Is Rohit Sharma the greatest 6 hitter ever to play the game.

maniac

Here is the Top 30 of all time across all formats

Just look at the 6's per innings rate :ohmy:

Also his test career is just beginning to pick up and he is rapidly climbing up the charts there as well.

Greatest power hitter to play the game and he does it with a touch of elegance without using any brute force  :hail:

Most sixes
Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s
CH Gayle (ICC/WI) 1999-2019 462 530 32 19321 333 38.79 25128 76.89 42 104 43 2312 534
Shahid Afridi (Asia/ICC/PAK) 1996-2018 524 508 40 11196 156 23.92 9809 114.14 11 51 44 1053 476
BB McCullum (NZ) 2002-2016 432 474 47 14676 302 34.37 17872 82.11 19 76 37 1552 398
RG Sharma (INDIA) 2007-2019 345 351 53 13031 264 43.72 14904 87.43 36 69 23 1172 386
MS Dhoni (Asia/INDIA) 2004-2019 538 526 142 17266 224 44.96 21834 79.07 16 108 21 1486 359
ST Jayasuriya (Asia/SL) 1989-2011 586 651 35 21032 340 34.14 25849+ 81.13* 42 103 53 2486 352
AB de Villiers (Afr/SA) 2004-2018 420 484 68 20014 278* 48.11 26787 74.71 47 109 20 2004 328
EJG Morgan (ENG/IRE) 2006-2019 330 320 49 9858 148 36.37 10707 92.07 15 59 22 825 298
MJ Guptill (NZ) 2009-2019 304 340 27 11495 237* 36.72 14858 77.36 21 66 27 1205 294
SR Tendulkar (INDIA) 1989-2013 664 782 74 34357 248* 48.52 50816+ 67.58* 100 164 34 4076+ 264
AC Gilchrist (AUS/ICC) 1996-2008 396 429 32 15461 204* 38.94 16910 91.43 33 81 33 1866 262
JH Kallis (Afr/ICC/SA) 1995-2014 519 617 97 25534 224 49.10 45346 56.30 62 149 33 2455 254
Yuvraj Singh (Asia/INDIA) 2000-2017 402 391 55 11778 169 35.05 14064 83.74 17 71 26 1245 251
LRPL Taylor (NZ) 2006-2019 412 460 75 16842 290 43.74 22774 73.95 38 86 28 1630 250
SC Ganguly (Asia/INDIA) 1992-2008 424 488 40 18575 239 41.46 29486 62.99 38 107 29 2022 247
RT Ponting (AUS/ICC) 1995-2012 560 668 70 27483 257 45.95 40130 68.48 71 146 39 2781 246
SR Watson (AUS) 2002-2016 307 334 36 10950 185* 36.74 14465 75.69 14 67 21 1168 245
V Sehwag (Asia/ICC/INDIA) 1999-2013 374 443 15 17253 319 40.31 18641 92.55 38 72 31 2408 243
CL Cairns (ICC/NZ) 1989-2006 279 299 30 8273 158 30.75 11702 70.69 9 48 16 710 240
BC Lara (ICC/WI) 1990-2007 430 521 38 22358 400* 46.28 32839 68.08 53 111 33 2594+ 221+
MN Samuels (WI) 2000-2018 345 388 43 11134 260 32.27 17068 65.23 17 64 25 1207 219
DA Warner (AUS) 2009-2019 265 331 13 13240 253 41.63 15225 86.96 38 63 16 1470 212
IVA Richards (WI) 1974-1991 308 349 36 15261 291 48.75 17064+ 78.69* 35 90 17 1552+ 210+
JC Buttler (ENG) 2011-2019 244 239 40 7072 150 35.53 7523 94.00 10 42 19 657 199
V Kohli (INDIA) 2008-2019 392 435 67 21024 254* 57.13 26409 79.60 69 98 23 2105 199
Inzamam-ul-Haq (Asia/ICC/PAK) 1991-2007 499 551 76 20580 329 43.32 32172 63.96 35 129 35 2076 193
AJ Finch (AUS) 2011-2019 176 177 9 6508 172 38.73 6783 95.94 17 35 15 644 192
Shoaib Malik (ICC/PAK) 1999-2019 433 422 76 11695 245 33.80 15178 77.05 12 59 22 1028 191
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK) 2001-2017 276 315 64 11132 161* 44.35 19386 57.42 10 84 17 898 190
KP Pietersen (ENG/ICC) 2004-2014 277 342 29 13797 227 44.07 19214 71.80 32 67 18 1531 190
1 minute ago, Audiophile said:

Before my time, when I was a kid, my Dsd used to tell me that when Salim Durrani came out to bat, the Eden Gardens crowd used to urge him to hit a six which he used to frequently oblige.

This is mentioned even in his wiki profile!!!  :lol:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salim_Durani

Wasn’t Ck Nayudu known as 6r Nayudu for the same thing. The first superstar of Indian cricket from what I heard. Andhra genes :)

5 minutes ago, maniac said:

Wasn’t Ck Nayudu known as 6r Nayudu for the same thing. The first superstar of Indian cricket from what I heard. Andhra genes :)

Do not know about CK Nayudu, but I have heard about Salim Durrani lots of time growing up. Like the hai hai Shastri chants in the 80s which I have personally witnessed, my Dad used to tell me that when Chandu Borde came out to bat, the Eden crowd would yell "Chandu Borde, tu khela chorde." :rotfl:

29 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Sorry @maniac, this is one battle Hitman can't win. I am even ready to rate him above Gayle, but King debuted in 74 and missed his peak years because of Packer...210+ out of 308 is out of the world !!!!!

