Finance/Investment Discussions

CC1981

accha how long it takes to reach that 120/hr? :P
Well Apo the easy answer is it depends. On the following points: 1) How many years of experience you have? 2) What is your area of expertise? 3) Are you a full-time, contractor or third party? If your area of expertise is hot, like CRM for example, and you have say 5 years of solid experience(by that I mean you have 5 years of solid experience and not merely 1 year of experience, done 5 times) then you can make 60-75$ an hour no probs(translates to 120-150 K per annum). Put in 10 years and you can easily charge 100$ an hour plus. One thing to note is if you are a full time employee you wont get paid that well, if you work just for yourself then benefits are maximum of course risks are magnified too. If you work for third party you would get a slice of the salary. Let me put some rough numbers after say 5 years of experience in a decent technology in CA or NYC. Full time - 75-80 K depending on benefits Third party contractor - 50$ per hour(to you..thats like 100K per annum) Working for self - 75-80 K easy(150-160 K per annum) Those numbers are just as a pointers and obviously it will vary depending on skillsets, experience and sometimes plain luck. xxx

Thanks Lurker for the detailed description. I have just completed an year at my job but I feel that I am underpaid considering the amount of work I do and relative to the other friends of mine. Though it can be just a feeling of mine. I have collected data from online regarding the average salary but haven't started looking into new jobs myself. What is paid to me is less than the average salary. But, I, being in Core Java domain, cannot compare to the SAP based jobs

Thanks Lurker for the detailed description. I have just completed an year at my job but I feel that I am underpaid considering the amount of work I do and relative to the other friends of mine. Though it can be just a feeling of mine. I have collected data from online regarding the average salary but haven't started looking into new jobs myself. What is paid to me is less than the average salary. But' date=' I, being in Core Java domain, cannot compare to the SAP based jobs[/quote'] Here is a tip Apo. Make sure you have a sound programming base(in your case Java). It is going to really help you down the line. But dont limit yourself to it. Keep an eye open for Applications, specially related to Database technology. If you can get a leg-in into pure database(Oracle, SQL Server whatever) or ETL (Informatica, Ab Initio), Business Intellgence(Business Objects, Cognos) ERP(SAP) etc you would be on your way to make more money. Core programming never pays much, though there are odd exceptions. The money is more in Applications. Another thing to remember is that with Applications you generally work with senior people of a company. If you are in ERP or DW you would end up meeting top brass which obviously adds to your experience and confidence. On the other hand if you are a core=programmer such chances would be lot less. Dont worry about pay at early stage. My first job paid me a grand 1800 bucks a month in USA, my first car was a Ford Tempo(broke every week). I dont make 120$ an hour but have come pretty far from that 1800 bucks a month(minus taxes). Hang in there..and make sure you really know whatever tool you work with..and tell Holy to do the same..saala bahut nautanki karta hai woh! xxx

^^ Sure Sriram. By the way I am in DW(Datawarehousing). Seems KR is in SAP. I am sure we have members in other areas too. Feel free to raise questions about DW to me, may not know all the answers but would surely be glad to share my experience or give some pointers. :thumbs_up:

I am electrical major with still about a year left in my masters. I actually have no intent to work in core EE and am more interested in IT applications like the ones you have mentioned. I have started out SQL 2005 and maybe should try to do something on SAP too. I just took a course in information systems and am totally amazed to know the kind of stuff we can do it IT.I am looking to do another degree in management after 2-3 years of work experience, so i think it would rather suit me better if do an IT/mgmt oriented job rather than EE job. So yea, thanks for the advice. :thumbs_up:

Sale tum sabh software walle ho! 80% of my money is in a savings account. I wish I could make it grow like a dick on viagra :haha: We should start a typical desi thread about how much you earn and how much $$$ you got in the bank :hysterical::hysterical:

I am looking to do another degree in management after 2-3 years of work experience, so i think it would rather suit me better if do an IT/mgmt oriented job rather than EE job. So yea, thanks for the advice. :thumbs_up:
Double Degree? Man hats off to you. I am a Mechanical Engg major and frankly those 4 years were enough for me lol. But if you can do it great man. I think you are right about doing IT/Mgmt oriented job, those are always excellent options. We have a few US students here so maybe they can also help with courses and colleges, though I am sure you would have some ideas yourself too. xx

Sale tum sabh software walle ho! 80% of my money is in a savings account. I wish I could make it grow like a dick on viagra :haha: We should start a typical desi thread about how much you earn and how much $$$ you got in the bank :hysterical::hysterical:
Wonderful idea GKD ! Why dont you start out ? :wink_smile: In your case , its how much pounds you make and how much there is in the bank right ??? :haha:

Double Degree? Man hats off to you. I am a Mechanical Engg major and frankly those 4 years were enough for me lol. But if you can do it great man. I think you are right about doing IT/Mgmt oriented job, those are always excellent options. We have a few US students here so maybe they can also help with courses and colleges, though I am sure you would have some ideas yourself too. xx
Yea, have already started looking at prospective colleges and degrees , but I guess there is still a couple of years left for it. So when the time comes , maybe i could get back to you guys for some words of wisdom ! And reg the degree , i feel my education is yet to start. Total masti during B.E and in MS till now ! :haha:

Yep .

The best is to take the courses of your choices now. Once you go into the industry' date=' it will be difficult to devote this much time on studies for another degree[/quote'] Why so Apo ? Does the job take so much of your time and resouce ? Is it that hard to quit and come back into academia ? I definately feel i need to add an functionel capablity ( like finance , operations management ) that KR talked about the other day , apart from the technical capability. I first wanted to do an MBA , but looks like its going to take too much time for me to gather the kind of money/profile to get into a good MBA school. So yea , i am looking at some other tailor made degrees like Financial engineering , Industrial management , Informations systems etc. that wont suck too much of money like an MBA will.

To quit fully or not depends on you. Most people try to do a part time degree mixing both work and studies. Its because sometimes its not feasible for you to take a break from work entirely to devote to studies. Don't do a degree just for the sake of it. If you really feel that an MBA can enhance your skills then only go for it. Of course now if you take any finance course it will clear any doubts if there in your mind whether a future management degree is going to be helpful to you or not.

Advanta Bank Corp. Draper, UT as per that page this seems to be the best in terms of interest rate. Given noone has recommended this one so what's the catch, please throw some light .. thanks in advance..

no its not.... you dint search it completely Geauga Savings Bank gives more interest dada_rocks: lets discuss this more in Finance thread