Is Hardik Pandya the biggest fraud to ever play for us ?

The most ignorant thread in a long time. This arm chair critic doesn't even look at the scorecard properly and claims this guy (3-0-20-2) cant bowl etc. Pathan's catch was pretty good as well, potentially prevented some boundaries, but no this guy cant field bcoz i said so. Moron!

Everyone's seen his ability with the bat in SL, CT, SA. You can't just expect him to score as often as a batsman, particularly at an insane strike rate. We've struggled to find that kind of consistent hitter for so long and now this fast bowling all rounder should do it as well all the time ?

Edited by Clarke

lol these fair-weather fans have absolutely no understanding of the game, few years from now when pandya will be the leading player in the world then these same naysayers will jump on his bandwagon.

abey player ek din mein nahi bante, unhe banana padta hai, time lagta hai, just look at jadeja.

Pandya will be a good batsman if he puts his mind right. But he puts his mind towards panwala haircuts and his girlfriends. His offseason score will be better than his on season score :biggrin:. Im not sure about his bowling abilities. He was pretty good in the SA series. But fast bowling takes a lot out of you and he may settle to be a batsman who bowls occasionally in the end. He is not a bowling allrounder like Shaun Pollock or Mitch starc. That is if he puts his mind right. He is still green to international cricket.

7 hours ago, fineleg said:

He capitalizes on team's collective desperation (fair-enough that we are desperate) for a medium-pacer allrounder after Irfan Pathan fizzled out. But that should not be an excuse for very poor performances.

You can spot this fraud from a long distance and as you mentioned it is out of desperation and Kohlis infatuation with him that he is on the team.

I have said it for decades and I will reiterate. All rounders are like unicorns , they do not exist. My reasoning behind that is simple. Cricket is a highly specialised sport and with the stress on body you can either bat or bowl but it is impossible to do both and excel. It is always better to go for specialist rather than mythical allrounders. They do not exist.

In a country where fairness creams are topping sales and being used by lakhs of dark complexioned people :rotfl: , thousands spending loads on hair growth, many using brylcream it's weird that Hardik gets criticized for trying to improve his ugly looks. He is one of them and trying to give a better appearance for himself. Nothing wrong in it. 

His performance though should be under severe scanner. T20i average of 11 is rubbish.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ht" dir="ltr">*Hardik Pandya is next kapil dev *<br>Kapil dev :<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MIvSRH?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MIvSRH</a> <a href="https://t.co/NIGQza7EN1">pic.twitter.com/NIGQza7EN1</a></p>&mdash; Manish (@Man_isssh) <a href="https://twitter.com/Man_isssh/status/988841569464676352?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 24, 2018</a></blockquote>
<script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

6 hours ago, Khota said:

You can spot this fraud from a long distance and as you mentioned it is out of desperation and Kohlis infatuation with him that he is on the team.

I have said it for decades and I will reiterate. All rounders are like unicorns , they do not exist. My reasoning behind that is simple. Cricket is a highly specialised sport and with the stress on body you can either bat or bowl but it is impossible to do both and excel. It is always better to go for specialist rather than mythical allrounders. They do not exist.

You sound too young to consider that sort of time measure based on your posts, but essentially there exists a very simple method of identifying all rounders for the uninitiated:

i) Should be capable of scoring a century as well as taking 4-5 wickets in an innings, this is a measure for tests/odis.

ii) Simple statistical measure: batting average > bowling average. 

If your assumption of an all rounder is 50+ test batting avg and <25 test bowling avg then it is indeed unicorn category.

Edited by Clarke
Just now, Clarke said:

You sound too young to consider that sort of time measure based on your posts, but essentially there exists a very simple method of identifying all rounders for the uninitiated:

i) Should be capable of scoring a century or taking 4-5 wickets in an innings, this is a measure for tests/odis.

If your assumption of an all rounder is 50+ test batting avg and <25 test bowling avg then it is indeed unicorn category.

mitch marsh has 50 + bowling avg and <25 batting avg  :giggle::giggle:

5 hours ago, Clarke said:

i) Should be capable of scoring a century as well as taking 4-5 wickets in an innings, this is a measure for tests/odis.

I am atleast 18. Anyway the criteria #2 is a more established one. capability means nothing if you cannot produce.

Now apply criteria #2 and see how many all rounders are there? My guess not many.

Whether Hardik pandya is trying to present himself better or whether Hardik pandya gets himself a Bollywood chick in the near future is none of our business. Let's not be cheap like our Indian media.

Criticize his technique, his mindset, his work ethic..

Usually blokes from lower middle class background who suddenly see riches get distracted a bit. It is very rare to get someone like SRT, MSD and VK; who maintain focus on the game despite complete turnaround in their lifestyle.

Don't know what is OP on about, HP is a more than decent player and would walk into most international playing XIs barring England maybe. Sure he might have had a one bad game for his Franchise team, but that doesnt make him a fraud, cheat, or what ever rubbish that you are calling him. I would say that he needs to mature a bit and reduce the unnecessary antics that he display time and again on the field, but on pure skill level he is certainly at par with Ben Stokes, just needs clarity in thoughts and hunger to do well, he has the Game!!

Edited by Sean Bradley
18 hours ago, Khota said:

I am atleast 18. Anyway the criteria #2 is a more established one. capability means nothing if you cannot produce.

Now apply criteria #2 and see how many all rounders are there? My guess not many.

Correct. But that does not mean not being an absolute all rounder implies no place in the squad whatsoever. Generally, there's batting all rounders and bowling all rounders as well who can contribute on a part time basis in their secondary skill. 

We accept players with middle of the road stats in both disciplines, its impossible to have 6 really good batsmen and 4 really good bowlers in a team. With that in mind, why should we sideline someone who's shown promise with both bat & ball ?