Rohit & Shaw opening at MCG ? Thought ?

test fan

After seeing  Rahul and M.Vijay performance ,they look like talinders nows day ,so what about we will open with Rohit and shaw ,Shaw most probably open that's  sure if he fit .

1) Rohit 

2)P. Shaw 

3) Pujara 

4) Virat 

5) Rahane 

6) Vihari  

7 ) Pant

8) Ashwin / Jadeja 

9) ishant 

10) Shami

11) Bumrah 

Look like solid team also Vihari provided 5th bowling option .

Edited by test fan

Vihari

Shaw

Pujara

VK

Rahane

Rohit/klr

Vihari looks like a solid batsman and I would like to try him out at the top assuring him that he will be brought back to no.6 if he fails there. Also vihari should grab such an opportunity because there is no solid competition here, wheras no.6 in India is a heavily competed spot with Ashwin, jadeja, Rohit, Hardik, Nair all fighting for it.

14 minutes ago, test fan said:

If Rohit & Shaw play 15 over together they will make 60- 70 runs in no time .

Rohit at the best can  provide a quick 40+ , if he survives the first few overs. In pitches like the on going ones, which are mostly the cases in SENA, to open with Rohit is almost calling for destruction.What we need is an aggressive-defensive, left-right combination for opening.  

Vijay now has to play an outstanding knock to save his career, if not. Best is he announces his retirement immediately and BCCI call Mayank. M not a fan of mayank but thats a personal opinion and i Can be wrong about him so leaving that aside the right things is to call him in that case immediately and not Fcking Dhawan which i feel will happen in that case coz he is in Australia . 

Mayank has earned it , he deserves a chance...fails or doesnt is a diff thing 

The suggestion here of Rohit n Vihari are bizzare.....i mean kya soch ke 

Opening is a specialist job and in overseas its extremely tough . Dont go by sehwag example who was a special player and player with such mindset are as rare as anything and he himself was not that consistent overseas. 

Rohit se to LOI mein run nhin bante jab ball move hoti hai , neither he makes run in test when he bats at 6....so what bizzare thought is this to make him open hoping he might score 10 runs more then current ones. Ye kaisa goal ki extra 5-10 run ban jaye

2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Opening is a specialist job and in overseas its extremely tough . Dont go by sehwag example who was a special player and player with such mindset are as rare as anything and he himself was not that consistent overseas. 

Rohit se to LOI mein run nhin bante jab ball move hoti hai , neither he makes run in test when he bats at 6....so what bizzare thought is this to make him open hoping he might score 10 runs more then current ones. Ye kaisa goal ki extra 5-10 run ban jaye

That is a myth that has been busted many times. Remember his performances in swinging conditions in CT 2013 or even in ODIs in Australia in 2015 or even against a rampaging SA when other batsmen couldn’t get bat on ball.

the last time someone had a an idea to make an impact player an opener following the success of Sehwag 

and yuvraj singh was a better test player then rohit sharma 

Ganguly wants Yuvraj as opener in Tests

June 13, 2004 15:04 IST

Skipper Sourav Ganguly on Sunday categorically stated that Yuvraj Singh would don the role of an opener in Tests and vice-captain Rahul Dravid would continue to double up as the wicket-keeper in one-dayers.

"Yuvraj is a class act. A person of his stature and ability should not be kept out of the team. I think there is a slot for him as an opener. I am pretty much sure that with his ability and mindset, he will definitely get used to it (opener's slot)," Ganguly told reporters in Bangalore when asked about efforts to include Yuvraj in the Test side.

"(Virender) Sehwag never used to open before he opened for India but has done amazingly well as an opener," he said.

Ganguly said Yuvraj was the first choice 'for the moment' considering his ability and the number of games he has won for India. If Yuvraj does not do well as an opener, then one might have to think of an alternative.

In one-dayers, Dravid would continue to keep wickets.

"Dravid has helped the team in terms of balance and batting depth. If you can find somebody who can do the job as well as Dravid has in the past two years, then we might start thinking. But at the moment, he is doing such a wonderful job, we will have to stick with him."

Asked if he contemplated opening the innings in ODIs, he said: "It will revolve around Sachin Tendulkar, Sehwag and myself, what suits the team. So, it (opening the innings) is definitely not out of the question.

"We will see how it goes, what's the form of Dravid and how well I am playing. All these things we will have to keep in mind," said Ganguly, who is in Bangalore for the week-long fitness camp for the Asia Cup probables, which began on Sunday.

Result 

It failed coz not everyone is sehwag

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I don't like Rohit in test also but what we other  option have right now .none ?? M not saying he will permanent play but in this series bcz both opener fail badly .if India can bring both Mayank and Pandya for next 2 test ( there a lot gap between 2nd 3rd game also )  then Mayank and P.shaw should have open but high unlikely they will bring both these player unless some injury .

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

the last time someone had a an idea to make an impact player an opener following the success of Sehwag 

and yuvraj singh was a better test player then rohit sharma 

Ganguly wants Yuvraj as opener in Tests

June 13, 2004 15:04 IST

Skipper Sourav Ganguly on Sunday categorically stated that Yuvraj Singh would don the role of an opener in Tests and vice-captain Rahul Dravid would continue to double up as the wicket-keeper in one-dayers.

"Yuvraj is a class act. A person of his stature and ability should not be kept out of the team. I think there is a slot for him as an opener. I am pretty much sure that with his ability and mindset, he will definitely get used to it (opener's slot)," Ganguly told reporters in Bangalore when asked about efforts to include Yuvraj in the Test side.

"(Virender) Sehwag never used to open before he opened for India but has done amazingly well as an opener," he said.

Ganguly said Yuvraj was the first choice 'for the moment' considering his ability and the number of games he has won for India. If Yuvraj does not do well as an opener, then one might have to think of an alternative.

In one-dayers, Dravid would continue to keep wickets.

"Dravid has helped the team in terms of balance and batting depth. If you can find somebody who can do the job as well as Dravid has in the past two years, then we might start thinking. But at the moment, he is doing such a wonderful job, we will have to stick with him."

Asked if he contemplated opening the innings in ODIs, he said: "It will revolve around Sachin Tendulkar, Sehwag and myself, what suits the team. So, it (opening the innings) is definitely not out of the question.

"We will see how it goes, what's the form of Dravid and how well I am playing. All these things we will have to keep in mind," said Ganguly, who is in Bangalore for the week-long fitness camp for the Asia Cup probables, which began on Sunday.

Result 

It failed coz not everyone is sehwag

Yuvraj Singh never opened at any level IIRC. Rohit has been opening against international attacks for 6 years now and is one of the greatest LOI openers of all time. 

Just now, Global.Baba said:

That is a myth that has been busted many times. Remember his performances in swinging conditions in CT 2013 or even in ODIs in Australia in 2015 or even against a rampaging SA when other batsmen couldn’t get bat on ball.

what swinging condition ...just 5 overs when steyn was rested in that game, dhawan scored double the runs in that game then what rohit scored

Such small examples are misleading, 5 over negotiate krna is diff then 20 overs with red kookabura 

Shud i give number of xamples when he failed when ball was jagging around in odi 

2013 odi series in SA

Deepak chahar a below avg bowler made him dance last IPL

2014 NZ odi series 

How is it a myth if he fails 9 out of 10 times