BCCI takes one step forward and one backward

BCCI acts tough, scraps players? contract system Mumbai, April 07: Taking a tough stand in the wake of India`s World Cup debacle, the cricket board on Saturday scrapped the players` contract system and reverted to payment of match fees, including bonus for every series win. It decided to cut down the players` one-day fees from Rs 1.6 lakh to Rs 1 lakh each and give bonus of Rs 3 lakh each for winning a series, BCCI sources said. The BCCI working committee, which met at the Wankhede Stadium here, said players` endorsements contracts would be restricted to three per cricketer at a time. The board decided to abolish the zonal selection system within a year. A proposal in this regard would be made in the next working committee meeting, which would be ratified by the annual general meeting of the board. The sources said the working committee decided that BCCI would appoint two media managers and the board president Sharad Pawar would meet Essel Group chairman Subhash Chandra to discuss the proposed Indian Cricket League. Sources also said that the committee has authorized Pawar to decided on the bowling and fielding coaches for the team for which the names of former Indian cricketers Venkatesh Prasad and Rohin Singh, respectively, were making rounds. Meanwhile, Ravi Shastri has been appointed as the interim manager cum coach for the Bangladesh series. The decision on whether Greg Chappell continues to stay in India by being involved in the game here would be known in a month`s time as he has been given 30 days to decide on continuing his association with Indian cricket as a consultant or director of the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. Chappell, who decided not to extend his contract as coach of the Indian cricket team following the World Cup debacle, was given the offer by Board President Sharad Pawar to remain involved with Indian cricket, according to BCCI sources. It was also decided that the issue of whether to continue with Rahul Dravid or appoint a new captain in the aftermath of the World Cup disaster would be dealt by the selection committee, the sources said. Highlights *BCCI scraps players` contract system *BCCI to revert back to match fees payment system with bonus for each series win. Match appearance fee of Rs 1.0 lakhs for ODIs and Rs 2.25 lakhs for Tests. Incentive of Rs 3 lakh for winning a series. *BCCI to do away with zonal representation in National Selection Committee *BCCI to appoint two media managers *Players are allowed maximum of 3 endorsements, the endorsement has to be ratified by the BCCI *Players cannot appear for shooting for any commercial 15 days prior to a match.

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward The decision to do away with the zonal system in selection is the welcome one because it'd reduce the zonal pressures to include a player even if he is not very worthy. And paid selectors will have to be accountable too. But then you remove the players contract in one go too? This is absolutely ridiculous. So the players do not have any safety net if they get injured or so on. Why would a player like to dive in such unfavourable condition and risk himself getting injured? Why would a bowler like Kumble bowl 30 overs in a day tirelessly and risk their shoulder getting operated upon? Why would a pace bowler try to bowl as fast as he can risking a hamstring or any such injury? And if the players are not under BCCI contract, does it have a right of limiting a player's endorsements or his earning rights? Not all players were getting endorsements and hence players like Munaf will be hit hard. This has been the worst decision of BCCI, a kneejerk one because the foolish media was singing that players do too many endorsements. I wonder how a carrot of 3 lakh will motivate a player to win the series!

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward I think it is wrong to cut down payments to the players in the first instance. Firstly I don't reckon the match fees holds much importance considering the players make money outside the match fees more than what they make by paying. Secondly they series yardstick is a bit misplaced. A VB series that includes about 12 ODIs in all could be the same as 3 ODIs against Bangladesh. Obviously it is not going to improve players effort in long series and it is possible the players may pick and choose the games they will play. As for restricting a player to only a set number of endorsements, it sounds a bit unlawful. A while ago I remember BCCI make a rucus about ICC's bar on players endorsing other products during the WC 2003. Now they are toeing that line themselves. I can't see them able to restrict the number of endorsements and no way will a player accept that. Get ready for a player/board stand off shortly if this happens. Two media managers??? For what reason? Isn't one good enough :chin: It's good they are going to abolish the zonal selection. Good to see they are going to be hiring a bowling coach and a specialist fielding coach. We will definitely be able to see improvements in the standard of fielding surely. The fielding coach can pay individual attention to some of the players that aren't good enough fielders. This is a good way ahead for Indian cricket.

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward Dravid will work alongside a temporary coaching team of Ravi Shastri, Venkatesh Prasad and Robin Singh in Bangladesh. And the board has recommended to the national selectors that they pick a "young team" for the tour, which features three one-dayers and two Test matches. "We have not suggested any names, we have only given direction," Srinivasan said. There had been speculation that Sachin Tendulkar might be offered the captaincy following India's poor showing in the Caribbean, where they lost to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. But Dravid has been given the chance to improve an overall record of 33 wins out of 65 limited overs internationals and eight out of 20 Test matches. The board has also decided to put a ceiling on lucrative player endorsement contracts. "A player will endorse not more than three sponsors/products and no sponsor can contract more than two players," Srinivasan added. "The players shall take prior approval of the board before signing any endorsement contract and will submit a copy of the agreement to the board."

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward

"A player will endorse not more than three sponsors/products and no sponsor can contract more than two players' date='" Srinivasan added. [/quote'] 3 sponsors/player seems too limiting.
Why limiting ? They can make enuff money even with such limits inplace. This is the best way to get our prima donnas to focus on the game that helped them earn their stardom. Too much money too quickly, only adds to their complacency & our players quickly reach their "use-by" date. Welcome move!

