Ganguly: India's hope against the Proteas

King

The southpaw averages a brilliant 53.91 in One-dayers against the Proteas and that average is almost 60 at neutral venues. More... Ganguly: India's hope against the Proteas Times Now Friday, June 22: Though Rahul Dravid and his men are all set to take on Ireland in this weekend's One-dayer, Team India's real challenge will be against the South Africans next week. The Men in Blue were blanked 4-0 last year and the past records don't seem too good either. Amidst India's dismal record against the world's second ranked side, Sourav Ganguly lends some hope. After the demolition act by the South Africans last year, Ganguly returned to the side to resurrect Team India's fortunes in the Test series. Back in the One-day side, the southpaw will be hoping to rise to the challenge. He averages a brilliant 53.91 in One-dayers against the Proteas and that average is almost 60 at neutral venues. As against his record, India has won only 18 One-dayers against South Africa with a measly winning per cent of 35. It gets worse against at neutral venues with India winning just four out of the 15 clashes between the two teams. Ganguly is returning to the One-day team along with Sachin Tendulkar and a solid performance in the British Isles by these two will help them cement their place in the One-day side. After the BCCI rested the Prince of Kolkata for the One-day series against Bangladesh, this series will offer him a good platform to prove his critics wrong. He can take heart from his past performances. He has been India's most successful batsman against South Africa in the One-dayers. On the other hand, Sachin Tendulkar, who enjoys the best average amongst the current batsman at off-shore venues, sees his record dip against the Proteas. The master blaster averages a disappointing 29 (overall) against South Africa and that slips further at neutral venues. Tendulkar, who returned to form in the Bangladesh Test series, will be hoping to set that record right against South Africa during the series in Ireland. However, the absence of Graeme Smith and Shaun Pollock notwithstanding, the Jacques Kallis led South African side will still remain a huge threat. And if Dravid and his men can come through the test, it will be the ideal platform for the England series.

Remember though that as soon as he fails in any of the ODIs' date=' they will be clammering for his head. [b']But the same people will not say a thing against SRT and RD.
Different people will, more like those who won't say a word against the mighty dada. I think we got them all covered. :cantstop:

We never learn and we never will. i have no doubt SA will again sink this rotten boat India has built. Indian team has always had players who were nothing buy liability on the team we got rid of two (bhaji & sehwag) we still need to get rid of remaining 2 (dada, sachin) only then can we rebuild this team.

We never learn and we never will. i have no doubt SA will again sink this rotten boat India has built. Indian team has always had players who were nothing buy liability on the team we got rid of two (bhaji & sehwag) we still need to get rid of remaining 2 (dada' date=' sachin) only then can we rebuild this team.[/quote'] sachin a liabilty:haha:stupid post winner

Ganguly has been getting some VERY favourable press of late... something is cooking.. If Dravid fails in england , Ganguly the next captain ? After all, not many captains have survived first round exits in the world cup..

yaar abhi tour start bhi nahi hua hai..aur hum finish ki baaten kar rahen hain... we will fare well in ODIs.... and if top 5 batsmen fail..miserably..only then we will lose the test series.. and even if Dravid becomes the fall guy...Sachin will claim the captaincy.. Maratha pride is at stake.. but some how..i am feeling positive about this tour...inshaalllah...we will do well...