Massive protests in JNU over fees hike

vayuu1

1 hour ago, Moochad said:

BJP should cut funding to arts students completely, libtards will really lose their mind then 

I am not a fan of the JNU or the culture that it perpetuates.

But cutting the already meagre funding that Arts institutes gets in the nation is not the way ahead. 

Law colleges in India get a minuscule share of the pie.

If anything it is the IITs and the NITs which get the lion's share of GoI funding and most of the students end up going to the US for their MS or to IIMS (which are also funded by the GoI). A handful are a part of any building exercise, the stated reason by Pandit Nehru for the subsidy to the IITs.

https://theprint.in/india/governance/iits-iims-nits-have-just-3-of-total-students-but-get-50-of-government-funds/89976/

If anything GoI should heavily invest in primary and secondary education and let colleges be private entities. 

14 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

But cutting the already meagre funding that Arts institutes gets in the nation is not the way ahead. 

Rain drops can make an ocean...  

The target of my post was intended to be arts, fields like Journalism and Sociology and what falls under that umbrella. These are entirely political fields which provide no relevance other than producing political activists and goons. These types of colleges should be completely private and should be payed for by private funds of their students. No government subsidies for the institutes or students. 

I don't mind fields like Psychology, Economics, Law getting some funding, they at least can provide some value, to the economy and body of knowledge.

Although I've never heard that India needs more lawyers...:phehe:

23 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

If anything it is the IITs and the NITs which get the lion's share of GoI funding and most of the students end up going to the US for their MS or to IIMS (which are also funded by the GoI). A handful are a part of any building exercise, the stated reason by Pandit Nehru for the subsidy to the IITs.

https://theprint.in/india/governance/iits-iims-nits-have-just-3-of-total-students-but-get-50-of-government-funds/89976/

They rightfully should get bulk of government funding. This bulk of funding should be extended to Science, other Tech, and Medical institutes as well. These are the drivers of the economy and innovation. 

The problem of talent going overseas is the fault of the government, including Nehru's, where we have a country with a shackled economy for decades, we still can't get out of this mess he created.

The only reason arts students don't go overseas is because they have no actual value to foreign countries to poach them in the first place. Who really needs to import someone from India to study and espouse Marxist theories in London or New York?

We have to improve India before blaming these engineers and doctors for moving to greener pastures. We can also charge them whatever fees we subsidize for their education before they can be allowed to immigrate to other countries. 

37 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

If anything GoI should heavily invest in primary and secondary education and let colleges be private entities. 

Agree, but that is a false choice...

We can cut funding from needless money to such programs and at the same time invest in early education. 

39 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

IIT provides world class education at subsidized prices.  If graduates want to run off to other countries, they should pay a fee adjustment.  Can be paid over installments, and shouldn't be too much to ask.

They were LITERALLY paying a few hundred rupees for single & double room occupancy, water-electricity charges & zero service charges while living in Delhi for years. Compare this to the IIT/IIMs where you have to pay lakhs only on tuition fees. 

Edited by Turning_track

@Moochad 

Tangential to the topic, nonetheless:

India has a huge back log of cases. HUGE. And if we can have more courts and better forensic/data gathering we can cut the backlog and average time to a verdict substantially. That has a direct impact on rise of alternates for justice. For instance, this is the precise reason why Bollywood was in cahoots with the bhais and with the Shiv Sena for the longest of time. More courts, means more judges and more lawyers. The NLUs and GLC gets nowhere close to what an IIT gets in terms of funding. Arguably, they are responsible for a larger number of nation builders.

I do not necessarily disagree with the crux of your arguement. However, Arts also includes languages, Eco and Statistics, literature etc. These need a fair share of funding too. And they struggle to get ample funding. For example the Sanskrit chair at Mumbai University gets a paltry 1.2 lakhs per annum. Or at least it did till 2016. The Marathi and Persian chair get even lesser. Nation builders are not only those who add tangible $ to the nation's bottom line. 

Also I am sorry if I come across as blaming engineers/doctors for moving out. Not my intention. I was merely stating what is. 

5 hours ago, sandeep said:

IIT provides world class education at subsidized prices.  If graduates want to run off to other countries, they should pay a fee adjustment.  Can be paid over installments, and shouldn't be too much to ask.

IITs have played a very powerful role in India's soft power image even if they did not fulfill the purpose they were set up for.

How is life at JNU?

Life at JNU depends on two things: The course you are studying in and your political aspirations.

if you are a political student (a.k.a poor in academics/ exhausted all attempts at UPSC CSE and now unable to cope with pressure of studies) then your typical day starts at around 11 am (why so late?? It will be self evident shortly) and then you visit the Centre and show your face to the Professors to whom you are politically affiliated and give them a report of all that you have done politically for the “People’s Revolution” (Left), “Desh/ Hindu Rashtra” (ABVP), “Emanicipation”(BAPSA) or “Party” (NSUI), depending on which party you support.

The Professor then tells you which classes you must attend and which of his classes you can miss. You also collect the old assignments submitted by previous years students on the topics assigned by the Professor to your class as class assignment and are repeatedly warned not to copy Verbatim but change enough so as not to make it apparent that you are copying the answers. You may get some pocket money (Rs. 50–500 depending on the magnanimity and mood of the professor) and in case you are a Research Scholar you are told who is the Senior Researcher who will be giving you “help” (an euphemism for ghost writing your thesis, while you slog politically).

You return to have lunch and meet with your other Comrades/ Hindu Bhai/ Dalit Bhai/Party Member (depending on which party you support) where you discuss strategic moves against the other parties and sort your own internal party politics over the staple Revolutionary Ganja from Munirka/Swadeshi Budha Baba somras/ Anti Savarna peanuts from Bittu Bhaiya’s shop/Gandhiji’s favourite Domino’s Pizza (depending on which party you support). Nights are spent organising, attending political meetings or long discussions on “Democratic Socialism and Revolutionary Maoism”, “Pseudo Secular Minority Appeasement”, “Savarna Discrimination and Exploitation of Dalits” or “Rahool or Preanka: who is better for Party” (depending on which party you support). You go to bed typically at 4:30 am.

Sometimes one gets to go out of town to meet the leaders (Kolkata/ Nagpur/ Lucknow/ AICC “its in Delhi but feels like home” Office (depending on which party you support). On some days the pressure is high and protest demonstrations have to be organised, buses hired, placards/mashals made and crowds accumulated. You keep a list of all the students attending your political mentor Professors classes and call them up to be sure to attend the meetings. Ask them to donate old clothes for the Putla that you will burn (Sweaters dont burn well, cotton Tshirts and Shirts burn well, So most of the enemies in Putla form have T Shirts on when consigned to the flames). But these events allow you to pinch some money on the sly by inflating the bills of purchases (3 litres petrol is enough fuel for mashaals but God knows why they want 5 litres……) for personal expenses (fair enough ….. after all the expenses of mobile phone recharges for late night coochie coo talks with the beau must also be met, isnt it?)

Life is Good for the Political students, unpredictable but never a dull moment.

:rotfl: 

https://www.quora.com/How-is-life-at-JNU

Edited by velu

19 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

hike was from 20 rs to 200 rs. for some hostel services Tax payers were paying for these hoarders. 

• Thousands of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) students clashed with police on Monday during their protest against a steep fee hike

• The rent for a single-seater room has been increased from Rs 20 per month to Rs 600 per month, while rent for a double-seater room has been increased to Rs 300 per month

:rotfl: