ICC Future Tour Programme 2018-2023 released

You can download the pdf HERE

Anyway I will present India's international schedule year by year in this thread. Away in red, home in blue.

2018 (from this month onwards)

Ireland (away) 2 T20s

Eng (away) 3 T20s, 3 ODIs, 5 tests

Asia Cup (this will be a regular biennial event alternating between T20 and ODI...in 2016 we had T20 edition and this year ODI tourney in UAE)

WI (home) 2 tests, 5 ODIs, 3 T20s....BCCI has already announced the schedule, original FTP comprised 3 tests but BCCI ne ek test hata diya hai

Aus (away) 3 T20s, 3 ODIs, 4 tests...January 2019 tak chalega

Remaining part of Aus tour

NZ (away) 3 T20s, 5 ODIs

Aus (home) 2 T20s, 5 ODIs

Zim (home) 1 test, 3 ODIs

ICC CWC in England and Wales

WI (away) 2 tests, 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

SA (home) 3 tests

BD (home) 2 tests, 3 T20s

WI (home) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

Total= 8 tests including the SCG test at the start of the year

SL (home) 3 T20s <NEW>

Aus (home) 3 ODIs

NZ (away) 2 tests, 3 ODIs, 5 T20s

SA (home) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

SL (away) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

Zim (away) 3 ODIs (POSTPONED)

Asia Cup (venue TBD)

Eng (home) 3 T20s, 3 ODIs

Aus (away) 3 T20s

ICC WT20 in Aus

Aus (away) 3 ODIs, 4 tests.....will continue in Jan 2021

Only 5 tests in 2020 :Cry:...BCCI doing to Kohli what they repeatedly did to SRT in the 90s. 

Remaining part of Aus series

Eng (home) 5 tests

Afg (home) 3 ODIs

ICC World Test C'ship Final in Lord's..provided we make it there (based on July 2019-June 2021 cycle)

SL (away) 3 T20s

Eng (away) 5 tests

SA (home) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

ICC tournament in India....details awaited but most probably T20 version of CT 

NZ (home) 2 tests, 3 T20s

SA (away) 3 tests, 3 T20s.....continues in 2022

Awesome year for test fans....10 tests against Poms..14-16 tests in total :dance:

Remaining part of SA tour

WI (home) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

SL (home) 3 tests, 3 T20s

NZ (away) 3 ODIs

Eng (away) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

WI (away) 3 ODIs, 3 T20s

Asia Cup (Venue TBD)

Aus (home) 4 tests, 3 T20s

BD (away) 2 tests, 3 ODIs

SL (home) 5 ODIs

10 tests this year

NZ (home) 3 ODIs

Aus (home) 3 ODIs

ICC CWC in India

Key takeaways:

1. 49-50 tests (50 if we make it to the C'ship F) in total from Edgbaston 2018 till before CWC 2023 which will be held in Feb-March. Not great for true-blue test fanatics but not that bad either, I was expecting it to be worse. Ofc BCCI may cancel a few tests here and there (eg Zimbabwe next year) but on the whole it's decent, roughly 10 tests per annum is better than what we can hope for in present times. 

2. Break up of tests: Eng (15), Aus (12), SA (6), NZ (4), Lanka (3), WI (4), BD (4), Zim (1)

A bit unbalanced IMO. Considering the quality Ind-SA tests produce would have preferred more there, pity the Freedom Trophy is a 3 test affair, it was initially conceptualized as 4 test series. Also we play NZ only in 2 test series henceforth which is a shame. Lanka may improve and WI are improving, so would have preferred may be a couple of more tests against them. No tests against Pak but you never know, we may have a resumption of cricket at some point depending on GOI's mood. 

3. Aus tour India after 5.5 years in October 2022 :facepalm:, man that 2017 series was epic, bakwas scheduling. OTOH we play 2 back to back Border Gavaskar series downunder, later this year and again in 2020 December.

4. We again tour England for 5 tests in 2021...3 year gap. They next come here for the tests in Feb 2021. 

5. Not micro analyzing shorter formats but there is indeed a perceptible shift away from ODI towards T20. Also many short ODI/T20 series as per the FTP. 

