Iceland with 3.34lac population is in football WC, China/India/USA/Indonesia/pak/BD/Philippines are not

randomGuy

Nothing. More population doesn’t mean you get in to every sport. Also in India football is not that big as cricket anyway. Also FIFA is one of the most corrupt organization in the world thank god we don’t play football. Remember match between Italy and South Korea.you can buy refree in football.

Edited by gattaca

2 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Nothing. More population doesn’t mean you get in to every sport. Also in India football is not that big as cricket anyway. Also FIFA is one of the most corrupt organization in the world thank god we don’t play football. Remember match between Italy and South Korea.you can buy refree in football.

does it also mean that  luck in football is way bigger factor than in cricket, rugby, baseball, basketball etc.? 

BTW Italy also didn't qualify this time around. 

Not going to be politically correct, so racial superiority it is. Look at the Strongman competitions and Crossfit Championships, Iceland sweeps away everyone else like they are bugs. Academics ho ya science/engineering innovations/patents....Iceland (also don't forget Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden) towers above the rest if you consider their population. They have 14-15 chess GMs (don't remember exact number) which is highest per capita in the world, no other country is in the same ball park. Kasparov called it the greatest chess playing nation in the world in the 80s when Soviet chess was at its peak and humility isn't Gazza's trait. Unlike Iceland (chess isn't a top 20 sport there), in Russia chess is a religion, RCF gets heavy state funding and performances are directly monitored by Russian President, best coaches available, great history/inspiration/social status/peer group and chess players are treated like czars, yet they have 240 odd GMs with a population of 15 crores !!!! India (51) and China (45) combined less than 100 GMs with over 2.5 billion population. This superiority is not just limited to Iceland, includes the geographical region from where Vikings came....... Nordics are the 'master race' even if it sounds racist.

Google about Simon Agdestein, a Norwegian national footballer cum chess GM (also coach of Magnus Carlsen) who is virtually unknown in his own country. If he were based in India he would have been our greatest ever footballer and regular 2nd/3rd board in our national chess Olympiad team for 3 decades.....perfect combination of raw athleticism and brain power. In fact even Magnus is no mug with the football, he would walk into one of our ISL teams and he is just an enthusiast. Shukr karo ki only 10 teams play cricket seriously with 5 of them from South Asia, Eng/Aus/NZ/SA/WI mein bhi best athletes never get into cricket. If entire world focuses on cricket the way they do with football, India's cricket ranking will be similar to our football ranking !!!!

I am sure this post will attract plenty of downvotes and outraged posters will chastise me for displaying ignorance/racism/arrogance but not gonna change my mind. Unlike many I subscribe to certain theories which are politically incorrect today. Show me a black Abel Laureate or an Olympic 100m final with all white/brown lineup and maybe I will reconsider my stance.

54 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

What does this mean? 

I think football requires very high level of athletic ability which Indians do not have because of genetic deficiency borne out of arranged marriages without natural selection for multiple generations, besides Indians suck in sports so that's the reason.  Happy? 

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

India he would have been our greatest ever footballer

No he would have played cricket and sucked in fast bowling. Race has no significance in this. Nordic people are Caucasians same as Indians lol.. It's dependent on people playing a sport or game having resources to train for a professional level simple. There is no linear relation between a countries population and success in sport divisions. 

Edited by Vilander

22 minutes ago, Vilander said:

I think football requires very high level of athletic ability which Indians do not have because of genetic deficiency borne out of arranged marriages without natural selection for multiple generations, besides Indians suck in sports so that's the reason.  Happy? 

Edited by gattaca

2 minutes ago, Khalpat said:

Population of New Zealand: 4 million

Population of China: 1.3 billion

Who is going to play world cup 2019 Cricket? What does this mean? 

Nothing. It's matter of choice .

China don't play cricket, Both Indians and Chinese play football, clubs like Mohan Bagan are way older than any cricket clubs

8 minutes ago, Khalpat said:

Population of New Zealand: 4 million

Population of China: 1.3 billion

Who is going to play world cup 2019 Cricket? What does this mean? 

Nothing. It's matter of choice .

China super league is popular, has billion plus viewership from 2015 https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/digitalsport.co/football-comes-out-on-top-in-chinese-broadcast-report/amp

While flipping channels, I remember seeing full stadiums for this league's matches, atmosphere like European leagues

1 hour ago, MechEng said:

Iceland and other European countries are higher in Maslow's hierarchy than Indians, so they can afford to focus their time and energy on winning medals in competitions.

Let India reach higher in Maslow's pyramid, and see how they own every competition.

Exactly. The counter is what of the super rich in India who would numerically be higher than iceland population why dont they make a super rich yet competitive football team. That is where the choice angle comes in thw population that are rich enough to pursue a sport does not pursue football. And indian schools dont promote sports.

We were so unlucky against Frace had a penalty disallowed, Australia is a small nation (population wise) as well and yet we compete on the world stage in almost every sport.

