Cheers to the two spinners in England theory

I have argued with so many people (away from this forum) in the last few weeks about the utter stupidity of this tactic. When I would read on this forum that many people supported this move I was at a loss to how so many people could justify such stupidity. Fielding two spinners in seaming conditions is equivalent to wearing nothing but a kachaa on a trip to Siberia during the height of winter. 

2 hours ago, mancalledsting said:

I have argued with so many people (away from this forum) in the last few weeks about the utter stupidity of this tactic. When I would read on this forum that many people supported this move I was at a loss to how so many people could justify such stupidity. Fielding two spinners in seaming conditions is equivalent to wearing nothing but a kachaa on a trip to Siberia during the height of winter. 

Who supported it on seaming tracks?

9 hours ago, mancalledsting said:

You have to blame captain and coach for this,cheerleader has done so many pitch reports throughout his commentary stint and yet he agreed for two spinners on this track was just laughable.

Edited by Switchblade
34 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

You have to blame captain and coach for this,cheerleader has done so many pitch reports throughout his commentary stint and yet he agreed for two spinners on this track was just laughable.

Shows how much farziwada he has done as commie.

Didn't he predict pitch to be low scoring only to see 300+ scores in some ODIs in India during his expert days.

So many people just don't use logic in decision making and like to go with their "gut feeling". Kohli is another such character. 

There were others who wanted to bat first so we had a chance .. I mean second batting ki aukaad aur ability nahi, to first batting tumhari jagah positive mindset ki aatma karne wali hai kya ? 

Headingly/Sydney of old are the wickets where u consider 2 spinners. I don't think even they retain that character these days.

Irrespective of pitch or condition, one has to say, Kuldeep yadav has regressed or lost his magic touch. He was bowling at least one full toss every over. Dharmasala is not a spin friendly venue either, but he was brilliant  against Australia there. 

Also why team management is so keen for two spinners, in England is beyond me. We are one of the best in the world in terms of upcoming talent in pace department, but the same can't be said about the spinners.

9 minutes ago, Insidious said:

Irrespective of pitch or condition, one has to say, Kuldeep yadav has regressed or lost his magic touch. He was bowling at least one full toss every over. Dharmasala is not a spin friendly venue either, but he was brilliant  against Australia there. 

Also why team management is so keen for two spinners, in England is beyond me. We are one of the best in the world in terms of upcoming talent in pace department, but the same can't be said about the spinners.

You don't regress in just one innings of a test, the pressure was too much for him also considering he was given the ball ahead of Ashwin. Besides he wasn't bowling this bad in the LO so there's no question of him regressing over 2 weeks. Now if Kohli has the same mindset, I think he does, then he'll drop him even if the next pitch is bone dry!

You don't make players if you don't back them enough through the tough phases, you break them this way!

We are not even in the top 3, SA is the best followed by Aus and Pak tied with England.

Edited by R!TTER
26 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Shows how much farziwada he has done as commie.

Didn't he predict pitch to be low scoring only to see 300+ scores in some ODIs in India during his expert days.

When he was appointed as a coach of the Indian team he was boasting to the media that he has covered games for the past 25 years,so he is aware of the modern day cricket.

That knowledge is getting exposed now :giggle:

Pandya defended India’s decision to play with an additional spinner, Kuldeep Yadav alongside R Ashwin, instead of an ideal choice of going with three specialist seamers. “Obviously they (team management) had some thought behind it (picking the second spinner). I don’t get into that too much. I think three pacers (including him) were enough to be honest. We did enough and we bowled properly. We gave whatever we had to give. As I told you, today’s wicket was the wicket we expected and it was a proper call.”

Ashwin and Kuldeep could barely do much on the third day and Pandya rued that the ball is not gripping much due to the rain. “If this was a five-day game, spinners would’ve come into use. But because of the rain and everything, it was short and there’s not many footmarks and it was not gripping that much. If this was a five-day game, things would have been different,” Pandya said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/india-vs-england-2nd-test-lords-hardik-pandya-5302919/hat much. If this was a five-day game, things would have been different,” Pandya said.

5 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

When he was appointed as a coach of the Indian team he was boasting to the media that he has covered games for the past 25 years,so he is aware of the modern day cricket.

That knowledge is getting exposed now :giggle:

Even while commenting during the game he could not say correctly whether ball bounced more or came slow etc. Gavaskar is better in mentioning those details.

What shastri does better is getting into verbal duel with others, be it Nasser during 2011 or that ball tampering saga in SA where he questioned referee.

He is best suited for spokesperson role, not any other role which involved getting into details of game.

In fact many here wanted two spinners when the summer was harsh and sun was beating down on lords. No one expected it to rain on the 1st day, lose a days play and then started seaming right away. If england had batted on day 2 they would have also had a difficult time. Talk about throwing a wrench in one's plans.

16 minutes ago, WeStMiDz said:

This team lacks local knowledge. Two spinners were perfectly fine at Edgbaston - nobody would have blinked an eye lid. You can't go overseas and just automatically think two spinners are not permitted. But here with the cloud cover and forecast, two spinner theory was farcical before a ball was even bowled. 

TMTM lacks common sense - that sounds better.

Edited by R!TTER
2 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

In fact many here wanted two spinners when the summer was harsh and sun was beating down on lords. No one expected it to rain on the 1st day, lose a days play and then started seaming right away. If england had batted on day 2 they would have also had a difficult time. Talk about throwing a wrench in one's plans.

People wanted kuldeep over Ashwin in first test. 

And it's not that toss happened after the rain.