Ranji Trophy - Super League 2009-2010 - Discussion thread

BCCI triples Ranji Trophy prize money The BCCI's working committee approved a raft of decisions on Thursday that, when implemented, could improve significantly the state of domestic cricket. The most notable decisions are a massive hike in prize money for the Ranji Trophy and the approval of an umpire's academy. Winners of the Ranji Trophy will now get Rs 2 crore (previously Rs 60 lakhs), the runners-up Rs 1 crore (previously Rs 30 lakhs) and the semi-finalists Rs 50 lakhs. To put things in context, the winners in 2005 received all of Rs 7 lakh. This amount also places the Ranji Trophy above the board's corporate tournament, scheduled to be held in the coming season, whose winners will get Rs 1 crore. While no details were available on the decision to set up an umpires' academy, it could, if properly implemented, go some way in improve the standard of umpiring in domestic cricket. The other decisions taken at the meeting are: - Former ICL players who have been granted amnesty, are eligible to play the IPL in the next season (2010), with a cap on the payment being a maximum of Rs 20 lakhs. - Umpires Amiesh Saheba and Shavir Tarapore have been nominated to the ICC international panel. (Oh GOD, WHYYYYYYY???) - The Indian board will also give Rs 25 crores over the next two years to the All-India Football Federation for the development of football in the country. (Great) - Specialised coaching centres dealing with batting in Mumbai, with fast bowling in Mohali, and with spinners and wicketkeepers in Chennai will be started in September 2009. Specialist coaches will be appointed on an annual retainership at each of the centres. - Umpires in domestic matches (excluding IPL) will be paid Rs 7500 per match day, while umpire coaches and match referees will be paid Rs 10,000 per day. - The team and support staff that won the Emerging Players tournament in Australia will be paid a bonus of Rs 1 lakh each. - The National Cricket Academy's coaching manual was released by BCCI president Shashank Manohar. http://www.cricinfo.com/india/content/story/419385.html

-Winners of the Ranji Trophy will now get Rs 2 crore (previously Rs 60 lakhs), the runners-up Rs 1 crore (previously Rs 30 lakhs) and the semi-finalists Rs 50 lakhs. To put things in context, the winners in 2005 received all of Rs 7 lakh. This amount also places the Ranji Trophy above the board's corporate tournament, scheduled to be held in the coming season, whose winners will get Rs 1 crore. While no details were available on the decision to set up an umpires' academy, it could, if properly implemented, go some way in improve the standard of umpiring in domestic cricket. The other decisions taken at the meeting are: - Former ICL players who have been granted amnesty, are eligible to play the IPL in the next season (2010), with a cap on the payment being a maximum of Rs 20 lakhs. - Umpires Amiesh Saheba and Shavir Tarapore have been nominated to the ICC international panel. (Oh GOD, WHYYYYYYY???) - The Indian board will also give Rs 25 crores over the next two years to the All-India Football Federation for the development of football in the country. (Great) - Specialised coaching centres dealing with batting in Mumbai, with fast bowling in Mohali, and with spinners and wicketkeepers in Chennai will be started in September 2009. Specialist coaches will be appointed on an annual retainership at each of the centres. - Umpires in domestic matches (excluding IPL) will be paid Rs 7500 per match day, while umpire coaches and match referees will be paid Rs 10,000 per day. - The team and support staff that won the Emerging Players tournament in Australia will be paid a bonus of Rs 1 lakh each. - The National Cricket Academy's coaching manual was released by BCCI president Shashank Manohar. http://www.cricinfo.com/india/content/story/419385.html
