Pant's keeping was good!

zen

Pant's keeping was good. I do not think Ind missed Saha the keeper. 

As for batting, would have liked to see Pant at #4 or 5, sandwiched b/w experienced players, he can play his natural game more effectively, while the pressure can be soaked up by the experienced batsmen. At 89/6 kind of situation, he is under a lot of pressure. Saha, the batsman, is unlikely to have made any meaningful difference with the bat except in the la-la land. 

Ind also missed a trick by not playing Pant in the LOIs esp.  ODIs. That would have helped him to prep even better for the series. 

I hope that Pant continues to improve his overall game so a "peak" Pant can potentially become a game-changer. 

Saha would have ensured Blundell's dismissal when they were 20 odd in 4th innings. Maybe a tiny window of opportunity. And with him behind the stumps, more balls would have carried to the cordon. Clearly RP is no slouch like Parthiv, maybe even comparable to young Dhoni (better against quicks, worse against spinners, both inconsistent and with poor footwork) but Saha is Saha. Unfair to compare these guys with probably the last pure keeper in world cricket. 

23 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

You sat him out whole home season and then suddenly expect miracles overseas. Kohli ki chutiapanti ka koi ant nahi hai. Jab pant ko overseas khilana tha to home test Kyu nahi khilaye. Sala chutiya Kohli.

Lol leave home tests should have atleast played him in t20 and odi series. Kohli says odis are less relevant this year then why not try pant when you know he is gonna play test cricket.

1 hour ago, NameGoesHere said:

It was Pant's batting we wanted, he was there because of his batting and NO other reason. 

If  'decent or even good keeping' is the criteria, then he loses out.

How does he lose out as his keeping had been good throughout and he had made mistakes only after being put under stupid pressure? And when even legends fails on the pitch why would you expect from a 21 year old?

1 hour ago, New guy said:

How does he lose out as his keeping had been good throughout and he had made mistakes only after being put under stupid pressure? And when even legends fails on the pitch why would you expect from a 21 year old?

sachin bashed padosi great bowlers at 16/17 :bike:

Pant is now f***d in the head-  he needs atleast 1 full season of FC cricket to work on his game away from the limelight. Exposing him to toxic Kohli-Shastri regime should be treated as a human rights violation. 

Just play Saha or any other domestic keeper till the time Kohli is at helm. Likewise, keep Kuldeep away from these maniacs. Let the young guys just play FC consistently where they can regain their confidence and rhythm that Koach has totally destroyed.

15 hours ago, Gollum said:

Saha would have ensured Blundell's dismissal when they were 20 odd in 4th innings. Maybe a tiny window of opportunity. And with him behind the stumps, more balls would have carried to the cordon. Clearly RP is no slouch like Parthiv, maybe even comparable to young Dhoni (better against quicks, worse against spinners, both inconsistent and with poor footwork) but Saha is Saha. Unfair to compare these guys with probably the last pure keeper in world cricket. 

And you had a problem with me calling out Saha dropping similar half chances because it did not suit your agenda!

End of the day, Saha missed another Test series in SENA (and before that in WI), was considered not good enough vs a guy whom the coach called out as a poor keeper.

Saha ended up playing just 1 out of the 17 tests we played in SENA+WI in last 2 years whereas Pant stepped in for 11 of these 17 tests

Dhoni 38 (could be 40+) .... retired from tests in 2014 but at times gets dragged into conversation as if he is in contention (this is history period) 

Saha 35 .... about to be phased out 

Pant 22 .... needs to be groomed 

Saha had at least 10 years time over Pant to improve his keeping (and batting) but Pant is almost matching him in a few tests. In a few years, Pant could march ahead as a keeper to benefit Ind further. In batting, Pant is already ahead! 

Team Ind should feel good to have the opportunity to groom talented cricketers such as Pant

9 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

And you had a problem with me calling out Saha dropping similar half chances because it did not suit your agenda!

You gave examples of ball going to 2nd slip and all. Only person with an agenda is you, stop deluding yourself, will take 2 minutes to check the relevant videos. 

End of the day, Saha missed another Test series in SENA (and before that in WI), was considered not good enough vs a guy whom the coach called out as a poor keeper.

Saha ended up playing just 1 out of the 17 tests we played in SENA+WI in last 2 years whereas Pant stepped in for 11 of these 17 tests

Why include WI? In 2016 Saha actually scored a 100 against WI rescuing us from 120/5....something Pant hasn't managed till now. Apart from being a mediocre keeper Pant has scored just soft runs after match/series already decided...talented yes, but still a work in progress. Saha was injured in 2017-18, thanks to NCA misdiagnosis he couldn't recover in time. Why are you including that period? 

Pant fanboys should have higher standards for him, and desist from making excuses all the time. 13 tests, 16 ODIs, 27 T20s at the age of 22.....not like the golden boy hasn't been given chances. 

PS- Not a Pant hater, in fact if you check my posting history I have consistently supported his inclusion in all formats since 2017. But not going to put him on a pedestal. 35.5 yo Saha's career is definitely over, no need to keep bringing him up in conversation. My last post on this thread, good day to you Sir.