India votes on Jerusalem against US, Israel at United Nations

Gollum

http://www.news18.com/news/india/india-votes-on-jerusalem-against-us-israel-at-united-nations-trumps-declaration-sparks-protests-1612299.html

Shouldn't we have just abstained? It is understandable that 6 million Indians work in M.E and we get lots of remittance from that area and also hydrocarbons. We have slowly started to acquire oil/gas from Venezuela, USA, Africa etc but will depend on M.E for remittances for quite some time. But we must remember that Palestine has used every possible platform to vote against India in the Kashmir issue, blatantly pro Pak and anti India in spite of all the support GOI has given them for so many decades now. I admit we both were part of NAM and had some converging interests in earlier years but scenario has changed now. What is Modi's game plan here? Israel supported us in Kargil, supported us in many counter terror ops/training and have always supported us in the Kashmir dispute. Also the only true secular democracy cum liberal country in the entire region (no matter what Muslims say show me another country in that region where mosques/churches/synagogues co exist.....or where LGBT rights exist?). Surely we could have abstained like Australia, Argentina, Bhutan, Canada, Philippines etc. Does this govt have a foreign policy?

High time we start treating the Arabs and Persians for what they are worth and not be their slave dogs in everything, we can't be so dependent on them henceforth.....we need to look at alternatives or bargain hard with those SOBs. Except 1-2 Muslim countries nearly the entire Ummah supported Pak in all the wars and all keep on siding with Pak on Kashmir issue. Even most Indian Muslims and left wing exttermists who don't give 2 hoots about Kashmir and Pak sponsored terror organize rallies by the millions for Gaza !!! 

I completely understand that we aren't in a position to vote against Israel right now, but we should at least be neutral publicly and stop backstabbing our ally !!! Or am I missing something here related to geo strategy and long term interests in the present global order?

Nothing to do with Israel (Netanyahu is coming over in January anyways so Namo will have a chance to smooth things over). Rather, Its a middle finger to US for still not booting Pakiland (among several other major/minor issues). 

Hell, none of America's poodles voted with it. Trump is chutiya and isn't long for the chair. 

Edited by surajmal

@surajmal Today the Pakistanis killed 4 of our boys and 56" is yet to give a statement or tweet expressing sorrow/outrage/condemnation. In fact it has been quite some time since he expressed moral support to our bravehearts and there have been many incidents in the last 3 months. How will you defend your idol here? That waste of a sperm has proved he is no better than the Congies or Communists, just an attention whore who uses Army to get votes. I don't think the moron showed the middle finger to anyone, he doesn't have the balls and has put politics above the nation. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

@surajmal Today the Pakistanis killed 4 of our boys and 56" is yet to give a statement or tweet expressing sorrow/outrage/condemnation. In fact it has been quite some time since he expressed moral support to our bravehearts and there have been many incidents in the last 3 months. How will you defend your idol here? That waste of a sperm has proved he is no better than the Congies or Communists, just an attention whore who uses Army to get votes. I don't think the moron showed the middle finger to anyone, he doesn't have the balls and has put politics above the nation. 

32 died in a bus accident too. 

Namo doesn't need to prove anything to his bhakts. And fence sitters are ... just that. 

15 minutes ago, surajmal said:

32 died in a bus accident too. 

Namo doesn't need to prove anything to his bhakts. And fence sitters are ... just that. 

Seriously comparing a bus accident with the killing of 3 soldiers and a major. Next what, no need to worry about 26/11 because 6000 people died in the Uttarakhand floods. He can't give a statement, what sort of leader is he? And are you following Sushma's twitter aman ki asha campaign?

12 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Seriously comparing a bus accident with the killing of 3 soldiers and a major. Next what, no need to worry about 26/11 because 6000 people died in the Uttarakhand floods. He can't give a statement, what sort of leader is he? And are you following Sushma's twitter aman ki asha campaign?

Tit for tat is on at the border. And it was allowed by this "waste of sperm". Other, more effective retaliatory options require major capacity build up that needs time and money (thank UPA again for this deficiency). And when they are ready to use such options, Namo won't be announcing it on twitter. 

Edited by surajmal

The problem with Ind is it does not take a stand or tries to be among the majority or stay in status quo scenarios 

The blunders Ind has made since its independence are too many. A few examples would include going to UN on Kashmir, not helping Tibet, Hindi Chini bhai bhai fiasco, giving Pak soilders back without striking a deal on Kashmir post BD war,  .... 

Idiots 

Except Yasir Arafat calling Mrs. Indira Gandhi his sister, what have Palestinians did for the Indians in the past? They surely can't upset their co-religionists in Pakistan regarding Kashmir. 

Diplomacy or international relations involves e give & take. Israel is a much more beneficial and trusting partner for India. We have defence, agricultural, technological ties with them. Without Israeli help during Kargil war, it could have been taken much longer to fight those intruders. They helped us when we were in dire straits.

It was awkward to see that in Israeli dailies, the move of Benjamin Netanyahu's close friend Modi was questioned & rightly so. 

