Unnao gang rape victim dies at Delhi’s Safdarjung hospital

beetle

Unnao gang rape victim dies at Delhi’s Safdarjung hospital

https://m.hindustantimes.com/india-news/unnao-gang-rape-victim-dies-at-delhi-s-safdarjung-hospital/story-urnlVWODzn0MafAMyMjMCM.html

Unnao rape victim who was undergoing treatment for 90 per cent burns at Delhi’s Safdarjung Hospital died around midnight on Friday, said sources at the hospital.

The 24-year-old woman was gang-raped in December last year and was assaulted on Thursday and set on fire by five men, including two accused in the gang rape case, one of whom had been released on bail less than a week ago. She was attacked in Uttar Pradesh’s Unnao when on the way to a court to appear in the hearing of the rape case she had filed.

The woman suffered 90% burns and was shifted to a government hospital in Lucknow from where she was airlifted to New Delhi Thursday evening.

Dr Shalabh Kumar who is the Head of the Department for burns and plastic at the Safdarjung Hospital told ANI that the victim suffered cardiac arrest at 10 minutes past 11 pm on Friday night and was declared dead 30 minutes later at 11:40 pm.

She suffered cardiac arrest at 11:10 pm and we tried to resuscitate her, but she could not survive and at 11:40 pm she died,” ANI quoted Kumar as saying.

The woman was on her way to the Baiswara Bihar railway station to catch an early morning train to Rae Bareli for a court hearing when she was stopped by the accused at 4.30 am, said superintendent of police, Unnao, Vikrant Veer.

In her statement given to subdivisional magistrate (SDM) Daya Shankar Pathak at the Unnao district hospital, the rape survivor said the men first hit her on the head and attacked her with a knife. As she fell, they poured petrol and set her on fire, she said in the statement.

Covered in flames, she ran for a kilometre, begging for help from the locals. Some of them informed the police. The Unnao SP said all the five men named by the victim were arrested after the incident. They include both Shivam Trivedi and Shubham Trivedi, who are accused in the 2018 gang rape case.

Where is NHRC now?

Why are no questions being asked?

Where is the judiciary ?

Why is the court quiet...is it because one of their own set the killers free?

How will women dare to report crimes against them if this happens?

People who are worried about the encounters....do you worry about how the delayed or no justice effects the victims and their families....or the society?

Does it bother you how this effects the law and order? How it emboldens the criminals?

Does it bother anyone how even reporting crime is becoming dangerous ?

Yogi govt is failing a lot, granted governing a state like UP is an arduous task but law and order has collapsed in recent times. 

Om Shanti, hope to see the monsters die very soon. The judge who gave bail should be garlanded with slippers and paraded on a donkey. Good for nothing Indian judiciary. This isn't isolated, another rapist recently out on bail murdered the victim for daring to lodge complaint. 

3 minutes ago, beetle said:

Where is NHRC now?

Why are no questions being asked?

Where is the judiciary ?

Why is the court quiet...is it because one of their own set the killers free?

How will women dare to report crimes against them if this happens?

People who are worried about the encounters....do you worry about how the delayed or no justice effects the victims and their families....or the society?

Does it bother you how this effects the law and order? How it emboldens the criminals?

Does it bother anyone how even reporting crime is becoming dangerous ?

Yes,  Every one of these bothers me to no end. 

No one is supporting the actual criminals.  But what if suspected criminals are not the actual criminals and the actual perpetrators are roaming free?  Justice must be swift and true, but it must also be meted out to the actual criminal.  Until we get all of this right (both what you are saying and what I am saying), we will not be a true civil society.  

In the US of A, 100s of innocents were put to death or are languishing in jail or have died in jail after being thrown there by a racist system.  Thanks to the work of groups like the Innocence project, some of them are exonerated.  Here is one such story   

https://deathpenaltyinfo.org/news/alabama-pardons-scottsboro-boys-former-death-row-inmates

They were convicted in 1931, died in prison and exonerated in 2013 posthumously.  

