Stop Comparing our youngsters to WI youngsters in terms of power game, those guys are genetically better for that role

I have been reading comments comparing our youngsters to WI youngsters in terms of power game n putting our players down. Isnt it understood those guys are genetically better to play power game . But batting isnt just about power game if it was WI wnt be a low ranking side ...surely it helps in t20 but t20s isnt the only cricket. Compare our best hitter pandya yo russell and see the genetic diff...

Just becoz our players dont have that level of power doesnt make them any less talented , find me how many countries have talent like gill . 

We have to do with watever best we have - hardik, Dube, DK, SKY are our best option for that role in our country. No point in crying that we dont have a russell ....well most countries dont have russell. We didnt stop selecting fast bowlers in 90s n 2000s coz we didnt have player who can bowl at that pace. In Past also we had only Dhoni, yuvi, kapil.....among them dhoni had his own weakness, yuvi was very poor against spin at start and yuvi is once in ages kind of player. Hitting from ball-1 isnt an easy job and u need specific players for that 

Now i read comments that pooran better then pant, pooran is yet to play test cricket and pant has 2-100s overseas....so pooran isnt better.  Before making such comparisons let these guys atleast play 50+ games to have proper data to comapre . Both have hardly played 20 games in any format. 

We shud be happy that we have destructive players like- Rahul, iyer, Pandya, pant now rather comparing ourselves to other team. Dont we feel proud of our fast bowling brigade when we our yet to find someone as quick as akthar or lee....so why comparison in batting . 

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Same ppl who cry about lack of power hitter are the one who when found someone will dismiss them in 1-2 games or ask for gracefull batting...

Then they have issue with graceful batsman not having power game

Abe chahiye kya ?? 

No one blames Iyer today. Pooran or Hetmeyer had some time today but if they had to come in with 30 from 2 overs even they might have looked ordinary.

Just now, maniac said:

This genetic argument sounds straight out of imran STD khan’s playbook.

wasnt the same thing said about India not producing fast bowlers?

and finally after how many years we are producing so many bowlers....it takes time u want result in 10 min......doesnt happen it takes years

Now finally we have few coming like Pandya, Dube, Sky surely not at level of WI but atleast a crop has started coming . It will only get better with time like our fast bowling became better time. Its about generations so it takes time....popcorn nhin hai jo 2 min men ban jayenge

Just now, SK_IH said:

Pant has been selected primarily because of his power game, so he will compared to batsmen of his ilk. Even today in later stages he hit thin air lot more than cricket ball.

so why is important that player A n B shud come good together at same time

Yuvi was far more talented then dhoni but got his act together after 5-6 years and dhoni was consistent from start. Every player is different and they have their own journey

If we are comparing lets also say this pant scored  2 -100s overseas and pooran is yet to earn a place in test squad

and finally after how many years we are producing so many bowlers....it takes time u want result in 10 min......doesnt happen it takes years

Now finally we have few coming like Pandya, Dube, Sky surely not at level of WI but atleast a crop has started coming . It will only get better with time like our fast bowling became better time. Its about generations so it takes time....popcorn nhin hai jo 2 min men ban jayenge

Yuvraj and young Dhoni weren’t they power hitters? Even guys like Harbhajan could give it a huge whack lower order. Uthappa,DK all could hit from ball 1. They all were proper bats and were not that different from Hetmeyer or Pooran in terms of talent when they broke through. We need to identify proper players and back them rather than getting specialist hacks.

Iyer isn’t any less talented than Pooran

so why is important that player A n B shud come good together at same time

Yuvi was far more talented then dhoni but got his act together after 5-6 years and dhoni was consistent from start. Every player is different and they have their own journey

If we are comparing lets also say this pant scored  2 -100s overseas and pooran is yet to earn a place in test squad

This is not about journey of a player or his career. Power hitting and range of strokes is the point here. Pant looks quite far behind in that comparison. 

Pant should be a certainty in T20 side but he needs to do a lot more. May be a higher number but everyone wants to bat at the top.

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Yuvraj and young Dhoni weren’t they power hitters?

Dhoni came in as a power hitter 

Even guys like Harbhajan could give it a huge whack lower order.

Lappebaazi to shami bhi kar leta hai

Uthappa,DK all could hit from ball 1.

yes they cud but even DK didnt become a finisher for years . uthappa cud have played as power hitter but we had raina at that time and scores werent about 350 then so his cheeky shots worked. 

They all were proper bats and were not that different from Hetmeyer or Pooran in terms of talent when they broke through. We need to identify proper players and back them rather than getting specialist hacks.

Iyer isn’t any less talented than Pooran

hetymer n pooran bats at 6 n 7.....no na its pollard n russell who do that

Hitting when u have time n hitting when u have no time is a diff ball game 

ur yet to even come close to the understanding that batting at 4 is diff to batting at 6,7

2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

This is not about journey of a player or his career. Power hitting and range of strokes is the point here. Pant looks quite far behind in that comparison. 

Coz pant looses his timing while using power 

pooran times a lot of shots and he like many WI batsman have natural brutual power 

another diff is pant is insecure to guys like pooran or heytmer. Check heytmer form in last one year he has been so garbage yet his tea has backed him. Huge diff is a settled mindset. Same pant in IPL dominates every batsman 

Plus their top 3 dont take as much time as ours....our top 3 leaves so less balls for 4 n 5 that they have to slog rather having time to get in

2 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

Pant should be a certainty in T20 side but he needs to do a lot more. May be a higher number but everyone wants to bat at the top.

yes he has to and with time he ll ....he is 21 and its been 2 yrs for him international . Someone like yuvraj took 5-6 yrs

5 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

And Russell isn't even playing. Neither is Gayle. It's unfair to compare power hitting of this WI team with ours without those two in this series. Still WI seem to have better power hitters.

Even pandya isnt playing 

but even if they are not guys like simmons, pollard have more power strength

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

They don’t have a coach and captain castigating them for aggressive shots if they get out. Or a bunch of seniors who are not willing to rest to give them opportunities.

Another diff....look how our tm has criticised pant. We hve dropped him n rahul in a format where they were doing well

Look how hetymer has been persisted despite being so shitty for a long time.