Also don't forget that we'll have no Deodhar trophy this season! LINK Guess, BCCI is not all serious about the 50 over world cup to which it'll be the host! If we won't have these domestic tournament, how will few domestic talent come to the fore? The domestic calender is cramped up with T20 tournaments, at state level, interstate level and then finally the intercity tournament which is IPL. I am sure that I won't watch IPL if it expands any more! T20 is claiming a huge chunk of our young talent who take as IPL as the be all and end all! Anyway, back to Ranji trophy: There are 15 teams in the super league and they are divided into two groups till the knock out stage. Teams: GROUP A Mumbai Punjab, Tamil Nadu Himachal Pradesh Gujarat Hyderabad Railways and Orissa GROUP B Uttar Pradesh, Saurashtra Karnakata Bengal Maharashtra Baroda and Delhi. Fixture: Nov. 10-13: Mumbai v Orissa, Mumbai; Gujarat v Tamil Nadu, Ahmedabad; Railways v Himachal Pradesh, Delhi; Punjab v Hyderabad, Mohali; Delhi v Karnataka, Delhi; Saurashtra v Uttar Pradesh, Rajkot; Bengal v Baroda, Kolkata. Nov. 17-20: Mumbai v Himachal Pradesh, Mumbai; Punjab v Tamil Nadu, Mohali; Hyderabad v Gujarat, Hyderabad; Orissa v Railways, Cuttack; Karnataka v Bengal, Bangalore; Uttar Pradesh v Baroda, Kanpur; Saurashtra v Maharashtra, Rajkot. Nov. 24-27: Railways v Mumbai, Delhi; Himachal Pradesh v Tamil Nadu, Dharamsala; Punjab v Gujarat, Mohali; Hyderabad v Orissa, Hyderabad; Uttar Pradesh v Delhi, Kanpur; Maharashtra v Karnataka, Pune; Bengal v Saurashtra, Kolkata. Dec. 1-4: Hyderabad v Mumbai, Hyderabad; Orissa v Tamil Nadu, Cuttack; Punjab v Himachal Pradesh, Mohali; Gujarat v Railways, Ahmedabad; Delhi v Saurashtra, Delhi; Baroda v Karnataka, Baroda; Maharashtra v Uttar Pradesh, Pune. Dec. 8-11: Mumbai v Tamil Nadu, Mumbai; Gujarat v Himachal Pradesh, Ahmedabad; Punjab v Orissa, Mohali; Hyderabad v Railways, Hyderabad; Delhi v Maharashtra, Delhi; Baroda v Saurashtra, Baroda; Uttar Pradesh v Bengal, Kanpur. Dec. 15-18: Mumbai v Gujarat, Mumbai; Hyderabad v Tamil Nadu, Hyderabad; Himachal Pradesh v Orissa, Dharamsala; Railways v Punjab, Delhi; Saurashtra v Karnataka, Rajkot; Maharashtra v Baroda, Pune; Bengal v Delhi, Kolkata. .

Ranji trophy 2009-10 : Chopra retained as Delhi captain Aakash Chopra, the former India opening batsman, has been named the Delhi captain for the first two games of the 2008-09 Ranji Trophy season. The selection committee, led by the former opener Chetan Chauhan, named a 15-man today that included just one new name, that of Pawan Suyal. More... Ranji Trophy Super League 2009-10 Chopra retained as Delhi captain Cricinfo staff October 26, 2009 Aakash Chopra, the former India opening batsman, has been named the Delhi captain for the first two games of the 2008-09 Ranji Trophy season. The selection committee, led by the former opener Chetan Chauhan, named a 15-man today that included just one new name, that of Pawan Suyal. Suyal, from the north Indian region of Pauri Garwhal, has been selected just 16 months after landing in Delhi. He played 15 matches for Telefunken in the DDCA league and took 25 wickets, an achievement that got him noticed by the local selectors. "That was a good experience as I got to play on different types of pitches and against stronger batsmen than I had bowled to back home," he told Cricinfo. After playing for the Under-22 side he was added to the Ranji probables camp this year. Pawan Suyal Eighteen months ago, Pawan Suyal was bowling his heart out in the interiors of Pauri, a town in the northern Indian state of Uttarakhand. It is not known for producing cricket players but one man, having taken a massive step toward achieving his goals, is determined to put it on the map. A little more than a year after arriving in the national capital, Suyal has gone from aspiring left-arm fast bowler to keen corporate-club enthusiast to having his name suggested to an IPL team to being named in Delhi's squad for the