6. ICC WC 2019 in England & Wales, 2023 in India.

7. No 50 overs CT.

8. Asia Cups in 2018, 2020, 2022.

9. WT20 2020 in Aus, ICC T20 event in India in 2021 (not clear), <12 months gap in between those 2 LOL.

10. 1st ICC World Test Championship Final in 2021. League starts after next year's CWC and F in June 2021. India-Pak won't play each other and Zim, Afg, Ire won't participate in the C'ship. Remaining 9 teams will take part.

For India following results will count in our quest to finish in the top 2.

WI (away) 2 tests

SA (home) 3 tests

BD (home) 2 tests

NZ (away) 2 tests

Aus (away) 4 tests

Eng (home) 5 tests

Comments? 

1 minute ago, Vilander said:

and its pathetic...they do the reverse in tests..SA Eng Aus all tour India in 2020 without a single test. wtf, the year after WC..why ?

I think they are moving on from having long tours and moving towards a "split tour" format where teams would first play Tests and come back for LOIs the following year or vice versa. SA play Tests here in 2019 and come back for LOIs next year, ENG plays LOIs first in 2020 and comes back for Tests next year. The only issue I have here is with AUS not playing Tests at all in India up until 2022. So it's kinda possible that the likes of Starc, Smith and Hazlewood would never play a Test again in India which sucks.

Indian tours to NZ:

2002: 2 tests

2009: 3 tests

2014: 2 tests

2020: 2 tests

Kya chal raha hai yahaan? 9 tests in 2 full decades...unpardonable !!!!

Wish we had scheduled more tests against a steadily improving WI, at least in their territory to make the contest more even. Also the historical H2H needs some correction, even now too lopsided in their favor. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Indian tours to NZ:

2002: 2 tests

2009: 3 tests

2014: 2 tests

2020: 2 tests

Kya chal raha hai yahaan? 9 tests in 2 full decades...unpardonable !!!!

Wish we had scheduled more tests against a steadily improving WI, at least in their territory to make the contest more even. Also the historical H2H needs some correction, even now too lopsided in their favor. 

I wonder if this is because of the timings. Everyone is asleep in India when a Test in NZ starts and by the time people are awake it's already close to stumps! Maybe a day night Test here would actually help in getting some eyeballs in India. 

13 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

I wonder if this is because of the timings. Everyone is asleep in India when a Test in NZ starts and by the time people are awake it's already close to stumps! Maybe a day night Test here would actually help in getting some eyeballs in India. 

That looks to be the case but BCCI shouldn't be so money minded, already bahut $$$ hai. Even PCB which is a much poorer board sends the Pak team more frequently to NZ inspite of the time difference. We can always add a few extra ODIs and T20s to make up the finances.....real test fans do get up at 4 in the morning to follow India's matches and by 7-7:30 most followers are awake and waise bhi who watches all 3 sessions? I don't think there is too much difference in TV viewings because every venue will have some problems for Indian viewers. During test days in Aus most are in school/college/office, during Eng/SA tests it is office/playtime/tuitions, during WI tours again difficult for most fans.... As a matter of fact I have been able to follow NZ matches more easily compared to the daytime/afternoon/late night matches right throughout childhood/college/work days. 

D/N tests is the way to go at least for Aus/NZ matches.....BCCI as usual slow to pick up any new concept. 

every other profession people need to work 12 months a year with some public holidays 2 weeks worth + 3 -5 weeks vacation and planned time offs say an other weeks worth. People train themselves in their own time and bit in working time. 

Does this apply to cricketers ? from the schedule it does not appear so are they all part time like 6 months contract in a year ?, if they feel they are over stretching the cricketers then the teams can circulate their players, i am sure the A team players would like a shot at the senior team.

This who player workload management is BS. Some players with hunger and ability will miss out because of this.

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

That looks to be the case but BCCI shouldn't be so money minded, already bahut $$$ hai. Even PCB which is a much poorer board sends the Pak team more frequently to NZ inspite of the time difference. We can always add a few extra ODIs and T20s to make up the finances.....real test fans do get up at 4 in the morning to follow India's matches and by 7-7:30 most followers are awake and waise bhi who watches all 3 sessions? I don't think there is too much difference in TV viewings because every venue will have some problems for Indian viewers. During test days in Aus most are in school/college/office, during Eng/SA it is office/playtime/tuitions.... As a matter of fact I have been able to follow NZ matches more easily compared to the daytime/afternoon matches right throughout childhood. 

