China Runs Circles Around India In Basic Science

Birbal3

Re: China Runs Circles Around India In Basic Science Only thing I see missing from that article is that lots of Indians go to get their basic undergraduate and graduate science education to USA... and many of them do make contributions to India... down the line... Of course they also make HUGE contributions to USA first...

Re: China Runs Circles Around India In Basic Science Actually this is just what i have been crying hoarse about for the past ten years! we have terrific institutions for awarding undergraduate degrees, and quite frankly when you choose the best 3000 form 2 million applicants, you are quite bound to select the best and the brightest. however, the good news ends there. we have negligible facilities and opportunities for awarding higher degrees such as a masters or a ph.d. and its the research conducted in procurement of these degrees that fuels the economy for the harbingers of technology cannot be undergraduate students working 8-5 jobs in information technology! The was an article in fortune magazine in September 2005 which gave a rather candid comparison between indian, china and the united states. and while it complimented india and china for their rampant growth, it was quick to point out that while india awarded about 100 odd Ph.D.(s) in the year 2004-2005, the figure for China was close to 1200 (up from 900 the previous year) and that for the united states had plunged from 1800 to about 1500 odd. the author remarked that in order to maintain its economic superiority, united states needed to concentrate on conducting top notch research for form this research would arise marketable ideas which would lead to the creation of new industries, employment for skilled labor and eventually profits and more tax revenue. and quite unfortunately, the reverse is happening in the united states. they recently (or atleast the president vetoes a plan to conduct state sponsored stem cell research) reno