210+ out of 349 innings..

386 out of 351 innings ( hitman )

9 minutes ago, velu said:

210+ out of 349 innings..

386 out of 351 innings ( hitman )

Different era, look at the size of bats (lesser weight ones have 3 times the edge thickness these days, mishits clear the ropes, top edge 6 etc)....boundaries weren't pulled in those days. Many other factors like diff in fielding restrictions, bouncer rule, red ball in ODIs, low scoring matches which made hitting 6s difficult and also unnecessary those days. Two new balls also helps modern LOI batsmen because more difficult to clear soft balls over ropes. Tell me how many names you can find from that era. 

12 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Different era, look at the size of bats (lesser weight ones have 3 times the edge thickness these days, mishits clear the ropes, top edge 6 etc)....boundaries weren't pulled in those days. Many other factors like diff in fielding restrictions, bouncer rule, red ball in ODIs, low scoring matches which made hitting 6s difficult and also unnecessary those days. Two new balls also helps modern LOI batsmen because more difficult to clear soft balls over ropes. Tell me how many names you can find from that era. 

Never seen Rohit do either of those. Cleanest hitter of the ball. I don't like romanticizing the past, Sure Viv was a trend setter but there is no guarantee that he would withstand today's generation just like there is no guarantee that Rohit would have flopped in Viv's era.

Edited by maniac
19 minutes ago, maniac said:

Never seen Rohit do either of those. Cleanest hitter of the ball. I don't like romanticizing the past, Sure Viv was a trend setter but there is no guarantee that he would withstand today's generation just like there is no guarantee that Rohit would have flopped in Viv's era.

Even I don't like to romanticize the past but when some of them stand apart from the crowd like Don in tests and Viv in ODIs, I tend to put them on a higher pedestal. Look at the list you posted, after Viv (debut in 74) you have the 90s generation of Sachin, Sanath, Lara...still King Viv's 6s/innings ratio is better than over 50% of those names, maybe much more. 

Rohit has plenty of 6s from mishits and top edges, every batsman of this generation has them in abundance. During Viv's time mishits would barely cross the inner ring of fielders. Same like tennis, today's tennis players seem to generate such easy power and top spin, ask them to do the same with the wooden racquets of Borg's generation. See that Barry Richards photo for comparison. 

Another important thing is intent, in today's era of high scores in ODIs/T20s it is imperative for the batters to proactively go for maximums, train to hit 6s.....no such compulsion in the 70s and 80s when run scoring wasn't at such a frenzied pace...in spite of that Viv set a standard which no one else could come near. 

@maniac @velu I am sure you'll agree Kapil was one of the cleanest hitters of the ball, he also came at a position in ODIs (almost always after Bewda's inevitable chudaap) where he had to play at a high tempo. Plus a ballsy batsman never afraid to clear the ropes, like his 4 consecutive 6s of Hemmings to avoid follow on.

His numbers: 61 6s out of 131 tests and 67 in 225 ODIs....128/356 

Rahane has 28 in 60 tests and 33 in 90 ODIs....61/150 , if you add T20s it favors modern era batsmen more cos in general 6s/innings in that format is high.

Hope you get the picture. 

PS: Course you have to see the number of innings but I estimate Rahane is still higher than Kapil, too lazy to calculate this late at night, check and see if you feel like.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

Even I don't like to romanticize the past but when some of them stand apart from the crowd like Don in tests and Viv in ODIs, I tend to put them on a higher pedestal. Look at the list you posted, after Viv (debut in 74) you have the 90s generation of Sachin, Sanath, Lara...still King Viv's 6s/innings ratio is better than over 50% of those names, maybe much more. 

Rohit has plenty of 6s from mishits and top edges, every batsman of this generation has them in abundance. During Viv's time mishits would barely cross the inner ring of fielders. Same like tennis, today's tennis players seem to generate such easy power and top spin, ask them to do the same with the wooden racquets of Borg's generation. See that Barry Richards photo for comparison. 

Another important thing is intent, in today's era of high scores in ODIs/T20s it is imperative for the batters to proactively go for maximums, train to hit 6s.....no such compulsion in the 70s and 80s when run scoring wasn't at such a frenzied pace...in spite of that Viv set a standard which no one else could come near. 

The thing that stands out about Viv (and lucky to have seen him live at Edens) is the non-chalant way he used to walk out sans a helmet and beat the crap out of the bowlers. Even in the 80s, when he had the chance to wear a head protection, he said nah ... not my style biatches. :giggle: True that he did not face the WI quicks (he faced some of them in county cricket; yep those were the days where playing county cricket was coveted), but he faced plenty from Lillee, Thommo, Pascoe, etc ... and some of the Pak and English quicks in the 70s and early-mid 80s were not trundlers either. Despite the lack of helmet, he did not take the hook and pull out of his artillery. The most balls I have seen in a modern day batsman.

Even a batsman like Sunny who I adored went from no helmet to a skull cap in the 80s, but he did take the hook and pull out of his repertoire in the 70s not necessarily to mitigate injury risk, but to minimize getting out (after all hook is a higher risk shot). We know now the skull cap was more to give him comfort than anything else. That sh$t would not have mattered if the ball hit the top of his skull like it happens frequently with our desi batsmen when they take the eye off the ball. The helmet is now a part and parcel of the game, but sometime it conditions the batsman not to watch the ball all the time.