Rehne de bhai. No point in explaining to them. Chamchas have settled for mediocrity. 

7 hours ago, Pollack said:

yes thats a concern that a player who everyone wants to kick out is stil saving, isnt it a concern that we still fall back on him. So ur telling me he is the biggest problem when others are not even standing up

Now coming to the pOint of dhoni helping kohli in captaincy. Well we don't know what kind of advice dhoni gives to kohli and if it is really helpful. The general assumption among dhoni fans is all good decisions are by dhoni and bad decisions is by kohli. And how do you know for sure if it is not dhoni who is advising kohli to select karthik, Nehra etc..

Well if u have noticed dhoni captaincy for 10 yrs their isnt much similartiy between what we see now

Dhoni backed players, kohli doesnt 

dhoni was  master at using part timers, kohli isnt 

As senior dhoni job is to advice, m shocked people are questioning that rather questining the silent non caring vice captain rohitsharma. 

Now u give good or ad advice but atleast comeup with ideas . 

N whats wrong in even going upto him for idea, he was a top odi captain, wudnt player go to a top batsman or bowler for advice

Sure if you ask kohli or other players they will obviously say good things about dhoni. Dhoni is an ODI great and has played along with kohli and helped him and he would obviouslY have a lot of respect for dhoni. You get ridiculous statements from others like dhoni Bhai helped a lot by asking  ,"Jo bhi Dalna hai dal". Like seriously is it a great advice. More of it is bootlicking.

thats really nit picking, he is really an asset for young spinners behind . 

Wy wud someone beilve ur theory over a guy who is on the field 

22 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yes thats a concern that a player who everyone wants to kick out is stil saving, isnt it a concern that we still fall back on him. So ur telling me he is the biggest problem when others are not even standing up

Well if u have noticed dhoni captaincy for 10 yrs their isnt much similartiy between what we see now

Dhoni backed players, kohli doesnt 

dhoni was  master at using part timers, kohli isnt 

As senior dhoni job is to advice, m shocked people are questioning that rather questining the silent non caring vice captain rohitsharma. 

Now u give good or ad advice but atleast comeup with ideas . 

N whats wrong in even going upto him for idea, he was a top odi captain, wudnt player go to a top batsman or bowler for advice

thats really nit picking, he is really an asset for young spinners behind . 

Wy wud someone beilve ur theory over a guy who is on the field 

There is nothing like being master at using part timers. Part timers are just part timers. Sometimes , they will be lucky, sometimes not. You people keep talking about when they got lucky and forget when they didn't. This habit of dhoni kept our bowling attack back. Even, there is still a lot of dhoni in our on-field tactics, the defensiveness he brings is there for everyone to see. 

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

There is nothing like being master at using part timers. Part timers are just part timers. Sometimes , they will be lucky, sometimes not. You people keep talking about when they got lucky and forget when they didn't. This habit of dhoni kept our bowling attack back. Even, there is still a lot of dhoni in our on-field tactics, the defensiveness he brings is there for everyone to see. 

using a part timer has got to do a lt with instinct which obv involves luck but its not always luck to there is some smartness involved and ready to think diff to.  Kohli goes more in convential ways rather trying something new which is why he always goes back to tried and tested player 

Now a use kedhar jadhav as 6th bowler when he didnt bowl much in his career were as kohli n rohit were more of bowler isnt just all luck......................there has to be some thought behind it

Useof yuvraj against maxwell in t20 series in aus, at a tie when yuvraj didnt bowl much for few years

It isnt always luck, there always a thought behind it . Dhoni and ganguly were really good at this where kohli n dravid wasnt

Now - watever his calls are attacking defensive , if there is a huge influence of dhoni  well its kohli's choice to take it and he ll reap the rewards for it . The fact remains dhoni presence takes off a lot of pressure on our best batsman which doesnt affect his batting. We ll have seen what captaincy burden has done may players personal game

4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

using a part timer has got to do a lt with instinct which obv involves luck but its not always luck to there is some smartness involved and ready to think diff to.  Kohli goes more in convential ways rather trying something new which is why he always goes back to tried and tested player 

Now a use kedhar jadhav as 6th bowler when he didnt bowl much in his career were as kohli n rohit were more of bowler isnt just all luck......................there has to be some thought behind it

Useof yuvraj against maxwell in t20 series in aus, at a tie when yuvraj didnt bowl much for few years

It isnt always luck, there always a thought behind it . Dhoni and ganguly were really good at this where kohli n dravid wasnt

Now - watever his calls are attacking defensive , if there is a huge influence of dhoni  well its kohli's choice to take it and he ll reap the rewards for it . The fact remains dhoni presence takes off a lot of pressure on our best batsman which doesnt affect his batting. We ll have seen what captaincy burden has done may players personal game

We can only  judge Kohli in ODIs once Dhoni.  Right now, Kohli just seems to a captain on paper. On-field, its mostly Dhoni.

Exactly Kohli picks proper full time bowlers. Dhoni relies on luck and bowls part timers. I'd bank on full timer bowlers any day over getting lucky with a part timer. 

you are absolutely wrong regarding using part timers , its an art in limited overs cricket when and how to use them ,ricky ponting was another one who used symonds ,clarke and lehmann superbly during their prime.kohli is a very ordinary captain in that regard and very reactive instead of proactive

11 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

you are absolutely wrong regarding using part timers , its an art in limited overs cricket when and how to use them ,ricky ponting was another one who used symonds ,clarke and lehmann superbly during their prime.kohli is a very ordinary captain in that regard and very reactive instead of proactive

Ponting could use them because he had the luxury of a bowling attack consisting of two of the greatest ODIs bowlers in world cricket in Mcgrath and Brett Lee and then he had someone like Jason Gillespie who was better than any current indian bowler. He also had Shane Warne and then Brad Hogg who both could make it to any ODI team of their time.  So, he had four match winning bowlers and could afford part timers. Dhoni has ruined so many games by bowling part-timers at crucial juncture so that he could get a few quick overs out of them and let the opposition batsmen settled. Yes, he got lucky at times on slow Indian pitches using likes of Yuvraj and Raina, but he kept doing it overseas too where he did not.  

9 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Ponting could use them because he had the luxury of a bowling attack consisting of two of the greatest ODIs bowlers in world cricket in Mcgrath and Brett Lee and then he had someone like Jason Gillespie who was better than any current indian bowler. He also had Shane Warne and then Brad Hogg who both could make it to any ODI team of their time.  So, he had four match winning bowlers and could afford part timers. Dhoni has ruined so many games by bowling part-timers at crucial juncture so that he could get a few quick overs out of them and let the opposition batsmen settled. Yes, he got lucky at times on slow Indian pitches using likes of Yuvraj and Raina, but he kept doing it overseas too where he did not.  

Well I won't argue on that because he himself had some bad timings for part timers ,I remember few occasions in NZ but that was sort of automatically corrected later on because of odi rules when we started playing 5 proper bowlers.But the bowling lineup still needed some part time option because one of our bowlers almost always had a bad day and he never had the luxury of Hardik.

But the point still stands, bowling part timers however your bowling attack is needed,it's not like only great sides with greatest bowlers could do that and it's definitely not about the luck ,it's all about how smartly you can use them and Virat hasn't displayed that yet.