Don't we need rotation policy of batting position in one dayers???

rtmohanlal

The on going SAF  series gave clear evidence regarding to the  short comings of this one day team, that's the weak middle order.Now it is getting clear as to what an important job Yuvraj,Raina,Dhoni etc etc have been doing in the middle order.These players straight away used to continue from where the top order left with the same level of efficiency despite getting much lesser chances when compared to top order.But current middle order is really struggling to do that.The biggest ill effect of this is that if the top order fails just as happend in the champions trophy final  the middle order gets into dilemma because of lack of enough skill, experience & match practice.One solution is to give the middle order as much exposure and live match practice as possible  as it can be.Matters like promoting middle order players up the order in dead rubbers, against weaker teams etc etc need to be done. This can bring in enough match practice and experience when ever an important game come across.Comments.     

11 hours ago, rtmohanlal said:

The on going SAF  series gave clear evidence regarding to the  short comings of this one day team, that's the weak middle order.Now it is getting clear as to what an important job Yuvraj,Raina,Dhoni etc etc have been doing in the middle order.These players straight away used to continue from where the top order left with the same level of efficiency despite getting much lesser chances when compared to top order.But current middle order is really struggling to do that.The biggest ill effect of this is that if the top order fails just as happend in the champions trophy final  the middle order gets into dilemma because of lack of enough skill, experience & match practice.One solution is to give the middle order as much exposure and live match practice as possible  as it can be.Matters like promoting middle order players up the order in dead rubbers, against weaker teams etc etc need to be done. This can bring in enough match practice and experience when ever an important game come across.Comments.     

pandya n jadhav have been given promotion 

Rather its time to give fixed position n let players adjust in those ones. 

If team wants dhoni in 2019 wc give him a fixed position and let him work his game around similarly others. 

Their isnt much time left and we already are stuck with 4 n 6 position issues giving wrong players a chance and to much rotation wont help either. 

44 minutes ago, lamellavig said:

how kohli is selfish?

Kohli is selfish for them because they think Kohli is jealous of Rahul’s stardom. Some knuckleheads on forum feel that Kohli is scared that Rahul will overtake him. One thing is to criticize wrong selection of Kohli and other to talk crazy about an established living legend of Indian cricket.

2 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Kohli is selfish for them because they think Kohli is jealous of Rahul’s stardom. Some knuckleheads on forum feel that Kohli is scared that Rahul will overtake him. One thing is to criticize wrong selection of Kohli and other to talk crazy about an established living legend of Indian cricket.

I dont think Rahul is there but he does deserve a shot. For me it is never Kohli vs rahul.

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

Then bata do bhaiya why you call Kohli selfish. Whats your other reason to call him selfish? Let us also learn 

Mere bhai 6th game mein Kohli ki kya zaroorat thi. In short what was the need for Kohli, Bhuvi, Bumrah and Dhoni and Pndya to play the sixth ODI. Why did they not empty the bench and give everyone a chance?

4 minutes ago, Khota said:

Mere bhai 6th game mein Kohli ki kya zaroorat thi. In short what was the need for Kohli, Bhuvi, Bumrah and Dhoni and Pndya to play the sixth ODI. Why did they not empty the bench and give everyone a chance?

Everyone looks at it differently. May be they want to beat them badly like 5-1 and take confidence into t20s, instead of breaking the momentum and giving them a chance.

I wanted them to try others too but it did not happen, they at least tried  a new bowler. I won’t call them selfish for that.

Kohli is all about mental toughness and being the best player, he doesn’t like skipping games so if he is there he wants to play himself everytime. Everyone has agreed that he must give chance to few more players and make the required change in the middle order.

No one has ever disagreed that.

34 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Everyone looks at it differently. May be they want to beat them badly like 5-1 and take confidence into t20s, instead of breaking the momentum and giving them a chance.

I wanted them to try others too but it did not happen, they at least tried  a new bowler. I won’t call them selfish for that.

Kohli is all about mental toughness and being the best player, he doesn’t like skipping games so if he is there he wants to play himself everytime. Everyone has agreed that he must give chance to few more players and make the required change in the middle order.

No one has ever disagreed that.

If there was a real coach he would explain to Kohli the phenomena called burn out. I think what he did was selfish.

13 minutes ago, Khota said:

If there was a real coach he would explain to Kohli the phenomena called burn out. I think what he did was selfish.

You don’t burn out by playing one extra game in 6 game series where you have already played 5.

Captain doesn’t want to skip playing a game for his country in an overseas tour. That is not selfish. I like such captains.

22 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

You don’t burn out by playing one extra game in 6 game series where you have already played 5.

Captain doesn’t want to skip playing a game for his country in an overseas tour. That is not selfish. I like such captains.

he is padding his record. I dont like such players on personal level. It is about team and there is no I in team.

5 minutes ago, Khota said:

he is padding his record. I dont like such players on personal level. It is about team and there is no I in team.

He wants to pad record of the country, not his own. He wants to ensure 5-1. When you are doing well, especially after a Test defeat, you want to show due diligence and ruthlessness. You don't give games away like charity. You should ensure that the final score reflects your country's superiority. 

So he pads records, but only records of the country. For Kohli, only 6-0 was enough after a Test defeat. 5-1 was less than satisfactory. 4-2 would have been disastrous. 

30 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

I don't understand why fans hate players who don't want to skip duty. Imagine a player who is satisfied and revels in rest and complacency. Khota wants players like those in the team. I struggle to understand why complacent players are appreciated and yearned for so much. It's so illogical.

Why criticise player who wants to ensure dominance for his country?

15 minutes ago, lamellavig said:

He wants to pad record of the country, not his own. He wants to ensure 5-1. When you are doing well, especially after a Test defeat, you want to show due diligence and ruthlessness. You don't give games away like charity. You should ensure that the final score reflects your country's superiority. 

So he pads records, but only records of the country. For Kohli, only 6-0 was enough after a Test defeat. 5-1 was less than satisfactory. 4-2 would have been disastrous. 

Could not disagree more. Need to have a strategic vision and only goal in sight should be to win the WC. This is a tune up game after the series win. It is all about building bench. Difficult concept to grasp but really important.

9 minutes ago, Khota said:

Could not disagree more. Need to have a strategic vision and only goal in sight should be to win the WC. This is a tune up game after the series win. It is all about building bench. Difficult concept to grasp but really important.

WC comes every 4 years only. you cannot actively give up all series for just a knockout tournament. it's akin to barcelona giving up the spanish league to focus on just a european knockout. cricket is about winning every bilateral and then winning the w/c. if you fail to win the bilateral, make changes. if you are winning bilaterals, you are already on the path

the aim is to win every bilateral and also the world cup. 

34 minutes ago, lamellavig said:

WC comes every 4 years only. you cannot actively give up all series for just a knockout tournament. it's akin to barcelona giving up the spanish league to focus on just a european knockout. cricket is about winning every bilateral and then winning the w/c. if you fail to win the bilateral, make changes. if you are winning bilaterals, you are already on the path

the aim is to win every bilateral and also the world cup. 

Yes, people don’t realize that Kohli rested just now before the South Africa series during the Sri Lanka home ODI series since that was not extremely important and is now hungry to play after serving his rest period. If he feels he needs extra rest, he will ask for it and most likely get it for the t20 tri series which is to take place in Sri Lanka before IPL. Being the best batsman, he shouldn’t be obligated to take rest for the last match of an ODI series since this is the tour which Kohli and the country was most looking forward to. This is not like home sri lankan series which has become a yearly festival. This South African tour comes once in 3-4 years and the best player in the world wants to win that series by dominating in it. 

There is nothing selfish about that.