'Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay Will Open in South Africa,' Reveals Ravi Shastri to CNN-News18

15 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

Dhoni-Fletcher was even worse..

The worst I’ve seen was Sachin-Kapil

you can disagree on lot of their decisions , but they had their reasoning . Dhoni was far from being clueless , yes he may have preferred medium pacers overs some of the world class fast bowlers , picking Ishant over Yaadav is debatable but still a marginal call but in areas like Batting which has always been our strength normally most of them pick themselves I have never seen a captain messing up to this extent . Dropping Puajara for Rohit , VJ for Dhawan and now KL for Dhawan ..this is at another level . 

1 minute ago, Pollack said:

Don't get the Shastri hate? He is just a puppet. Kohli wanted him for exact same reasons. Captain Kohli is calling the shots.

Kohli sucks too. Wasn't he the genius who tried Rohit Sharma at number 3 dropping Pujara before the latter saved his ass from embarrassment in SL?

lol.

Kohli evokes mixed reaction but Shastri ji evokes just one reaction.

I don't know the reasons, but Rahul is really getting shafted.

He's potentially the next best batsman after Virat if you consider all 3 formats.

He's been dropped from T20 team. Unbelievable because apart from Virat and to an extent Rohit, there's no other world class T20 batsman in the Indian lineup. Hard to believe that Dhawan, Rahane, Pandey, Iyer, Jadhav, Karthik are all better than Rahul.

He's been dropped from ODI team. Rahane is preferred to him as the spare opener behind Rohit/Dhawan. Not given opportunities at least in the middle order which is struggling.

Now he's being made 3rd choice opener in tests, where he has been pretty consistent and made some tough runs. The toughest test series India has played in the last 2 years was against Australia. 3 out of 4 were tough pitches to bat. He made crucial runs in that series. 393 runs @65. He's been the best batsman in that series along with Smith and Pujara.

10 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Last time shastri wanted to make Raina test regular we all know what happened.

What is team mngmt smoking, didnt kohli say before Ind-SL Odi series that rahul is togooda batsman to sit out

He also said he doesn't care about milestones and we saw how it turned out in Delhi a week ago.

I have given up hopes of a good show in SA. Now I wish we get massacred so that these bozos get their **** together before the 5 test series in England. A narrow loss in SA will make the team management employ the same combination in England and we will again lose over there. But if we get 3 innings defeats and some serious tongue lashing by public/goras/neutral experts they may be forced to play the best XI in August and also prepare well for a change. 

42 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Rahul gets dropped for not converting 50s into 100s but Rahane will play despite atrocious recent form? Axis of Evil :finger:

Pathetic reasoning by Shastri. He was a defensive, selfish cricketer in his time and is showing similar pathetic tendencies now also. First Gavaskar openly singled out Rahul while speaking in support of Rahane and now Shastri is making up bs reasons to drop him. The Mumbai duo are a danger to the well being of Indian cricket.

Dhawan avg in last 12 months - 69 with 2 centuries.

Rahul avg in last 12 months - 48 with 0 centuries

Why is everyone so hell bent on dropping Dhawan? We all know KL has a much higher ceiling but shouldn't Dhawan be opening purely on form? Both Rahul and Rahane should sit out in 1st test with Dhawan & Rohit playing.

Seems like Dhawan is the new Dhoni for ICFers...dont understand the hate at all.

2 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Why is everyone so hell bent on dropping Dhawan? We all know KL has a much higher ceiling but shouldn't Dhawan be opening purely on form? Both Rahul and Rahane should sit out in 1st test with Dhawan & Rohit playing.

Seems like Dhawan is the new Dhoni for ICFers...dont understand the hate at all.

Bhai woh to saf me jake pata chal jayega philander ke against :wp3:

3 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Because KLR excelled against a much better side/attack on far tougher pitches and Dhawan stat padded against a pathetic barely non-minnow Lankan side?