first two matches of the Ranji Trophy. "I landed in Delhi last June with no idea of how cricket is run here or how clubs function," Suyal, 20, told Cricinfo soon after he got the news of the Ranji selection. "I just wanted to play cricket. What a big city it is. I can see why many outsiders are intimidated by it. Imagine me, a simpleton from the hills, coming this far without a clue of how big corporate clubs work. Ever since I was a kid I've known just one thing and that is to play this game. I really don't know anything else. I've never even chased a stable job. I rushed through my studies and spent more time playing cricket." Prior to coming to Delhi, Suyal's experience had been limited to playing in tournaments back in Pauri. "I have bowled a lot with a proper cricket ball but most of my cricket was played with tennis and rubber balls," he says. "There is no club set-up back home. We hardly have grounds large enough to play proper matches. It's a very basic set-up." The son of a government employee in Pauri, Suyal was backed by his brother, who works in the army, and sister who lives in Delhi. "They told me that if cricket was what I really wanted to do, I should come to Delhi," he says. "None of us were sure of how things would turn out here but I was determined just to play cricket at a competitive level. Pauri is hardly on the map and there haven't been any players from there. Delhi is a cricket hub and a place of great opportunity. Things have happened very quickly since I landed here and I cannot say what my future will be. DDCA toh door ki baat hai, main toh Dilli mein bahut kam log ko jaanta hoon! (Forget the DDCA, I hardly know any people in Delhi!)." Suyal came to Delhi last summer for the Delhi Police Constabulary recruitments - "a real eye opener for me" - and got involved in the local corporate-club scene. He thanks his coach, Madan Sharma, for pushing him to hone his attitude and work-out routine. "He stressed on discipline and the benefit of long hours of practice," Suyal says. "Back in Pauri I just bowled and bowled without thinking too much of the mechanics of bowling. I was always very fit, being from the hills, but here I learned about how the body works." Suyal played 15 matches for Telefunken in the DDCA league and took 25 wickets, an achievement that got him noticed by the local selectors. "That was a good experience as I got to play on different types of pitches and against stronger batsmen than I had bowled to back home," he says. After playing for the Under-22 side he was added to the Ranji probables camp this year. Shikhar Dhawan, the Delhi batsman who plays for the Mumbai Indians, recommended Suyal's name to the IPL team's management after being impressed in the nets. However, Delhi's coach Vijay Dahiya felt it was too big a step for the youngster and told him to gain more experience first. "He was right, I need to work on my abilities more right now," Suyal says. Though a little amazed at how fast his life has changed, Suyal isn't taking anything for granted. "To be selected in the Delhi squad within a year and a half is massive for me, but I have to just work hard and hope I am persisted with. Whether I play a game or not, I will give my best in the nets. It is an honour to be included alongside very experienced and senior Delhi players." Vice Captain The vice-captain's post went to Shikhar Dhawan ahead of Mithun Manhas, who has captained the team in the past. Chopra captained Delhi last season, when they finished fourth in the Ranji Super League points table, winning two of seven games. They first play Baroda from November 3-6 and then host Karnataka from November 10-13. Delhi squad: Aakash Chopra (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Mithun Manhas, Rajat Bhatia, Yogesh Nagar, Mayank Tehlan, Gaurav Chhabra, Punit Bisht, Chetanya Nanda, Parwinder Awana, Sumit Narwal, Pradeep Sangwan, Aditya Jain, Darshan Kajania, Pawan Suyal.

