Sachin Tendulkar v Virat Kohli - who is better ODI batsman?

Who is better ODI batsman?  

153 members have voted

1. 1. Who is better ODI batsman?

Sachin still the better .But with this mammoth performance in SAF , Kohli has moved a lot nearer to him.Kohli undoubtedly has the better temperament and game sense to chase and finish huge scores(easy batting conditions) while Sachin with much higher amount of pressure of expectations  to cope with was not far behind in this regard though. But Sachin was technically better equipped to chase scores in  tougher batting conditions.Apart from that Sachin ahead in other factors like world cup performances, tournament knock outs, finals etc etc. 

Sachin sucked badly when he was captain. Wonder what changed?

Virat Kohli is miles ahead on handling the pressure and leading from the front.

Overall figures
Player Span Mat Inns NO RunsDescending HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0  
MS Dhoni 2007-2016 199 171 48 6633 139* 53.92 7686 86.29 6 47 3 investigate this query
M Azharuddin 1990-1999 174 162 29 5239 153* 39.39 6677 78.46 4 37 6 investigate this query
SC Ganguly 1999-2005 146 142 11 5082 144 38.79 6658 76.32 11 30 9 investigate this query
V Kohli 2013-2018 48 45 11 2739 160* 80.55 2792 98.10 12 11 2 investigate this query
R Dravid 2000-2007 79 75 12 2658 105 42.19 3524 75.42 2 25 4 investigate this query
SR Tendulkar 1996-2000 73 70 5 2454 186* 37.75 2939 83.49 6 12 4 investigate this query

44 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Sachin sucked badly when he was captain. Wonder what changed?

Virat Kohli is miles ahead on handling the pressure and leading from the front.

Overall figures
Player Span Mat Inns NO RunsDescending HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0  
MS Dhoni 2007-2016 199 171 48 6633 139* 53.92 7686 86.29 6 47 3 investigate this query
M Azharuddin 1990-1999 174 162 29 5239 153* 39.39 6677 78.46 4 37 6 investigate this query
SC Ganguly 1999-2005 146 142 11 5082 144 38.79 6658 76.32 11 30 9 investigate this query
V Kohli 2013-2018 48 45 11 2739 160* 80.55 2792 98.10 12 11 2 investigate this query
R Dravid 2000-2007 79 75 12 2658 105 42.19 3524 75.42 2 25 4 investigate this query
SR Tendulkar 1996-2000 73 70 5 2454 186* 37.75 2939 83.49 6 12 4 investigate this query

an avg: of almost 38 from that decades is not at all 'sucked'. It is infact very good. But yet Sachin was not at his very best during his captaincy period.This because Sachin was already carrying the pressure of burden of huge expectations from various factors.Atleast with captaincy , a player can strip himself of captaincy if he feels it to be too much of a burden and continue as a normal player . But with pressure of expectations there is no such escape route.So naturally, added  captaincy pressure was too much for him and he was not at his very best during this period. With Kohli, yes he has a phenomenal record for these easier batting friendly times  .But it can also be that Kohli has improved a lot just in 'batting alone' which has nothing to do with captaincy.

9 minutes ago, rtmohanlal said:

an avg: of almost 38 from that decades is not at all 'sucked'. It is infact very good. But yet Sachin was not at his very best during his captaincy period.This because Sachin was already carrying the pressure of burden of huge expectations from various factors.Atleast with captaincy , a player can strip himself of captaincy if he feels it to be too much of a burden and continue as a normal player . But with pressure of expectations there is no such escape route.So naturally, added  captaincy pressure was too much for him and he was not at his very best during this period. With Kohli, yes he has a phenomenal record for these easier batting friendly times  .But it can also be that Kohli has improved a lot just in 'batting alone' which has nothing to do with captaincy.

No point explaining this to kids, especially the "maahi maar rha hai":rotfl: gang, the fact he labels an average of 38 at strike rate of 84 in the 90s as "sucking"  just shows the level of his cricketing knowledge

Edited by kira
5 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

Virat kohli by a mile... Sachin is more comparable with Dhawan or Rohit with tuk tuks like that.

Virat was the highest scorer in a series away in RSA.. What exactly did sachin win ? Prob a series in Zim:hysterical:

Probably the CB triseries in Aus, where he scored 117 and 91 in the 2 finals. Can think of a few others off the top of my head but not in the same league.