Palestinians have been used as a pawn by their Arab neighbors whom they call brothers. They don't manufacture or export anything, what do we gain? Turkey, Indonesia, Saudis all have connections with Israelis covertly.

In the coming decades India will become the country inhabiting most number of Muslims in the world. May be keeping that in mind and trying to tilt towards them the govt. must have voted against Israel. 

@Turning_track we should have abstained. Can't afford to vote against Palestine as of now considering how much we depend on West Asia w.r.t remittance (60 lakh+ Indians are there) and hydrocarbons. Even our only overseas military base is in a Muslim country, Tajikistan....besides many port of calls and radar installations in countries like Qatar, Oman, Bahrain etc for intelligence gathering. Israel gave us trouble along with USA during Cold War days, so it was right that we snubbed them then. Now things have changed and we should change accordingly. We must abstain in all Israel Palestine matters for a few years and see how we go about business after that. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

@Turning_track we should have abstained. Can't afford to vote against Palestine as of now considering how much we depend on West Asia w.r.t remittance (60 lakh+ Indians are there) and hydrocarbons. Even our only overseas military base is in a Muslim country, Tajikistan....besides many port of calls and radar installations in countries like Qatar, Oman, Bahrain etc for intelligence gathering. Israel gave us trouble along with USA during Cold War days, so it was right that we snubbed them then. Now things have changed and we should change accordingly. We must abstain in all Israel Palestine matters for a few years and see how we go about business after that. 

They should have. Don't know what was in the minds of our top leadership & foreign ministry officials, everyone kept guessing about India's vote till the last minute.

Remittances from the middle east makes a big chunk, it can't be neglected. India should protect its interests ardently.

On 23/12/2017 at 8:27 AM, randomGuy said:

Iran and route to Afghanistan... 

But I agree should have abstained. 

Yes, this. Also, I believe Israel and US would not take India vote in their favour too seriously as our country has no strong cultural relationship with the Jerusalem issue.

On 12/23/2017 at 7:46 AM, Gollum said:

Modi is no idol of mine ( though i think he is quasi-competent, as in he is competent but overrated in his 'competency'). But it was the correct move here.

Indians have a very basic concept of foreign diplomacy/UN. In foreign affairs, there are really no 'friends'. There are strategic and economic interests. Thats it. 

There is a lot more to be lost for India, by going against this motion than 'for' it. US economics are nowhere as 'reactive' as these tinpot Arab dictatorships and host of other Islamic nations.  Neither are Israel's. Their 'sanctions' are least expected. 

Ergo, we lose more by going against it, gain some leverage amongst silly Arabs (who have economic power). 

This is the type of calculus India has to consider as 'longtime buddies'.  
This is also why Japan and US are 'long-time buddies' as well as US-UK. Or US-Canada. India thinks our 'longtime buddy' is Russia. Yet, Russia does not and has never seen us as 'critical to Russian success dream'. We need to consider that and move forward. 

Now is the time, for us, to identify long-term geo-strategic interests and make 'allies' we wish to keep & back 30-40-50 years into the future. 

1 hour ago, Muloghonto said:

Modi is no idol of mine ( though i think he is quasi-competent, as in he is competent but overrated in his 'competency'). But it was the correct move here.

Indians have a very basic concept of foreign diplomacy/UN. In foreign affairs, there are really no 'friends'. There are strategic and economic interests. Thats it. 

There is a lot more to be lost for India, by going against this motion than 'for' it. US economics are nowhere as 'reactive' as these tinpot Arab dictatorships and host of other Islamic nations.  Neither are Israel's. Their 'sanctions' are least expected. 

Ergo, we lose more by going against it, gain some leverage amongst silly Arabs (who have economic power). 

This is the type of calculus India has to consider as 'longtime buddies'.  
This is also why Japan and US are 'long-time buddies' as well as US-UK. Or US-Canada. India thinks our 'longtime buddy' is Russia. Yet, Russia does not and has never seen us as 'critical to Russian success dream'. We need to consider that and move forward. 

Now is the time, for us, to identify long-term geo-strategic interests and make 'allies' we wish to keep & back 30-40-50 years into the future. 

So do you consider Iran and Afghanistan to be looked as long term buddies instead of Israel? As Iranians and Afghans can relate to India more culturally than Israelis.

51 minutes ago, MechEng said:

So do you consider Iran and Afghanistan to be looked as long term buddies instead of Israel? As Iranians and Afghans can relate to India more culturally than Israelis.

Again. No 'buddies'. We have no buddies. We want no buddies. We need allies. Culture is irrelevant. Japan and USA are culturally much, much further apart than Japan and Philippines or USA and Mexico. Yet, US-Japan are friends. 

Its all about converging geo-political interests and how big those interests are. It is tough to identify who India's long-term partners should be. Australia and Canada/Venezuela should be the obvious choice, but Aussies are more pro-China and Canada can't decide if it wants to be a resource exporter and tear up its land or does it want to be poor 'gaia land'.