What BCCI can do?

Obviously BCCI and local boards to be blamed for not bringing in enough talent to the international level. It is also because of lack of opportunities. Young talent is not getting enough of exposure to the competitive level. They will get enough games this way even before they are considered for selection. Our Ranji and other domestic system is not working. We should reduce Ranji/Deodhar and all that crap and start new domestic cricket system for national selection. How about this. 1. BCCI forms 3 clubs 2. Appoint talented former players as coaches and head for these clubs 3. Appoint two members selection for each club. 4. Let these clubs offer money to appoint players to play for them 5. Players can opt to play for the club. 5. Allow them to bring in teams from other countries like BD, PK, SL, Ir, Zim to participate or even individual players to join whatever club. 6. Give them the First class cricket recognition. 7. Play a competitive turney every year. 8. Prepare new 2-3 pitches to match international level. 9. Reduce the # of international games we play. 10. Select the fittest and best 15 from this system. 11. Select players, coaches, Selectors from this system only for national level. 12. No one gets into national team, selection panel, coaching w/o getting through this system. It will serve two purposes. First that young lads get to play competitive cricket along side with international players and those who are dropped from the team get to play some good cricket to get back in the team. Please bring in your recipes to improve our domestic structure.

Re: What BCCI can do?

Obviously BCCI and local boards to be blamed for not bringing in enough talent to the international level. It is also because of lack of opportunities. Young talent is not getting enough of exposure to the competitive level. They will get enough games this way even before they are considered for selection. Our Ranji and other domestic system is not working. We should reduce Ranji/Deodhar and all that crap and start new domestic cricket system for national selection. How about this. 1. BCCI forms 3 clubs 2. Appoint talented former players as coaches and head for these clubs 3. Appoint two members selection for each club. 4. Let these clubs offer money to appoint players to play for them 5. Players can opt to play for the club. 5. Allow them to bring in teams from other countries like BD, PK, SL, Ir, Zim to participate or even individual players to join whatever club. 6. Give them the First class cricket recognition. 7. Play a competitive turney every year. 8. Prepare new 2-3 pitches to match international level. 9. Reduce the # of international games we play. 10. Select the fittest and best 15 from this system. 11. Select players, coaches, Selectors from this system only for national level. 12. No one gets into national team, selection panel, coaching w/o getting through this system. It will serve two purposes. First that young lads get to play competitive cricket along side with international players and those who are dropped from the team get to play some good cricket to get back in the team. Please bring in your recipes to improve our domestic structure.
Won't happen EVER!! Remember that BCCI members are chosen through states. It is a democratic structure and is as corrupt as our political structure.

Remember that BCCI members are chosen through states. It is a democratic structure and is as corrupt as our political structure.
It is not even that.... How can you explain 3 Votes from just one state Gujarat ?
:shrug: :shrug: No future for Indian cricket. We weren't as bad when Sachin was in his prime in early 90s. Just for the lack of new tallent and good pitches that we could never grow beyond what we were in the past decade.

It goes like this. The base of Indian cricket is the first-class game. The Australian school (to which Chappell and Dravid belong) argues that there are too many first class teams. These make the Ranji Trophy unwieldy and the huge difference in the level of cricket played by, say, Mumbai and Jharkhand, makes the first class game uncompetitive. Indian cricket at the very top can only improve when this system is reformed and a premier league created that will feature a maximum of six or seven teams following the Australian model. In addition Indian cricket needs paid selectors unconnected with the politics of zonal cricket, professional managers, and curators who can produce the pitches that India encounters overseas.
I guess I was trying to say the same thing. I noticed something in today's CI article. here is the link. Many points coming from what I have mentionedd above. http://blogs.cricinfo.com/meninwhite/archives/2007/03/greg_chappell_and_the_long_run.php#more

Re: What BCCI can do? If BCCI is a private entity, why don't they hire some bright individuals from IIMs, pay them hefty, and let them run the business? These old snots of BCCI should go now. Vengsarkar is a joker, and he is the chief selector. Give me a break.

It goes like this. The base of Indian cricket is the first-class game. The Australian school (to which Chappell and Dravid belong) argues that there are too many first class teams. These make the Ranji Trophy unwieldy and the huge difference in the level of cricket played by' date=' say, Mumbai and Jharkhand, makes the first class game uncompetitive. Indian cricket at the very top can only improve when this system is reformed and a premier league created that will feature a maximum of six or seven teams following the Australian model. In addition Indian cricket needs paid selectors unconnected with the politics of zonal cricket, professional managers, and curators who can produce the pitches that India encounters overseas. [/quote'] I guess I was trying to say the same thing. I noticed something in today's CI article. here is the link. Many points coming from what I have mentionedd above. http://blogs.cricinfo.com/meninwhite/archives/2007/03/greg_chappell_and_the_long_run.php#more
This is a dream .The damn BCCI will never do this

Re: What BCCI can do? It'll never happen in India. Thats why I had suggested much before that let Duleep trophy be our premier tournament played on a round-robin basis with 5 zones and the 6th team being NCA team. And we should leave Ranji trophy to the zonal level as we do in the one-dayers. That can solve many problems, but it won't happen either.

Re: What BCCI can do? saala ... crores of rupees is sitting in BCCI's belly.... paisa saed raha hai... aur yeh #@$@ kuch nahi karengey... again same old life. Again another brilliant cricketer will be born and will be lost amonst these losers... In the whole history of 60-70 years of cricket, especially in last 2 decades, I have been seeing 1-2 members in the team just like paraste.. We cant drop anyone. I seriously think we should always sit 2 seniors in all the games from here on. In the slow and steady games, we should play Saurav, Dravid and fast games we should play Sehwag and SRT. ODI captain should be some1 else. We lose the games anyway. So does a captain make any difference. Make anyone but these seniors.

Re: What BCCI can do? 1. Invest more in grassroots of the game, make more facilities available to budding players. This will help in identifying upcoming talent. 2. Increase salaries of domestic players, make domestic cricket an attractive alternate career. 3. Follow the domestic model employed in Australia (can go wrong with them).

Re: What BCCI can do? It is nothing to do with lack of talent. Lack of proper infrastructure at grass root level yes but not due to lack of talent. Despite the issues listed with regards to infrastructue Indian players that come through the ranks are not as bad as they are made out to be. This is the same system that churned out batters like Rahul Dravid, Tendulkar, Ganguly, Sehwag, Azhar and the likes. There still are lot of good players going around but the good old seniors are simply not letting the young ones in by holding on to their places in ODI. Take for instance NZ, you can't pick one player and say he is the star material (barring Bondy) but they still are a good enough international team. There is not so much talent going around in the domestic cricket in NZ but still every time they take the field they are a threat to the opponent. As for Aussies, they dumped both Mark Waugh and Steve Waugh after one bad VB series. It is not like they would not have scored few more hundreds but their time of producing consistent ODI runs was over. They did the right thing in promoting their youngsters in place of Waugh brothers. No way were the new ones even comparable to the Waugh twins but in about a year or two the winning culture rubbed off on the new ones and now they are match winners too. As for test cricket, India still is a formidable force. They have good experienced batters and the likes of Rahul Dravid, Tendulkar are good for few more years of test cricket. These oldies should be dumped from the ODI team. There are no second thoughts about it. If you want to persist, you persist with the young ones and not the old ones. Let Ganguly, Laxman, Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid play test cricket for the next couple of years. Keep them away from ODI side, it is not for them anymore. Pick the best players from the domestic sides for ODI side, name a fairly experienced player like Yuvraj Singh or someone as captain. The team will take care of the results by itself.