12 minutes ago, rtmohanlal said:

Even Azhar had better numbers than Sachin considering he played even before him and in more matches as captain. If world's greatest batsman ever has the lowest numbers of all than it is called "sucking performance"

He was captain from 96 to 2000 mostly and you are saying he was not at his best. lol The great Sachin of 90s. Cmon.

And rest is all just your opinion that he had burden of huge expectations and he had no escape route and all. IMO, modern generation players have equal or more pressure with their every move being always under scanner. Newer genx plays more cricket, they play multiple formats plus club cricket and all. And when you are captain of Indian side its hell lot of pressure and burden, more so in today's time than 90s. 

Virat Kohli is just better compared to Sachin and has even notched up his level after becoming captain. Downplaying Kohli's performance as easier batting friendly times is just wrong and full of bias. 

12 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Even Azhar had better numbers than Sachin considering he played even before him and in more matches as captain.

Ghonchu pehle stats padna to seekh le, how in the blue hell does azhar have better numbers? Sachin scored more centuries than azhar in 100 less matches, sachin's strike rate 5-6 points higher than azhar, azhar's average is only 2 points higher than sachin which has been boosted by not outs, I know you are dhoni chamcha and you love the notouts but at least read the stats completely before posting nonsense 

Edited by kira
17 minutes ago, kira said:

Ghonchu pehle stats padna to seekh le, how in the blue hell does azhar have better numbers? Sachin scored more centuries than azhar in 100 less matches, sachin's strike rate 5-6 points higher than azhar, azhar's average is only 2 points higher than sachin which has been boosted by not outs, I know you are dhoni chamcha and you love the notouts but at least read the stats completely before posting nonsense 

You only kept on harping about strike rate of 84 in 90s is great and all crap. So by your dumb logic Azhar or any previous batsman having 79 SR is equivalent to Sachin's 84 by the virtue of playing in an era where nobody scored fast. Sachin was still playing in the later half of 90s where scoring fast was becoming norm after 96 WC. 

I know you have no understanding of cricket besides doing bhakti of your God, so continue with waving your pom poms and keep doing your cheerleading as it is going to be very tough to defend Sachin against Kohli with every passing day. Idiots chamchas like you could never bear any other Indian player outperforming Sachin and now you will even downplay Kohli just to save your God. Pathetic.

50 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Even Azhar had better numbers than Sachin considering he played even before him and in more matches as captain. If world's greatest batsman ever has the lowest numbers of all than it is called "sucking performance"

He was captain from 96 to 2000 mostly and you are saying he was not at his best. lol The great Sachin of 90s. Cmon.

And rest is all just your opinion that he had burden of huge expectations and he had no escape route and all. IMO, modern generation players have equal or more pressure with their every move being always under scanner. Newer genx plays more cricket, they play multiple formats plus club cricket and all. And when you are captain of Indian side its hell lot of pressure and burden, more so in today's time than 90s. 

Virat Kohli is just better compared to Sachin and has even notched up his level after becoming captain. Downplaying Kohli's performance as easier batting friendly times is just wrong and full of bias. 

i have followed Sachin right from the start of his career. Even  before he started to play international cricket  he was glorified as some sort of wonder kid by the media thru out the country. Spectators  wishing to have 'Sachin at the crease at the cost of even  batsmen before him getting out even if it hurts the team fortunes' represents one of several factors of this 'burden of expectations' factor.

you are accusing me as being biased for sticking with my reasons, on the other hand you feels Kohli to be better based on your reasons.So I too can accuse you as being biased, isn't it because they are only your opinions.   

10 minutes ago, rtmohanlal said:

i have followed Sachin right from the start of his career. Even  before he started to play international cricket  he was glorified as some sort of wonder kid by the media thru out the country. Spectators  wishing to have 'Sachin at the crease at the cost of even  batsmen before him getting out even if it hurts the team fortunes' represents one of several factors of this 'burden of expectations' factor.

you are accusing me as being biased for sticking with my reasons, on the other hand you feels Kohli to be better based on your reasons.So I too can accuse you as being biased, isn't it because they are only your opinions.   

Sachin "was" wonder kid. We all loved watching him, but being nostalgic does not mean current players or other players beside Sachin have not done great things. People have moved on and we have seen plenty of other good/great cricketers over the years.

And Virat Kohli is playing on another level right now. I showed you the numbers of him leading from the front as captain and you could not admit the obvious, he is killing it right now whereas Sachin had mediocre numbers and could not lead from the front when needed as captain. Instead of admitting the obvious if you keep on defending Sachin for these things, its called being biased.