Smith will not appeal against the ban

30 minutes ago, Lannister said:

Either way, Australian Cricket is done for. There are no exciting players apart from couple of bowlers.

They will come back strong ,it'll take time maybe a couple of years but they so produce quality players just like us 

9 minutes ago, adi B said:

They will come back strong ,it'll take time maybe a couple of years but they so produce quality players just like us 

It took a lot of time for Smith to get where he is, and it should've been him, Warner and Starc who were supposed to be the face of Cricket Australia. Now they are back to ground zero and this time they are left with no senior players to see through the transition. 

Heart goes out to Smith, stay strong legend and come back roaring like a lion. You have accepted your mistake and that is a rarity in the modern world, many teams have cheats/frauds who will likely never be caught and even if they are caught will cry conspiracy/never accept their wrongs. Much greater cricketer-frauds than you have served as MPs in India, some have captained the country and others have made lesser players the scapegoats. After your career is over you will be remembered in kinder terms.

What a start to the year 2018 has been, kohli shut up his haters with awesome performance in south africa and this cheat finally got exposed for his crimes :biggrin:

Aya bada smith kohli se pange lene, Kohli is the one and only true king :yess:

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Heart goes out to Smith, stay strong legend and come back roaring like a lion. You have accepted your mistake and that is a rarity in the modern world, many teams have cheats/frauds who will likely never be caught and even if they are caught will cry conspiracy/never accept their wrongs. Much greater cricketer-frauds than you have served as MPs in India, some have captained the country and others have made lesser players the scapegoats. After your career is over you will be remembered in kinder terms.

A lot of our cricketers are far better than Smith in terms of straight forwardness and integrity. Agreed he's a talented cricketer but you don't have to put down our cricketers to glorify him. After all he did cheat. Not once but a lot of times.

2 minutes ago, The Dark Horse said:

A lot of our cricketers are far better than Smith in terms of straight forwardness and integrity. Agreed he's a talented cricketer but you don't have to put down our cricketers to glorify him. After all he did cheat. Not once but a lot of times.

Azhar, Jadeja, Prabhakar, Mongia, Sidhu, IPL fixers..... none of these guys ever admitted to their faults. Mudgal report is not yet public else Dhoni, Jadeja, Raina will be in big big trouble. It takes balls to admit to one's transgressions with grace and dignity like Smith has done here. 

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Azhar, Jadeja, Prabhakar, Mongia, Sidhu, IPL fixers..... none of these guys ever admitted to their faults. Mudgal report is not yet public else Dhoni, Jadeja, Raina will be in big big trouble. It takes balls to admit to one's transgressions with grace and dignity like Smith has done here. 

BS.  There is absolutely no way that Cape Town was the first and only time that the Aussies tampered the ball.  And Smith didn't show balls by accepting anything with grace and dignity.  He threw Bancroft under the bus in the Press conference, blamed the "leadership group", lied about Bancroft "overhearing" instead of being told to tamper the ball.  Then lied about the sandpaper, claiming it was dirt and a piece of tape.   

I feel sympathy for Smith too, because his punishment is overly harsh - done by a bureaucratic corrupt organization out to cover up the full story, and cover its own ass from the bad publicity.  But spare me the cowdung about Mr Brainfade conducting himself with grace.   

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I agree with you but there is an important difference though. All the above people are involved in fixing whereas Smith is accepting ball tampering and not any kind of fixing. The first one is too big to admit for the punishment is enormous but the second one seems ok as eventually fans will forgive him (because he only tried to give them a win albeit by covert means). 

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Those fixers are a different case... They're the worst possible people. It's criminal. Smith hasn't done anything near to that. Not fair to even compare Smith to those people. I'm talking about general conduct on the field. Also unfair to mention Dhoni, Raina, Jadeja(R) in the same sentence. They've had a clean record. It's not their fault if their owner is betting.

Edited by The Dark Horse
2 hours ago, The Dark Horse said:

Those fixers are a different case... They're the worst possible people. It's criminal. Smith hasn't done anything near to that. Not fair to even compare Smith to those people. I'm talking about general conduct on the field. Also unfair to mention Dhoni, Raina, Jadeja(R) in the same sentence. They've had a clean record. It's not their fault if their owner is betting.

Agree Smith made a mistake and has been punished more harshly than what he deserves, he is no saint. But my point is there are worse apples who are roaming scot free now. A murderer (Sidhu) became LS MP and was in line to become CM of a state, another serial ball tamperer (Imran) may become Pak PM this year, a serial match fixer cum friend of the underworld (Azhar) became LS MP and head of many sports associations....so many examples. Even guys like Jadeja, ,Mongia and Prabhakar don't have the tags of cheats in spite of doing much worse things than the Aussie. Even ex Aussie cricketers like Mark Waugh (contact with bookies) and Warne (bookies, doping) never had the stigma attached. Dhoni, Raina and Jadeja are no innocent angels. Dhoni committed perjury before the Mudgal panel to save Meiyappan, perjury is a far far greater crime than even match fixing, in civilized societies perjury attracts very harsh punishment. There are enough hints that both Jadeja and Raina took humongous amounts of money from betters, there is a huge cover up. In fact Raina may have deep ties with bookies, he was even caught in a hotel with a blacklisted lady associated with bookies in Lanka IIRC and BCCI had to hush up the matter. Guys like Sreesanth are small fish, if our judicial system were as efficient as those in 1st world countries or better if a stalwart like Seshan were in charge in stead of corrupt, self serving babus many many people associated with Indian cricket will suffer. Not just India, there are these treacherous elements in all countries but more in SC because India/UAE is the den of match fixing in cricket.

