Oh Yeah Once Again We did it

Pakistan remain No1 T20I team in world

Our Staff Reporter

May 03, 2018

LAHORE - Pakistan remained the No.1 team in the ICC T20I Men’s Team Rankings, continuing to hold a four-point lead over second-placed Australia, with India at No.3 after gaining two points in the latest update, said an ICC statement issued on Wednesday.

There were, in fact, no changes in the top seven positions, but the big development was down at No8, where Afghanistan are the new entrants.

Sri Lanka, earlier ranked eighth, have slipped to ninth after losing four points following the update, which took the 2014-15 season out of the equation and weighted results from 2015-16 and 2016-17 at 50 per cent. While Sri Lanka lost ground, Afghanistan gained a point to move up.

Above them, there were no changes in points for Pakistan (130) and Australia (126), though India, England, South Africa and the Windies gained two, one, three and three points respectively.

Bangladesh are in 10th place, followed by Scotland, Zimbabwe, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Oman and Ireland.  Behind Ireland, who have 33 points, are Nepal, but they have played just four games and need to play one more before being ranked.

Meanwhile, England, who last topped the ODI rankings in January 2013 have gained eight points and moved to 125 points. India, who were at the top before the update, have lost a solitary point and are in second place with a total of 122 points.  South Africa, who were second, have dropped down to third place after losing four points, from 117 to 113, leaving them nine points.

England have overtaken India to seize the top spot in the ICC ODI Team Rankings following the annual update while Nepal have rejoined the T20I ratings but will need to play one more match before they are ranked on the ICC T20I Rankings.

England’s rise up the table is largely because of a forgettable 2014-15 season which saw them winning only seven out of 25 ODIs against other Full Members. The 2014-15 season has been dropped from the latest calculations while those from the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons are weighted at 50 per cent.

England, who last topped the ODI rankings in January 2013 have gained eight points and moved to 125 points. India, who were at the top before the update, have lost a solitary point and are in second place with a total of 122 points. South Africa, who were second, have dropped down to third place after losing four points, from 117 to 113, leaving them nine points adrift of India and only one point ahead of fourth- placed New Zealand.

The remaining places remain unchanged, meaning that the current top 10 ranked sides are the ones who will be playing in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. However, there have been some significant changes in points.

World champions Australia have lost eight points to go down to 104 in fifth position and are only two points ahead of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 winners Pakistan, who have gained six points.

In other changes, Bangladesh (93 points) have gained three points, Sri Lanka (77) have lost seven points, the Windies (69) have lost five points, Afghanistan (63) have gained five points, Zimbabwe (55) have gained four points and 12th-placed Ireland (38) have lost three points.

ICC T20I Team Rankings

Rank Team Points
1 Pakistan 130 
2 Australia 126 
3 India 123 
4 New Zealand 116 
5 England 115 
6 South Africa 114
7 Windies 114
8 Afghanistan 87
9 Sri Lanka 85 
10 Bangladesh 75 
11 Scotland 66
12 Zimbabwe 58

https://nation.com.pk/03-May-2018/pakistan-remain-no1-t20i-team-in-world?show=previe?version=amp

29 minutes ago, Khota said:

Congratulations.

@Lala I understand T20 does rankings correctly. Are ODI and Test rankings also valid?

We will progress in the future. We were no 1 test team in 2016. So rankings always does not make huge sense and need to work on performance consistent basis. There are some periods where teams are in ups and downs. Even strong teams like SA & Aus have bad times. I accept these little period our test team is not up to the mark and I believe they will work hard. 

15 minutes ago, Lala said:

We will progress in the future. We were no 1 test team in 2016. So rankings always does not make huge sense and need to work on performance consistent basis. There are some periods where teams are in ups and downs. Even strong teams like SA & Aus have bad times. I accept these little period our test team is not up to the mark and I believe they will work hard. 

You were no1 in tests for a 2 months .

White ball rankings are a farce, who takes them seriously anyway? The only metric for success in T20 is the WT20 and let's be honest, Pak has more 1st round exits in WT20 than any other top 8 team this decade. 

15 minutes ago, Gollum said:

White ball rankings are a farce, who takes them seriously anyway? The only metric for success in T20 is the WT20 and let's be honest, Pak has more 1st round exits in WT20 than any other top 8 team this decade. 

Learn to appreciate on the success of others. 

Lets take WCT20 performances you troller. There will be non of the top 8 teams exit in 1st round. its only in the 2nd round.

2007 Ind-Winner / Pak-Runners up

2009 Ind-Exit in 2nd round (bottom of the table) / Pak-Winner :cantstop:

2010 Ind-Exit in 2nd round (bottom of the table) / Pak-Semi Final :cantstop:

2012 Ind-Exit in 2nd round / Pak-Semi Final :cantstop:

2014 Ind-Runners up / Pak-Exit in 2nd round 

2016 Ind-Semi Final / Pak-Exit in 2nd round

Who has worst performances in T20 ?:cantstop:

25 minutes ago, Lala said:

Learn to appreciate on the success of others. 

Lets take WCT20 performances you troller. There will be non of the top 8 teams exit in 1st round. its only in the 2nd round.

2007 Ind-Winner / Pak-Runners up

2009 Ind-Exit in 2nd round (bottom of the table) / Pak-Winner :cantstop:

2010 Ind-Exit in 2nd round (bottom of the table) / Pak-Semi Final :cantstop:

2012 Ind-Exit in 2nd round / Pak-Semi Final :cantstop:

2014 Ind-Runners up / Pak-Exit in 2nd round 

2016 Ind-Semi Final / Pak-Exit in 2nd round

Who has worst performances in T20 ?:cantstop:

Improve your English comprehension troll, I said this decade meaning 2011-2018. I don't care about ODI/T20 rankings...even when we were no 1 ranked I didn't notice. Only trophies count and we have been underwhelming in that area esp since our 2013 CT triumph. 

4 hours ago, Bilal78 said:

Kaisa nailaik aur jaahil insaan ho tum, meri puri zindagi meh aap Jaisa insaan nahi azmaya hai.

Do you say the same stuff in the green forum when they question India's ranking in Tests and ODI? I doubt it.

6 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said:

That's not actually true. Only India,OZ and SAF don't play their best XI in t20's.

LOL India, Oz and SA are comfortably better than pak T20 team, that's why pak's T20 ranking is meaningless 

3 hours ago, Bilal78 said:

India is rightfully number one in Tests and ODIs and I congratulate you guys for that but Pakistan can only win against the teams put in front of them and anyways most of our cricketers are T20 specialists like Shadab, Faheem, Fakhar, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat Whilst Amir is more committed to T20s which makes our side dangerous.

I am not at all questioning your rankings. You can only play against whichever opponent you get. As long as no one questions India rankings either to be fair. Congratulations once again.