Priyanka Chopra gets flak for ‘Hindu terror’ plot in Quantico

Gollum

4 hours ago, asterix said:

The Chopdas are one of Dhimmis who use their Hindu names to make money from India public... Heard the Chopdas are Christians...

Also Bollywood tries to ape Hollywood in “liberal (pro Islamist, anti establishment)” values...

There’s a reason Priyanka is friends of “Pricess” Meghan...

Only 1 of her grandmas was Christian, no other Christian link. Besides both her parents served in some capacity in Indian Army, upbringing toh theek hi hua hoga. I guess Bollywood influence did this to her, that industry is a *ing cesspit.

4 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Never saw this show, but don't blame her, she didn't write the plot, only had to play as per contract. But, blame us for following such a dimwit as an idol, we have so many worthy to admire.

Yes, this hinduphobia  has to be fought. We can retaliate by blocking her, don't watch it, don't buy the products she endorses, hit them economically.  ABC has apologized, don't worry getting one from her.

https://www.republicworld.com/amp/entertainment-news/television-news/abc-apologises-for-hindu-terror-plot-in-quantico-read-their-entire-statement-here.html?v=5.8.6&__twitter_impression=true

Why not blame her? She is the main star in that show. She could have suggested a change in script if she cared. There hasn't been a single Muslim terrorist on that show till date...then from where has a rudraksh wearing Hindu terrorist popped up? That too planning a nuclear terror attack in Manhattan to frame the innocent, angel hearted, dove eyed Pakistanis? Tomorrow if your American boss asks you to take a dump on the Indian flag will you oblige? Bhai if you don't stand up for your country who will? I do blame the Indian society for being the most servile impotent cluster of dumb*s on Planet Earth but I also blame that accent faking hoe for playing along with the Indophobes.

Well, the libtards in my FB Account are crying out loud how "Piggy Chops" has made the country proud by whining in her fake accent in Scripted Hollywood talk shows and don't deserve to be called an anti-national.
Dafuq.
Leftists are the worst.
Thank god I am a right winger now

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

meh, its just a tv show. I've noticed that Indians have a reputation to the rest of the world as 'being touchy'....and this confirms it. 

As for not respecting culture and blahblah - hollywood has made countless movies about rogue terrorist 'agent gone bad' from amidst their own. 
Nobody bats an eyelash when its a former CIA-agent-turned-mass-murderer-hell-bent-on-insanity or some bible-thumping serial killer like Seven.....

And here we have people going 'revoke her citizenship'....LOL. 

3 hours ago, MechEng said:

Does the government have the right to take away her Indian citizenship? If yes, then it needs to be done. This would send a clear message on being grateful.

So we should be like North Korea, where government can decide to revoke citizenship/jail you for potraying fictitious characters in a fictitious story....brilliant. 

3 hours ago, Shunya said:

As an Indian, I knw nobody cares about this show in India. Most would not have even heard of it.

Lets hope the Indian nationals in America can protest against this in US media and social media and do something useful for a change.

thats not the issue if no one in India cares about the show

the problem is that this is a mainstream show in America. And Chopra is probably among the top 2 or 3 most recognisable Indian faces in American pop culture... So if she is giving out this message then its ridiculous 

Very Bad PR. She literally has American media and celebrities eating out of her hands in last couple of years and THIS is the light she chooses to potray her country and faith in?

SHAME on her!

1 hour ago, Stuge said:

lol

All shows and movies have disclaimer called as 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_persons_fictitious_disclaimer

People reacting over fictitious plot and stories is werid .

clearly not appreciating the issue at hand

A CIA officer going rogue is not  unique story and to counter that there are dozens of movies with CIA officers being heroid. So there is no negative steretoype or popular image associated with them due to those shows or movies

However here we have a mainstream show which is the only one to touch on this topic so naturally, references will be brought from here since this is ONLY one.

