Iceland with 3.34lac population is in football WC, China/India/USA/Indonesia/pak/BD/Philippines are not

randomGuy

2 hours ago, Hydra said:

We were so unlucky against Frace had a penalty disallowed, Australia is a small nation (population wise) as well and yet we compete on the world stage in almost every sport.

We are very competitive, why can't India with a population of 1.28 billion to our population of 24 million compete in any sports?

We always push the big boys and we always finish in the top 5 in the Olympics why can't India?

Hey man people esp pakistanis settled in Aus are said to be genetically superior when compared with everyone.. They are also fair tall and better looking... Indians are dirty and don't play sports well.. Cool?  Now gtfo

3 hours ago, Hydra said:

We were so unlucky against Frace had a penalty disallowed, Australia is a small nation (population wise) as well and yet we compete on the world stage in almost every sport.

We are very competitive, why can't India with a population of 1.28 billion to our population of 24 million compete in any sports?

We always push the big boys and we always finish in the top 5 in the Olympics why can't India?

Don't flatter yourself too much ....1. With that many sports facilities per capita... Playgrounds, good weather etc. Any country would do well  2. We are actually better than you at wrestling, boxing. 3. In any Olympics, cwg event, about 1/3rd medals are swimming (which is why 1 person wins 7 golds in swimming in single Olympics and making medals tally look swollen) and other water events' related and we suck at it... 

1 hour ago, Number said:

NZ has population of 1/6th of Aus.

Still they lead Aus in rugby head to head count by a gignatic margin.

What is the reason behind that ?

We always compete with them in the Rugby and they are better than us as well, but we have beaten them a few times as well.

6 hours ago, surajmal said:

Rich people don't do sports. Its the middle/lower classes (with easy access to resources) who partake in physical activity. US is a prime example, even the crappiest inner city schools have a track/field, basketball court etc. 

Genetic advantage does play a role, so some african nations can produce world class athletes inspite of the circumstances. Otherwise, If chinese can own the podium, so can indians. Its a matter of spending the moolah on necessary infra.

Abhinav Bindra, Yuvraj Singh , Saurav Ganguly were all rich Even Sidhu said that he had his own pitch in his backyard.Unless your defination of rich is Ambani type people , Rich people are very well into sports

Money and infrastructure

i have never been to Iceland but been to a lot of European countries and US and one just has to be envious at facilities available to children and locals, sometimes for free, located in every corner of big cities or in tiny towns.

not just green fields or astroturfs but indoor multi-purpose sports halls with swimming pools.

good luck achieving that even in India’s biggest city.

@Vilander @MechEng @surajmal I somewhat agree with what you said but Iceland doing what they do with 3.3 lakh population beggars belief. You have to admit there is something in the Nordic people that sets them apart even when compared to other Western/ 1st world countries. @Singh bling made that point about only the fittest genes surviving there because of geographical and historical reasons, that too should be a reason. Forget about sports like football/tennis/cricket/basketball/hockey/rugby which require infrastructure, $$$, coaching, culture...... in pure strength games (Strongman events) these people come out on top more often than not, and these events attract participation from all other Western countries. Exclude countries like India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Egypt, Kenya etc.....Germany, Japan, USA, Canada, England, France, Australia are laggards when compared to Iceland on per capita basis. Why? 

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

@Vilander @MechEng @surajmal I somewhat agree with what you said but Iceland doing what they do with 3.3 lakh population beggars belief. You have to admit there is something in the Nordic people that sets them apart even when compared to other Western/ 1st world countries. @Singh bling made that point about only the fittest genes surviving there because of geographical and historical reasons, that too should be a reason. Forget about sports like football/tennis/cricket/basketball/hockey/rugby which require infrastructure, $$$, coaching, culture...... in pure strength games (Strongman events) these people come out on top more often than not, and these events attract participation from all other Western countries. Exclude countries like India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Egypt, Kenya etc.....Germany, Japan, USA, Canada, England, France, Australia are laggards when compared to Iceland on per capita basis. Why? 

