A series is not always defined by the scorecard - Virat Kohli

sarcastic

13 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

You wrong. openers were fine.  Our problem was 5, 6, 7.   No opener is going to change the games in these conditions.  Our openers scored more than England. some 50 plus partnerships as well.  We need to work on batting of our 5, 6, 7, 8.  In these conditions, it is these numbers that make a difference.

You do know that England do know that there openers are a problem . Problem is they cant find a replacement

20 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

The word process gives me joy:yay: :yay: 

It's easy for mohalla experts to sit here and comment on his post match. Try being in his place :cantstop: Ohh nvm aukat nahi hai. 

These guys are playing for private company and getting paid in millions. If they are #1 side they should win anywhere. With all talks before series everyone was expecting a series win against a pretty weak english side.

12 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

You wrong. openers were fine.  Our problem was 5, 6, 7.   No opener is going to change the games in these conditions.  Our openers scored more than England. some 50 plus partnerships as well.  We need to work on batting of our 5, 6, 7, 8.  In these conditions, it is these numbers that make a difference.

I don't agree. They couldn't even blunt the new ball most matches. I don't think the English openers are the standard to go by here.

England has been going through openers for a while now, even Cook has been out of form the last few years.

We only play 5 specialist batsmen; if they don't score, at least passably, then one can't blame the lower order.   

If we are going to compare lower orders, the English batting lineup goes all the way to 10 with Anderson the only true tailender.  

Were it not Kohli's words that "enough of processes. Now we'll have results!" ? How is he reverting back to processes?

At one time, pr even now, his favourite buzzword is "intent".

https://goo.gl/NpUqc7

So how about showing some intent in captaincy too, Mr Skipper!!!

Decoding ‘intent’, Virat Kohli’s buzzword

Many players were chosen, dropped several times without much of cricketing logic for outsiders. Maybe it was because they didn't show enough intent for Virat's liking.

“You can’t be in a zone of not having intent and see off 35-40 overs.”

So it was all the more interesting that Kohli still chose to talk about intent from his batsmen. Well, despite him not naming names, it wouldn’t take a NASA-employed scientist to figure out that he was talking about Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma’s stubborn defiance in the first session on day two.

Kohli went on to elaborate:

“We need to have intent because the kind of bowling attack they have – especially on these pitches they get extra bounce and they get extra pace off the wicket – you can’t be in a zone of not having intent and see off 35-40 overs. You need to find the perfect balance to do well in South Africa especially where there is more bounce.

“You can’t just stand there and take whatever is coming your way and not have intent at all. You might get out, but it’s important to keep coming at the bowler and making them feel, ‘If you make an error I am going to score.’ So I think that message needs to go pretty strongly and you need to do that as a batting unit, collectively.”

This is not the first time Kohli has harped on about the need to score runs at a good clip, especially if the conditions are tough, to wrestle momentum away from opposition. It was a hot-topic when he captained the team for the first time outside the subcontinent, in West Indies in 2015. He was vocal about Pujara’s scoring rate, and even experimented with Rohit at No 3 on that tour, dropping Pujara.

And back playing Tests outside for the first time since that West Indies tour, intent has once again become the buzzword for Kohli.

Kohli was asked to explain what his idea of intent was, given his almost-pointed criticism of Pujara and Rohit’s approach.

Take it away, Virat.

“Intent doesn’t really mean that you have to go out there and start playing shots from ball one. Intent is there in a leave. Intent is there in defending as well. Intent is about being vocal out there in calling. All those things count as intent. Just the way your body language, the way you are thinking about the game. It gets portrayed in your body language. People can tell if you are playing with intent or not. 

“There will be tough moments but I think even the tough moments one needs to overcome through intent. Defending or leaving the ball, you need precise footwork to do that. And that only comes with a clear head and a positive intent in your head. That’s how I look at things. Even if I’m going to leave the ball, I need to do it with intent. My stride should be big enough to leave the ball, or defend it. So in my head I’m feeling positive about those things. Being positive doesn’t mean you are scoring every ball. But it’s understanding that you are in control of what you want to do. That’s how I break down intent.” 

3 minutes ago, Khota said:

This is another CT cup moment for Kohli where after the loss he is seen laughing with Pakistani players.

He does not get it.

Don't think any other captain from any country, be it cricket or any team game being played at international level has made such a comment. It's laughable, especially coming from a captain of cricket team of a country where cricket is No. 1 sport, the team which is ranked No. 1. and has the best infrastructure as well as support for cricket players. 

He can make any statement he wants after losing, but the truth is VK as a skipper in tests is nothing short of disappointment in 2018. We had the team, capable bowlers who took 20 wickets each time which previously didn't used to happen. But now a young batting unit, barring VK as an individual, has completely gone off track. 2 out of 3 matches are lost by a good margin, 60 runs is still a lot. 
You & your lot known as management is delusional.
It doesn't matter if you lose by a run or an innings, a loss is a freaking loss. 

44 minutes ago, zen said:

Openers have usually played huge role in Ind's overseas wins 

Last time an opener scored a century in overseas win was way back in 1977.

0 100s in last 41 years.

Highest 97 by Gambhir against Zimbabwe.

They have contributed in some of wins. Anyone following Indian cricket for last 2 decades can tell you that it's not usually the case of playing huge roles.

5 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Last time an opener scored a century in overseas win was way back in 1977.

0 100s in last 41 years.

Highest 97 by Gambhir against Zimbabwe.

They have contributed in some of wins. Anyone following Indian cricket for last 2 decades can tell you that it's not usually the case of playing huge roles.

who is talking about scoring centuries? a fighting 30-70 to take care of the new ball has set Ind up 

1 hour ago, Straight Drive said:

Don't think any other captain from any country, be it cricket or any team game being played at international level has made such a comment. It's laughable, especially coming from a captain of cricket team of a country where cricket is No. 1 sport, the team which is ranked No. 1. and has the best infrastructure as well as support for cricket players. 

This is fireable offense from Kohli. he needs to go. Atleast get someone who cares about winning. It is a big deal to us.

Kohli is just clueless. Whatever he says or show is all fake bollywood stuff. He has no clue about process or intent or anything else. Its just random things he says to make fool out of everyone. Get used to it. We will win next game and everything will be allright and people will continue to sing praises of how he is so awesome n all. lol

The good thing about our team is regardless of Kohli, our bowling is top notch and will always keep us close more often than not.

2 hours ago, Nikola said:

These guys are playing for private company and getting paid in millions. If they are #1 side they should win anywhere. With all talks before series everyone was expecting a series win against a pretty weak english side.

What do you want them to say before the series ? hum se nahi hopayega bhaijaan ? :cantstop: England are pretty strong at home. We are the weak team here not them. 

Edited by Rasgulla