Ranji Trophy - Super League - Discussion thread The games start from November 3 Group B: Baroda v Delhi at Vadodara Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group A: Gujarat v Orissa at Ahmedabad Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group A: Hyderabad v H. Pradesh at Hyderabad (Decc) Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group B: Maharashtra v Bengal at Poona Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group A: Punjab v Mumbai at Chandigarh Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group A: Railways v Tamil Nadu at Delhi Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT) Group B: U. Pradesh v Karnataka at Meerut Nov 3-6 (09:30 local, 04:00 GMT)

20year old Uttranchal lad picked in Delhi squad Eighteen months ago, Pawan Suyal was bowling his heart out in the interiors of Pauri, a town in the northern Indian state of Uttarakhand. It is not known for producing cricket players but one man, having taken a massive step toward achieving his goals, is determined to put it on the map. A little more than a year after arriving in the national capital, Suyal has gone from aspiring left-arm fast bowler to keen corporate-club enthusiast to having his name suggested to an IPL team to being named in Delhi's squad for the first two matches of the Ranji Trophy. "I landed in Delhi last June with no idea of how cricket is run here or how clubs function," Suyal, 20, told Cricinfo soon after he got the news of the Ranji selection. "I just wanted to play cricket. What a big city it is. I can see why many outsiders are intimidated by it. Imagine me, a simpleton from the hills, coming this far without a clue of how big corporate clubs work. Ever since I was a kid I've known just one thing and that is to play this game. I really don't know anything else. I've never even chased a stable job. I rushed through my studies and spent more time playing cricket." Prior to coming to Delhi, Suyal's experience had been limited to playing in tournaments back in Pauri. "I have bowled a lot with a proper cricket ball but most of my cricket was played with tennis and rubber balls," he says. "There is no club set-up back home. We hardly have grounds large enough to play proper matches. It's a very basic set-up." The son of a government employee in Pauri, Suyal was backed by his brother, who works in the army, and sister who lives in Delhi. "They told me that if cricket was what I really wanted to do, I should come to Delhi," he says. "None of us were sure of how things would turn out here but I was determined just to play cricket at a competitive level. Pauri is hardly on the map and there haven't been any players from there. Delhi is a cricket hub and a place of great opportunity. Things have happened very quickly since I landed here and I cannot say what my future will be. DDCA toh door ki baat hai, main toh Dilli mein bahut kam log ko jaanta hoon! (Forget the DDCA, I hardly know any people in Delhi!)." Suyal came to Delhi last summer for the Delhi Police Constabulary recruitments - "a real eye opener for me" - and got involved in the local corporate-club scene. He thanks his coach, Madan Sharma, for pushing him to hone his attitude and work-out routine. "He stressed on discipline and the benefit of long hours of practice," Suyal says. "Back in Pauri I just bowled and bowled without thinking too much of the mechanics of bowling. I was always very fit, being from the hills, but here I learned about how the body works." Suyal played 15 matches for Telefunken in the DDCA league and took 25 wickets, an achievement that got him noticed by the local selectors. "That was a good experience as I got to play on different types of pitches and against stronger batsmen than I had bowled to back home," he says. After playing for the Under-22 side he was added to the Ranji probables camp this year. Shikhar Dhawan, the Delhi batsman who plays for the Mumbai Indians, recommended Suyal's name to the IPL team's management after being impressed in the nets. However, Delhi's coach Vijay Dahiya felt it was too big a step for the youngster and told him to gain more experience first. "He was right, I need to work on my abilities more right now," Suyal says. Though a little amazed at how fast his life has changed, Suyal isn't taking anything for granted. "To be selected in the Delhi squad within a year and a half is massive for me, but I have to just work hard and hope I am persisted with. Whether I play a game or not, I will give my best in the nets. It is an honour to be included alongside very experienced and senior Delhi players." http://www.cricinfo.com/ranjisuperleague2009/content/story/431247.html ----------------------------------------------------------------- Would be fun to see this player He is a left arm seamer. Lets see how he goes

No home advantage for Delhi this Ranji Trophy season? Delhi will enjoy no home advantage even while playing at home this Ranji Trophy season, at least in their first home match, reports Subhash Rajta. More... No home advantage for Delhi this Ranji Trophy season? Subhash Rajta, Hindustan Times New Delhi, October 28, 2009 First Published: 23:59 IST(28/10/2009) Last Updated: 00:02 IST(29/10/2009) Delhi will enjoy no home advantage even while playing at home this Ranji Trophy season, at least in their first home match. The former champions will take on Karnataka in their second match - their first on home turf - at the Palam grounds instead of the Ferozeshah Kotla. Worse, it’s not certain if they would play any of their remaining matches at the Kotla. "We have decided to play the first match at Palam grounds, but we haven’t decided on the venue for the remaining home matches as of now," said Chetan Chauhan, chairman, selection committee. Explaining the reasons behind the decision, he said the wicket was keeping low and they were in the process of growing fresh grass on it. "These are some of the reasons why we have decided to shift the first match," he said. The decision is not likely to go down well with the players. "I think every team wants to play their matches on their ground to use home advantage. If the matches are held in Palam, it will be as good as an away game for us," said one of the Delhi players. Besides, the facilities at the Palam grounds, as one witnessed during the recently concluded T20 North Zone tournament, also aren’t exactly top notch.

