Sunil Gavaskar feels Rishabh Pant in line for Test debut in Nottingham

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/india-vs-england-sunil-gavaskar-feels-rishabh-pant-in-line-for-test-debut-in-nottingham/story-zoKY1JzmzkdIKzusPHa8qM.html

“He’s certainly in the frame. The fact that he was chosen ahead of everybody else to come, at the moment that Saha was declared unfit, just tells you about the thinking of the selection committee and team management.”

“The fact that he has now spent two weeks with the senior team in the dressing room would have given him a feel of expectations because there are different expectations. I think it’s a fantastic opportunity for him. How he grabs it is entirely up to him,” added Gavaskar.

But Gavaskar wasn’t too bothered. Although he reiterated that the first Test could have swung in India’s favour, he was hopeful that there’s still quite a bit of cricket left in the series for India to pose a comeback.

India, already 0-1 down in the series, are in a precarious position in the second Test having been dismissed for 107 in the first innings.

“I do believe that they have the opportunity here because this is a five-Test series and you can always come back. Even if you are two down, you can still come back. India have traditionally been slow starters overseas,” he added.

“In the third Test (in South Africa) we came back, but if it had been a five Test series, we could have won the fourth and fifth as well. That’s the big plus as far as this tour is concerned, that the Indian team will get an opportunity to come back and may be even win this series.”

25 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

@Ankit_sharma03 Gavaskar changing his statement now saying Dhawan was made sacrificial lamb,he scored more than Vijay should not have been dropped why was Dhawan there for the England tour then :giggle: mujhe laga Khota bhai bol rahe they.

Split personality ka probelm hai gavaskar ko

Here is cleraly saying he doesnt wanna learn from his mistakes, till he doesnt change it he will always struggle in overseas condition

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Split personality ka probelm hai gavaskar ko

Here is cleraly saying he doesnt wanna learn from his mistakes, till he doesnt change it he will always struggle in overseas condition

“I don’t agree with this decision (to drop Shikhar Dhawan). Shikhar Dhawan is always being made the scapegoat. In the last match, he scored more runs than Murali Vijay,” Gavaskar said on Sony’s broadcast.

“It is not right to drop him after every match. If you have to drop him after every match, why do you take him on tour?”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/india-vs-england-sunil-gavaskar-blasts-decision-to-drop-shikhar-dhawan-for-lord-s-test/story-7SdqOHkfOl02SAvWkXkLZI.html

Ye Gajni hai kya ?

20 minutes ago, GolGappe said:

I just struggle to understand why a test purist like Sunny has a soft spot for Dhawan who is so out of his depth in these conditions.

Dhawan was part of the agency owned by Sunil Gavaskar which just recently was closed due to Conflict of Interest with him being commentator. Guess what, Pant was also part of that agency. Although Pant fully deserves a place in the XI, the reason why Sunny is suddenly supporting him is because of that.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/sunil-gavaskar-to-remain-ceo-at-pmg-shuts-down-player-management-wing-4853413/lite/

"Sunil Gavaskar’s sports management company, Professional Management Group (PMG), may have decided to shut down its player management wing that had landed him in conflict-of-interest trouble with the Indian cricket board, but the former India captain will continue as the chairman of the company. Gavaskar, who co-founded India’s first sports management company in 1985, was recently asked by BCCI to choose between commentary and player-management business.

PMG handled three cricketers — Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant and Sarfraz Khan — as well as acclaimed hockey star Sardar Singh. After the termination of their contracts, all of them will now be up for grabs for other sports management firms."

Edited by Forever Indian