Does Pornography has a role in increased rape rate in India?

Alam_dar

Rape ‘natural pollution’, even Lord Ram cannot stop it: BJP MLA
It was only last month that the BJP leader had landed in soup for comparing government staff to prostitutes and blaming parents and smart phones for the rise in crimes against women.
[IMG] 
BJP MLA from Bairia district Surendra Narayan Singh on Saturday stoked a controversy after he said that even Lord Ram would not have been able to put an end to the rising rape incidents, news agency ANIreported.

“I can say this with full confidence that even Lord Ram will not be able to prevent such instances. This is natural pollution, which has not left anybody untouched,” the legislator said, when asked about rising cases of rape in Uttar Pradesh.

Singh added, “It is people’s responsibility to treat others as their family, as their sisters. We can only control it through values, not the Constitution.”
Recently, the MLA had also come out in support of another MLA Kuldeep Singh Sengar, who is currently in Sitapur jail in connection with the Unnao rape case.

It was only last month that the BJP leader had landed in a soup for comparing government staff to prostitutes and blaming parents and smartphones for the rise in crimes against women. According to ANI, he had said: “Officials se accha charitra vaishyaon ka hota hai, woh paisa lekar kam se kam apna kaam toh karti hain aur stage pe naachti hain. Par yeh officials toh paisa lekar bhi aapka kaam karenge ki nahi, iski koi guarantee hi nahi hai. (Prostitutes are better than officials. They at least do the work worth the money they take and dance on the stage. But these officials take the money, with no guarantee that that they get the work done).“
https://indianexpress.com/article/i...a-narayan-singh-rape-lord-ram-remark-5250648/

So, what role has been played by pornography in our societies? 

Is it positive or negative? Does it in any way help in releasing the frustration?

Is it possible to stop it? ...

I have watched disturbing real life crime tv shows(crime patrol types) in my childhood, and heinous crimes happened back then too, there was no internet back then in households. Sexual violence has not increased in India or elsewhere, it's the awareness of it which has increased through media gaining power.

Coming back to pornography, I'm against it even though I have been guilty of watching soft porn ocassionally in the past. It perverts sexual relationships and corrupts mind and soul.

Bollywood is one of the main reasons... Also, smartphones, Social media & females becoming more open minded about sec etc.

In our days it was a taboo to even discuss sec etc with girls in school or colleges...

One had to Make efforts to go to the street book sellers to buy Mastram series etc...

With night club culture spreading in town and cities, boys get ample opportunities to live their “wet dreams”... Boys being boys, they only think of sex etc.. For Girls sex could be last thing in their minds, focussing more of friendship & enjoying life... by the time they realise in a relationship, it’s too late...

As far as Pedophiles are concerned, smartphones and social media has given them easy access to porn etc.

good amount of rape cases are fake rape cases filed by women ( its a north Indian phenomenon . but now even women in south started using laws to their advantage )

check

In her plea, the complainant had alleged that Mahaakshay had cheated and raped her after being in physical relation with her for around four years on the pretext of marriage.

The woman alleged that when she became pregnant, Mahaakshay had given her some medicine which led to an abortion.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/bollywood/mithun-chakraborty-s-son-s-wedding-cancelled-after-police-arrives-to-investigate-rape-charges/story-lUbfqgbf4mj4zB54H4GhKJ.html

On Sun Jul 08 2018 at 2:43 PM, MechEng said:

I have watched disturbing real life crime tv shows(crime patrol types) in my childhood, and heinous crimes happened back then too, there was no internet back then in households. Sexual violence has not increased in India or elsewhere, it's the awareness of it which has increased through media gaining power.

Coming back to pornography, I'm against it even though I have been guilty of watching soft porn ocassionally in the past. It perverts sexual relationships and corrupts mind and soul.

I have been a regular watcher of porn ever since internet became a household thing after the smartphone revolution.

So far my mind and soul seems intact. But please tell me more about it's harmful effects on my 'soul'?