I said luck factor in soccer ... Does luck play a lot more role in soccer than in other team sports? @hydra said they (Australia) were unlucky vs France...maybe China, USA, Italy can say they were unlucky not to qualify..

5 hours ago, Number said:

NZ has population of 1/6th of Aus.

Still they lead Aus in rugby head to head count by a gignatic margin.

What is the reason behind that ?

For me, it lies in the "quality of Nutrition".

But I am afraid of MULLO also that he once again feels himself offended from my opinion. 

NZ is also playing competitive cricket against India/Pakistan with their 4 million population. Why?

Excellent Meat and Milk Quality in NZ (which is considered the best in the whole world):

The natural diet of Sheep and Cows is green grass (with many wild herbs in them). 

But today sheep and cows are fed "Grains" while grass is not available whole year, and also cattle gain weight and become fat on the grain diet which is needed today so that farmers could get more money for more meat.

But this grain diet is deadly for the cattle and cause a lot of diseases in them. They need a lot of Antibiotics to fight against these diseases. The meat quality is miserable of such cattle. Then we have industry scale grown up cattle, which never see green fields of grass ever in their life (not even in the summer season). They stay whole of their life in the stable. Their meat is so worse in quality, that one should become a vegetarian than eating such meat. 

===

New Zealand Cattle:

Why the meat quality of the New Zealand cattle is the best in the world?

There are warm water ocean currents which are coming to New Zealand, thus making the temperature of whole New Zealand ideal for green grass production whole year long. 

It is due to this reason that in New Zealand, cattle graze whole year long (12 months) on natural wild green grasses in the fields. 

Same is true for Argentinian/Uruguy Meat. There too cattle graze on the fields 12 months long as they are also full of grass whole year. 

Same is true for Scotland. There cattle stay 10 months long on the green fields. Kerrygold is the name of famous butter which is produced Ireland, where temperature becomes warm due to the warm ocean current. You could clearly feel the difference in the Irish butter and the butters of rest of Europe. 

Please google for more informations about the NZ cattle meat quality. 

===

Iceland Cattle and Quality of Meat and Food:

"Icelandic Sheep" are famous for their meet quality in whole Europe. Reason is this that this breed eats only grass. Iceland has very bad soil for cultivating grains. But there are big fields full of green grasses in the summer. And farmers feed the Hue (dried green grass) in the winter. 

Iceland people eat a lot of sheep meat. 

Please google more about "Icelandic Sheep".

DSC_3840-e1485182413199.jpg

giphy.gif

Iceland people eating more of Traditional Food too:

They also eat a lot of wild Fish. And also raw fermented Shark and other bizarre food. People wonder if this is one of the reason of the longevity of Icelandic people (along with some other factors like clean air and other healthy habits like taking bath in ice cold water etc.). Also the genes of Vikings could also be playing role here. 

160211-iceland-cuisine-tracy-mdl-213_964

Could Iceland's unique cuisine — including boiled sheep's head and fermented shark — be a factor in the population's longevity?Rich McHugh

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

Yes, genes do play a role, and Indians are more inclined to excel in competitions requiring mental activity than a physical one.

Some of my old classmates from 12th standard achieved bronze/silver medals in International Math/Physics Olympiads without coaching specifically for the exam, they purely relied on material they studied for IIT exam (they're all IITians now). Whereas Russians and Chinese rigorously prepare specifically for Olympiads to get gold medal.

So if Indian youth gets encouragement to explore their strengths and assurance that failure won't impact their life permanently, you will see more high achievers from this country.

I don't completely agree with the genetics excuse. It's easier to find 11 fitter stronger and faster footballers in India compared to most of the countries playing the WC, the problem though is that 11 worlclass footballers are most likely working for TCS or Infosys. Football is  just not a career option in India and most of them who have made it their career may be cos they never had any other options. 

