Rules and regulations that would like to see implimented/discarded...

I think a pet peev of mine is the system of overstepping... being a fast bowler, no balls were my nemesis since i had a long run up (not because i am a freakin airplane screaming down a runway to lift off, but simply because i started playing cricket as a means to stay fit inbetween soccer seasons) and i saw a number of brilliant caught behinds or bowled decisions turned down because of the overstepping rule. i feel that the rule is very totalitarian... if just half an inch of your boot lands on the line, youre safe, but half an inch further down, you conceed a run, and must bowl a freebie... maybe a system of warnings for overstepping just like running down the middle of the pitch or full length balls above the waist height. another rule i would like ammended is leg byes... already they are not granted for intentional padding, but when the batsman is a git for not making contact with the ball, being struck on his pads, he has no right to sneak a run or two... and another rule that i would like to see in test matches where the pitch conditions can overwhelmingly favor the bowlers, ever 60 overs, the batting side should be permitted to request a new ball (the fielding side has the luxury every 80 overs, but on a dust bowl, lasting 60 overs against a battery of spinners deserves some reward...). this i feel would be an interesting regulation if introduced. one might argue that a batting side would not request a new ball if the fast bowlers are doing well, but as we all know, the threat for a team on a day 3 to day 5 pitch are spinners as a fast track only slows down, whereas a slow track further disintigrates into batting hell. hence, the batting side might only request a new ball if they are suffering at the hands of the spinners, but then would have to contend with the fast bowlers using a new ball rather prematurely. moreover, this would discourage teams from packing their sides with spinners or