3 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

I have been a regular watcher of porn ever since internet became a household thing after the smartphone revolution.

So far my mind and soul seems intact. But please tell me more about it's harmful effects on my 'soul'?

It's just my personal experience, if you make it a regular habit then it's very bad. Occasionally it's ok.

Edited by MechEng

On 7/8/2018 at 4:12 PM, asterix said:

Bollywood is one of the main reasons... Also, smartphones, Social media & females becoming more open minded about sec etc.

In our days it was a taboo to even discuss sec etc with girls in school or colleges...

One had to Make efforts to go to the street book sellers to buy Mastram series etc...

With night club culture spreading in town and cities, boys get ample opportunities to live their “wet dreams”... Boys being boys, they only think of sex etc.. For Girls sex could be last thing in their minds, focussing more of friendship & enjoying life... by the time they realise in a relationship, it’s too late...

As far as Pedophiles are concerned, smartphones and social media has given them easy access to porn etc.

How it is related with increased rape incidence? Care to explain !!!

It is highly debatable.

There has been may discussions on this. Pornography,Western culture and what not..But at the end of the day it is the Rapist who doesn't have control over his thoughts is sole responsible factor.

There is no denying that Addiction of Pornography is catalyst in this.There are many other catalysts,too. Lack of Education specially about Sex,Sex being Taboo,Indian youth's inability to get laid at right age mainly in lower socioeconomic class.

1 hour ago, Bigg Brother said:

It is highly debatable.

There has been may discussions on this. Pornography,Western culture and what not..But at the end of the day it is the Rapist who doesn't have control over his thoughts is sole responsible factor.

There is no denying that Addiction of Pornography is catalyst in this.There are many other catalysts,too. Lack of Education specially about Sex,Sex being Taboo,Indian youth's inability to get laid at right age mainly in lower socioeconomic class.

I agree. 

Edited by Alam_dar

I dont think so either. Rapist and pervs are not made from pornography. In fact, pornography industry is thriving because of pervs, the one who cannot fulfill their fantasies in real life. 99% perverts have control over their fantasies. Those who dont are the rapists. 

14 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

@Alam_dar Is that thread title your own? If yes, then how do we know that rate has increased? 

Yes, the thread title is mine. 

I also don't know if the rate of rape has increased in India or not. And that is why I myself asked the question in the title: "Does Pornography has a role in increased rape rate in India?

If you say that rape rate has not increased in India, it is OK for me as I am myself don't know if it has increased or not or decreased. 

Actually it was the BJP minister who made this claim (i.e. rape rate has been increased in India due to pornography, and even Lord Ram could not stop it". 

Since it was little controversial statement by him by bringing Lord Ram in it, while I wanted to avoid it and focus on the real issue of effects of pornography in the society, and therefore I had to give the title in my own words. 

28 minutes ago, Alam_dar said:

Yes, the thread title is mine. 

I also don't know if the rate of rape has increased in India or not. And that is why I myself asked the question in the title: "Does Pornography has a role in increased rape rate in India?

If you say that rape rate has not increased in India, it is OK for me as I am myself don't know if it has increased or not or decreased. 

Actually it was the BJP minister who made this claim (i.e. rape rate has been increased in India due to pornography, and even Lord Ram could not stop it". 

Since it was little controversial statement by him by bringing Lord Ram in it, while I wanted to avoid it and focus on the real issue of effects of pornography in the society, and therefore I had to give the title in my own words. 

Kanpur: 6-year-olds held for rape bid on 4-year-old girl, sent to remand home

According to police, the girl was taken to an empty plot by the four boys and sexually assaulted on June 30 when she was playing outside her house. The cops also suspect that the idea to rape the child would have come to the minors after watching porn clips on a mobile phone. 

https://www.timesnownews.com/mirror-now/crime/article/kanpur-6-year-olds-held-for-rape-bid-on-4-year-old-girl-sent-to-remand-home/249193

-----

Porn has some effect especially on juveniles