Another important factor which has hurt the growth of the game is lack of exposure, we have been playing the likes of sl and Pakistan and content winning the saaf Cup for decades, how do we expect the standards to improve playing teams much worse than us? Things can change in 20 years if we make the right moves. Top 5 in Asia is very realestic, we beat these guys regularly in u19 just need a strong system and we will see the senior side show results 

27 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

I don't completely agree with the genetics excuse. It's easier to find 11 fitter stronger and faster footballers in India compared to most of the countries playing the WC, the problem though is that 11 worlclass footballers are most likely working for TCS or Infosys. Football is  just not a career option in India and most of them who have made it their career may be cos they never had any other options. 

Another important factor which has hurt the growth of the game is lack of exposure, we have been playing the likes of sl and Pakistan and content winning the saaf Cup for decades, how do we expect the standards to improve playing teams much worse than us? Things can change in 20 years if we make the right moves. Top 5 in Asia is very realestic, we beat these guys regularly in u19 just need a strong system and we will see the senior side show results 

Question still remains how tiny country like NZ is at par with India/Pakistan when it comes to cricket? 

India has far far bigger cricket infrastructure and facilities of cricket as compared to NZ. 

While cricket is not even the no. 1 sports in NZ. 

Edited by Alam_dar

On 6/16/2018 at 11:29 AM, randomGuy said:

does it also mean that  luck in football is way bigger factor than in cricket, rugby, baseball, basketball etc.? 

BTW Italy also didn't qualify this time around. 

Luck is a big thing in football, one hardly scores more than a goal or two. If a team gets a flukey own goal or something they can win a football match. Baseball is the same, most teams only score a few runs.

Test cricket is the least luck based team sport, imo, you have so many events,( ie balls bowled), happen, that any freak incident becomes of little importance.

7 minutes ago, Alam_dar said:

Question still remains how tiny country like NZ is at par with India/Pakistan when it comes to cricket? 

India has far far bigger cricket infrastructure and facilities of cricket as compared to NZ. 

While cricket is not even the no. 1 sports in NZ. 

Like I said its not specific to football, sports in general is completely ignored, even if you show promise are forced to become a doctor or a engineer. 

I studied in a school where football was the only sport, it was all about making it to the school team, we won the trophy every time. Schools over and in 2 years not one of them was playing football anymore, most of them where busy praparing for their 12th boards and  few still active in sports had switched to cricket. Am not saying we had messis or ronaldos amongst us, but not difficult to imagine we are missing out on players who could develop into players good enough to represent a Saudi or a Iceland. 

Nz does not have that problem 

Anyway, these types of threads always bring out all types of weird theories. The fact is that GDP is far more correlated to sports performance than other strange ideas. 

Increasing GDP will allow more people to achieve the "10,000 hour rule" and actually be decent in sports. 

21 hours ago, Hydra said:

That is true for many countries and in general the subcontinent. Let's not forget that Pakistan and BD have a larger population than countries such as Australia as well .... There is more to it than just the size of population including resources available per capita 

On 16 June 2018 at 9:08 PM, Khalpat said:

Population of New Zealand: 4 million

Population of China: 1.3 billion

Who is going to play world cup 2019 Cricket? What does this mean? 

Nothing. It's matter of choice .

Stupid post

a large section of the Chinese population isnt wanting to play cricket

however a large number of Indians DO play football and exclusively football 

3 hours ago, jusarrived said:

Lmao this is the funniest thing I've read all week

Infosys, Wipro is filled with tech nerds who couldn't probably last in intramural soccer let alone a professional sport of any kind

lmao at '11 world class footballers are most likely working for TCS or Infosys'

bus kuch bhi. Have to give props for creativity in excuses haha

22 hours ago, Hydra said:

I can guarantee that there are more active and aspiring footballers in India than whole population of Australi

in many northeastern and eastern states football is the PRIME sport and cricket is a distant second