'I hated Miandad's guts' - Ravi Shastri Interview

http://www.cricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/430219.html Good one. I liked this part:
Kapil Dev once said you had 50% ability but 200% determination. Is that a fair assessment? If you get more than 10 Test hundreds, you've bloody got ability, but he is right. I was a very determined cricketer. I treated the opening position as a challenge. Big names and tough attacks brought the best out of me. That's why you see the hundreds at the top, against West Indies, England, a double- hundred in Australia, in Pakistan at Karachi - the first Test hundred that changed my career - against Imran Khan, Sarfraz Nawaz, Wasim Raja. There were some serious bowlers there.
He was not my favorite cricketer at that time as he was considered slow and a bits-n-pieces cricketer. Now, that I see his career, I was wrong. He is quite an extrovert, should have been nominated captain. But he was behind the queue of DBV and Srikanth. We had lost WI series in 1988-89 and because of internal politics, he was not favored to be captain for the Pakistan series in 1989-90 and Srikanth was the captain. In hindsight, Shastri should be been the captain, he would have been more proactive than Azharuddin. I think he has learnt quite a lot in his career to be away from BCCI and their dealings. That's he didn't take up the offer to be a coach during the BD series in 2007. Looking at what happened to VP and Robin Singh, he was wise not to trust BCCI.
What is ironic is that Kapil Dev' date='who was more talented, had only 8 test tons.[/quote'] What's more ironic, is a specialist batsmen like GR VIshwanath has only 3 tons more than him, despite scoring more than 6000 runs (about 2200 more than Shastri). GRV is the foremost cricketer who wasted his talent because of a lazy work ethic and drinking,
What is ironic is that Kapil Dev' date='who was more talented, had only 8 test tons.[/quote'] Bhaisahab Kapil used to bat at number 7, 8 early in his career - Shastri would open or bat at number 6 for most of his career. Kapil also missed out on quite a few hundreds by getting out in the 80s and 90s batting with the glorious Indian tail. Having said that, Shastri was a very underrated batsman - he averaged in the 40s as an opener and was regularly asked to open when India were touring and be replaced by the Arun Lals at home.
What's more ironic' date=' is a specialist batsmen like GR VIshwanath has only 3 tons more than him, despite scoring more than 6000 runs (about 2200 more than Shastri). GRV is the foremost cricketer who wasted his talent because of a lazy work ethic and [b']drinking,
Was GRV a drunkard? I ain't sure:nervous:
Bhaisahab Kapil used to bat at number 7, 8 early in his career - Shastri would open or bat at number 6 for most of his career. Kapil also missed out on quite a few hundreds by getting out in the 80s and 90s batting with the glorious Indian tail. Having said that, Shastri was a very underrated batsman - he averaged in the 40s as an opener and was regularly asked to open when India were touring and be replaced by the Arun Lals at home.
Then..in that case Kaps should have averaged higher than 31. I remember Sunny saying that Kapil din't make half the use of his batting ability.He would have gotten close to 10K runs if he did.
Are you trying to compare Kapil Dev to Shastri ?? Dude I wouldnt even put them in the same line, and lets leave it at that.
Bhai mere...when did I ever say that they are even comparable. All I am saying is that KAps underachived with the batting ability he had...and Shastri overachieved with the limited he had.
Of course he underachieved. He was Kapil Dev after all. He would leave Gary Sobers wondering, Why doesn't Kapil have the fastest century world record of all times?(this came when he had scored 89 in some 50 odd deliveries in England). I have been lucky enough to watch big hitters - Richards, Lloyd, Greenidge, Botham, Sreekanth, Lance Cairns etc etc bat and I can tell you Kapil Dev was better than them all(you are welcome to check strike rate). That said Richards was a whole different cup of tea what with his great average etc too. But yeah lets not even worry about what Kapil could do with bat, he was better than Botham and thats saying something. The other two greats Imran and Hadlee were pants. Back to the article. I had the pleasure of reading this interview at Heathrow last month in Wisden. Great interview of course and Shashtri's mention of Pakistan brought fond memories. The matches in late 80s and mid 90s were the most fiercly fought. Neither country wanted to lose but there was no love lost as it is today. As a player Shashtri was good enough to start his career as a specialist bowler(beleive he took 10 wickets in his debut test or very next something like that) and developed his batting to the point where he opened. He also has the record of batting at all the positions from 1-11. Very good utility cricketer but not one of the greatest players to wear Indian suit. Very smart and dogged personality though, his batting in Chennai tied test was as much mental as it was physical. Absolutely cr@ppy fielder. Always chased the ball to the boundary, never stopped it.