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward I don't this is perfect, but I must say I am quite impressed. For all teh crap that the BCCI has copped for years now, mainly because they are the richest organization in cricket...I feel they have really dealt with this situation maturely. I think maintaining Dravid for captain was a tough, and righteous decision. Dravid may not be a brilliant, inspirational leader but I do believe he is a solid tactician and an unflappable presence which is neccessary during a re-building period. The BCCI truly illustrated their maturity when it came to keeping Chappell involved with Indian cricket through the NCA...I think that's a smart move, I don't feel Chappell had the political acumen to really run the show but he may be a very valuable resource especially for up-and-coming players. I think the 2 week rule for shooting ads is very good, I am also not certain of the legality of it, so lets see how the players react and i'm not crazy about the concept that only 2 players can endorse 1 product...I really don't see the big deal in that, but again i do very much like the 2 week rule. I think getting rid of the zonal selection is BRILLIANT! Maybe failing in the WC is the best thing to happen to Indian cricket...seriously guys, look at hte sweeping changes...this is really, really good although i'm not crazy about the "status of a player" being a factor in choosing a selector -- just because you were a good player doesn't mean you can pick good talent. Just look at Jordan picking Kwame Brown as the first pick....uhh NOT SO GOOD! I'm liking this trio of coaches...we really need to bolster our fielding and robin singh is perhaps one of the only deccent fielders we had from the generation of yesteryear. I've met prasad and spoken to him about india's bowling and he really does know what he's talking about, he wasn't gifted with tremendous pace but built an arsenal of deliveries for success this can be very useful for our boys. And Shastri, well i don't know yet how he will be but he does have a lot of fire in him and is a sensible guy. So that looks good. The creation of sporting pitches is something experts have been clamouring for, for eons so that's looking good and furthermore the declaration that state associations need at least one talent-grooming academy. We need to nurture our talent...out of a billion people I think we can bloody find 11 to play our great game!

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward Cricajar, No words about players' contracts being abolished? Haven't we gone 10 years back here? And this is called performance based payment? What payment? Just one lakh for sweating out in an ODI without having any safety net of a central contract??? What is this?

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward this dosent make sense.. pardon my ignorance if i am talking crap lets say SRT endorses reliance group of industries.. with that, he can endorse reliance mobiles, reliance petroleum, reliance insurance, reliance this reliance that.. etc etc is that possible?

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward Just out of curiosity, who covers the medical expenses if a player injures himself during a game/training? Is there a work place compensation kinda system? Also, is there some kinda disability pay for the recovery period? :chin:

Just out of curiosity' date=' who covers the medical expenses if a player injures himself during a game/training? Is there a work place compensation kinda system? Also, is there some kinda disability pay for the recovery period? :chin:[/quote'] Till now it was covered by BCCI. Two of Sachin's operations were done under the expense of BCCI and India physio and BCCI doctor Anant Joshi closely monitored his rehabilitation. Munaf's injury was also under BCCI's expense. Since they were under the central contract, they got the money which is given annually. But now that there is no central contract, players cannot be controlled by BCCI outside their match playing days. I wonder how they thought they can censure the endorsement of players!!!

"A player will endorse not more than three sponsors/products and no sponsor can contract more than two players' date='" Srinivasan added. [/quote'] 3 sponsors/player seems too limiting.
Why limiting ? They can make enuff money even with such limits inplace. This is the best way to get our prima donnas to focus on the game that helped them earn their stardom. Too much money too quickly, only adds to their complacency & our players quickly reach their "use-by" date. Welcome move!
what is too much money? what is the limit on money/sponsor? last heard we are a democracy. this seems like unfair labor practice and probably can be challenged in court.

Re: BCCI takes one step forward and one backward ^No democracy for slouchs who masquerade themselves as cricketers. I'd rather practise autocracy & get our cricketers/system in order. Our cricketers produce shy.te results, its time to return the favor. I dont want an Irfan Pathan to have one great series, make 10s of crores & then be mediocre for the rest of his career & still retire rich & famous. Such a system will never produce consistently good cricketers. When the money runs out, the player has to perform again to earn another contract. Thats how it must be. Im even ok, if all contracts are signed with the BCCI & the BCCI awards them to players from their pool based on some performance index.

Cricajar, No words about players' contracts being abolished? Haven't we gone 10 years back here? And this is called performance based payment? What payment? Just one lakh for sweating out in an ODI without having any safety net of a central contract??? What is this?
Good point mate, they need some consistency and safety net because otherwise they'll play from fear of failure and not from desire to win...there is a big difference. With that said there is a lot of good that is coming out of this debacle.

So now we will have players playing for their place in the side. Like gangs did this world cup????
Thats the biggest danger of abolishing the contract for players. It tells the players that you must play for yourself to gain money. Wonder which dumb person has given BCCI this horrible idea!! The board has hit the players below their belt when they're down. Won't be surprised if the players counter-punch the board the moment they achieve a good result. So what will happen to Indian cricket in the meantime? Oh forget! Who cares for Indian cricket, including the fans!!!!!!