3 hours ago, sarcastic said:

I agree with you but there is an important difference though. All the above people are involved in fixing whereas Smith is accepting ball tampering and not any kind of fixing. The first one is too big to admit for the punishment is enormous but the second one seems ok as eventually fans will forgive him (because he only tried to give them a win albeit by covert means). 

But some people like Cronje, Amir, Gibbs, Ashraful have accepted match fixing transgressions. Here we have an Azhar who played the minority card and cried conspiracy, even till now he hasn't accepted his mistakes. My point is we need to applaud those who accept their mistakes because that takes courage. Even recently Du Plessis was caught using zippers but he deflected the issue, when SRT was caught on camera lifting seam/cleaning dirt without telling the umps, we cried racism and created ruckus. Contrast that to how Aussies reacted when their players were caught this time, almost complete condemnation from all walks of society. I always believed Aussies used dirty tactics to win, but this time the reaction of both their players and public has been heartwarming. Never in a 3rd world country like ours will we accept our mistake, it isn't in our culture. We always look to deflect charges and play the blame game. Do you think we wouldn't have supported a Kohli or Ashwin had they been caught doing something similar like the Aussies? This attitude cuts across sports. When Narsingh Yadav tested positive in Rio he put the blame on the Sushil camp, later the federation and finally cried conspiracy by the scared European opponents. Whenever desis are caught with their pants down the only response is cry racism or conspiracy or bias or misunderstanding, somehow hoping the higher ups cover up the issue...clearly doesn't work in 1st world counties. Not just limited to sports, an Ambani scion can run over 2 people and media will cover up, a Salman Khan can run over people and poach endangered animals, kuch nahi hoga. But in an England when Stokes used excessive force against a guy who was bullying an LGBT couple, he got banned from an Ashes series. In India meanwhile Sidhu after killiing a man in a street fight and getting convicted by court went on to play matches and do his commentary gigs as if nothing had happened. Indian celebs are overprotected and held on a pedestal by the institutions/public, so it is nauseating to see us taking the moral high ground after this tampering controversy. 

These aussies (Smith and Bancroft along with CA) want us to believe that this is first time it happened and these three players all batsmen mind you went out of the way to help bowlers without bowlers even knowing it or wanting it.

This is some cock and bull story which all parties involved are trying to pull. This looks like a well orchestrated plan where Warner now will appeal and get ban reduced for himself and other two .People will singing praises on how tough CA have acted and they continue their merry way by squashing the real truth.

15 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Agree Smith made a mistake and has been punished more harshly than what he deserves, he is no saint. But my point is there are worse apples who are roaming scot free now. A murderer (Sidhu) became LS MP and was in line to become CM of a state, another serial ball tamperer (Imran) may become Pak PM this year, a serial match fixer cum friend of the underworld (Azhar) became LS MP and head of many sports associations....so many examples. Even guys like Jadeja, ,Mongia and Prabhakar don't have the tags of cheats in spite of doing much worse things than the Aussie. Even ex Aussie cricketers like Mark Waugh (contact with bookies) and Warne (bookies, doping) never had the stigma attached. Dhoni, Raina and Jadeja are no innocent angels. Dhoni committed perjury before the Mudgal panel to save Meiyappan, perjury is a far far greater crime than even match fixing, in civilized societies perjury attracts very harsh punishment. There are enough hints that both Jadeja and Raina took humongous amounts of money from betters, there is a huge cover up. In fact Raina may have deep ties with bookies, he was even caught in a hotel with a blacklisted lady associated with bookies in Lanka IIRC and BCCI had to hush up the matter. Guys like Sreesanth are small fish, if our judicial system were as efficient as those in 1st world countries or better if a stalwart like Seshan were in charge in stead of corrupt, self serving babus many many people associated with Indian cricket will suffer. Not just India, there are these treacherous elements in all countries but more in SC because India/UAE is the den of match fixing in cricket.

But some people like Cronje, Amir, Gibbs have accepted match fixing transgressions. Here we have an Azhar who played the minority card and cried conspiracy, even till now he hasn't accepted his mistakes. My point is we need to applaud those who accept their mistakes because that takes courage. Even recently Du Plessis was caught using zippers but he deflected the issue, when SRT was caught on camera lifting seam/cleaning dirt without telling the umps, we cried racism and created ruckus. Contrast that to how Aussies reacted when their players were caught this time, almost complete condemnation from all walks of society. I always believed Aussies used dirty tactics to win, but this time the reaction of both their players and public has been heartwarming. Never in a 3rd world country like ours will we accept our mistake, it isn't in our culture. We always look to deflect charges and play the blame game. Do you think we wouldn't have supported a Kohli or Ashwin had they been caught doing something similar like the Aussies? This attitude cuts across sports. When Narsingh Yadav tested positive in Rio he put the blame on the Sushil camp, later the federation and finally cried conspiracy by the scared European opponents. Whenever desis are caught with their pants down the only response is cry racism or conspiracy or bias or misunderstanding, somehow hoping the higher ups cover up the issue...clearly doesn't work in 1st world counties. Not just limited to sports, an Ambani scion can run over 2 people and media will cover up, a Salman Khan can run over people and poach endangered animals, kuch nahi hoga. But in an England when Stokes used excessive force against a guy who was bullying an LGBT couple, he got banned from an Ashes series. In India meanwhile Sidhu after killiing a man in a street fight and getting convicted by court went on to play matches and do his commentary gigs as if nothing had happened. Indian celebs are overprotected and held on a pedestal by the institutions/public, so it is nauseating to see us taking the moral high ground after this tampering controversy. 

This is some serious post.. Well done