D/N tests is the way to go at least for Aus/NZ matches.....BCCI as usual slow to pick up any new concept. 

With PCB I think it's more of a beggars can't be choosers scenario plus NZ is an extremely happy hunting ground for PAK in Tests which is probably why they tour NZ far more often. Australia is still better compared to NZ as one can follow most of the 2nd and 3rd sessions and of course there is much more history/prestige attached to an India-AUS contest. I do agree on the bit about D/N Tests though.  

11 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

With PCB I think it's more of a beggars can't be choosers scenario plus NZ is an extremely happy hunting ground for PAK in Tests which is probably why they tour NZ far more often. Australia is still better compared to NZ as one can follow most of the 2nd and 3rd sessions and of course there is much more history/prestige attached to an India-AUS contest. I do agree on the bit about D/N Tests though.  

I agree about the 'beggars can't be choosers' part. Same applies to Sri Lanka also I guess. NZ is a happy hunting ground for Pakistan but a counter argument can also be made that they play well in NZ because they tour there frequently. It works both ways I guess and one of the main reasons we struggle there is because we tour once in 6-7 years and the experience isn't carried over to subsequent tours. Ind-Aus has a lot of prestige and our hypothetical rivalry with NZ won't surpass the Aus one, but if the boards can sell it well there is scope. Today Ind-SA rivalry is quite special and despite its short history it is eagerly awaited by both sets of fans. No reason why we can't develop an interesting rivalry with NZ..there are so few teams and Lanka/WI/BD/Afg/Ire are quite weak/boring while Pak is out of the picture. At some point Eng and Aus test tours will get boring and NZ, SA can fill the lacuna. 

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I agree about the 'beggars can't be choosers' part. Same applies to Sri Lanka also I guess. NZ is a happy hunting ground for Pakistan but a counter argument can also be made that they play well in NZ because they tour there frequently. It works both ways I guess and one of the main reasons we struggle there is because we tour once in 6-7 years and the experience isn't carried over to subsequent tours. Ind-Aus has a lot of prestige and our hypothetical rivalry with NZ won't surpass the Aus one, but if the boards can sell it well there is scope. Today Ind-SA rivalry is quite special and despite its short history it is eagerly awaited by both sets of fans. No reason why we can't develop an interesting rivalry with NZ..there are so few teams and Lanka/WI/BD/Afg/Ire are quite weak/boring while Pak is out of the picture. At some point Eng and Aus test tours will get boring and NZ, SA can fill the lacuna. 

Can't disagree with anything here although I'd say that BCCI has sort of devalued the SA contests by making it a 3 Test series. The series with RSA have been crying out for 4 Tests ever since the epic 2010-11 tour. We ruined the 2013 tour by restricting it to 2 Tests and even the latest tour could have easily had 4 Tests including the Boxing Day Test but the BCCI shat on it again. With Australia regressing this was the ideal time to give a certain "push" to the India-SA rivalry but I think we have missed the bus. 

In this time frame (2018 June-2023 February) excluding the Test Championship Final we are set to play 49 tests. 

Eng will play 57 tests

Aus will play 47 tests

BD will play 44 tests

Lanka will play 41 tests 

WI will play 40 tests 

SA will play 38 tests 

NZ will play 38 tests

Pak will play 37 tests

WI, BD, Lanka are scheduled to play many matches among themselves and also against Zimbabwe, Ireland, Afghanistan...hence the slightly surprising numbers. Overall satisfactory allocation of matches for India, we were never going to get more tests than Eng who adore this format. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

In this time frame (2018 June-2023 February) excluding the Test Championship Final we are set to play 49 tests. 

Eng will play 57 tests

Aus will play 47 tests

BD will play 44 tests

Lanka will play 41 tests 

WI will play 40 tests 

SA will play 38 tests 

NZ will play 38 tests

Pak will play 37 tests

WI, BD, Lanka are scheduled to play many matches among themselves and also against Zimbabwe, Ireland, Afghanistan...hence the slightly surprising numbers. Overall satisfactory allocation of matches for India, we were never going to get more tests than Eng who adore this format. 

SA playing fewer Tests than BD/SL/WI :((.