Indian Air Force lay exposed

Muloghonto

This is the one major take-away we should have from this conflict. That our Air Force is a much diminished power and it URGENTLY needs an upgrade. 

Let me be the first to say, this is no knock on IAF's logistical, tactical or strategic capabilities, nor is it a knock on WC Abhinandan's ability as a pilot.

But this is 2019. A wannabe future world power SHOULD NOT BE FLYING MiG-21s in 2019. I don't care how upgraded they are. They first flew in 1956. Any plane that flew a decade before the first moon landing, has no place in a serious Air Force 50+ years after the moon landing ! 

Currently our inventory stands at: 
MiG-21 : 112

MiG-27: 44

MiG-29: 66

Tejas: 12

Mirage-2000: 41

Su-30: 242

Sepecat Jaguar: 91

Of these, Mig-21 and Mig-27 are practically useless against anyone better than Nepal or Bangladesh in air power, with the Jaguars having only very limited role of 'open field bombing of large tank formations and stuff' while being escorted by air superiority fighters.

In Montane surgical strikes/air dominance combat scenarios, our Air Force is effectively the Mig-29s, Tejas, Mirages and Sukhois - leading to 361 aircrafts.

Now i know we are getting 36 Rafales and in the next 4-5 years will get 40 Tejas. But this is not enough and especially with the delayed production of Tejas ( where HAL can only pump out like 10 per year or so) , our air force needs more teeth. 

We need more planes of the Mirage/F-16/Griffen class that are not super-heavyweight fighters like Su-30s that don't always make sense to deploy in every scenario. 

Our Air Force is by far the weakest branch of our armed forces. The fact that we still have MIG's in our arsenal is disappointing to say the least. Yesterday's events should be a reality check and i hope our Government focuses on improving our arsenal.

18 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Congress made sure that they weaken our capabilities by not buying one single plane. Jab ghoos khani hai aur janta ka paisa lootna hai to kyun defence pe spend karen

And we have chutiyas like Rahul Gandhi trying to stop the rafaele deal

15 minutes ago, KeyboardWarrior said:

somehow, this junk fighter shot down the indian jets ... :dontknow:

JF-17-45-692x360.png

Dude, give me quarter million dollars and i will be able to make a plane with my limited electronics & programming knowhow to shoot down a 1st gen jet that flew 10 years before the moon landing. 

I mean whats next ? You guys are gonna sink a WWII aircraft carrier of Thailand one day and claim how awesome your navy is for it ?!?

37 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

When this is all over, will India go along with business as usual mentality or will we urgently ramp up our acquisition of air force hardware ?

We need about 200-400 medium range jets to complement our heavyweight Sukhois for the immediate future. 

Petty corruption and politics is why we don't yet have better equipment. As for the specific incident, Pak are just lucky that he happened to fall on the other side of the LOC. We just need to release some evidence of the strike in Balkot and these Pak jokers will shut up.

16 minutes ago, Dil Dil India said:

Petty corruption and politics is why we don't yet have better equipment. As for the specific incident, Pak are just lucky that he happened to fall on the other side of the LOC. We just need to release some evidence of the strike in Balkot and these Pak jokers will shut up.

Look, my POV is simple. 

That WC Abhinandan shot down a plane that is 2-3 generations YOUNGER than his, itself proves his superior piloting skills and training. This is the equivalent of playing with a wooden racket in tennis and making it to the tie-break with someone playing with modern racket. But why the fook are we flying around in a plane that debuted in 1956 ? In war ? Sure, i mean use it for training, give it to the newbie squad or keep it just in case Bangladesh or Nepal wants our help to bomb rebels. But MiG-21 should NOT be seeing any combat in this situation and we HAVE to rectify that. 

1 minute ago, surajmal said:

OP has multiple personalities:

Stop indulging him. He needs medical help. 

Saying our law and order situation is of higher priority than our military does NOT change the fact that our Air force is overexposed, either. Need more fighter jets than a new Aircraft Carrier. because hey, we are using our A/C right now, eh ? Idiot. 

14 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Look, my POV is simple. 

That WC Abhinandan shot down a plane that is 2-3 generations YOUNGER than his, itself proves his superior piloting skills and training. This is the equivalent of playing with a wooden racket in tennis and making it to the tie-break with someone playing with modern racket. But why the fook are we flying around in a plane that debuted in 1956 ? In war ? Sure, i mean use it for training, give it to the newbie squad or keep it just in case Bangladesh or Nepal wants our help to bomb rebels. But MiG-21 should NOT be seeing any combat in this situation and we HAVE to rectify that. 

I agree. For now, we need to get evidence on the strikes out though. I want to see the smirks wiped off the disgusting Pak faces.

Just now, Dil Dil India said:

I agree. For now, we need to get evidence on the strikes out though. I want to see the smirks wiped off the disgusting Pak faces.

The only reason we dont release the OP details or any footage, is to give Pakistan plausible deniability. We do not want a total confict at this stage for multiple reasons. As such, having a limited conflict scenario requires us giving them the opportunity to save face. 

Our objective is destruction of terrorist camps and making Pakistan realize that their nuclear bluff will be called. Now if they want to pretend to be Sher-e-Islam because we suck and bombed trees and they bombed an army weapons depot in return- let them. The smirk on their faces is what helps us keep this conflict contained. 

2 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

The only reason we dont release the OP details or any footage, is to give Pakistan plausible deniability. We do not want a total confict at this stage for multiple reasons. As such, having a limited conflict scenario requires us giving them the opportunity to save face. 

Our objective is destruction of terrorist camps and making Pakistan realize that their nuclear bluff will be called. Now if they want to pretend to be Sher-e-Islam because we suck and bombed trees and they bombed an army weapons depot in return- let them. The smirk on their faces is what helps us keep this conflict contained. 

Not really; thus far, the narrative is considerably pro-Pak from what I can gauge. Many sections of our own populace are siding with the Pak narrative. If Pakistan want to escalate they will escalate anyhow, with or without proof. We need them to have egg on their faces. Our credibility on the world stage is at stake. At the very least, we need to show some of the western countries in strict confidence and have them back our view.

1 hour ago, Muloghonto said:

When this is all over, will India go along with business as usual mentality or will we urgently ramp up our acquisition of air force hardware ?

We need about 200-400 medium range jets to complement our heavyweight Sukhois for the immediate future. 

Correct. In the next 2 years, our squadron size will shrink to 26. Even though a start has been made by this govt, we need to speed up the process for acquisition. 44 is the number required by IAF in a two-front scenario. Withdrawl of MMRCA deal in 2015 for 36 Rafales has further delayed the process.

Just now, Turning_track said:

Correct. In the next 2 years, our squadron size will shrink to 26. Even though a start has been made by this govt, we need to speed up the process for acquisition. 44 is the number required by IAF in a two-front scenario. Withdrawl of MMRCA deal in 2015 for 36 Rafales has further delayed the process.

Yes. And while LCA is a great step forward and it is much required, we cannot wait on HAL and its timeline of 8-10 jets per year. That is way too slow to become the new backbone of the IAF