Has an Indian pace bowler ever delivered consistently over a course of a full series?

maniac

All I can remember are 1 or max 2 good bowling spells over a course of a series but I cannot recollect when an Indian fast bowler has consistently delivered over a course of a 3,4 or 5 match series.

Usually they start with a bang like Sree in 2007, Bhuvi in 2014,PK in 2011 etc and then fizzle our towards the end or by the time they start getting used to the conditions and hit their stride the series is over.

Bowling as a unit is a good theory and all that but not practical always.

From what I can remember usually it is that one mercurial spell from an Indian pacer that usually setup or won games for us.

One of the bowlers have to step up and bowl

out of their skin.

You are looking for 25 wickets in a series? Fast bowlers rarely did since Kapil Dev. 

Post 2000

Highest in a series by an Indian fast bowler Ishant 3 tests 22 wickets in Windies

Zaheer 3 tests 18 wickets in SA

Sree 3 tests 18 wickets in SA

Irfan 2 tests 21 wickets in Zimbabwe

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;spanmax1=31+Dec+2018;spanmin1=01+Jan+2000;spanval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=bowling;view=series

Edited by vvvslaxman
6 minutes ago, CG said:
7 minutes ago, maniac said:
Yeah Ishant in 2011 vs WI is a good example.

For all the hate Ishant gets he is only one who maintains his form.Its sad he has not developed.

He actually has....in fact ever since the Faulkner game which could have happened to anyone on those pitches in that series he has been our best bowler overseas.

in 2013-2014

In South Africa,he was responsible for giving us a shot in the first test.

in Nzl too he set up a test for us.

he won a test for us in England.

surpringly in Aus where pitches are tailor made for him and where he came in to limelight is the place where he has been a let down.

Problem is when everyone is bad,Ishant is horrible.

When he is in rhythm he either wins games singlehandedly or someone else screws up big time and his efforts are not recognized.

I have supported him for a reason....yeah we can have fun with it at times but he does get irrational hate on here.

Edited by maniac

Mitchell Starc would have worse average or as bad average as Ishant if not for the bowling attack support he has...This coming from a huge Starc fan....let me explain...Starc’s strength is raw pace and the length he bowls...hell he has  even beaten someone like Cook who has perfect technique and is good against fast bowling with raw pace . once as a top order bat and you get used to him,you can play him out all day long...obviously you will be screwed if you attack him which explains his stellar LOI record.

With Shami,Bhuvi and Umesh evolving even thoug Umesh has regressed a little,Ishants performance has also improved.

8 minutes ago, maniac said:

Mitchell Starc would have worse average or as bad average as Ishant if not for the bowling attack support he has...This coming from a huge Starc fan....let me explain...Starc’s strength is raw pace and the length he bowls...hell he has  even beaten someone like Cook who has perfect technique and is good against fast bowling with raw pace . once as a top order bat and you get used to him,you can play him out all day long...obviously you will be screwed if you attack him which explains his stellar LOI record.

With Shami,Bhuvi and Umesh evolving even thoug Umesh has regressed a little,Ishants performance has also improved.

Stop. Starc can take pitch out of the equation. Ishant can take bowler out of the equation.

14 minutes ago, speedheat said:

Hai na bhai, umesh yadav vs australia last year, 17 wickets  average 23

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

You are looking for 25 wickets in a series? Fast bowlers rarely did since Kapil Dev. 

Post 2000

Highest in a series by an Indian fast bowler Ishant 3 tests 22 wickets in Windies

Zaheer 3 tests 18 wickets in SA

Sree 3 tests 18 wickets in SA

Irfan 2 tests 21 wickets in Zimbabwe

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;spanmax1=31+Dec+2018;spanmin1=01+Jan+2000;spanval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=bowling;view=series

Bhuvi 19 wickets, England series