Tripura HC bans animal sacrifice in all temples with immediate effect

Gollum

LINK

A division bench was hearing a PIL signed in 2018, seeking whether the animal sacrifice in state temples is a secular act and whether prohibiting the practice would infringe the fundamental right to follow and propagate religion. 

The Tripura High Court has banned sacrifice of animals and birds in temples with immediate effect and directed the state government to earmark land for opening shelter home for rearing livestock donated by devotees at these temples.

“No person including the state shall be allowed to sacrifice any animal or bird within the precincts of any one of the temples within the State of Tripura,” the order read.

A division bench comprising of Chief Justice Sanjay Karol and Justice Arindam Lodh was hearing a PIL, signed in 2018, seeking whether the animal sacrifice in state temples is a secular act and whether prohibiting the practice would infringe the fundamental right to follow and propagate religion.

The bench also ordered the District Magistrate and Collectors of Gomati and West Tripura to ensure implementation of the orders at Tripureshwari Temple and Chaturdas Devata Bari Temple and directed to provide soft copies of recording from CCTV cameras installed at both temples at the end of every month to concerned authorities.

The court’s direction came in response to one of the points mentioned in the petition seeking whether putting a stop to the animal sacrifice, which has been prevalent for at least 500 years in  Tripureshwari Devi Temple in Tripura’s Gomati district, can be construed as an essential and integral part of religion and if a religious practice based on ritual, custom, tenet or tradition, can be allowed to continue notwithstanding provisions of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960.

As per state provisions, one goat is sacrificed every day under patronage of the district administration at Mata Tripurasundari Devi Temple and “substantial number of animals”: are sacrificed as “bali” (offering to the Goddess) on special occasions like Diwali. Mata Tripureshwari is considered to be one of 51 Hindu ‘Shakti Peethas’ and animal sacrifice is not an essential and integral part of the Hindu religion.

The petitioner argued that slaughtering animals in the name of sacrifice to a goddess is a practice in the nature of social evil and is against the Constitutional mandate and spirit. He also reasoned that the practice is cruelty against animals.

Meanwhile, the counsel for the state said that practice of animal sacrifice is a “long accepted procedure of Hindu rituals of the Tantrik method of worship of the Dash Maha Vidya (ten forms of the Goddess of the Hindus).”

WTF, why are they interfering with centuries old Hindu traditions followed there? This doesn't make sense, people consume the meat after sacrifice, don't waste them. How many goats and chickens are slaughtered in India every minute? They don't interfere with Bakrid rituals do they? Millions of goats/bulls/sheep are slaughtered by Muslims as part of religion, Indian Christians slaughter tens of thousands of Turkeys during Christmas...Hindus sacrifice very little, why are they always the target? Yeh kya secularism chudaap hai bhai log? Pehle jallikattu, ab yeh...should Hindus stop practicing their religion in India? Should Hindu traditions be wiped out? 

Tripura HC Bans Animal Sacrifice In Hindu Temples; Refuses To Consider Bakr-Eid Argument

Animals Have 'Fundamental Right To Life': Tripura HC Bans Animal/Bird Sacrifice In Temples [Read Judgment]

Many BJP/RSS (Hindi belt upper caste, Jains, Iyengars etc) supporters who swear by vegetarianism and low IQ Hindus may like this stupid judgement but they don't understand the culture and Shaktism traditions of Eastern part of India. This is a deathblow to a centuries old practice, wonder what the wider game plan is? Do they want to push Hindus to the edge there and make them ripe for conversion? *ing shithead judges.

Sabarimala in south, Ayodhya up north, North East, govt control over temples.....trend is obvious. What next, Kamakhya or Kalighat? 

Yes....besides it doesn't matter because there is a difference between killing for food and killing to please or pleasure.

Sacrifice of all kinds are in the same category as hunting to me.

I thought animal sacrifice is consumed later as food. At least that's what happens in Telangana.

Animal sacrifice means full keech-khaat. Yummy yummy mutton dishes.

Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk

IDK I am slightly conflicted here: 

For:

1) I personally am against killing other animals for any non-essential reason

Against:

1) I  would prefer those Hindus who do animal sacrifice at temples to stop doing so of their own volition. 

2) The SC will only selectively apply this to Hindu customs/traditions. They won't apply this to the barbaric blood-bath that happens when RoP is involved.

3) The SC is once again engaging in judicial activism and seizing power from the actual democratic branches of India's government to push the agenda of NGOs and other undesirables. 

4) The Milords decided it's not an essential practice of Hinduism based off of what exactly? Hinduism has many diverse sects/paths. One wouldn't see animal sacrifice among Vaishnavas, but at, for example, Kali-mata temples around India it is not uncommon. 

5) The Milords are not Dharam-gurus who have the authority to "reform" Hindu practices; they are un-elected members of the brown-sahib class, some of the last remnants of British imperialism in India. 

BJP morons continue to disappoint and let these bastards run roughshod over the country. 

5 hours ago, beetle said:

Yes....besides it doesn't matter because there is a difference between killing for food and killing to please or pleasure.

Beetleji in some of these North East (and Bengal) temples, they sacrifice but not for pleasure or something like that. They consume the meat, part of it is donated to the homeless and beggars in temple premises, some of it to the people working there, those who offered take the rest home or a feast. Nothing goes to waste. Just that before consuming it they offer it like prasad (what you cherish you symbolically offer) to the deity, Shakti tradition spanning centuries.  

Basically this too is killing for food, just instead of butcher shop this happens in altars within temple premises. Next time you go to that part of India check for yourself. 

