Delhi Daredevils

Feed

Daredevils prefer Sangwan over Kohli All IPL franchisees have to announce their final squad by March 18, and it's expected that squads will comprise 20-22 players, reports Anand Vasu. More... Daredevils prefer Sangwan over Kohli Anand Vasu, Hindustan Times New Delhi, March 12, 2008 First Published: 02:11 IST(12/3/2008) Last Updated: 02:14 IST(12/3/2008) The Delhi Daredevils had a choice between Virat Kohli and Pradeep Sangwan, having earned the privilege of getting first pick in the draft for under-19 cricketers through a draw of lots, and chose to strengthen their bowling, and picked the left-arm seamer over India's under-19 captain. "In the first round of auctions we landed up with most of the guys we wanted. This time around we were able to pick up Pradeep Sangwan. It's been very good for us, but our squad isn't quite complete yet," Yogesh Shetty, CEO of the GMR Daredevils told the Hindustan Times. All IPL franchisees have to announce their final squad by March 18, and it's expected that squads will comprise 20-22 players. Initially, it was believed that all players under the age of 22 would be available first to their catchment areas. However, with India's under-19 squad not having equal representation from different catchment areas, the IPL decided to have a draft system in order to ensure an even spread of young players. However, the earlier framework of having two under-22 players and two players from the catchment area still holds, and this means that teams could still be on the look out for young players from their area if this criteria has not been met. For Shetty, though, the end of the second auction meant a chance to roll up his sleeves and get to work with the business end of things. "It's time for all of us to build teams and start focussing on the game," he said. "We've had limited time to get this going, and there have been sleepless nights along the way. But the whole point for us is to see how we can take this beyond just the 44 days of this tournament. "I'm very adamant about one thing. We have to build a community of fans and for that we can't be presumptuous. How do we know who a real fan is? How do we know which fan is the kind that will identify with the team and not with a particular individual?" asked Shetty. "In this situation we can't tell people what to do. We're going to them and asking them how they would like to have fun, whether it is through clinics, cheerleaders, fan clubs or whatever it is." Shetty currently operates from a plush office in the heart of Delhi but he's already asked for a cabin at the Kotla. He's given up a successful career in London to be with the Daredevils, and speaks with genuine passion about what he plans to do. "I'll rate our efforts a success if we can get fans to buy season tickets to next year two months in advance," he said. "If 30% of our loyal and passionate fans come back next year, and we're able to take care of them, and someone tells me that they like watching cricket at the Kotla, even if it may be smaller or more chaotic than other grounds, then I'll think we've succeeded."

Ashish Nehra, the left-arm fast bowler, has signed up with the Indian Premier League's Mumbai franchise. More... Indian Premier League Mishra for Delhi Cricinfo staff March 14, 2008 Meanwhile, the Delhi Daredevils have signed a second specialist spinner, after Daniel Vettori, in Amit Mishra, the Haryana legspinner. Mishra was one of the leading wicket-takers in the Ranji Trophy one-dayers, with 11 wickets from five games at 17.45. Mishra, who played three ODIs for India in 2003, was also Haryana's leading wicket-taker in the Ranji Trophy Plate League, with 27 scalps at 15.29 in five matches. New Zealand's tour of England will result in Vettori missing most of the Delhi Daredevils matches, so Mishra will be a specialist spin option for Delhi.
Wonder how will Mishra do in T20! In the small grounds of India, he can be cannon fodder for the batsmen!!

