North Indians making Goa another Haryana, says minister

Singh bling

14 minutes ago, BeardedAladdin said:

I have no issues with drugs, prostitution, raves or any of that stuff. Provided it's somewhat regulated. 

But to say that goa has some unique culture that others aren't 'respecting' is nonsensical. North Indian tourists behave the same way others do, it makes no sense to single them out. 

There is no reason to talk against the people and their culture because some minister has a big mouth. If we do the same then we are no better than an idiotic politician.

Abey nandu, you're a tourist state. You don't make anything on your own. 

What "culture" do you have? Goan culture = doing cheap drugs and banging Russian hookers while crappy rave music plays in the background.  
Thanks you for demonstrating the exact mentality I was talking about.We have south indian tourists as well btw,much more relaxed

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

He’s from a regional party which is part of BJP coalition govt. These politicians are usually vocal to pander their voters.

He’s way out of order here. Now he claims that he was quoted out of context as he was reacting to a viral video of a tourist pissing out of a bus window...

44 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

What surprises me hatred for other state people come when they migrate and steal the jobs , people from Delhi Gurgaon etc don't migrate to Goa infact they go on vacation from which their people earn livelihood 

but surely at the same time, just cause the earn their livelihood does not mean you behave like **** when your there. This goes for everybody. This is not even about culture. Its about basic respect.

Its also simplistic to say people from the NCR are the reason for livelihood in Goa.They get tourists from all parts. Six times the population of the state in terms of tourists tells me they will be fine if NCR folk stop visiting.

Obviously comments calling people scum need to be avoided at all costs.

2 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

they are already bringing tough laws to ban drinking in public areas.

Drinking in establishments is going to ensure the cost rises.

You probably don't know what it means in Goa.

When the trains enter goa.....you start hearing ...beer beer thandi beer instead of chai chai .:p:

Raising taxes will probably cost votes.

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

He is way out of line because Goa depends on tourists, stupidity and arrogance to target fellow Indians when you have Israeli and Russian gangs establishing no go areas in parts of the state. 

But expect more such friction between the 2 sides of the Vindhyas. Northies who are employed down South should try to blend in when they come to Southern cities. May be learn a few words in the local language, appreciate their culture/architecture :adore:, talk good about their favourite movie stars etc. I have always done that in Hyderabad, Chennai and Bengaluru and trust me it always works. Even Chennai autorickshaw wallahs have refused to take money because I talked flatteringly about their favourite movie star or tried to converse in Tamil. Same with Telugu people but they are even more emotional, you be nice to them and they will treat you like your long lost brother. I have seen what many Northies do once they land here, not all but a sizable chunk. They act as if they own the place, refuse to learn 2 words in the local language, talk to locals rudely, make fun of local language/cuisine, whine, whine, whine..... The lack of respect and the bad manners many of the Northies have is cringeworthy, they may get away with this in Kolkata/Mumbai but down south, don't expect people to fall at your legs after you disrespect them. Compare the behaviour of Southies in north and contrast with the converse. I don't know a Southie in Bengal who doesn't know Hindi/Bengali, at least one language they will master.  Remember one thing, North will depend a lot on South for employment and economic opportunities because of demography and development trends, better to change rather than create trouble......Hindi imposition by Delhi coupled with bad manners can only mean more bad blood in the future. 

I have been to Punjab many times since childhood  due to my family armed forces connection.people are very courteous but Delhi and Chennai are 2 places where if you are an outsider, your life will be a living hell be it from the North or other South Indian states or rest of India. Lot of obnoxious locals trying to rip you off here.based on personal experience 

In my parents Hometown of Kakinada in AP there is surprisingly a large enough Jain/Marwari community most of them hang around in cliques but they do adapt to the local culture like movies,festivals etc from what I have seen.

Even in Hyderabad significant trade is done by Gujjus/Sikhs and maybe for business reasons they learn the local language. However, the Muslims are instructed by Owaisi clan to not speak a word of Telugu....even though it might be a commonplace in old city where they might say  “aaj Mahesh Babu ka picture Dekhenge miyan” 

or “baahubali mein prabhas mast dikh ra bai” they refuse to show it in public.

There is a reason why Bangalore and Hyderabad have a lot more diversity. Easy for all cultures to assimilate. Obviously Mumbai too but obviously targeting South Indians, North Indians etc etc has always been a part of their politics....Having said that Mumbai is easier to assimilate in then Other cosmopolitan cities in India.