Same reason why there has been such a belated uproar over Apu from Simpsons. He was the only Indian representation and was a figure of fun.. In Simpsons and other shows, other groups such as Irish people were also figures of fun but there were also positive representations of them elsewhere to counter that. But wasnt in case of Apu and why so many Indians in 90s had such a tough time. There were whole gangs in the New Jersey which would bully Indians on the basis of the Simpsons stereotype.

And now this Quantico episode takes us back further. Even now there isnt enough representation of 'Hindus' and even when there is they are mostly secular with no reference to Hindu scriptures or representations. But this show has those and now it will be associated with a negative thing

1 minute ago, AmreekanDesi said:

clearly not appreciating the issue at hand

A CIA officer going rogue is not  unique story and to counter that there are dozens of movies with CIA officers being heroid. So there is no negative steretoype or popular image associated with them due to those shows or movies

However here we have a mainstream show which is the only one to touch on this topic so naturally, references will be brought from here since this is ONLY one.

Same reason why there has been such a belated uproar over Apu from Simpsons. He was the only Indian representation and was a figure of fun.. In Simpsons and other shows, other groups such as Irish people were also figures of fun but there were also positive representations of them elsewhere to counter that. But wasnt in case of Apu and why so many Indians in 90s had such a tough time. There were whole gangs in the New Jersey which would bully Indians on the basis of the Simpsons stereotype.

And now this Quantico episode takes us back further. Even now there isnt enough representation of 'Hindus' and even when there is they are mostly secular with no reference to Hindu scriptures or representations. But this show has those and now it will be associated with a negative thing

So then Christianity is far worse affected than Hinduism via western media itself, as we have entire blockbuster movies like Seven, where a crazy psychopathic killer is meeting out Christian God's judgement for 'seven deadly sins'......

As for there being no positives about Apu- seriously ? Except the man's accent, there is nothing negative about the character - he is potrayed as loyal, kind, family man, who runs his business how we all hope businessmen run their business - with good attention to detail but also giving out free stuff to the poor/needy/kids occasionally.

I find Willie-the-janitor's scottish steriotype to be far more offensive than Apu, as Willie is not just a figure of fun due to his accent, he is also potrayed as a socially mal-adjusted, loner, hungering for attention and love but not getting any. But Scots are not as thin-skinned as Indians, so they just roll with it.

14 minutes ago, AmreekanDesi said:

thats not the issue if no one in India cares about the show

the problem is that this is a mainstream show in America. And Chopra is probably among the top 2 or 3 most recognisable Indian faces in American pop culture... So if she is giving out this message then its ridiculous 

Very Bad PR. She literally has American media and celebrities eating out of her hands in last couple of years and THIS is the light she chooses to potray her country and faith in?

SHAME on her!

Ever heard what happened to James Cavaziel (sp?) ? He is the guy who played Jesus in Mel Gibson's 'Passion for Christ'. And he is a religious Christian guy, who refused to do a movie where he had to pose rear-end nude in one of the scenes (butt-shot) and refused the part due to his religious leanings. Hasn't made a movie since and was blackballed.

Using religion to not do your job is a universal career-stunting move but its a career-killer in Hollywood. Priyanka Chopra isn't a dumb girl who is stupid enough to use some religious sentimentality to refuse a part and nuke her own career. 

If Hollywood can make legions of movies about crazy crackpot Christians going on murderous sprees or being evil ( Kingdom of Heaven comes to mind - where Christians are made out to be the biggest villains of the crusades), they certainly are not going to be 'sensetive' towards Hindu sentiments. 

6 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

So then Christianity is far worse affected than Hinduism via western media itself, as we have entire blockbuster movies like Seven, where a crazy psychopathic killer is meeting out Christian God's judgement for 'seven deadly sins'......

As for there being no positives about Apu- seriously ? Except the man's accent, there is nothing negative about the character - he is potrayed as loyal, kind, family man, who runs his business how we all hope businessmen run their business - with good attention to detail but also giving out free stuff to the poor/needy/kids occasionally.