There is an entire database here:

https://www.innocenceproject.org/

12 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Yogi govt is failing a lot, granted governing a state like UP is an arduous task but law and order has collapsed in recent times. 

Om Shanti, hope to see the monsters die very soon. The judge who gave bail should be garlanded with slippers and paraded on a donkey. Good for nothing Indian judiciary. This isn't isolated, another rapist recently out on bail murdered the victim for daring to lodge complaint. 

The real monsters, of course.  Not ones who are suspected of being monsters, no?

16 minutes ago, Gollum said:

After conviction by judiciary, should be hanged, in a proper time-frame. 

https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/darryl-hunt/

In 1984, a guy named Daryl Hunt was convicted of raping and murdering a young woman.  He was thrown in prison but not sentenced to death.  In 1994 DNA evidence revealed that the perpetrator was some one else and Hunt was innocent.  In 2004, Hunt was released from prison and did some public events.  Hearing him speak provided great perspective.  In 2016, he committed suicide.  

Many many such cases.  While the emotion is understandable, putting someone to death - the absolute permanence of it - when there is even a 1% chance that they did not commit the crime is why I oppose the death penalty.  

If Hunt had been swiftly put to death, an innocent man dies, the perpetrator is still roaming free, and the victim's soul has no peace.  

Now, one may argue that it is okay if Hunt was put to death just to deter other rapists and murderers.  I simply cannot accept the unnecessary death of even one innocent person.  

Edited by ExtremeBrainfade

23 minutes ago, ExtremeBrainfade said:

https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/darryl-hunt/

In 1984, a guy named Daryl Hunt was convicted of raping and murdering a young woman.  He was thrown in prison but not sentenced to death.  In 1994 DNA evidence revealed that the perpetrator was some one else and Hunt was innocent.  In 2004, Hunt was released from prison and did some public events.  Hearing him speak provided great perspective.  In 2016, he committed suicide.  

Many many such cases.  While the emotion is understandable, putting someone to death - the absolute permanence of it - when there is even a 1% chance that they did not commit the crime is why I oppose the death penalty.  

If Hunt had been swiftly put to death, an innocent man dies, the perpetrator is still roaming free, and the victim's soul has no peace.  

Now, one may argue that it is okay if Hunt was put to death just to deter other rapists and murderers.  I simply cannot accept the unnecessary death of even one innocent person.  

Bhai, no one agrees that an innocent getting hanged as a collateral damage to instill fear among psychopaths is fine, but we must also consider that because of this messed up judiciary, rapes are a common sight in our country. While we may give our opinions, every moment suffered by victims post such sick crime is like hell for them knowing that those retards are either out on bail or being given some petty sentence.

If judiciary is all about safeguarding the rights of innocent, then what about the rights of victims, who are probably forever scarred for life?

Edited by Bhaiyya

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

I don't like Mayawati as she is an illiterate and corrupt to the core, but she deserves some credit for improving the law & order situation in U.P. during her tenure as CM. Things spiraled down in SP regime and now it is in complete shambles. 

Sad news. Hopefully, the perps will be hanged. 

I don't care if it proves as a detterent or not, some of those not deserving to live among humans will be eliminated.

Read this a few days ago and made me cry...She will live in a much better place now.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mumbai/newborn-girl-child-thrown-out-from-17th-floor-dies/articleshow/72390993.cms

https://www.indiatoday.in/crime/story/newborn-girl-thrown-from-21-storey-building-dies-1625576-2019-12-05

Angry with husband, woman flings newborn to death from 17th floor flat in Mumbai

The incident took place at a high-rise constructed under a Slum Rehabilitation Authority (SRA) scheme in Lalji Pada area.

What a world we live?  These people get a building to get off slums. 

7 hours ago, Bhaiyya said:

If judiciary is all about safeguarding the rights of innocent, then what about the rights of victims, who are probably forever scarred for life?