Preview part 1 Delhi The unrest in the Delhi and District Cricket Association appears to have ended with the administration convincing Virender Sehwag and other players who had protested against it to remain in Delhi cricket, but the true answer may come as the season progresses. The best way to dispel doubts and criticism is to win cricket matches, and to do that Delhi will need to gel as a unit, especially after the ugly capital crisis. Vijay Dahiya, the coach, dismissed talks of a rift between players and the establishment when Delhi's pre-season camp kicked off without seven important names. A former player who knows the squad well and who played a role in Delhi's success two seasons ago, Dahiya's role as coach and mentor will again come to the fore given the absence of big names in the squad. Sehwag has pledged his allegiance to Delhi but his participation, as that of Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, and Virat Kohli appears to be limited in 2009 due to India's schedule. The batting will revolve around Aakash Chopra, retained as captain, the newly appointed vice-captain Shikhar Dhawan, Mithun Manhas and Rajat Bhatia. For a side striving to touch greatness again, the presence of several youngsters with limited playing experience is indicative of the challenge ahead. Delhi are in Group A, which comprises seven teams as compared to the eight in Group B. Their pool isn't an easy one, for Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and Saurashtra are solid competition. It will be against Baroda, Maharashtra and Bengal that Delhi will need to win and win big. Delhi's six games are equally divided between home and away. What they did last season Defending champions last season, Delhi failed to make the semi-finals. They finished fourth on the Super League points table in 2008, winning two of seven matches. Their first win wasn't until the end of November, when they beat Orissa by 52 runs at home. It was a match played out on a wet and green pitch that claimed 40 wickets in 128.5 overs, and one that came in for plenty of criticism. Delhi were shot out for 78 in the first session; Orissa for 80 before stumps; Sumit Narwal hit a match-transforming half-century before taking three wickets to lead Delhi to victory inside two days. Delhi won their next match against Saurashtra by ten wickets in Rajkot. In between were a couple hard-fought draws and affairs on dull tracks where the bowlers were unable to push for success. The batsmen, however, failed to dominate. No Delhi player crossed 500 runs and there were just three centuries - and therein lies a story. The medium-pacer Parwinder Awana's 27 wickets were seven more than the next best and trailing Pradeep Sangwan was Narwal with 17. Men to watch Narwal impressed last season and can look forward to playing more than four games this season. He started his career with Haryana, and was out of the team since 2003 before Delhi picked him, but has proved a prized investment for the side. A right-arm swing bowler and handy left-hand batsman down the order, he played a significant role in Delhi's win over Orissa and applied himself well in his three other appearances. His pre-season form has been impressive too, as witnessed by a hat-trick against Haryana in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The new face in the squad for the first two matches is the unknown Pawan Suyal, a left-arm fast bowler. Suyal, from the north Indian region of Pauri Garwhal, has been selected just 16 months after landing in Delhi. He played 15 matches for Telefunken in the DDCA league and took 25 wickets, an achievement that got him noticed by the local selectors, who put him in the Under-22 side and then included him for the Ranji team. Dhawan's elevation to the vice-captaincy indicates the role Delhi see him filling one day soon. He will be entering his sixth season of first-class cricket and as a leader of the younger generation Dhawan must contribute more runs. He was second to Chopra last year but with three key batsmen likely to miss out on a significant chunk of this year's domestic schedule, Dhawan's role assumes greater significance. Definitely one to watch. --- Uttar Pradesh Three finals in the last four years. There is no doubt that Uttar Pradesh cricket is on the rise and Mohammad Kaif, the proud captain, is ambitious, "Earlier we were not one of the big sides [but] now when you talk about Mumbai, you need to mention UP as well in domestic cricket." They will start their tournament without Praveen Kumar, out playing for India, but they get RP Singh and Shalabh Srivastava, who has returned from ICL. The seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar was one of the finds of the last season and when you throw in the spinners Piyush Chawla and Praveen Gupta, they have a good attack. The batting line-up will miss Suresh Raina and much would depend on Kaif and Tanmay Srivastava who will be supported by Shivakant and Ravikant Shukla. They play four games at home, where usually the wickets encourage draws and one at Rajkot which usually is