I find Willie-the-janitor's scottish steriotype to be far more offensive than Apu, as Willie is not just a figure of fun due to his accent, he is also potrayed as a socially mal-adjusted, loner, hungering for attention and love but not getting any. But Scots are not as thin-skinned as Indians, so they just roll with it.

your Willie the janitor example is flawed because while a figure of fun, he was not the only mainstream Scottish representation in American TV or cinema at the time. There were many movies and TV shows where Scots were potrayed as heroic and brave,. Braveheart is one example. However for Indians - Apu was one of the ONLY representations of Indians in American pop culture

4 minutes ago, AmreekanDesi said:

your Willie the janitor example is flawed because while a figure of fun, he was not the only mainstream Scottish representation in American TV or cinema at the time. There were many movies and TV shows where Scots were potrayed as heroic and brave,. Braveheart is one example. However for Indians - Apu was one of the ONLY representations of Indians in American pop culture

It doesn't matter if its the ONLY representation in mainstream american tv. Nobody ever writes a character for a show thinking if its going to be the only/one of many representation of that gender/race/religion on TV. they write it, thinking about THEIR show only. 

As far as Simpsons are concerned, Willie the Janitor is a far worse national steriotype than Apu. Apu has far more positive qualities potrayed than Willie the Janitor. 

And no, Apu is NOT the only representation of Indians in American pop culture either. Ben Kingsley played Gandhi ( equal to your Braveheart reference). 

We have movies like American Desi (2001), which show Indian culture in quite a positive light.

We also have very good potrayal of Indians such as the 'Best Exotic Marigold Hotel', etc. 

This is just Indians living up to their steriotype of being 'touchy people', nothing more. 

3 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

This is just Indians living up to their steriotype of being 'touchy people', nothing more. 

On the contrary it is actually YOU who is playing into the Indian stereotype of being subservient, weak and letting everyone else trample over you by being unwilling to take a stand on issues which potray you in a negative manner

12 minutes ago, AmreekanDesi said:

On the contrary it is actually YOU who is playing into the Indian stereotype of being subservient, weak and letting everyone else trample over you by being unwilling to take a stand on issues which potray you in a negative manner

LOL.

As i said, the steriotype i come across the most often, is that Indians are touchy people who are easily offended. 

Getting worked up over a TV show when the same TV productions ( Hollywood) makes far more offensive material towards its own demographics, is just re-enforcing that steriotype. 

Nobody is trampling over anything of mine when is a fictitious story with a fictitious character. If it was a documentary or news, then you'd be correct. 
When it comes to fiction, its important to remember its just fiction. 

3 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

So we should be like North Korea, where government can decide to revoke citizenship/jail you for potraying fictitious characters in a fictitious story....brilliant. 

Yes, if people want to exploit their rights and ignore their responsibilities. That's how they will learn.

1 hour ago, MechEng said:

Yes, if people want to exploit their rights and ignore their responsibilities. That's how they will learn.

Not your place to tell people what to think- they are quite capable of doing so, thank you very much. No rights are being exploited. We don't have to toe the hinduvta over-sensetive line.

Its just as simple as that. 

As i said, Hollywood has made far worse about their own Christian base. Thou doth protest too much. Grow up and if you don't like it, don't watch it. A plotline about Hindu terror is just that- a fictitious plot-line. Nothing more. 

14 hours ago, asterix said:

The Chopdas are one of Dhimmis who use their Hindu names to make money from India public... Heard the Chopdas are Christians...

Also Bollywood tries to ape Hollywood in “liberal (pro Islamist, anti establishment)” values...

There’s a reason Priyanka is friends of “Pricess” Meghan...

wasnt there some controversy involving her grand mother & the church's refusal to bury her? Priyanka is part christian

12 minutes ago, diga said:

wasnt there some controversy involving her grand mother & the church's refusal to bury her? Priyanka is part christian

Err if she doesnt follow the Christian faith, she is not Christian. Doesn't matter who in her family are. Religion is a belief system, not genetic hard-coding.