Delhi IPL team well balanced: Sehwag Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag on Saturday insisted that his team has a good balance even though they could afford the Australian tour hero Ishant Sharma because of his "high price". Sehwag said the gangling fast bowler was among the players he listed but decided not to bid for him because the franchisee would not have got other top players the team wanted. More... Delhi IPL team well balanced: Sehwag March 15, 2008 17:31 IST Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag [images] on Saturday insisted that his team has a good balance even though they could afford Australian tour hero Ishant Sharma because of his "high price". Sehwag said the gangling fast bowler was among the players he listed but decided not to bid for him because the franchisee would not have got other top players the team wanted. "We wanted Ishant but the team budget forced us to decide against going for him. His bid price had soared up. We have to spend a lot more on the icon player [sehwag himself] and had we bid for him and we would not have got some other big stars," Sehwag said. "I would not call it [not getting Ishant] a loss but it would have been great if he was in our team. I am happy that he was taken by Kolkata on a big sum," the dashing batsman said at a press conference to announce Hero Honda as official partner and sponsor. Kingfisher will be the associate sponsor and sports shoes major Adidas the apparel sponsor. Delhi Daredevils also approached local player left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra who was acquired by Sachin Tendulkar's [images] Mumbai Indians. "We approached him but I think he was offered more money by the Mumbai team than we had offered to him." Sehwag shot down suggestions that Delhi Daredevils is comparatively a weak team than others. "Our team combination is good, it is a balance side. We have very good batsmen, brilliant bowlers and excellent all-rounders. It is young side. Leaving a few, most of the players are young and I think we have the best fielding side of all the IPL teams," he said. Sehwag also revealed that he himself was keen to lead the Delhi team. "I grew up here and wanted to play for Delhi and not for any other team. Had I not been made the icon player I could have been landed up in any other team. So I had asked the owner to make the arrangements," said the 29-year-old batsman. The team has eight international stars -- Glenn McGrath, Daniel Vettori [images], Shoaib Malik [images], AB de Villiers, Mohammad Asif [images], Farvez Maharoof, Tillekaratne Dilshan and Brett Geeves -- but Sehwag said he is confident that the team members will gel well and he would be able to handle them well. "We did not want any superstars in the team. We have quite a few youngsters from the domestic cricket. I am happy that we gave chance to these youngsters and at the same time I will be leading players most of whom I know and played along or against. "I am a professional and have played international cricket for some years. A captain takes decision on the field and players have to go by it," he said when asked how he would deal international stars like New Zealand [images] captain Daniel Vettori and Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik. Sehwag said he will open the innings notwithstanding his poor show in the tri-series in Australia where he scored just 81 in five innings. The players who were introduced on Saturday included Gautam Gambhir [images], Dinesh Karthik [images], Manoj Tiwary, Shikhar Dhawan, Mithun Manhas, Rajat Bhatia, Pradeep Sangwan, Mayank Tehlan, Yo Mahesh and Amit Mishra. Delhi Dare Devils play their first game against Rajasthan Royals on April 19 at the Ferozeshah Kotla ground.

Baaki sab theek hai lekin whats with the road-chaap tukbandi at the homepage? Todenge phodenge match ke baad dost banaayenege lol. Jehan itna lakh crore kharcha kiya website par(not to mention the team) to kam se kam slogan to changa rekhna tha na Paaji!!

WOH TOH hai. lagta hai Dilli waalein kuch jaada he aggressive ho gaye hai isliye bhool gaye hai koi dhang ka slogan chun-naa

I suppose since investors are behind the teams, they are putting up separate websites
Yes. You can see how they would try to make money not only from selling tickets, ads etc but also merchandising. This effectively takes BCCI out of the equation(though they have already received a chunk of money) and will make mullah for the investors. Just goes on to show much how much money is there in Indian cricket.

True, they would benefit by adding an e-store on their websites. Quite a few people may purchase the jerseys. Its all about marketing

Illuminated Ferozeshah Kotla 11bon0g.jpg The newly illuminated Ferozeshah Kotla makes for a pretty sight in the Capital on Friday. The project which was supposed to be completed in 45 days was instead finished in 34 days. The ground will host its first match under lights on April 15 :hatsoff:

I went to see that game too but day 1 I was there for Aus-Ind test (day 1 ) and saw Mongia hit Aussies to every part of the ground :dance:
O THAT ONE OFF TEST IN 1996? I WAS THERE THAT TIME TOo.. he made 150 odd.. got a great standing ovation when he got out. he won't forget that through out his life..