We are very competitive, why can't India with a population of 1.28 billion to our population of 24 million compete in any sports?

We always push the big boys and we always finish in the top 5 in the Olympics why can't India?

2 hours ago, Vilander said:

Exactly. The counter is what of the super rich in India who would numerically be higher than iceland population why dont they make a super rich yet competitive football team. That is where the choice angle comes in thw population that are rich enough to pursue a sport does not pursue football. And indian schools dont promote sports.

Rich people don't do sports. Its the middle/lower classes (with easy access to resources) who partake in physical activity. US is a prime example, even the crappiest inner city schools have a track/field, basketball court etc. 

Genetic advantage does play a role, so some african nations can produce world class athletes inspite of the circumstances. Otherwise, If chinese can own the podium, so can indians. Its a matter of spending the moolah on necessary infra.

Edited by surajmal

8 hours ago, Gollum said:

Not going to be politically correct, so racial superiority it is. Look at the Strongman competitions and Crossfit Championships, Iceland sweeps away everyone else like they are bugs. Academics ho ya science/engineering innovations/patents....Iceland (also don't forget Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden) towers above the rest if you consider their population. They have 14-15 chess GMs (don't remember exact number) which is highest per capita in the world, no other country is in the same ball park. Kasparov called it the greatest chess playing nation in the world in the 80s when Soviet chess was at its peak and humility isn't Gazza's trait. Unlike Iceland (chess isn't a top 20 sport there), in Russia chess is a religion, RCF gets heavy state funding and performances are directly monitored by Russian President, best coaches available, great history/inspiration/social status/peer group and chess players are treated like czars, yet they have 240 odd GMs with a population of 15 crores !!!! India (51) and China (45) combined less than 100 GMs with over 2.5 billion population. This superiority is not just limited to Iceland, includes the geographical region from where Vikings came....... Nordics are the 'master race' even if it sounds racist.

Google about Simon Agdestein, a Norwegian national footballer cum chess GM (also coach of Magnus Carlsen) who is virtually unknown in his own country. If he were based in India he would have been our greatest ever footballer and regular 2nd/3rd board in our national chess Olympiad team for 3 decades.....perfect combination of raw athleticism and brain power. In fact even Magnus is no mug with the football, he would walk into one of our ISL teams and he is just an enthusiast. Shukr karo ki only 10 teams play cricket seriously with 5 of them from South Asia, Eng/Aus/NZ/SA/WI mein bhi best athletes never get into cricket. If entire world focuses on cricket the way they do with football, India's cricket ranking will be similar to our football ranking !!!!

I am sure this post will attract plenty of downvotes and outraged posters will chastise me for displaying ignorance/racism/arrogance but not gonna change my mind. Unlike many I subscribe to certain theories which are politically incorrect today. Show me a black Abel Laureate or an Olympic 100m final with all white/brown lineup and maybe I will reconsider my stance.

You lamenting or admiring? 

Most hardcore mountain climbers would qualify for welfare. So how do they manage their expensive passion? Gora sports require cash. Something like mountain climbing would only be accessible to somebody making at least 2 lakh pm in India. And if you are making 2 lakh pm in India, you are most likely a desk jockey with muscle tone of a teenager going through puberty. Earning in dollars/euros goes a long way. A gora climber can get by on a physical labour job (a job that would pay 500 rupees daily in india). 

Indian economy is ****. So you cant hope for the "invisible hand" to take care of the talent (whichever field) lying in the masses. You either take the communist approach towards sports- top down and make it a matter of national pride, or watch from the sidelines. 

Edited by surajmal

2 hours ago, Hydra said:

We were so unlucky against Frace had a penalty disallowed, Australia is a small nation (population wise) as well and yet we compete on the world stage in almost every sport.

We are very competitive, why can't India with a population of 1.28 billion to our population of 24 million compete in any sports?

We always push the big boys and we always finish in the top 5 in the Olympics why can't India?

NZ has population of 1/6th of Aus.

Still they lead Aus in rugby head to head count by a gignatic margin.

What is the reason behind that ?

Edited by Number

1 hour ago, surajmal said:

You lamenting or admiring? 

Most hardcore mountain climbers would qualify for welfare. So how do they manage their expensive passion? Gora sports require cash. Something like mountain climbing would only be accessible to somebody making at least 2 lakh pm in India. And if you are making 2 lakh pm in India, you are most likely a desk jockey with muscle tone of a teenager going through puberty. Earning in dollars/euros goes a long way. A gora climber can get by on a physical labour job (a job that would pay 500 rupees daily in india). 

Indian economy is ****. So you cant hope for the "invisible hand" to take care of the talent (whichever field) lying in the masses. You either take the communist approach towards sports- top down and make it a matter of national pride, or watch from the sidelines. 

Hence my Maslow's hierarchy reference. You can't hit self actualization unless your needs below in the pyramid are completely met.