Edited by maniac

4 hours ago, beetle said:

There is no reason to talk against the people and their culture because some minister has a big mouth. If we do the same then we are no better than an idiotic politician.

But honestly what are these people talking about Delhi culture etc and that people of Delhi are obnoxious, like this guy called @maniac exaggerating about above.

I mean Dehi’s population is so mixed now with all Biharis and everyone from different parts of India wanting to move to Delhi in early 90s to late 2000s and its now mixed with people from numerous places. We have Marwaris to any people from different parts of india in large population. If it was so obnoxious doubt people would have liked settling down there.

I see how it is. Sab ko kuch bolne ka shauk hai toh chalte firte they will add Delhi to any conversation everywhere.

17 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

But honestly what are these people talking about Delhi culture etc and that people of Delhi are obnoxious, like this guy called @maniac exaggerating about above.

I mean Dehi’s population is so mixed now with all Biharis and everyone from different parts of India wanting to move to Delhi in early 90s to late 2000s and its now mixed with people from numerous places. We have Marwaris to any people from different parts of india in large population. If it was so obnoxious doubt people would have liked settling down there.

I see how it is. Sab ko kuch bolne ka shauk hai toh chalte firte they will add Delhi to any conversation everywhere.

What exaggerating? I am basing it on personal experience....I went to Some parts of Canada where I felt a little uncomfortable, so based on my personal experience I experienced more racial vibe in Canada than USA but people living in Canada are free to disagree.

Due to my fathers job and later on due to my sisters family I have visited almost all parts of India and I personally didn’t have great experiences in Delhi and Chennai. I grew up in Mumbai, my family is from Hyderabad but visited all the major cities and I personally pointed out those 2 cities.

If you have had a personal bad experience in Mumbai or Hyderabad or Andhra please share it...that doesn’t make you a bigot.

stop being a snowflake and overreacting. 

21 minutes ago, maniac said:

What exaggerating? I am basing it on personal experience....I went to Some parts of Canada where I felt a little uncomfortable, so based on my personal experience I experienced more racial vibe in Canada than USA but people living in Canada are free to disagree.

Due to my fathers job and later on due to my sisters family I have visited almost all parts of India and I personally didn’t have great experiences in Delhi and Chennai. I grew up in Mumbai, my family is from Hyderabad but visited all the major cities and I personally pointed out those 2 cities.

If you have had a personal bad experience in Mumbai or Hyderabad or Andhra please share it...that doesn’t make you a bigot.

I can’t have any bad experience. I am one of those people who gets  along with every personality and its hard for anyone to ever offend me, be it a racist to any morong cursing me or my relifion. People in India or all over the world do behave like snowflakes and hence get offended by little things or find little things which irritate them. 

I never had a bad experience anywhere since my thinking isn’t like that.   I think it has a lot to do with where I grew up or where I was born, which is Delhi. I learned to never talk shyt about anyone actually. I mean I will just tell you this, I sit with people from numeous parts of India who behave like snow flakes and are like “o man these guys served me bad food today, I am going to write a bad review on yelp.”

I hate that kind of attitude. Thats what I like about most people from Delhi. We talk stuff up front instead of silently killing people on the back for example - writing shyt about restaurant on yelp etc which will basically destroy someone’s business.

I like being straight up. I would suggest you too. If someone is being obnoxioous, telll him up front and solve the matter. Most matters and topic can be closed down and you can have better experience everywhere if you can talk it out. 

I hate today’s generation attitude of negative reviewing everyone on the net. It goes on to show the fear in the personality of many. There are of course exceptions when you really should, but most get online to review small business fo ridiculous reasons like personal grudge.

Just talk it out and you will one day feel you were never ripped off.

i mean you lived in USA, probably went theough USCIS, what can be more rip off then those scumbags sitting in numerous centres putting in hours and not doing shyt. That is real rip off, not the ones Indians do to Indians in India.

1 hour ago, maniac said:

Can I know which parts of Canada, you were made uncomfortable (just out of curiosity). The facts you mentioned about Delhi and Chennai, even I heard that. 

Delhites seem aggressive to outsiders... It is not about Southies alone. My friend from UP also complains about Delhites. 

The complaints of non-tamils or northies about Chennai is very well known. :no: 

Edited by sarcastic

37 minutes ago, sarcastic said:

Can I know which parts of Canada, you were made uncomfortable (just out of curiosity). The facts you mentioned about Delhi and Chennai, even I heard that. 

