Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Switchblade

Ben Stokes asked umpire to overturn four overthrows in final, reveals Anderson

Recommended Posts

Quote

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/icc-world-cup-2019-ben-stokes-asked-umpire-to-over-turn-four-overthrows-in-final-reveals-anderson/story-LyO8jugQ53hawK5nMbN30N.html

 

“The etiquette in cricket is if the ball is thrown at the stumps and it hits you and goes into a gap in the field you don’t run,” Sydney Morning Herald quoted Anderson as telling BBC’s Tailenders podcast.

“But if it goes to the boundary, in the rules it’s four and you can’t do anything about it.

“I think, talking to Michael Vaughan who saw him after the game, Ben Stokes actually went to the umpires and said, ‘Can you take that four runs off. We don’t want it’.

“But it’s in the rules and that’s the way it is,” he added.

Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel has described the costly ruling in the World Cup final as a “clear mistake”.

“They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six,” Taufel told foxsports.com.au.

“It’s a clear mistake and it’s an error of judgment,” he added.

However, the ICC said the umpires took decisions on the field based on their interpretation of the rules, and the cricket body would not comment on the episode.

 

Share this post


Link to post

Eng is a confident team. The chances of them taking a struggling Boult apart were high. Stokes played those two balls for 2s because no big shot was required at the point. If big shots were required, Eng would have gone for that too

 

From a different perspective, overthrows may have helped NZ tie the game as Eng stopped looking for big shots!

Share this post


Link to post

The umpires should have at-least consulted the third umpire or taken some time to check what the applicable rules are. What if the overthrow had happened after taking 3 runs and the ball reached the boundary? Would Adharmasena have signaled 7? The guy is so incompetent!

Edited by nevada

Share this post


Link to post
13 minutes ago, nevada said:

The umpires should have at-least consulted the third umpire or taken some time to check what the applicable rules are. What if the overthrow had happened after taking 3 runs and the ball reached the boundary? Would Adharmasena have signaled 7? The guy is so incompetent!

Checking is a good practice. However, the issue is created because some people are judging this based on what Taufel said. ICC has given green light to the on-field umpire's interpretation. Practically too, the "act" of throw would start with the moment the ball left the fielder and end when the ball hits the batsman (or something to go for the overthrow). Batsmen also run "for the throw" 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
2 hours ago, Ajju said:

Even that was not 4 he could have hit 2 sixes

image.jpeg

The so called thaila has screwed his team more than any other, in fact at current stage the only thing he can teach  Stokes is his legendary lunges and tuk tuk 

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  
×
×
  • Create New...