batting beauty. Expect lots of draws and grim fights for the first-innings points. What they did last season The batsmen came to the party as they lost just one game till the quarter-final and secured the first-innings lead in the rest. There were at least three occasions when they nearly looked down and out but were bailed out by the batsmen. In the game against Baroda, chasing 264, they had slipped to 97 for 6 on the final day but Kaif, batting low at No. 7, and wicketkeeper Amir Khan played out 30.5 overs to ensure a draw. There was more drama against Karnataka in what was their last game before the quarter-finals. Coming in just before lunch, with UP still 143 short of Karnataka's 511, Chawla hit a vital 96, stringing together crucial partnerships with Kumar and with the last-man Amir to get the much-needed three points that saw them through the last eight. And a monumental effort in the semi-final from Shivakant Shukla, who played the fourth-longest innings in first-class cricket, took them through to the final. UP were the favourites to polish off the required 193 runs at the start of the final day, but a spirited L Balaji kept TN in the hunt. However, Shukla put in a marathon effort to lead his team to the lead with only two wickets in hand. However, they were overwhelmed by Mumbai in the final. Men to watch Don't look past Kaif. He has already expressed his disappointment in not finding a spot in the Indian probables and it would be really interesting to see how he bats this season. Will he go on to prove a point or two or will this be the season where he begins to fade away, lacking inspiration for the dogged battle? Apart from Kaif, who averaged 48.09 last season, look out for Tanmay Srivastava and Shukla. In the bowling department, apart from Chawla, who will be desperate to get his name ahead of Amit Mishra, watch out for RP, who has just been dropped from the Indian team. ----- Orissa Ever since Orissa made the step up to the Elite stage two seasons ago, they have not been able to repeat the phenomenal success they had in the lower league - making the Plate semi-finals every year since their relegation in 2002-03. In the last season, they narrowly avoided the drop at the expense of Rajasthan, finishing second from bottom in Group A, managing just the one win against Punjab. Two relatively mediocre seasons is all they have to show, having finished fourth in their group in 2007-08. No stone has been left unturned in order to achieve excellence, with the Orissa Cricket Association setting up a new academy to recruit budding cricketers. A sprawling practice ground with cement and astroturf pitches and state-of-the-art facilities like a mutli-gym and video analysis are just some of the endeavors to enhance performance. A tour of an academy in New South Wales was also planned to provide exposure to the Ranji Trophy players. There have been personnel changes as well, with the appointment of R Srikant as chief coach. He replaces Venkatapathy Raju, who quit after Orissa's match against Delhi last season with two games still to go, citing personal reasons. Srikant would be assisted by separate batting, bowling and fielding coaches. What they did last season The lone win of their campaign, an emphatic nine-wicket win came against Punjab at home, which handed them five points. The victory masterminded by the Mohanties - Debasis and Basanth - was as good as it got for Orissa. The remaining four points came from the two draws against fellow-strugglers Rajasthan and Hyderabad, as they lost four of their seven matches. It was a nervy end to the campaign as the relegation battle headed into the final day with all three favoured to take the plunge. Debasis and Basanth ended as Orissa's joint-highest wicket-takers with 28 wickets apiece at 16.53 and 21.28 respectively, and along with old faithful Shiv Sundar Das, were perhaps key to Orissa maintaining their Super League status. Men to watch Shiv Sunder led the batting charts for Orissa last season with 361 at a strong 45.12, and went on to lead East Zone squad in the Duleep Trophy at the beginning of this year. However, with wicketkeeper Haladhar Das and Rashmi Parida missing from the squad, Orissa may find it difficult to pick up vital early points. Haladhar, the only Orissa team-member from last season who has featured in the IPL - in the inaugural season with the Deccan Chargers - has been sidelined due to injury and will be replaced by Subhrajit Sahoo, who has played just the four Twenty20 matches during the recently-concluded zonal leg of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Parida, who boasts of a first-class average of 45.12, will also be sorely missed as Orissa have included two more rookies in the 15-man squad - Santosh Jena and Deepak Behera. Though the batting will revolve around the likes of Bikash Pati, Pravanjan Mullick and Niranjan Behera, the responsibility might once again fall on Debasis and Basanth - who finished 10th and 11th overall on the Ranji wicket-takers' charts last season - to lift Orissa to greater heights in the big league.