Michael Holding - Pandya is not next Kapil Dev

Khota

Just now, Khota said:

35 is a great average if takes a wkt or two.

At least we agree that he has a good batting average for AR.

Yes, his bowling SR of 88 is a concern. But can we not afford to show some more patience and give him more tests and see if he improves the bowling SR. Perhaps he will be able to get bowling SR down to 70. And of he does that while maintaining bat AVG of 35, it would be nice for us.

One may say can we afford to lose more series in this R&D process. Well if the time has come to drop someone and stop doing R&D, then there are worse failures than him. 4 specialist batsmen and keepers are there. Rahul averaged 9 runs in SA. He is averaging 8 runs this series.

Vijay, Ajinkya,Shikhar all averaged under 21 last series. They have to be dropped first , if at all the time has come to drop players. At least he is one of our better cricketer in last 6 tests.

3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Pathan was a bowling all rounder n pandya batting, 2 diff things

Pathan can be compared more to ashwin

Pathan was an all rounder. A pinch hitter. Pandya also a slogger/pinch hitter. Ashwin is more like defensive batsman. Am I correct?

8 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Pathan was much better than any of these potential A/R :cantstop:

He chewed your side up in 2004 almost singlehandedly, if it weren't for Chappal we might've had a genuine great playing for well over a decade. Sadly he also didn't bowl a single ball in SA, NZ or England.

yeah sad to see Pathan lost his place. After him India had more Spin all rounders. India had a slot in 2011/15 WC to fill those pace bowl all rounder. 

Just now, Lala said:

yeah sad to see Pathan lost his place. After him India had more Spin all rounders. India had a slot in 2011/15 WC to fill those pace bowl all rounder. 

Dhoni the phony, I believe he had a tiff with him. India never played him in any of the tests in England, SA or NZ when he was the captain. He was also discarded unfairly by the selectors.

3 minutes ago, Lala said:

Pathan was an all rounder. A pinch hitter. Pandya also a slogger/pinch hitter. Ashwin is more like defensive batsman. Am I correct?

pathan came in team as a bowler who had batting talent which was promoted after a time. Pathan cud alone lay as bowler at that time but as his bowling start to dip his batting came to his rescue to save his place 

Pandya came in team coz he cud do both , specially power hitting ......( no one is denying he has long way to go but he is doing so let him keep playing n he ll get better)

On Aus-A tour he showed he had application n fight on a green top where our every A team batsman failed 

PPl tend to forget he came very raw, he is almost fast tracked in the team.....he hasnt played much 1st  class treatment ...yet he has shown more fight then many of our player who has yrs of experience. 

SLogger was jadeja- slogger dnt apply themselves like pandya did in Eng n even in SA. Just becoz u have hitting ability doesnt make u pinch hitter or slogger 

Ashwin is a very positive batsman ...far away from being defensive 

3 minutes ago, R!TTER said:

Dhoni the phony, I believe he had a tiff with him. India never played him in any of the tests in England, SA or NZ when he was the captain. He was also discarded unfairly by the selectors.

nope it wasnt a tiff, he was injured most times specially during domestic seasons......but all of sudden he use to get fit during IPL. No selector will like that attitude

Plus his pace dropped below 120 during that , so did his batting n fielding. Ppl often confuse him with pathan before 2011....post 2012 injury he jst went on a down hill 

This is a never ending debate, Pandya has his supporters and critics, neither of whom seem to budge. 

For his critics, I have this question: I'm not sure why you would play a fifth bowler in his place and further weaken the already fragile batting ? The team will get desperate every time the opposition crosses 200 and there will be immense pressure on each bowler to take at least one wicket in each spell. 

Lets then look at the option of playing a sixth batsman. He's already shown at least the ability of Rahul, Vijay, Dhawan, Rohit and maybe Rahane. Unless we have a batsman of VVS Laxman's ability who can make an appreciable difference at that position, Pandya seems an all right pick. Now we should certainly look for that kind of batsman and provided our 4 bowlers are all top notch, Pandya doesn't add as much utility in that scenario given his previous performances. 

We need a proper 5th bowler, like Stokes, more than a batsman. We should go by the team's requirement rather than having just any allrounder just because other teams consist them. Even though Hardik has a lot potential, I don't see him producing results like Stokes with the ball, no matter how many matches he plays. He can be a very good option in LOIs but India will do well without him in Test cricket. 

38 minutes ago, Khota said:

Is that same as bits and pieces?

Virat Kohli is also one bit/piece that makes up at test XI.  We are all cricket fans here, and I mean no disrespect to a passionate fellow Indian supporter, but you need to be a bit more open-minded at times.  

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

nope it wasnt a tiff, he was injured most times specially during domestic seasons......but all of sudden he use to get fit during IPL. No selector will like that attitude

Plus his pace dropped below 120 during that , so did his batting n fielding. Ppl often confuse him with pathan before 2011....post 2012 injury he jst went on a down hill 

He was MoM in Perth 2008 IIRC, was also the MVP in the CB series. He also came back into the side in 2012 CB series, so for someone who opens the batting in Aus, opened the bowling he was definitely good enough to be given a longer rope. I wonder though why didn't he ever play in SA, Eng or NZ in tests? It certainly wasn't his pace, because we had slower trundlers like Praveen and Vinay Kumars donning the white jersey. His control was also immaculate, he was the best in terms if controlling the new ball as could be seen in Karachi 2006.

Edited by R!TTER
2 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

Pandya is really not needed when you don't even bother to bowl him. I am sure Kohli can bowl 4-5 overs giving away 20-25 runs if you really need someone to make over overes without taking wicket. 

His batting was decent, still i believe he is not a proper batsman. 

He isn't specialist batsman that his why his test average is 35 and very much acceptable. 

Moreover he scored more runs than Vijay, Shikhar, Ajinkya and Rahul. Ultimately runs matter irrespective of way he scored more.

1 minute ago, R!TTER said:

He was MoM in Perth 2008 IIRC, was also the MVP in the CB series. He also came back into the side in 2012 CB series, so for someone who opens the batting in Aus, opened the bowling he was definitely good enough to be given a longer rope. I wonder though why didn't he ever play in SA, Eng or NZ in tests? It certainly wasn't his pace, because we had slower trundlers like Praveen and Vinay Kumars donning the white jersey. His control was also immaculate, he was the best in terms if controlling the new ball as could be seen in Karachi 2006.

Told u read again

he kept getting injured post 2012 SL series , no one will pick an injured player 

praveen n vk werent lower then 120

PAthan was bowling 115k during that time, u can pull out SMA game of 2-3 yrs back where had to bowl 4 overs only n yet his pace was down

Past doesnt matter a crickter can dip a lot, yuvraj dipped like no one....gambhir dipped 

Karachi was a lush green track, u dnt get such tracks every day . On that track even binny wud have wrecked havoc 

In the 2nd innings he looked toothless when conditions became easy 

no point quoting 2006,08, 12.........coz he wasnt the same post that 

9 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

Pandya is really not needed when you don't even bother to bowl him. I am sure Kohli can bowl 4-5 overs giving away 20-25 runs if you really need someone to make over overes without taking wicket. 

4-5 overs is less, u need around 15 or else Karun nair cud have also done that 

unfortunately we dnt even have someone like ganguly who can bowl 10-15 overs or else ill talk him

At this point pandya is our best option n is showing the fight, lets question other who arent doing even that 

8 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

Yes lets depend on Kohli for that too because he isnt doing enough

On the broader point if any of Top 5 could be a Ganguly type pacer we could argue that Pandya is not needed.As things stand however I believe he is the least of our problems

2 minutes ago, GautiMaan said:

Yes lets depend on Kohli for that too because he isnt doing enough

On the broader point if any of Top 5 could be a Ganguly type pacer we could argue that Pandya is not needed.As things stand however I believe he is the least of our problems

Exactly, there are worst performers than him. To name Shikhar, Rahul, Ajinkya and Vijay are not even scoring as many runs as Hardik did in SA or England. They need to be dropped first before him.