Delhites seem aggressive to outsiders... It is not about Southies alone. My friend from UP also complains about Delhites. 

The complaints of non-tamils or northies about Chennai is very well known. :no: 

He went to a hood in Toronto in Downsview and expected them to offer him Chai Latte.

6 hours ago, Singh bling said:

What surprises me hatred for other state people come when they migrate and steal the jobs , people from Delhi Gurgaon etc don't migrate to Goa infact they go on vacation from which their people earn livelihood 

bhai Rona logon ka dharm hai. see this thread for ex.

northies in South live with utmost dignity and respect. obey the law etc.

some people here are filled with prejudice.. unko nahi Samjha Sakte.. maybe jealously as well because national media politics etc. is focussed on delhi/north (remember even kejriwal gets so much attention:D). i have had dozens of bad experiences in Hyderabad. I don't go around saying southies are bad. there are good and bad people everywhere. I respect everyone. 

4 hours ago, maniac said:

I have been to Punjab many times since childhood  due to my family armed forces connection.people are very courteous but Delhi and Chennai are 2 places where if you are an outsider, your life will be a living hell be it from the North or other South Indian states or rest of India. Lot of obnoxious locals trying to rip you off here.based on personal experience 

In my parents Hometown of Kakinada in AP there is surprisingly a large enough Jain/Marwari community most of them hang around in cliques but they do adapt to the local culture like movies,festivals etc from what I have seen.

Even in Hyderabad significant trade is done by Gujjus/Sikhs and maybe for business reasons they learn the local language. However, the Muslims are instructed by Owaisi clan to not speak a word of Telugu....even though it might be a commonplace in old city where they might say  “aaj Mahesh Babu ka picture Dekhenge miyan” 

or “baahubali mein prabhas mast dikh ra bai” they refuse to show it in public.

There is a reason why Bangalore and Hyderabad have a lot more diversity. Easy for all cultures to assimilate. Obviously Mumbai too but obviously targeting South Indians, North Indians etc etc has always been a part of their politics....Having said that Mumbai is easier to assimilate in then Other cosmopolitan cities in India.

I concur. Jains/Marwaris/Gujjus adapt to local culture quite easily. Punjabis too are fun loving and genuinely boisterous and eager to learn about local culture, all Sikhs I see mingle in seamlessly with the locals. I was specifically talking about cow belt regions esp UP/Bihar/Madhya Pradesh /Delhi who don't mingle easily or rather refuse to respect the local culture. I have a couple of Biharis in my workplace and when we went for a trip to Halebidu last year, they were very uncharitable with their remarks, even picked fights with locals for no reason. I mean we have a Kashmiri in our group yet he never whines about Kannada or South Indian cuisine, eager to explore the temple architecture here and then we have Bihari Hindus who think Hoysala culture is some big fat joke :angry:. I am not generalizing based on this one incident, have seen this in Hyderabad and Chennai also.

IMO the most welcoming city with max diversity is Kolkata. It may not figure in discussions because it isn't as developed as Bengaluru/Hyderabad but truly if you want to see proper assimilation come to the City of Joy, it doesn't discriminate based on language or religion, or between poor or rich. Kolkata even opens its doors for foreigners, be it Bangladeshis or Burmese or Chinese.....Of late there  have been many groups in Southern states against outsiders but no such groups in Kolkata :smile:, except a few Urdu speaking Muslim dominated regions like Metiabruz-Garden Reach, you won't face any hostility. 

IMO the worst place for outsiders is Kerala. Mallus tend to stick together and shut out outsiders from their groups. Even though they may not be openly hostile they aren't very welcoming either. Even in college there were only 3 groups who would stick together, Maharashtrians, Andhras and Mallus. While the former 2 would still socialize with others and have friends across the spectrum, Mallus were more inward looking. If you get caught in Andhra-Marathi groups they will make you feel part of the groups even if they hesitate to speak in a common language like Hindi. But the moment a Mallu sees another Mallu he will act as if you don't exist. Kannadigas and Tamils never had this group thing, in fact for the latter no 2 Tamils would get along well and all of them would be part of inter state groups...since almost all of them were Tamil Brahmins may be they behaved like that, typical non Brahmin Tamils may not be that open but what I observed is that Tamil Brahmins aren't too much in the Tamil thing, all of them like to associate themselves with North Indians, Hindi, Bollywood, BJP etc.