How did Kapil's Indian team miss the chance to win 2nd world cup?

I think both India and Pakistan were robbed by umpires in their respective semis. I wasn't born then but this is based on what I heard from elders. English umpires stood in the Lahore game and Aussie umpires in the Mumbai one....aapas mein setting ho gayi thi in goron ki. 

Checked the scorecard and here is a general pattern I observed -- Never bowl first in crucial matches! Yes, 2011 was great but we haven't elected to field first and probably we had our finest ever team playing that match. 1987 semifinal, 1996 semifinal, 2003 final (!!!), 2018 CT final. We batted 2nd even in 2015 semifinal but Australia elected to bat first.

Question is whether Kohli learnt anything from history? Lessons for 2019...

Edited by Sandeep99
1 hour ago, Sandeep99 said:

Checked the scorecard and here is a general pattern I observed -- Never bowl first in crucial matches! Yes, 2011 was great but we haven't elected to field first and probably we had our finest ever team playing that match. 1987 semifinal, 1996 semifinal, 2003 final (!!!), 2018 CT final. We batted 2nd even in 2015 semifinal but Australia elected to bat first.

Question is whether Kohli learnt anything from history? Lessons for 2019...

and in 2011, we were playing at home in our own conditions at Mumbai which is a good place to chase totals against a weak bowling attack. Only Malinga was good. Murli had past it and was struggling with injuries.

15 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

Lost last 5 wickets for 15 runs and the semi-final match against England in 1987 WC.

That WC was probably only other genuine chance for Indian team to win one apart from 2011. 

http://www.espncricinfo.com/series/8039/scorecard/65116/india-vs-england-2nd-sf/

96 semi final was the most closed one to the victory. :cantstop: Good opening stands of Tendulkar and Manjrekar was ruined by middle order. With the dew factor it was an icing on the cake conditions for home side against an underdog side.:cantstop:

15 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

52 in 10 was not at all difficult. Sensible batting was not there. Hemmings was a lolly pop bowler. They were over-confident and got out. Indians were celebrating after Pakistan's loss only to see them losing in the next semi. Also number of runs Gooch scored behind long leg were countless. No good field placement to counter his sweeps.

we are talking about 80s, 52 in 10 was like mountain in those days.

34 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

They were chasing 250+ in 50 overs. How was 52 in 10 mountain?

It's like chasing 350 in 50 overs today and saying 70 in 10 is mountain after scoring 280 in 40 overs.

Scoring at 4.5-5 in an inning was norm in that WC. 

So how many times 350 in 50 overs is chased even today? And no 52 in 10 was not like 70 in 10. it was more 80-90 in 10 for those.

16 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

So how many times 350 in 50 overs is chased even today? And no 52 in 10 was not like 70 in 10. it was more 80-90 in 10 for those.

Point was not about 350. Point is what you have been scoring for 40 overs, then same in next 10 overs is not mountain.

50 is in 10 overs in 1987 is like 80-90 of now? Kya random baat hai?

They were chasing 250 in 50 which means RRR was 5 right from start and Indian team were scoring at 5 till 40 overs. How is 5 in last 10 is difficult if same thing has been happening for last 90 overs of the match.

Key batsman Vengsarkar didn't play due to injury. His absence meant that the entire batting lineup batted in a circumspect manner. Chandrakant Pandit played in his place. Big gap in skill and experience levels. At-least he should have been sent in earlier so that he could play more freely with less pressure. Gooch was allowed to sweep more than municipality sweepers, with no counter strategy to check mate his tactic. Besides all these, there was one major,  major reason. Young Mahendra Dhoni's home had no telephone connection at that time, otherwise he would have called up Kapil and told him "uncle, aakhri over tak aaraam see khelna, phir settle kar lena". Kapil didn't listen to this advice he never got, and perished to an Afridiesque shot. That killed India's chances. 

On 6/18/2018 at 2:06 PM, rkt.india said:

and in 2011, we were playing at home in our own conditions at Mumbai which is a good place to chase totals against a weak bowling attack. Only Malinga was good. Murli had past it and was struggling with injuries.

Agreed completely. Even then we had a jittery start but probably 3 of our best chasers contributed with the bat - Gambhir, Kohli, and Dhoni!

On 6/18/2018 at 3:56 PM, Lala said:

96 semi final was the most closed one to the victory. :cantstop: Good opening stands of Tendulkar and Manjrekar was ruined by middle order. With the dew factor it was an icing on the cake conditions for home side against an underdog side.:cantstop:

Not really bhai. Azharuddin made the worst decision of his life (just like Ganguly 7 years later) when he chose to field first on a square turner against probably the best spinner at his peak. Even Jayasuriya was turning the ball square on that dry wicket. Check highlights when you have some time...