5 hours ago, beetle said:

Strict rules should be followed to make sure there is minimum pain and trauma to the animals used for food.

That the milords can do, why don't they?

Temple balis happen via jhatka which is single strike, instant kill. If there are less painful ways I am sure the temple authorities will accept, we are a flexible religion. Besides we have expert butchers who know their stuff, random people can't do it. Happens in some temples, number is practically nil when you see the amount of meat our country consumes.

Contrast this to Bakrid when more than a crore animals are slaughtered via halal, often by people with no expertise in butchering thereby doing a half baked job causing suffering to the animal. 

@Tibarn @Laaloo you two are veggie Gujjus, right? Rest assured this isn't non-essential. Nothing goes to waste, nothing. Even the bones, horns, hide find utility. Very very small scale...west based NGOs are instigating divisions and trouble here forgetting about the meat industry back home. We can't enforce vegetarianism on our people, besides our religion is very diverse. Why should they stop this practice on their own, something they inherited from  their forefathers. Slaughtering goats for food violates which law exactly? It is their way of showing love to the deity and an integral part of Tantric/Shakti versions of our dharma. Adi Sankara went to that part of the country (Kamarup) and tried to dissuade this practice, he failed, who the * are these judges? Kamakhya is the centre of Tantra, will these idiots come after her next, challenge her? These mofos are doing what our invaders desisted from doing, attacking a core part of our religion. Imagine the effect this will have on the psyche of Tripura's devotees, a nonsense judgement. Why can't Hindus be happy with their own version and traditions, why interfere in other sects/paths? Isn't that what our religion is about, an umbrella that creates a multitude of belief systems to co-exist? I am shocked, pained, pissed off....

For the hypocrites who want these selective bans, remember this map below (might not be totally accurate)...if you agree with fundamental right to life for animals as these judges wrote, push for an all India meat (+seafood) ban. If you can't, then shut the * up, India isn't a 'veg only' country...and oh next time ensure you don't kill mosquitoes and ants if you have so much devotion to your cause. 

Image result for india vegetarian by state

6 hours ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

Welcome to Sharia Law. Btw, yeh to trailer hai. Asli picture release honi baaki hai:

5-judge SC bench to hear Article 370 pleas from October 1

Wish we had a few other buttons apart from like, upvote, great post etc. Disgust, anger high in priority...admins make it happen :pray:.

4 hours ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

This has nothing to with milaard's concerns for animals just as Sabarimala had nothing to do with women's rights and the "green crackers" diktat on Diwali had nothing to do with the environment. This is all about the Judiciary showing the middle finger to Hindus. 

Precisely. Guess what, Hindus (civil society) have failed to unite every single time.

Sabarimala: Even BJP supported court decision initially before backlash. Apart from usual suspects sad to say many ignorant/arrogant non-Mallus (esp Northies who had never heard about Ayyappa) did chewtiyapa. First they came for____ wallah quote applicable. 

Cracker ban: Many environment activists emerging from our community. Nobody will talk about remaining 364 days, or about stubble burning in Punjab, Haryana.

Tripura animal sacrifice: Vegetarians, upper castes, Jains, Marwaris, PETA followers...PIL filed by Hindu, judges Hindu, those celebrating Hindu.

Worst miss was Jallikkattu...remember many non-Tamil Hindus supporting the court's decision and believing rumors, fake news, insulting it by calling it barbaric practice. Same assholes would sell their baap ki jagir to fly to Spain and watch their bullfights. In Spain the animals are speared to death, in TN the animal is raised and taken care of like a family member, not killed...guess which of them was called barbaric. Many prominent Muslim voices too supported the ban initially before catching the drift. Hindus (and BJP) allowed the Tamil nationalists and Dravidians to appropriate that mass movement. Jaya was dead by then I think, if she were alive things would have turned out differently. 

We are our own enemies, no wonder we saw centuries of foreign rule. Dharma should unite us, instead we have fights over language, caste, North/South, festivals, sects, cuisine yada yada. 

Sadly I doubt RSS/BJP will take much interest in this case. Tripura is a small state, RSS is pro-vegetarianism even though many of its leaders are non-veg in their private lives. Religion can go to hell, but RSS wants Hindi and vegetarianism across India. Tripura people voted BJP to power forcefully, now they might regret. I hate Mamata, but damn sure she would start a civil war if the judiciary tries such stunts in Bengal. Preserving regional culture/traditions is important, fundamental truth in such a diverse democracy. If BJP/RSS ain't willing to adapt to local needs might as well start regional versions of BJP type parties, Bengal could desperately do with one. 

@Jimmy Cliff what do you reckon? BJP will fight for its voter base in Tripura or take it lying down?

If this madness reaches Kamakhya all hell will break loose, even if BJP makes an entry there it will be too late...milords will point out the precedent already set in another BJP ruled state in the same part of India. For me this is a now or never battle. 

(1) According to my research, Jhatka is not humane way of slaughter. Both Jhatka and Halal are not humane. It should be made compulsory to use stun gun before slaughtering. And after stunning, it does not matter how you slaughter while then animal feels no pain. 

(2) I am unable to understand if the Judges were religious Vegetarians or Secular Vegetarians. 
Both of these two categories can ban the slaughter. 

Please make it clear. 

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

@Jimmy Cliff what do you reckon? BJP will fight for its voter base in Tripura or take it lying down?

The latter obviously. The greatest trick the BJP ever pulled was convincing the world that it was a pro-Hindu party. A new credible fringe has to emerge otherwise we are done for. But here we have naive Hindus celebrating these decisions :doh:.