Do we want anyone who is blamed for committing Rape, should be sent to prison without any Bail for unlimited time?

World is not perfect. 

Some times, we have to find the balance. 

But what if any woman blames an innocent person for committing rape? Or what if Police accuses a wrong person for the crime? 

Sometimes proofs are not present there. Sometimes police shows negligence in collecting proofs. Sometimes police accuses the wrong person. Sometimes there are many other doubts. 

By allowing the police encounters, are we not giving the Police the "Licence to Kill", and no one could question the police? 

Question 1: What would you do if the proofs are not enough?

Question 2: Would you still like to kill the accused in Police encounter? 

Question 3: Or would you like to see the accused one behind the bars for long period of time/life time (without any bail), even if the proofs are not enough? 

Question 4: What if Police has accused the wrong person? How are you going to stop the Police for doing that? 

Question 5: What about the family of the accused one? If they are rich and strong, then they could hire other criminals to harass or kill the victim. Therefore, it is not necessary for the accused to be behind the bars, in order to harass/kill the victim. How to overcome this problem? 

Justice has not been served 100% even in the Western countries. But it is still close to 100%. 

While in India, police is far far away from being competent. 

There is no short cut to success, or to making world perfect through any short cuts. 

14 hours ago, Alam_dar said:

Do we want anyone who is blamed for committing Rape, should be sent to prison without any Bail for unlimited time?

World is not perfect. 

Some times, we have to find the balance. 

But what if any woman blames an innocent person for committing rape? Or what if Police accuses a wrong person for the crime? 

Sometimes proofs are not present there. Sometimes police shows negligence in collecting proofs. Sometimes police accuses the wrong person. Sometimes there are many other doubts. 

By allowing the police encounters, are we not giving the Police the "Licence to Kill", and no one could question the police? 

Question 1: What would you do if the proofs are not enough?

Question 2: Would you still like to kill the accused in Police encounter? 

Question 3: Or would you like to see the accused one behind the bars for long period of time/life time (without any bail), even if the proofs are not enough? 

Question 4: What if Police has accused the wrong person? How are you going to stop the Police for doing that? 

Question 5: What about the family of the accused one? If they are rich and strong, then they could hire other criminals to harass or kill the victim. Therefore, it is not necessary for the accused to be behind the bars, in order to harass/kill the victim. How to overcome this problem? 

Justice has not been served 100% even in the Western countries. But it is still close to 100%. 

While in India, police is far far away from being competent. 

There is no short cut to success, or to making world perfect through any short cuts. 

Never have I once mentioned an innocent to suffer for crimes he/she didn't commit nor it is 'just' for police to go on encounter spree. It is quite obvious that judiciary is, at this point, incapable of safeguarding lives of victims, hence the public outrage. 

I agree there needs to be a balance but judges shouldn't be giving bails to these sickos, who happended  to kill the poor victim. We are no experts in lawmaking but judges are and everyone must be accountable, even judges. Onus is on them to carry out justice in a manner that doesn't create more troubles for victim and their families.

The rights of rapist leechads can go to hell. 

1 hour ago, rageaddict said:

So the guys just took revenge against a woman who falsely implicated them in a rape case. Makes sense now. 

Fake rape case lodge karoge toh bail toh milegi na aur milni bhi chahiye. Ab bail milne ke baad Convicts kya karte hai yeh unpe depend karta hai aur uski saza unhe milegi. 

There is no way to avoid revenge attacks in such cases,  a convict cannot be kept behind the bar  forever to protect the safety of women who lodge false rape complaints.

Sick !

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

fake rape case, this case has more than what meets the eye.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bhaskar.com/amp/uttar-pradesh/kanpur/news/unnao-rape-victim-father-speaks-to-daink-bhaskar-ground-report-case-news-updates-126232959.html

You are choose to believe her or the beasts and their fathers who stabbed her and set her on fire alive.