wise one indeed... but he could have done a lot better. 50% talent and 200% determination for me is robin singh.
well said.. Robin Singh worked harder than his abilitiy.. he was perhaps the only cricketer in the last decade who gave more than his 100% in all matches ... but maybe his effort and other big cricketer's effort was the difference of hard work and smart work
Of course he underachieved. He was Kapil Dev after all. He would leave Gary Sobers wondering, Why doesn't Kapil have the fastest century world record of all times?(this came when he had scored 89 in some 50 odd deliveries in England). I have been lucky enough to watch big hitters - Richards, Lloyd, Greenidge, Botham, Sreekanth, Lance Cairns etc etc bat and I can tell you Kapil Dev was better than them all(you are welcome to check strike rate). That said Richards was a whole different cup of tea what with his great average etc too. But yeah lets not even worry about what Kapil could do with bat, he was better than Botham and thats saying something. The other two greats Imran and Hadlee were pants. Back to the article. I had the pleasure of reading this interview at Heathrow last month in Wisden. Great interview of course and Shashtri's mention of Pakistan brought fond memories. The matches in late 80s and mid 90s were the most fiercly fought. Neither country wanted to lose but there was no love lost as it is today. As a player Shashtri was good enough to start his career as a specialist bowler(beleive he took 10 wickets in his debut test or very next something like that) and developed his batting to the point where he opened. He also has the record of batting at all the positions from 1-11. Very good utility cricketer but not one of the greatest players to wear Indian suit. Very smart and dogged personality though, his batting in Chennai tied test was as much mental as it was physical. Absolutely cr@ppy fielder. Always chased the ball to the boundary, never stopped it.
Kaps vs Botham ...is interesting..power hitters both. I think Botham's bio says it all. He failed the biggest batting test of his times - scoring a ton against WI. Kaps did it 3 times - although Botham's got 6 tons more than Kapil. - This is against Holding, Marshall and Garner - At better than run a ball.:hatsoff:http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63336.html
The other two greats Imran and Hadlee were pants.
I agree that Hadlee was mainly a bowler who can bat a bit. But, Imran was no pants in batting. He put a value on his wicket and played according to the situation. Unlike our star, he achieved more in batting, even though he had half the ability. In his last 50 tests or so, Imran averaged more than 50, with 100s in Eng, Aus and Ind. I don't think you can call that pants. filtered 52 2516 136 51.34 5 15 218 8/58 19.16 15 18 0 Plus he tool 218 wkts at 19.16 in those 50 tests. He can't be compared with KD as an allrounder
I agree that Hadlee was mainly a bowler who can bat a bit. But' date=' Imran was no pants in batting. He put a value on his wicket and played according to the situation. Unlike our star, he achieved more in batting, even though he had half the ability. In his last 50 tests or so, Imran averaged more than 50, with 100s in Eng, Aus and Ind.[b'] I don't think you can call that pants. filtered 52 2516 136 51.34 5 15 218 8/58 19.16 15 18 0 Plus he tool 218 wkts at 19.16 in those 50 tests. He can't be compared with KD as an allrounder
In retrospect pants was a bit harsh on Imran but it terms of pure batting skills and abilities I do consider Imran as hardly a comparison to both Kapil and Botham. Imran was one of those players, specially as a batsman, that when he ended his career you look back and mutter - Just how did he get those numbers?? I can not recall considerable innings from him. The only one that comes to mind is 1992 WC finals and I still maintain the innings pretty much scrwed Pakistan's chances if not for late hitting by lower order batsmen. Dont mean to start a Kapil-Imran debate now but purely in terms of impact I fail to see Imran doing anything remotely of the kind Kapil would do routinely.
Sachin is greatest because he has best stats but Imran is not greatest all rounder even though he has best stats. What great logic :hatsoff:
You must belong to madarassa school of logic. Where did you read me mentioning Sachin greatest because of record etc etc?? For the records Sachin is the greatest batsman from Asian subcontinent. Nothing to do with records.
Kapil batted at 7 most of the time. Shastri was an opener for the best part. We cannot compare century lists.
Average toh kar saktein hai na ? With his ability he should have probably batted higher up. If Adam Gilchirstat no.7 can average 48, Kaps was good enough to average 40 instead of 31.

Perhaps if he had applied himself more and not tried to knock the cover off the ball so much, hed have achieved more. Its interesting to get views of you guys whove seen these all rounders play, from what Ive read ive always thought Imran is a better batsman by some distance and arguably a marginally better bowler Mr Wicket in another thread was talking about Botham and what a good bat he was and, IIRC he thought Both was a better bat than Kapil even