Michael Holding - Pandya is not next Kapil Dev

Khota

57 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Ben Stokes (4th innings match winning spell) and Sam Curran (3rd innings slogging tailender) say hi.

You don't get readymade Ben Stokes, especially when 'home' conditions chew up and spit out pace bowling allrounders at the FC level worse than yesterday's newspaper.  

What did the great Ben Stokes do with the ball in the test series in INdia? 

Pandya may not be Kapil or Stokes, but he's a useful piece that adds value.  Just because a player isn't 10/10, doesn't mean that you nullify his 7/10 value.

3 minutes ago, sandeep said:

You don't get readymade Ben Stokes, especially when 'home' conditions chew up and spit out pace bowling allrounders at the FC level worse than yesterday's newspaper.  

Pandya may not be Kapil or Stokes, but he's a useful piece that adds value.  Just because a player isn't 10/10, doesn't mean that you nullify his 7/10 value.

Is that same as bits and pieces?

13 minutes ago, zen said:

Now we are discussing what Holding thinks .... a desperate bunch, the anti-Pandya brigade is :lol:

Its the sunk cost fallacy. They are too committed to the 'Pandya is useless' theory, and won't back down even if there's evidence to the contrary. 

Stubborn and Stupid start with the same 3 letters....:p:

3 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Its the sunk cost fallacy. They are too committed to the 'Pandya is useless' theory, and won't back down even if there's evidence to the contrary. 

Stubborn and Stupid start with the same 3 letters....:p:

Pandya had plenty of cances to prove us wrong.

1 minute ago, R!TTER said:

Those weren't chance less innings, he was dropped multiple times but more importantly he failed in 3 out of 4 innings when the series was still alive. Though he did look the best Indian bat throughout the series.

No drops in the 51 ...  1 drop in the 40.

The 3rd test was very important too as a 0 -3 result  would have been far worse than 1 - 2.

Most importantly, we are discussing whether it is possible for good batters to score in South Africa.  Kohli scored a 119 and 90 odd on the last tour in 2013 on a lively track  ( in the first innings  ) too.  Rahane had a 90 odd and Pujara a century.   It is possible to score in SA.

Just now, sandeep said:

Ben Stokes wasn't made in England he was forged in Aus, for a pace A/R not picking up wickets is SA, Eng is akin to a spinner not picking up wickets in India.

His value in this current team is 2 or 3 out of 10 at best. For someone who's not picking up regular wickets in SA or Eng, does none think he might simply not be good enough. Why does everyone assume he'll automatically pick up wickets if he bowls more, do you know more than the rest of us? Why do you think Koach doesn't have the confidence to give him more than 10 overs even on these kinds of surfaces?

9 minutes ago, Khota said:

I did not know that was the role of an allrounder. I learn something new everyday.

That is a very effective role for a batting all-rounder who comes at 6 or 7.

His primary job is to score runs based on which he should be gauged.

Edited by express bowling
18 minutes ago, zen said:

Now we are discussing what Holding thinks .... a desperate bunch, the anti-Pandya brigade is :lol:

holding is an old generation cricketer like bedi.......

Just like those uncles who keeps saying- humare zamane men ye hota tha 

Zamana badal gaya hai pyaare 

If u see that interview, Sangakara completely disagreed with n said - Dnt remove pandya he gives balance to ur side 

4 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Ben Stokes wasn't made in England he was forged in Aus, for a pace A/R not picking up wickets is SA, Eng is akin to a spinner not picking up wickets in India.

His value in this current team is 2 or 3 out of 10 at best. For someone who's not picking up regular wickets in SA or Eng, does none think he might simply not be good enough. Why does everyone assume he'll automatically pick up wickets if he bowls more, do you know more than the rest of us? Why do you think Koach doesn't have the confidence to give him more than 10 overs even on these kinds of surfaces?

Ask them. They know everything.

Just now, Lala said:

Im pretty sure Pandya's fate will be ended similar to Irfan Pathan's. :cantstop: 

Pathan was much better than any of these potential A/R :cantstop:

He chewed your side up in 2004 almost singlehandedly, if it weren't for Chappal we might've had a genuine great playing for well over a decade. Sadly he also didn't bowl a single ball in SA, NZ or England.