MS Dhoni’s parents want their son to retire, says his childhood coach Keshav Banerjee

Over the last few days, there has been a lot of commotion surrounding MS Dhoni’s retirement from international cricket. The veteran, who turned 38 on July 7, recently plied his trade the World Cup, which India couldn’t win and bowed out following the semi-final defeat. The Men in Blue’s next series is versus the Windies and it’s not confirmed whether Dhoni will be a part of the fixtures or not.

It has recently been learned that the wicketkeeper may not remain an automatic choice and chief selector MSK Prasad will have a word with him on the matter. Even as Dhoni has been a recipient of extreme criticism of later, a number of eminent personalities including the likes of lyricist Javed Akhtar and singer Lata Mangeshkar, spoke in his favour. Dhoni has also been backed by skipper Virat Kohli.

Amidst all the hullaballoo regarding Dhoni’s position in the team, his parents don’t wish for their son to continue as India can’t handle the ‘big property’ anymore. Keshav Banerjee, his childhood coach from Ranchi, visited Dhoni’s family at their home on Sunday where they discussed the matter.

“Dhoni’s parents told me that the entire media is saying that he should retire, and we feel they’re right. They said we can’t handle this big property anymore,” Banerjee was quoted as saying in Sports Tak.

He asked them to hold their patience for one more year. “You’ve handled it for so long – around 10 to 12 years. You can do it another year,” he added. Banerjee also told Dhoni’s parents that the experienced campaigner should play until the 2020 edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia, which is scheduled to get underway on October 18.

Dhoni had a topsy-turvy run the World Cup 2019. He could only manage 273 runs in eight innings. He got the top score of 56* versus the Windies. In the semis against New Zealand at the Old Trafford in Manchester, he scored a half-century and kept his team alive. However, Martin Guptill pulled off a thunderous direct hit to run Dhoni out and also seal the fate of the encounter.

https://www.crictracker.com/ms-dhoni-s-parents-want-their-son-to-retire-says-veteran-childhood-coach-keshav-banerjee/

12 minutes ago, philcric said:

Yeh kya bakchodi hai yaar.

"They said we can’t handle this big property anymore”

“You’ve handled it for so long – around 10 to 12 years. You can do it another year”

:wall:

Maybe goes to say that he has been a liability for 10: years and will continue to be for another year

Only in India considerations like these will factor into retirement decisions of players, lol. He would not have lasted 5 balls had he walked in before Dinesh Karthik in the SC like he was supposed to. 

Ganguly, Dravid, Gambhir, Sehwag, and Yuvraj were discarded more easily than this when they were past it. Shameful!

Edited by Pandya_Power
2 hours ago, beetle said:

Some rumors about dhoni planning to join an army unit for 2 months during WI tour.

Why not just retire and do it for longer like he wanted to do earlier?

Another PR step?

https://m.timesofindia.com/sports/cricket/india-in-west-indies/virat-most-other-seniors-ready-for-full-windies-tour/articleshow/70268619.cms

When in need go to Indian Army for PR boost... Dhoni is learning fast from Modi... Looks like the news of him joining the BJP in future was credible...

12 hours ago, philcric said:

Yeh kya bakchodi hai yaar.

"They said we can’t handle this big property anymore”

“You’ve handled it for so long – around 10 to 12 years. You can do it another year”

:wall:

What emotional blackmailing of jantaa :cantstop:

In other words Dhoni will retire after next year's WT20.