Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs

Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs TIMES NEWS NETWORK / Amrita Nair-Ghaswalla, Namrata Singh & Rupali Mukherjee MUMBAI/NEW DELHI, April 7: Add another brewing battle to the series of slugfests that Indian cricket has witnessed in the last few days. The BCCI clampdown on players' endorsement contracts is going to hit the business of cricket big-time. For starters, it threatens to take a big bite out of players' incomes. But with Team India on the backfoot following their abysmal performance in the World Cup, it's unlikely that the players will be in too much of a position to mount rearguard action against the BCCI fatwa. The opposition is going to come from another quarter. Corporate sponsors and advertisers are seeing red. Some big sponsors have indicated that they might "pull the plug" on further sponsorship activities with the BCCI; they are likely to take a "unanimous stand against the new directive" in a couple of days. The BCCI working committee has said that players' endorsement contracts should henceforth be restricted to three per cricketer at a time. It also stated that no corporate will be allowed to contract more than two players at any given time. "Sponsors will protest against the restrictive clause, if passed, as it is against business practices," said Mindshare MD Sunder Raman.

Re: Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs these sponsorship limiting clauses are unwarranted. one thing that would help the BCCI is to look around the world to see if such practices are common. if not, most likely it is absurd.

Re: Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs I think 'performance' should be the only deciding factor for x to stay or y to get bonus and so on. Everything else should fall in place from that. Trying to control who makes how much is encroaching into rights and hence suable.BCCI is forcing players to sign one-sided contracts knowing well that they have no other option!

Re: Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs

well yoda its REQUIRED. our cricketers think of ONLY money with NO performances.
i agree with some of the initiatives like no ads 15 days before games, no incentive clauses in endorsement contracts (like srikkanth explained could lead to players trying to convert 40s to 50s and 90s to 100s), performance based bonus money, etc. but saying a player can have only 3 contracts is totally absurd. like IE is saying above, drop them if they don't perform.

Re: Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs bhai log somoone said sachin spends 70 days an year for sponsorship assignemtn, don't u think it's little too much

bhai log somoone said sachin spends 70 days an year for sponsorship assignemtn' date=' don't u think it's little too much[/quote'] bhai mere, when u have no match going on. when u dont have any practice sessions organized by bcci, then whatz harm in doing something which can earn u more money...

The opposition is going to come from another quarter. Corporate sponsors and advertisers are seeing red. Some big sponsors have indicated that they might "pull the plug" on further sponsorship activities with the BCCI; they are likely to take a "unanimous stand against the new directive" in a couple of days.
What a bunch of bone heads ? Lining up to lose their money on these prima donnas. Why cant they bloody sponsor a child or men in the street ?

Re: Cricket sponsors to oppose curbs This is pathetic. No one in the first place told them to sponsor... There are other companies who are willing to do sponsor given the amount of response the Indian Cricket receives. This is very immature of sponsors. :shrug:

bhai log somoone said sachin spends 70 days an year for sponsorship assignemtn' date=' don't u think it's little too much[/quote'] bhai mere, when u have no match going on. when u dont have any practice sessions organized by bcci, then whatz harm in doing something which can earn u more money...
u can practice urself not every session has to be bcci organized 70 days in an yar for side-show is little too much for my liking

The opposition is going to come from another quarter. Corporate sponsors and advertisers are seeing red. Some big sponsors have indicated that they might "pull the plug" on further sponsorship activities with the BCCI; they are likely to take a "unanimous stand against the new directive" in a couple of days.
What a bunch of bone heads ? Lining up to lose their money on these prima donnas. Why cant they bloody sponsor a child or men in the street ?
they are businessmen, they don't lose money otherwise they will run like hell.....child or men in street are not economically viable... baap bara na bhaiya sabse bara rupaiya

bhai log somoone said sachin spends 70 days an year for sponsorship assignemtn' date=' don't u think it's little too much[/quote'] yes, it is too much, that's why i agree the new rule of no ads 15 days before a game.